OER starting points - Culturally Responsive and Inclusive Pedagogy - TCC OER Subject Guide - Tacoma Community College Library at Tacoma Community College

This OER Subject Guide provides a starting point for OER professional development and curricular materials relating to issues of equity, diversity, and inclusion; trauma-informed practices; and culturally responsive, inclusive, and anti-racist pedagogy and practices. OER is one tool we can use to help support our Strategic Plan and mission to "create meaningful learning, advance equity, and strengthen student and community success."

Concepts and keywords

TCC Common Language Glossary
This glossary was developed by TCC's Equity, Diversity, and Inclusion Committee, 2022. "This glossary centers race and the disruption of the white written word. As our college community delves deeper into the use of language as an EDI tool, the glossary will grow to include a broader spectrum of terminology addressing different topics and aspects of identity." This glossary will be regularly updated.

Inclusive, Culturally Relevant, and Culturally Competent Teaching Guide
This guide's Glossary of Key Terms defines Cultural competence, Culturally responsive, Inclusive education, Inclusive excellence, Intercultural communication, Multicultural education, and Universal design. Univ. of Arizona LibGuide. Open access.

Culturally Responsive Teaching
Jenny Muñiz, New America, March 2019. The "Understanding Culturally Responsive Teaching" section of this document, on pages 9 and 10, identifies and defines several culturally responsive frameworks, including culturally relevant pedagogy, culturally responsive teaching, and culturally sustaining pedagogy. Open access.
more...less...
Recommended by TCC instructor Sabine Endicott. This document also helped inform the EDIC's work on the Common Language Glossary.

The OER Equity Blueprint
Created by the Equity Work Group, 2021, Driving OER Sustainability for Student Success (DOERS3) Collaborative. "The overarching goal of the DOERS3 OER Equity Blueprint is to define, unpack, and explain the multiple dimensions of equity and foreground the role of OER in closing equity gaps." Sections include: Overview, Theoretical Framework, and Research Foundation; The Equity Through OER Rubric; and forthcoming Case Studies. CC BY (Creative Commons - Attribution) license.

OER starting points for culturally responsive and inclusive pedagogy, by topic and discipline

TCC EDI resources

OEDI Professional Development Resources:

TCC's Office for Equity, Diversity, and Inclusion (OEDI) and Professional Development Coordinators provide access to TCC professional development resources on a Canvas course, linked below.

Professional Development - Office for Equity, Diversity, and Inclusion (TCC Canvas course)
Please note that this Canvas course is only available to TCC faculty and staff, and you may need to log in with your TCC credentials. "This site provides information about current professional development opportunities, a platform for community engagement around topics of equity, diversity, and inclusion, and a suite of resources to facilitate self-directed learning."
TCC's Office for Equity, Diversity, and Inclusion web page
"The EDI office partners with students, employees, and community members to confront institutional oppression and develop innovative anti-racist practice in order to create an inclusive and welcoming space for all." Site includes contact info, staff bios, goals, and campus initiatives.

TCC Common Language Glossary
This glossary was developed by TCC's Equity, Diversity, and Inclusion Committee, 2022. "This glossary centers race and the disruption of the white written word. As our college community delves deeper into the use of language as an EDI tool, the glossary will grow to include a broader spectrum of terminology addressing different topics and aspects of identity." This glossary will be regularly updated.

TRPPEL Tool:

This tool was developed by former OEDI Vice President Judy Loveless-Morris, who has given permission for this tool to be shared on this guide. If you work outside of TCC and wish to use this tool, please contact TCC's Office for Equity, Diversity, and Inclusion at edi@tacomacc.edu

TCC's Tool to Review Policies & Procedures through an Equity Lens (TRRPEL)
TCC's TRPPEL tool (pronounced "Triple"), created Fall 2019, by Judy Loveless-Morris for TCC's Office for Equity, Diversion, and Inclusion. "This checklist offers a guide to support the examination of policy creation and revision with a particular focus on educational and employment equity at TCC. Its purpose is to provide a tool that complements TCC’s policy review process and engages stakeholders in critical examination of and reflection on the policies that inform our daily practices." PDF format. Open access. If you work outside of TCC and wish to use this tool, please contact TCC's Office for Equity, Diversity, and Inclusion at edi@tacomacc.edu

Introductory professional development

Toolkits/handbooks:

Culturally Responsive Teaching Handbook
Pamela Williams-Páez, College of the Canyons, 2020. Organized into 3 main parts: Culturally Relevant Pedagogy, Creating a Classroom that is Culturally Responsive, and Training the Trainer: How to be the Best Professor Around. Includes a glossary of terms. PDF and editable Word formats. CC BY (Creative Commons - Attribution) license. Eligible for Print on Demand.
Culturally Responsive Teaching: A Reflection Guide
Policy paper and reflection guide by New America, 2020. "[T]his resource offers a set of reflection questions that make self-appraisal, goal setting, and critical conversations across the eight culturally responsive teaching competencies more concrete." Tip: Click the "Download" button on the left-hand side to view the entire guide. PDF format. CC BY (Creative Commons Attribution) license.
Foundations of Intercultural Teaching (OER guide)
Christina Page, Kwantlen Polytechnic University (Canada), 2021. "This resource develops foundational concepts underlying intercultural teaching practice, including the purposes for intercultural teaching, the ways in which culture is understood, and the process of developing in interculturality." Organized into 8 short sections. Open access. Not eligible for Print on Demand.
Book Club Facilitation Guide: How to be an Antiracist (OER guide)
Olaolu Adeleye, BC Campus, 2022. "This guide is designed to offer readers the opportunity to reflect on the significance of racism in their own lives." Guide includes key themes, discussion points, reflective questions, activities, and definitions for each section. Online, EPUB, PDF, and course cartridge formats. CC BY NC SA (Creative Commons Attribution NonCommercial ShareAlike) license. Eligible for Print on Demand.
OER Starter Kit - Diversity and Inclusion
Developed by Abbey Elder, Iowa State University, 2019. Includes a "Diversity and Inclusion" section in the Teaching with OER chapter. This section focuses on how your cultural and class-based perspectives can affect your course content and includes activities to encourage inclusivity in your course. Online, PDF, and EPUB formats. CC BY (Creative Commons Attribution) license.
Enhancing Cultural Competence (toolkit)
2018 toolkit from the Community Toolbox, a service of the Center for Community Health and Development at the University of Kansas. Online format. CC BY NC SA (Creative Commons - Attribution - NonCommercial - ShareAlike) license.

Articles:

"How Open Education Enables Culturally Responsive Teaching"
Article by Ruanda Garth McCullough and Richard Sebastian on the Faculty Focus site, June 2021. "Culturally responsive teaching is no longer a choice—it’s a must."
"Using Open Educational Resources to Create a Culturally Relevant Classroom"
Article by Ruanda Garth-McCullough and Richard Sebastian, based on their 2020 Open Education Conference presentation. Published on Achieving the Dream site. "The adoption and use of open educational resources can create equitable, culturally relevant learning experiences for all students."
"We Don’t Have to Sacrifice Cultural Relevancy While Learning Online"
Blog post by Sabia Prescott and Jenny Muñiz on New America site, March 2020.
"Reaching Underserved Students through Culturally Responsive Teaching and Learning"
Article by Una Daly on the Community College Consortium for OER site, 2018. Overview of Dr. J. Luke’s keynote at the Online Teaching Conference 2018.
"Approaches to Open Education and Social Justice Research"
Article by Sarah Lambert, Laura Czerniewicz, from the Journal of Interactive Media in Education, May 2020. "[A] more nuanced conversation about progress towards social justice, and advance understanding of the many diverse ways that open education can act as, or be aligned with, social justice in different contexts." CC BY (Creative Commons - Attribution) license.

Webinars/courses:

Decolonizing the Course (webinar)
Webinar hosted by Community College Consortium for OER, 2020. Webinar intended to be introductory. "How can we use OER to advance inclusion, address systemic racism, and give a voice to the life experiences of underrepresented people? [...] Topics range from sourcing images to reflect your students’ culture and identity, reforming your syllabus towards inclusion, and converting your classes to include viewpoints that reflect varied cultural and gendered identities." Video and slides are both integrated in this page. CC BY (Creative Commons - Attribution) license.

Advanced professional development

Webinars/courses:

Working towards Antiracism and Culturally Responsive Teaching in Open Education (webinar)
Webinar hosted by Creative Commons USA and New America, May 2020. CC BY (Creative Commons - Attribution) license.
Integrating Anti-racist Pedagogy into Your Classroom (webinar)
Webinar co-hosted by Community College Consortium for OER (CCCOER) and Open Education Global, June 2020. CC BY (Creative Commons - Attribution) license.
Black Minds Matter (free course)
Course for all educators, created in 2020 and hosted by CORA (Center for Organizational Responsibility and Advancement). "Black Minds Matter is a public series that is designed to raise the national consciousness about issues facing Black students in education. The series intentionally addresses the pervasive undervaluing and criminalization of Black minds. Tangible solutions for promoting the learning, development, and success of Black students are offered." Organized into 5 lectures, 25-hour time commitment for complete course. Not openly licensed but freely available for all educators (requires creating a free account and log-in).
Open For Anti-Racism (Self-paced course)
To view: First, log into your TCC Canvas faculty account, then click on the Canvas Commons link/icon in the global navigation menu, and then finally click this link to view this Canvas course content. CCCOER and College of the Canyons, 2021. Self-paced Canvas Commons course "examines resources and explores key concepts related to antiracism, open educational resources, and open pedagogy. The goal is to transform some aspect of your teaching to be more antiracist by leveraging OER and open pedagogical approaches." Organized into 4 modules, with self-check quizzes and reflections. CC BY (Creative Commons - Attribution) license.

Books and guides:

Open at the Margins: Critical Perspectives on Open Education
Maha Bali, et al., 2020. "This book represents a starting point towards curating and centering marginal voices and non-dominant epistemic stances in open education. It includes the work of 43 diverse authors whose perspectives challenge the dominant hegemony." PDF and EPUB formats. CC BY SA (Creative Commons Attribution - ShareAlike) license.
Resilient Pedagogy: Practical Teaching Strategies to Overcome Distance, Disruption, and Distraction (OER collection)
Travis N. Thurston, et al., Utah State University, June 2021. "[A] comprehensive collection on the topics and issues surrounding resilient pedagogy framed in the context of the COVID-19 pandemic and the social justice movements that have swept the globe. As a collection, Resilient Pedagogy is a multi-disciplinary and multi-perspective response to actions taken in different classrooms, across different institution types, and from individuals in different institutional roles with the purpose of allowing readers to explore the topics to improve their own teaching practice and support their own students through distance, disruption, and distraction." Essays organized into 2 sections: I. Theoretical Foundations and Approaches, and II. Practice and Reflection. Online format. CC BY NC ND (Creative Commons Attribution NonCommercial NoDerivatives) license. Eligible for Print on Demand.
From Racist to Non-Racist to Anti-Racist: Becoming a Part of the Solution
By Keith L. Anderson, who has designed and taught college courses on racism. Originally published 2001 and updated 2020. From author's statement: "I am writing this book for people who want to be change agents in the area of racial justice." Organized into 5 chapters, with several essays. Digital PDF, print PDF, and EPUB formats. CC BY NC ND (Creative Commons Attribution - NonCommercial - No Derivatives) license.
Antiracism Inc.: Why the Way We Talk about Racial Justice Matters (OER e-book)
By Felice Blake, Paula Ioanide, and Alison Reed, published by Punctum Books, 2019. "Antiracism Inc. traces the ways people along the political spectrum appropriate, incorporate, and neutralize antiracist discourses to perpetuate injustice. It also examines the ways organizers continue to struggle for racial justice in the context of such appropriations. Antiracism Inc. reveals how antiracist claims can be used to propagate racism, and what we can do about it." Organized into 4 sections, with 22 chapters. Each chapter is downloadable in PDF format. CC BY NC SA (Creative Commons Attribution - NonCommercial - ShareAlike) license.
Working With Academic Literacies: Case Studies Towards Transformative Practice (OER text)
2015, "The editors and contributors to this collection explore what it means to adopt an 'academic literacies' approach in policy and pedagogy. Transformative practice is illustrated through case studies and critical commentaries from teacher-researchers working in a range of higher education contexts—from undergraduate to postgraduate levels, across disciplines." Essays/case studies span the curriculum -- art, writing, languages, STEM, etc. -- and include topics of accessibility and visibility; meaningful engagement; knowledge and identity; international students; multilingual identities; and more. PDF and e-book formats. CC BY NC ND (Creative Commons Attribution - NonCommercial - No Derivatives) license.

Curriculum (activities, lesson plans, assignments, syllabus)

General resources for curriculum, syllabus, etc.:

Creating Culturally Responsive Curriculum
From Portland State University Library's Culturally Responsive & Inclusive Curriculum Resources libguide. Includes a section on "Helpful Questions for Creating Culturally Responsive & Inclusive Curriculum," practical ways to integrate "Diversity of Voice" to your class or program; and many more resources. Note: The "Diversity of Voice" section has tips for the syllabus. Open access.
Diversity and Social Justice - Faculty Guide
Lake Washington Institute of Technology, 2021. A compilation of "resources for teaching diversity and social justice in a community and technical college setting" from LWTech faculty. Organized into thematic units with sample assignments, group activities, and discussion prompts across the curriculum, such as "Introduction Exercise for a Biology Class," "Exploring Differences in A Math Course," "Discussing Oppression in English Classes," and more. Online format. CC BY (Creative Commons Attribution) license.
Culturally Responsive Curriculum - Research Brief & Discussion Guide
Hanover Research, 2020. "In response to nationwide protests against police violence and racial inequities, districts across the country are reevaluating curriculum materials and content for alignment with goals for diversity and multiculturalism and through the lens of confronting racial and historical biases. To support this work, Hanover Research (Hanover) created this research brief and discussion guide to serve as a tool for establishing a common understanding of a culturally responsive curriculum and to facilitate conversations around the development of a culturally responsive curriculum." PDF format.
Culturally Responsive Curriculum Scorecards
"Designed by the NYU Metro Center to help parents, teachers, students, and community members determine the extent to which their schools’ English Language Art, Science, Technology, Engineering, Arts, and Mathematics (STEAM) curricula are (or are not) culturally responsive." Although created for K-12, the principles and tips are also applicable for higher education. PDF and online versions.
Screening for Biased Content in Instructional Materials
Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction, revised 2021. "As schools work to increase success for all students, it is important to recognize the impact of bias in classrooms, instructional materials and teaching strategies." Screening tool handout begins on page 6 of this document. Developed for K-12 use, but could be easily adapted for college level materials. Educational use encouraged.
Interculturalizing the Curriculum (OER guide)
Christina Page, Kwantlen Polytechnic University (Canada), 2021. "[T]his short book engages educators in two main strands of interculturalizing the curriculum: (1) revising curriculum to reflect intercultural learning outcomes, and diverse content from multiple perspectives, and (2) supporting student interculturality development." Organized into 6 sections. Online, PDF, EPUB, and editable OpenDocument formats. CC BY NC SA (Creative Commons Attribution NonCommercial ShareAlike) license. Eligible for Print on demand.

Resources for activities, assignments, etc.:

Learning for Justice - Classroom Resources
Site formerly known as Teaching Tolerance, a project of the Southern Poverty Law Center. "From film kits and lesson plans to the building blocks of a customized Learning Plan—texts, student tasks and teaching strategies—our resources will help you bring relevance, rigor and social emotional learning into your classroom—all for FREE." Anti-bias education resources focusing on Identity, Diversity, Justice, and Action. Includes film kits (both digital/streaming and DVD options), lessons, learning plans, student texts, student texts, teaching strategies, and more. Geared toward K-12 level, but many upper-level resources may be used or adapted for community college courses/topics. Not openly licensed but educational use encouraged.
Assignments - Centering Marginalized Groups
Kathy Swart, Pierce College Library, last updated 2021. Over 30 assignment templates that faculty can adapt in order to re-center and amplify marginalized voices. Assignments by Type section includes: Amplifying suppressed voices; Wikipedia revision assignments; Identifying and responding to misinformation; and Transitioning to OER with students' help (open pedagogy). Assignments by Division section includes: Arts & Humanities, Business & Social Science, Health and Technology, Natural Sciences, Transitional Education. Downloadable and editable Word formats. All assignments shared under a CC BY NC (Creative Commons Attribution - NonCommercial) license.
Resilient Pedagogy: Practical Teaching Strategies to Overcome Distance, Disruption, and Distraction (OER collection)
Travis N. Thurston, et al., Utah State University, June 2021. "[A] comprehensive collection on the topics and issues surrounding resilient pedagogy framed in the context of the COVID-19 pandemic and the social justice movements that have swept the globe. As a collection, Resilient Pedagogy is a multi-disciplinary and multi-perspective response to actions taken in different classrooms, across different institution types, and from individuals in different institutional roles with the purpose of allowing readers to explore the topics to improve their own teaching practice and support their own students through distance, disruption, and distraction." Section II. Practice and Reflection includes: Conducting Guided, Virtual Homework Sessions to Support Student Success during COVID Campus Closures, Asynchronous Discussions for First-Year Writers and Beyond: Thinking Outside the PPR (Prompt, Post, Reply) Box, and more. Online format. CC BY NC ND (Creative Commons Attribution NonCommercial NoDerivatives) license.
The Asynchronous Cookbook: Recipes for engaged & active online learning (OER textbook)
Office of Digital Learning & Inquiry, Middlebury College, 2021. "The activities in this cookbook draw on research and good practice in online course design to provide recipes – concise and specific instructions and examples – for adding asynchronous activities to a course. Meaningful interaction between students and instructors is a key ingredient in all of these recipes." Organized into 10 sections, including Group and Team Work in Asynchronous Settings, Simulations & Labs, and Class Climate. Online and PDF formats. CC BY NC SA (Creative Commons Attribution NonCommercial ShareAlike) license. Eligible for Print on Demand.
Diversity Toolkit: A Guide to Discussing Identity, Power and Privilege
Univ. of Southern California, School of Social Work, 2020. "This toolkit is meant for anyone who feels there is a lack of productive discourse around issues of diversity and the role of identity in social relationships, both on a micro (individual) and macro (communal) level." Includes several group activities and resources. Not openly licensed but educational use and adaptation encouraged.
Enduring Legacies: Native Case Studies
Evergreen State College. "The Enduring Legacies Native Cases Initiative develops culturally relevant curriculum and teaching resources in the form of case studies on key issues in Indian Country. Culturally relevant curriculum is a key factor in student success and essential to prepare students for leadership roles. Key topics of our cases have been identified by Native leaders." Each set has a case study and teaching notes. PDF format. Terms of use encourage educational use, with attribution.
Native Knowledge 360 Education Initiative
Browse "Helpful Handouts" developed for educators with activities, lesson plans, and resources for teaching and learning about Native Americans. Part of the Smithsonian's National Museum of the American Indian site. Much of the museum's content is licensed with a CC0 (Creative Commons Zero) public domain license; otherwise, educational use is encouraged with attribution.
more...less...
Recommended by TCC instructor Allison Muir in Spring 2021.
The Changing Story: Digital stories that participate in transforming teaching & learning (OER text)
Linda Buturian, University of Minnesota, 2016. "The Changing Story gives you assignments, resources, and examples to use in your teaching and learning. It will also help you think of ways digital stories can be used in your teaching, and help students harness the power of visual storytelling. [...] provides scaffolding assignments to build knowledge of... developing a culturally-inclusive lens for visual knowledge." Organized into 6 sections. Faculty peer reviews of this text available on this site. Online and EPUB formats. CC BY (Creative Commons Attribution) license.
Open Pedagogy in the Trades
Bruce Neid, Nicki Rehn; Coast Mountain College (Canada), 2021. "Open Pedagogy in the Trades: Instructor Resource contains a bank of activities and projects to integrate with your course curriculum and use with your students immediately. All the activities are adaptable to any trade or ITA line item, and most will work for in-person and remote learning modalities. Adopting open pedagogy will lead to more engaged and invested students and richer learning outcomes." Includes 14 open pedagogy projects to adapt to your own subject area. Multiple formats, including online, PDF, and Canvas cartridge. CC BY (Creative Commons Attribution) license.

Classroom environment

General resources for culturally responsive classroom management:

Culturally Responsive Teaching Handbook
Pamela Williams-Páez, College of the Canyons, 2020. Organized into 3 main parts: Culturally Relevant Pedagogy, Creating a Classroom that is Culturally Responsive, and Training the Trainer: How to be the Best Professor Around. Includes a glossary of terms. PDF format via Google Docs. CC BY (Creative Commons - Attribution) license.
Promoting Well-Being in the Classroom: A Guide for Faculty (Open access textbook)
University of Iowa Student Wellness, 2023. "This guide provides strategies and ideas to promote students’ well-being in your teaching practices, and in your classroom or digital learning environment." Organized into 10 main sections, including sections for "Including a Wellness Statement in Your Syllabus," "Creating Welcoming Rituals," and more. Online (Pressbooks) format. All Rights Reserved copyright, but legally ok to link to. Not eligible for Print on Demand.
Inclusive Pedagogies
Christina Page; Jennifer Hardwick; and Seanna Takacs, Kwantlen Polytechnic University (Canada), 2021. "[T]his resource introduces educators to educational strategies that can foster more inclusive, equitable, and just classroom environments." Organized into 8 short chapters. Online, PDF, ePUB, and editable OpenDocument formats. CC BY NC SA (Creative Commons Attribution NonCommercial ShareAlike) license. Eligible for Print on Demand.
"Relationship Building Through Culturally Responsive Classroom Management" (article)
Todd Finley, Edutopia, 2014. Includes a section for positive classroom management techniques.
Creating a Culturally Responsive Classroom (video)
Short video (4:40 mins) from Alicia Discepola, ISTE 2019 conference. "Expecting students to leave behind all that they are when they enter the classroom isn’t just unrealistic, it’s unfair [...] When a lesson is relevant, the student becomes a learner, their interests are sparked and their brains ignite, and that is how we close the achievement gap, says Alicia Discepola, a digital literacy and learning specialist for Millville Public Schools in New Jersey."
Getting to Know Your International Students, 2nd ed.
Christina Page, Kwantlen Polytechnic University (Canada), 2021."Have you ever wondered how you can support international students effectively in your class?" Videos with international students at a Canadian university, organized by theme (e.g. Differences in Assignments and Plagiarism, Relationships with Instructors, Language in the Classroom). Online and PDF formats. Creative Commons Attribution NoDerivatives) license.
The Asynchronous Cookbook: Recipes for engaged & active online learning (OER textbook)
Office of Digital Learning & Inquiry, Middlebury College, 2021. "The activities in this cookbook draw on research and good practice in online course design to provide recipes – concise and specific instructions and examples – for adding asynchronous activities to a course. Meaningful interaction between students and instructors is a key ingredient in all of these recipes." Organized into 10 sections, including Class Climate. Online and PDF formats. CC BY NC SA (Creative Commons Attribution NonCommercial ShareAlike) license. Eligible for Print on Demand.

OER and EDI rubrics

OER and equity frameworks, rubrics, and tools:

The OER Equity Blueprint
Created by the Equity Work Group, 2021, Driving OER Sustainability for Student Success (DOERS3) Collaborative. "The overarching goal of the DOERS3 OER Equity Blueprint is to define, unpack, and explain the multiple dimensions of equity and foreground the role of OER in closing equity gaps." Sections include: Overview, Theoretical Framework, and Research Foundation; The Equity Through OER Rubric; and forthcoming Case Studies. CC BY (Creative Commons - Attribution) license.
Equity Rubric for OER Evaluation
Branch Alliance for Educator Diversity, 2021. "Intended for use by teacher educators to evaluate instructional materials for equity." PDF format. CC BY NC SA (Creative Commons Attribution Non-Commercial Share Alike) license.
Screening for Biased Content in Instructional Materials
Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction, revised 2021. "As schools work to increase success for all students, it is important to recognize the impact of bias in classrooms, instructional materials and teaching strategies." Screening tool handout begins on page 6 of this document. Developed for K-12 use, but could be easily adapted for college level materials. Educational use encouraged.
Valuing OER in the Tenure, Promotion, and Reappointment Process
Edited by Andrew McKinney, DOERS3, 2024. "This book of case studies is meant to aid faculty, librarians, administrators, and staff members as they attempt to make their work or others' work on Open Educational Resources (OER) matter in the tenure, promotion, and reappointment process at their institutions." Almost 30 case studies available. Online (Pressbooks), PDF, EPUB, and Common Cartridge file formats. CC BY (Creative Commons Attribution) license. Eligible for Print on Demand.

Related guides with additional resources:

The "Evaluate OER" page on the Faculty/Staff Guide to OER, linked below, includes OER evaluation and accessibility rubrics.

Faculty/staff guide to Open Educational Resources (OER)
by Jennifer Snoek-Brown Last Updated Nov 25, 2024 2078 views this year

OER rubrics with EDI criteria:

The following rubrics (which are included on the "Evaluate OER" tab of the guide linked above) include cultural competency criteria.

Open Textbook Library's Review Criteria
Open Textbook Library, one of the largest and most well-known OER textbook repository sites, includes faculty peer reviews. This is the review criteria, including a section to address Cultural Relevance, used for these peer reviews.
OER and Rightful Presence Framework
Cultural competence rubric to help evaluate OER and recognize elements of identity and culture. Developed by Bridgitt Mitchell, Chris Luchs, and Kae Novak. Google doc format. CC BY (Creative Commons - Attribution) license.

B.C. Open Textbooks Review Rubric
Rubric that faculty use to review OER textbooks in the BCcampus Open Ed repository site. There is a section for Diversity and Inclusion review.

Open pedagogy

The Open Pedagogy Student Toolkit (OER guide)
Jamie Witman, The Open Education Network, Version 1.3 updated 2024. "This toolkit is intended as a guide for students who are engaging in open pedagogy. The toolkit defines open pedagogy, the benefits of open pedagogy, and the rights and responsibilities that come with being a student creator. Instructors may wish to use this toolkit as a resource to scaffold conversations about open pedagogy with their students and to appropriately prepare them for working in the open." Organized into 7 lessons. Online (Pressbooks), PDF, and EPUB formats. CC BY (Creative Commons Attribution) license. Eligible for Print on Demand.
Open Pedagogy in the Trades
Bruce Neid, Nicki Rehn; Coast Mountain College (Canada), 2021. "Open Pedagogy in the Trades: Instructor Resource contains a bank of activities and projects to integrate with your course curriculum and use with your students immediately. All the activities are adaptable to any trade or ITA line item, and most will work for in-person and remote learning modalities. Adopting open pedagogy will lead to more engaged and invested students and richer learning outcomes." Includes 14 open pedagogy projects to adapt to your own subject area. Multiple formats, including online, PDF, and Canvas cartridge. CC BY (Creative Commons Attribution) license.
Open Pedagogy to Support EDI (webinar)
Jennifer Snoek-Brown and Kathy Swart, 2021, for WACCy Wednesday Webinar series. Kathy Swart presents on "Critical and Renewable Assignments for Information Justice," and Jennifer Snoek-Brown presents on “Open Pedagogy Collaborations with Faculty & Students," featuring several TCC faculty open pedagogy assignments.

Additional open pedagogy resources:

For additional resources, please explore the "Open pedagogy" page of our Faculty/Staff Guide to OER, linked below.

Faculty/staff guide to Open Educational Resources (OER)
by Jennifer Snoek-Brown Last Updated Nov 25, 2024 2078 views this year

Images

Related guides:

The inclusive image sites below are also available on the following guides:

Faculty/staff guide to Open Educational Resources
Find OER page >> OER multimedia column >> Images sub-tab >> Inclusive image sites heading
Student guide to Open Educational Resources
How to find multimedia OER >> Images sub-tab

Inclusive image sites (multimedia highlighting a diversity of ethnicities, genders, sizes, abilities, cultures, etc.):

American Education: Images of Teachers and Students in Action
Photo repository of real, diverse preK–12 students and teachers in different education and tech categories. Licensed CC-BY-NC (Creative Commons - Attribution - NonCommercial).
Indigenous Peoples in Education: A Stock Photo Collection
" The team at Thompson Rivers University created the Indigenous Education Stock Photos collection due to a lack of open-source photos of Indigenous students for use in OER. The spirit of the photo collection is to allow educators to represent Indigenous peoples in their OER so that Indigenous students can see themselves reflected in their learning materials." Developed in consultation with the TRU Office of Indigenous Education. Photos organized into categories, including classroom, library, science labs, teaching, and more. CC BY NC SA (Creative Commons - Attribution - NonCommercial - ShareAlike) license.
If/Then Collection
"A digital asset library of women STEM innovators, for educational and other noncommercial use." Scroll down page for categories of images and videos, including Women in Tech, #SheCanSTEM, Health & Medicine, and more.
Gender Spectrum Collection: Stock Photos Beyond the Binary
Stock photo library featuring trans and non-binary models. Licensed under a CC BY-NC-ND (Creative Commons - Attribution - NonCommercial - NoDerivatives) license.
Black Illustrations
Illustrations of Black people, organized in themed packs, e.g. Activism, Business, Education, STEM, and more. Browse image packs available for free. Site's licensing allows you to reuse, revise, and/or remix images.
Nappy
Photo library of Black and Brown people. Explore collections and categories. Licensed CC0 (Public Domain).
#WOCinTech Chat photos
Extensive stock photo collection of WOC (women of color) in tech. Licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution (CC BY) license.
Disability Inclusive Stock Photography
Stock photographs featuring people with disabilities in tech or business settings. Licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NoDerivatives (CC BY ND) License.
Disabled And Here Collection
Photo collection featuring disabled Black, Indigenous, people of color (BIPOC) across the PNW. LGBTQ+, Lifestyle, Social, and Work categories. Licensed CC-BY (Creative Commons - Attribution).
Human Development Institute
Photos that represent all people with disabilities in all aspects of society. Developed by UK Human Development Institute, via Flickr. CC0 (Creative Commons Zero) Public Domain license.
AllGo Plus-Size Stock Photos
Stock photos featuring plus-size people. No modification or commercial use allowed. See front page for sample attribution statement.
Images of Empowerment
Photo library of women's activities, particularly work and health-related, from around the world. Explore by location or subject. Licensed CC-BY-NC (Creative Commons - Attribution - NonCommercial).
Open Peeps
Library of hand-drawn, mix-and-match illustrations of people of different genders, ethnicities, and abilities. Licensed CC0 (Public Domain).
Redefining Women Icon Collection
Collection of icon illustrations of women in different active scenarios and careers. CC0 (Creative Commons Zero - Public domain) license.

Instructional design

OER guides and manuals for instructional design:

Hybrid-Flexible Course Design
Brian Beatty, San Francisco State University, 2019. "Developing and deploying innovative, flexible, academic instructional models supports the need to respond to a changing higher education landscape." Organized into 3 units, and the final unit includes several case studies. Faculty peer reviews of this text on this site. Online and PDF formats. CC BY (Creative Commons - Attribution) license.
more...less...
Recommended by Dale Coleman. This guide was used by TCC's task force for Hy-Flex Design.
Inclusive Learning Design Handbook (OER guide)
Developed by FLOE Project, Inclusive Design Research Centre, OCAD University. "[D]esigned to assist teachers, content creators, Web developers, and others in creating adaptable and personalizable educational resources that can accommodate a diversity of learning preferences and individual needs." Organized into 4 sections: Introduction, Perspectives, Approaches, and Techniques. Online format.
"Trauma-informed design: understanding trauma and healing"
Blog post by Hera Hussein, May 2021. "Designing interfaces, narratives and services that uplift." Open access.
A Comprehensive Guide to Applying Universal Design for Learning: A Collection of Three UDL Workbooks (OER collections)
Seanna Takacs, et al, Justice Institute of British Columbia (Canada), 2022. Designed for "educators to improve their practice by integrating UDL principles in their work. The three workbooks include: Universal Design for Learning: A Practical Guide, Universal Design for Learning: Strategies for Blended and Online Learning, and Assessment Design: Perspectives and Examples Informed by Universal Design for Learning. Each section includes case studies. Online, PDF, EPUB, and course cartridge formats. CC BY-NC-SA (Creative Commons - Attribution - NonCommercial - ShareAlike) license. Eligible for Print on Demand.
The Asynchronous Cookbook: Recipes for engaged & active online learning (OER textbook)
Office of Digital Learning & Inquiry, Middlebury College, 2021. "The activities in this cookbook draw on research and good practice in online course design to provide recipes – concise and specific instructions and examples – for adding asynchronous activities to a course. Meaningful interaction between students and instructors is a key ingredient in all of these recipes." Organized into 10 sections, including Group and Team Work in Asynchronous Settings, Simulations & Labs, and Class Climate. Online and PDF formats. CC BY NC SA (Creative Commons Attribution NonCommercial ShareAlike) license. Eligible for Print on Demand.
Creating Online Learning Experiences:A Brief Guide to Online Courses, from Small and Private to Massive and Open
Matt Crosslin, et al., 2018. "This book provides an updated look at issues that comprise the online learning experience creation process." Includes a chapter on mindfulness in online courses. Digital PDF, print PDF, and EPUB formats. CC BY NC (Creative Commons Attribution - NonCommercial) license.
Comprehensive Individualized Curriculum and Instructional Design: Curriculum and Instruction for Students with Developmental Disabilities/Autism Spectrum Disorders
Portland State University, 2015 ."This open textbook addresses the population of individuals with disabilities that experience complex lifelong needs across multiple areas in their lives. Drs. Sennott and Loman drafted this book (along with the help from some friends) with the hope of providing pertinent, practical, and current resources to future special educators who plan to serve individuals with complex disabilities." Organized into 6 chapters. Online and PDF formats. CC BY NC (Creative Commons Attribution - NonCommercial) license.
Ethical Use of Technology in Digital Learning Environments: Graduate Student Perspectives
Barbara Brown, et al., University of Calgary (Canada) via BCcampus, 2020. Focuses "primarily on the safe and ethical use of technology in digital learning environments" and "the authors discuss the connection to the value of technology in education, and practical possibilities of learning technologies for inclusive, participatory, democratic, and pluralistic educational paradigms." Organized into 3 sections, with 9 chapters. EPUB and PDF formats. CC BY (Creative Commons Attribution) license.

Accessibility

OER guides for accessibility:

Accessibility Toolkit – 2nd Edition (OER guide)
Amanda Coolidge, Sue Doner, Tara Robertson, and Josie Gray, BCcampus Open Education, 2018. The goal of this guide is "to provide resources for each content creator, instructional designer, educational technologist, librarian, administrator, and teaching assistant to create a truly open textbook—one that is free and accessible for all students." Organized into 2 main sections: Key Concepts and Best Practices, plus several Appendices, including a Checklist for Accessibility and Redesign or Accommodation Activity Guidelines. Online, PDF, and EPUB formats. CC BY (Creative Commons - Attribution) license.
Introduction to Web Accessibility: Essential Accessibility for Everyone (OER textbook)
Digital Education Strategies and The Chang School, Toronto Metropolitan University (Canada), 2019. "This book will “interpret” the W3C Web Content Accessibility Guidelines (WCAG 2.1), to make it easier to understand for a general audience. You will have an opportunity to experience barriers firsthand, then experience that content with the barriers removed, developing a practical understanding of web accessibility." Integrates activities into each section. Online, PDF, EPUB, course cartridge, and editable OpenDocument formats. CC BY SA (Creative Commons Attribution ShareAlike) license. Eligible for Print on Demand.
Designing for Accessibility with POUR
CAST project in coordination with US Department of Education. Videos and resources for POUR accessibility principles (Perceivable, Operable, Understandable, and Robust). "The POUR principles are a great place to start. These principles define four qualities of an accessible experience and they are at the foundation of the Web Content Accessibility Guidelines (WCAG) an international standard for making web content accessible." CC BY SA (Creative Commons - Attribution - ShareAlike) license.
Accessibility and Open Educational Resources
Developed by Universal Design for Learning in Higher Education. "This resource provides examples, key factors and resources about accessibility of OERs." CC BY SA (Creative Commons - Attribution - ShareAlike) license.
Understanding Document Accessibility: A Reference for Creating Accessible Office Documents (OER guide)
Digital Education Strategies, The Chang School, Ryerson University, 2020. "Intended for a general audience, this free resource reviews a wide range of document authoring applications, including the tools they contain for creating accessible documents, and tests them to ensure they do not contain potential barriers. Learn how to create accessible word processed documents, spreadsheets, presentation slides, and PDF documents, among others, so they are accessible to everyone." CC BY SA (Creative Commons Attribution ShareAlike) license. Online, PDF, EPUB, and editable OpenDocument formats.
Understanding and Supporting Learners with Disabilities (OER guide)
Paula Lombardi, Granite State University, 2021. "[A] good resource for anyone who needs a review or a deeper understanding of these disabilities and how to support these students in the classroom with research based learning strategies." The first half of the text focuses on foundational concepts (e.g., UDL, assistive technology, etc.), and the second half of the text focuses on specific learning disabilities (e.g., dyslexia, visual impairments, etc..). Online, EPUB, and PDF formats. CC BY NC SA (Creative Commons Attribution NonCommercial ShareAlike) license. Eligible for Print on Demand.

Online tools for evaluating accessibility:

Web Accessibility in Mind (WebAIM)
Accessibility training resources, blog posts and articles about major topics in web accessibility. The Resources section of this site includes several checklists and accessibility tools.
WAVE Web Accessibility Evaluation Tool
WebAIM's accessibility tool. Paste in the URL of your page or site to check for common accessibility issues, or link out to accessibility browser extensions.

Supplemental tools and materials (incl. games, lessons, videos, exercises, etc.):

Presenter Toolkit: Creating and Facilitating an Accessible Presentation
Rebecca Shortt, BCcampus (Canada), 2021. "[C]reated to support presenters in creating accessible and inclusive online and in-person presentations." Organized into 3 main sections: Presenting Practices, Slide Design, and Virtual Presenting Tips. Online, digital PDF, print PDF, EPUB, and Common Cartridge formats. CC BY (Creative Commons Attribution) license. Eligible for Print on Demand.
Open Dialogues: Open education and accessibility (video)
Video developed by Centre for Teaching, Learning and Technology, University of British Columbia, 2017. "The open education movement has helped people in different parts of the world access content that they would otherwise not be able to view or interact with. Tara Robertson, accessibility librarian with CAPER-BC, says there's still place for more inclusivity. " 3:29 mins. CC BY (Creative Commons - Attribution) license.

Business

Sample textbooks that incorporate EDI:

Introduction to Consumer Behaviour (OER textbook)
Andrea Niosi, Kwantlen Polytechnic University (Canada), 2021. "This open textbook was designed for students studying business or marketing at an undergraduate level. It draws on the fields of marketing, business, communications, media studies, psychology, sociology, and anthropology [...] The author has also made efforts to decentre whiteness and dominant culture perspectives wherever possible to ensure a broader and more accurate representation of diverse consumers." Designed to be used with accompanying "Ancillary Resource Guide that contains several essays, case studies, assignments, and project outlines, and an accompanying multiple choice test bank." Online, digital PDF, print PDF, EPUB, and course cartridge formats. CC BY NC SA (Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike) license. Eligible for Print on Demand.

Related OER subject guides with additional resources:

Business and Logistics - TCC OER Subject Guide
by Jennifer Snoek-Brown Last Updated Sep 24, 2024 109 views this year

College success

Sample textbooks that incorporate EDI:

Blueprint for Success in College and Career
Textbook Excellence Award winner! Written by a community college counselor and instructor. "This text, designed to show how to be successful in college and in career preparation focuses on study skills, time management, career exploration, health, and financial literacy.” Unit 8 focuses on "Social Interaction and Diversity." Digital and print PDFs, and editable OpenDocument formats. Appendices include a Study Skills Assessment. CC BY 4.0 (Creative Commons - Attribution) license.
Post-Secondary Peer Support Training Curriculum (OER guide)
Jenn Cusick, BCcampus, 2022. "This adaptable training resource covers foundational peer support training for post-secondary students with ways to respond to peers with the core values of peer support." Developed with EDI and trauma-informed care principles. Includes a facilitator's guide with exercises. Created for British Columbia but can be used/adapted elsewhere. Online, EPUB, PDF, course cartridge, and editable OpenDocument formats. CC BY (Creative Commons Attribution) license. Eligible for Print on Demand.
more...less...
Additional Facilitator’s Guide for Use With Students available here at https://opentextbc.ca/peersupportfacilitator/

Related OER subject guides with additional resources:

College Success - TCC OER Subject Guide
by Jennifer Snoek-Brown Last Updated Sep 25, 2024 141 views this year
Careers - TCC OER Subject Guide
by Jennifer Snoek-Brown Last Updated Sep 25, 2024 52 views this year

Communication studies

Sample textbooks that incorporate EDI:

Exploring Intercultural Communication (OER course/text)
Tom Grothe, Butte College, 2020. "Intercultural communication is an approach to relations among members of these groups that focuses on the recognition and respect of cultural differences, seeks the goal of mutual adaptation leading to biculturalism rather than simple assimilation, and supports the development of intercultural sensitivity on the part of individuals and organizations to enable empathic understanding and competent coordination of action across cultural differences." Organized into 10 main chapters. Online, PDF, LMS cartridge, and print book file formats. CC BY (Creative Commons - Attribution) license. Eligible for Print on Demand.
Intercultural Communication: Creating Intercultural Communication Competence (OER textbook)
Tammera Stokes Rice, College of the Canyons, 2nd ed., 2019. "The following chapters will cover topics such as: understanding cultural identity, social construction, cultural biases, and culture shock." Includes interactive features and critical thinking questions. Organized into 8 chapters. PDF and editable Word formats for entire text, and individual chapters also available in PDF format. CC BY (Creative Commons - Attribution) license. Eligible for Print on Demand.
Diversity and difference in communication (OER textbook)
OpenLearn mini-course now hosted on LibreTexts platforms., Modules that "explore the ways in which difference and diversity impact on the nature of communication in health and social care services." Organized into 6 modules, some with integrated activities. Online, PDF, print book files, and LMS course formats. CC BY NC SA (Creative Commons - Attribution - NonCommercial - ShareAlike) license. Eligible for Print on Demand.

Related OER subject guides with additional resources:

Communication Studies - TCC OER Subject Guide
by Jennifer Snoek-Brown Last Updated Oct 21, 2024 165 views this year

Education

General education pedagogy texts:

Wellbeing in Educational Contexts
Susan Carter and Cecily Andersen, University of Southern Queensland (Australia), 2019. "Within the wellbeing literature, there is a shared view that educational contexts are best positioned to reach out to everyone and explicitly teach and promote wellbeing, potentially arresting trends of reported declining student and teacher wellbeing [...] There is, however, a lack of consensus as to the application and delivery of wellbeing programs within educational systems and educational contexts [...] and it is in this space that we hope to make worthwhile contribution." Organized into 7 chapters. Faculty peer reviews of this text available on this site. Online, PDF, and E-book formats. CC BY NC (Creative Commons Attribution - NonCommercial) license.
Knowledge, Policy and Practice in Education and the Struggle for Social Justice (OER e-book)
UCL Press, 2020. This e-book, with essays inspired by the work of Geoff Whitty, "take[s] Whitty’s work as the starting point from which to examine key contemporary issues in education and the challenges to social justice that they present. Set within three themes of knowledge, policy and practice in education, the chapters tackle the issues of defining and accessing ‘legitimate’ knowledge, the changing nature of education policy under neoliberalism and globalization, and the reshaping of teacher workplaces and professionalism – as well as attempts to realize more emancipatory practice." PDF format. CC BY (Creative Commons - Attribution) license.
Every Teacher is a Language Teacher (OER e-book)
University of Ottawa (Canada) Second Language Education Cohort, 2020. "This book disseminates practices shared at the annual event Every Teacher is a Language Teacher." Organized into 5 essays. PDF and Word formats. CC BY NC SA (Creative Commons Attribution - NonCommercial - ShareAlike) license.
Teaching Math for Emergent Bilinguals: Building on Culture, Language, and Identity (OER textbook)
Ji-Yeong I and Ricardo Martinez, Iowa State University, 2021. "This book is designed for pre-service/in-service teachers and others who will work or work with K–12 students who have linguistically and culturally diverse backgrounds, especially students of other languages (English language learners/Emergent bilingual/multilingual)." Organized into 6 chapters. Online, PDF, EPUB, and Common Cartridge formats. CC BY NC SA (Creative Commons Attribution NonCommercial ShareAlike) license. Eligible for Print on Demand.

Related OER subject guides with additional resources:

Please explore the Early Childhood Education OER Subject Guide linked below >> OER starting points page >> Cultural competency sub-tab. The resources on this guide's sub-tab support the ECE 130 Cultural Competency and Responsiveness in Early Childhood Education course.

Early Childhood Education & Education - TCC OER Subject Guide
by Jennifer Snoek-Brown Last Updated Jul 31, 2024 319 views this year

ELA and languages

Sample textbooks that incorporate EDI:

Writing for Change: An Advanced ELL Resource (OER textbook)
Inés Poblet, Whatcom Community College, 2021. "This OER text includes the following: an introduction to creating a collectivist culture to support learning models and activities about multiple ways of organizing ideas in an essay; short readings and discussion highlighting the work of community organizers, activists, and social justice movements; writing prompts that ask learners to synthesize, reflect on, and connect to the topics; projects inviting learners to apply the content to their community environment; additional resources offering multiple modalities for further learning including videos, articles, and podcasts; a contrastive and multilingual approach to exploring grammar patterns to support writing." Organized into 7 main chapters, including an appendix about Decolonizing ELT. Online, PDF, and LMS course formats. CC BY NC SA (Creative Commons - Attribution - NonCommercial - ShareAlike) license. Eligible for Print on Demand.

Handbooks and best practices for language instructors:

Sharing Our Knowledge: Best Practices for Supporting English Language Learners in Schools (OER textbook)
Open textbook published by Univ. of Saskatchewan, 2019, designed primarily for teachers studying EAL (English as an Additional Language). Part 1 includes chapters on "Supporting Newcomer EAL Students in the Elementary Classroom," "The Importance of Culturally Responsive Teaching," "Culturally Responsive Pedagogy," "Intercultural Competence and the Inclusive Classroom," among others. Online, EPUB, and print PDF formats. CC BY (Creative Commons - Attribution) license.
Reading With My Eyes Open: Embracing the critical and the personal in language pedagogy (OER text)
Gerdi Quist, University College London, 2013. "Using an interdisciplinary theoretical framework, drawn from educational philosophy, cultural studies, intercultural studies and language pedagogy, the author discusses the many tensions and currents in contemporary language teaching. The author puts forward an alternative pedagogy, that of a cultuurtekst-perspective, which engages learners at complex linguistic and cultural levels." Faculty peer reviews of this text available on this site. One faculty reviewer states that "The discussions of culture/intercultural theories are also very robust." Organized into 6 chapters. PDF format. CC BY (Creative Commons - Attribution) license.
Every Teacher is a Language Teacher (OER e-book)
University of Ottawa (Canada) Second Language Education Cohort, 2020. "This book disseminates practices shared at the annual event Every Teacher is a Language Teacher." Organized into 5 essays. PDF and Word formats. CC BY NC SA (Creative Commons Attribution - NonCommercial - ShareAlike) license.
Foreign Languages & the Literary in the Everyday: A Literacy-based Approach for the Language Classroom: A Handbook For Teachers
Handbook for language instructors, published by Univ. of Arizona CERCLL and Univ. of Texas COERLL, Feb. 2021. "the project and this handbook contribute to a larger on-going discussion within US-American modern language teaching and learning concerning the articulation of language, literature, and culture studies." Organized into 6 sections; Section 3 focuses on "The Literary in Culture." Google doc format. CC BY (Creative Commons - Attribution) license.

Related OER subject guides with additional resources:

World Languages - TCC OER Subject Guide
by Jennifer Snoek-Brown Last Updated Jul 26, 2024 123 views this year
Transitional and Developmental Studies (ABE, ELA, EAP) - TCC OER Subject Guide
by Jennifer Snoek-Brown Last Updated Jul 26, 2024 110 views this year

Environmental studies

Sample textbooks/courses that incorporate EDI:

Climate Justice in Your Classroom: Weaving Climate, Environmental Justice and Civic Engagement into Your Courses (OER collection)
Alexandra Anderson-Frey, et al., Univ. of Washington, 2023. "This book provides real examples of how professors at the University of Washington integrated these critical issues into their teachings, both in targeted lessons and as throughlines across an entire course. These samples of how environmental and climate justice have been successfully integrated into higher-level education can serve as both a record of the UW's progress towards centering JEDI at the heart of all students, and as a model for future instructors to use as they work to incorporate more aspects of justice and engagement into their own material." Organized into 5 essays/examples. Online (Pressbooks) and PDF formats. CC BY NC SA (Creative Commons Attribution NonCommercial ShareAlike) license. Eligible for Print on Demand.
Climate Lessons: Environmental, Social, Local (OER textbook)
Marja Bakermans, Worcester Polytechnic Institute, 2021. "This book was co-authored by undergraduate students at Worcester Polytechnic Institute while exploring the influences of Earth systems and human systems on climate change and the communities at most risk in an interdisciplinary project-based first year course. This course attempts to bring together knowledge of the science of ecological and climate systems and their changing status with knowledge of the social and communal structures within which these systems are embedded and through which they have been influenced. The book highlights key interests and insights of current students in their quest to think through these issues and to create a better world." Organized into 4 sections, with 16 chapters. Includes case studies for diverse populations/environments including Puerto Rico and Hawai'i. PDF format. CC BY-NC (Creative Commons - Attribution-NonCommercial) license. Eligible for Print on Demand.
ENVS203: Environmental Ethics, Justice, and World Views (OER course)
Saylor Academy course. "In this course we introduce the concept of environmental ethics, a philosophy that extends the ethical concepts we traditionally apply to human behavior to the natural world. We will study the history of environmental ethics, the concept of environmental justice, and explore how our views about the natural world have changed over time." Organized into 5 units. Online format. TIP: Click the "Resources" link in course menu for shortcut to resources and files used in the course. Course overall has CC BY (Creative Commons - Attribution) license, but sources used may have different or additional licenses. Eligible for Print on Demand if materials are compiled into a print-ready format.
POLSC402: Global Justice (OER course)
Saylor Academy course with "[d]etailed exploration of contemporary debates and controversies regarding global justice." Topics include environmental devastation. Organized into 7 units. Online format. TIP: The Resources link in the course menu is a shortcut to the sources and files used in the course. Overall, course has CC BY (Creative Commons - Attribution) license, but sources used may have different or additional licenses. Eligible for Print on Demand if materials are compiled into a print-ready format.
Developing Change Agents: Innovative Practices for Sustainability Leadership (OER textbook)
Edited by Edited by Kristi L. Kremers, Alexander S. Liepins, and Abigail M. York, Univ. of Minnesota, 2019. "[T]his volume empowers universities to develop change agents who can scale solutions to meet the wicked environmental, social, and political challenges of the present and future." Organized into 13 chapters. Online format, PDF, EPUB format. CC BY NC (Creative Commons Attribution NonCommercial) license. Eligible for Print on Demand.

Supplemental resources:

Global Atlas of Environmental Justice
"The environmental justice atlas documents and catalogues social conflict around environmental issues [...] The EJ Atlas collects these stories of communities struggling for environmental justice from around the world." This data set is made available under a CC BY NC SA (Creative Commons - Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike) license.
more...less...
Resource recommended by TCC instructors Sabine Endicott and Blaine Hunt.
Case Studies Featuring Environmental Studies (Evergreen Native Case Studies)
Evergreen State College project, with case studies and teaching notes. Terms of use encourage educational use, with attribution.
Case Studies Featuring Environmental Justice (Evergreen Native Case Studies)
Evergreen State College project, with case studies and teaching notes. Terms of use encourage educational use, with attribution.
Case Studies Featuring Environmental Restoration (Evergreen Native Case Studies)
Evergreen State College project, with case studies and teaching notes. Terms of use encourage educational use, with attribution.

Related OER subject guides with additional resources:

Environmental Science and Sustainability - TCC OER Subject Guide
by Jennifer Snoek-Brown Last Updated Jul 25, 2024 357 views this year
Political Science - TCC OER Subject Guide
by Jennifer Snoek-Brown Last Updated Jul 25, 2024 67 views this year

Health

Toolkits:

Working Together for Racial Justice and Inclusion (OER ancillary materials)
From the Community Tool Box site, a service of the Center for Community Health and Development at the University of Kansas. This toolkit includes sections on "Understanding Culture and Diversity in Building Communities" and "Multicultural Collaboration," among others. Online format, with a checklist and PowerPoint slides. CC BY NC SA 3.0 (Creative Commons - Attribution - NonCommercial ShareAlike) license. Eligible for Print on Demand if materials are compiled into a print-ready format.
Enhancing Cultural Competence (toolkit)
2018 toolkit from the Community Toolbox, a service of the Center for Community Health and Development at the University of Kansas. Online format. CC BY NC SA (Creative Commons - Attribution - NonCommercial - ShareAlike) license.

Sample textbooks that incorporate EDI:

Perspectives on Bias in Medicine: As Experienced by Health Professionals and Patients (Open access textbook)
Camilla Curren, Ohio State University College of Medicine, 2018. “This book will allow the medical learner to identify and acknowledge bias in the medical setting through the eyes of patients, medical professionals, and content experts who discuss their experiences with this subject. Learners will use self-assessment via the Implicit Bias Test created by Harvard University's Project Implicit, and reflection through knowledge checks, to solidify learning. It is written in dedication to our future medical professionals and patients we care for with the hopes of cultivating compassion through self-knowledge and awareness.” Organized into 9 chapters that go into specific kinds of biases in healthcare, including race and ethnicity (Chapter 2), age (Chapter 4), poverty, class, and privilege (Chapter 5), Women (Chapter 8), and more. Each chapter begins with the IAT (Implicit Association Test) correlating to the bias discussed in that chapter. Online, EPUB, Digital PDF, and Print PDF formats. Not openly licensed, but you can link to pages or sections within a Canvas course. Personal downloads for educational use seems implied, due to multiple download options. Not eligible for Print on Demand.

Related OER subject guides with additional resources:

Health Information Technology and Management - TCC OER Subject Guide
by Jennifer Snoek-Brown Last Updated Oct 18, 2024 122 views this year
Nursing - TCC OER Subject Guide
by Jennifer Snoek-Brown Last Updated Dec 9, 2024 111 views this year
Radiologic Science - TCC OER Subject Guide
by Jennifer Snoek-Brown Last Updated Jul 23, 2024 99 views this year

History

Sample curriculum that incorporates EDI:

Since Time Immemorial: Tribal Sovereignty in Washington State curriculum
HS curriculum project, begun in 2015, by Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction in partnership with the Federally Recognized Tribes in Washington State. Although developed for HS-level, some resources could be used or adapted for community college courses/topics. Focuses on Washington state tribal perspectives on U.S. History and Contemporary World Problems. Each unit includes curriculum downloads and related ancillary resources, including videos, maps, activities, and guides (available on right-hand columns). CC BY (Creative Commons Attribution) license. Eligible for Print on Demand.
Native Knowledge 360 Education Initiative
Browse "Helpful Handouts" developed for educators with activities, lesson plans, and resources for teaching and learning about Native Americans. Part of the Smithsonian's National Museum of the American Indian site. Much of the museum's content is licensed with a CC0 (Creative Commons Zero) public domain license; otherwise, educational use is encouraged with attribution.
more...less...
Recommended by TCC instructor Allison Muir in Spring 2021.

Related OER subject guides with additional resources:

History - TCC OER Subject Guide
by Jennifer Snoek-Brown Last Updated Jul 26, 2024 111 views this year
Anthropology - TCC OER Subject Guide
by Jennifer Snoek-Brown Last Updated Sep 24, 2024 53 views this year

Information systems

Sample curriculum that incorporates EDI:

A Person-Centered Guide to Demystifying Technology: Working together to observe, question, design, prototype, and implement/reject technology in support of people's valued beings and doings (OER text)
Martin Wolske, Univ. of Illinois at Urbana Champaign, 2nd ed., 2023. "[E]ach session of the book begins first with a social chapter with background knowledge probe, conceptual introductions, and a lesson plan for the session. A technical chapter follows with technical introductions and hands-on activities, and a concluding wrap up and comprehension check. The technical of the Orange Unit especially focuses on electronics and physical computer components; the Blue Unit highlights software through a series of introductory programming activities, with possibilities for alternate pathways for those who bring in some existing programming experience; the Rainbow Unit then brings the hardware and software together into networked systems, concluding with a final design adventure." Online and PDF formats. CC BY SA (Creative Commons Attribution - ShareAlike) license.

Related OER subject guides with additional resources:

Computer Science - TCC OER Subject Guide
by Jennifer Snoek-Brown Last Updated Sep 25, 2024 42 views this year

International programs

Sample resources that incorporate EDI:

Intercultural learning: Critical preparation for international student travel
James Cook University (Australia) instructors, updated 2019. "[A]ims to take students beyond practical preparation, to equip them with a critical lens through which to view and understand their international experiences. The book leads students toward a deeper understanding of culture and cultural difference through an exploration of challenging concepts such as imperialism, racism, privilege and intercultural practice." Organized into 5 modules, with integrated videos: Culture, Imperialism & Cultural Diversity, Racism & Privilege, Critical Reflection & Culture, and Intercultural Practice. Faculty peer reviews of this text available on this site. PDF format. CC BY-SA (Creative Commons - Attribution-ShareAlike) license. Eligible for Print on Demand.
Bridges: United States Academia for First-Generation and International College Students (OER textbook)
Shawn Higgins, Temple University, 2021. "[D]esigned to help first-generation, first-year, English language learners, and/or culturally unfamiliarized students more fully and successfully explore their educational environments. By using this book, students will be better prepared for the academic and social challenges of successfully undertaking higher education in English." Organized into 21 chapters. Faculty reviews on this site. Online, PDF, and e-book formats. CC BY-NC-SA (Creative Commons - Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike) license. Eligible for Print on Demand.
Getting to Know Your International Students, 2nd ed.
Christina Page, Kwantlen Polytechnic University (Canada), 2021."Have you ever wondered how you can support international students effectively in your class?" Videos with international students at a Canadian university, organized by theme (e.g. Differences in Assignments and Plagiarism, Relationships with Instructors, Language in the Classroom). Online and PDF formats. Creative Commons Attribution NoDerivatives) license.

Social sciences

Sample textbooks/curriculum that incorporate EDI:

“Everyday Social Justice” courses
Site includes several OER courses, including: Introduction to Women's Studies; Queer Studies; Intercultural Women's Studies; and Women, Social Change, and Activism. All course materials developed by Jimena Alvarado, instructor at Portland Community College. Each course has lessons, each with preparation materials, worksheets, etc. Each course integrates intersectionality and social justice themes. All course materials on this site are openly licensed with a CC BY NC (Creative Commons - Attribution - NonCommercial) license.
Institutional Racism in the United States Revisited (OER textbook)
Carmichael Peters, et al., Chapman University, 2024. "This book aims to examine the current state of systemic racism in the United States as compared to baseline data collected in 1969. Using recent findings in the fields of history, economics, education, political science and public health, the work reveals the ways in which systemic racism in the US has and has not been addressed in the past five decades." Organized into 7 main chapters. PDF format. CC BY SA (Creative Commons - Attribution - ShareAlike) license. Eligible for Print on Demand.
Race and Ethnic Relations in the U.S.: An Intersectional Approach (OER textbook)
Erika Gutierrez, Janét Hund, Shaheen Johnson, Carlos Ramos, Lisette Rodriguez, & Joy Tsuhako, ASCCC Open Educational Resources Initiative, 2021. "This open text was compiled by six diverse, community college sociology faculty from Long Beach City College, Cerritos College, and Santiago Canyon College. With an eye on social justice and intersectionality, the text provides a sociological analysis of the history, demographics, and contemporary experiences of the following race-ethnic groups: African Americans, Asian American Pacific Islanders, Euro Americans, Latinx, Native Americans, Middle Eastern Americans, and immigrants. This text is suitable for a sociology course on race and ethnic relations or a social justice studies introductory course." Organized into 12 chapters. Online, PDF, print book files, and LMS course formats. CC BY-NC-SA (Creative Commons - Attribution - NonCommercial - ShareAlike) license. Eligible for Print on Demand.
Beyond Race: Cultural Influences on Human Social Life (OER textbook)
OER textbook developed by Vera Kennedy, West Hills College Lemoore, 2018. "The book is supported by discussion of relevant theory and research in cultural sociology" and takes a learner-centered approach. Organized into 5 modules. PDF format. CC BY NC SA (Creative Commons - Attribution - NonCommercial - ShareAlike) license.
My Slipper Floated Away: New American Memoirs (OER anthology)
Anthology of 25+ essays written by students at Lehman College in the Bronx, 2020. "The writers are immigrants or the children of immigrants and/or POC. They grew up hearing gunshots and sirens at night, played fire escape basketball and still celebrate Thanksgiving by dancing. The stories reveal the writers' intense longing to belong in America and their passion to succeed in this country, while dealing with myriad challenges. They bear witness, in riveting, artful narratives that will be revelatory to Americans who fear and resent immigrants or people of color." Essays grouped by theme (e.g. Resilience). PDF format. CC BY NC ND (Creative Commons Attribution - Non-Commercial - No-Derivatives) license. Eligible for Print on Demand.
Cultures of Anti-Racism in Latin America and the Caribbean (OER e-book)
By Peter Wade, James Scorer, and Ignacio Aguiló, published by University of London Press, Institute of Latin American Studies, 2019. "This volume asks whether cultural production has a particular role to play within discourses and practices of anti-racism in Latin America and the Caribbean. The contributors analyse music, performance, education, language, film and art in diverse national contexts across the region." Organized into 9 chapters/essays. Each chapter available in online or PDF formats. CC BY NC ND (Creative Commons Attribution - NonCommercial - No Derivatives) license.
History of International Relations: A Non-European Perspective (OER textbook)
OER textbook created by Erik Ringmar, Ibn Haldun University, 2019. "This textbook pioneers a new approach to the study of international relations by historicizing the material traditionally taught in international relations courses and by explicitly focusing on non-European cases, debates, and issues." Organized into 3 main sections. Online, PDF, and editable XML formats. CC BY (Creative Commons - Attribution) license.
Online Readings in Psychology and Culture
Hosted on Grand Valley State University Library’s Digital Commons site. “The Online Readings in Psychology and Culture (ORPC) is designed to serve as a resource for researchers, teachers, students, and anyone who is interested in the interrelationships between Psychology and Culture. Sponsored by the International Association of Cross-Cultural Psychology (IACCP).” Organized into 11 themed units of articles, e.g., Unit 3 - Indigenous Approach, Unit 4 - General Psychological Issues in Cultural Perspective, etc. Each article is available as a PDF download. Each article is licensed under a CC BY NC ND (Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-No Derivative Works 3.0) license.
Wellbeing, Freedom and Social Justice: The Capability Approach Re-Examined (OER text)
Ingrid Robeyns, Ethics Institute of Utrecht University, 2017. Focuses on evaluating ambiguous concepts and policies about wellbeing, freedom, and social justice. Organized into 5 chapters. Online and PDF formats. CC BY (Creative Commons Attribution) license.

Related OER subject guides with additional resources:

Psychology - TCC OER Subject Guide
by Jennifer Snoek-Brown Last Updated Jul 23, 2024 169 views this year
Sociology - TCC OER Subject Guide
by Jennifer Snoek-Brown Last Updated Oct 14, 2024 128 views this year
Anthropology - TCC OER Subject Guide
by Jennifer Snoek-Brown Last Updated Sep 24, 2024 53 views this year
Political Science - TCC OER Subject Guide
by Jennifer Snoek-Brown Last Updated Jul 25, 2024 67 views this year
Philosophy and Religion - TCC OER Subject Guide
by Jennifer Snoek-Brown Last Updated Jul 31, 2024 69 views this year

STEM

Textbooks, toolkits, and pedagogy:

Statistics Through an Equity Lens (OER textbook)
Yvonne Anthony, Remixing Open Textbooks through an Equity Lens (ROTEL) project, 2023. "The essence of this book is that quantitative skills are important for studying and understanding social injustices and inequalities. Its premise is that keeping compassion as a core value of data equity analysis changes our lens. The book helps us to stop seeing Statistics as abstract and inhuman but rather as a science that can help create a culture of empathy and understanding of social justice issues." Organized into 7 chapters, including chapters on Descriptive Statistics, Probability, Inferential Statistics, Correlation and Regression Analysis, and case studies. Online (Pressbooks), PDF, and EPUB formats. CC BY NC SA (Creative Commons Attribution NonCommercial ShareAlike) license. Eligible for Print on Demand.
Fostering Communities of Transformation in STEM Higher Education: A Multi-institutional Collection of DEI Initiatives (OER collection)
Jonathan S. Briganti, et al., Virginia Tech, 2024. "Dive into the multifaceted landscape of inclusive excellence in STEM education with Fostering Communities of Transformation in STEM Higher Education. This scholarly work examines transformative initiatives from Virginia Tech, Radford University, Trinity Washington University, and Towson University, showcasing their role as catalysts in cultivating inclusive excellence across diverse STEM disciplines." PDF and EPUB formats. CC BY (Creative Commons Attribution) license.
WISEST Equity, Diversity and Inclusion (EDI) Toolkit
Produced by the Univ. of Alberta's WISEST team (Women in Scholarship, Engineering, Science, and Technology). This toolkit supports "teachers, educators and parents in their awareness and education about EDI issues in and out of the classroom as it relates to STEM." Organized into sections for Importance of EDI, Teaching Resources, Resources for Supporting Your Diverse Students, and EDI in Action in STEM. PDF format. Not openly licensed but educational use encouraged.
Knowing Home: Braiding Indigenous Science with Western Science, Book 1 (OER text)
Edited by Gloria Snively and Wanosts'a7 Lorna Williams, Univ. of Victoria (Canada), 2016. "Book 1 provides an overview of why traditional knowledge and wisdom should be included in the science curriculum, a window into the science and technologies of the Indigenous peoples who live in Northwestern North America, Indigenous worldview, culturally responsive teaching strategies and curriculum models, and evaluative techniques. It is intended that the rich examples and cases, combined with the resources listed in the appendices, will enable teachers and students to explore Indigenous Science examples in the classroom; and in addition, support the development of culturally appropriate curriculum projects." Organized into 4 sections, with 15 chapters and 5 appendices. Section IV focuses on Indigenous Science Curriculum. Digital PDF, print PDF, EPUB, and course cartridge formats. CC BY NC SA (Creative Commons Attribution - NonCommercial - ShareAlike) license. Eligible for Print on Demand.
Knowing Home: Braiding Indigenous Science with Western Science, Book 2 (OER text)
Edited by Gloria Snively and Wanosts'a7 Lorna Williams, University of Victoria (Canada), 2018. "This book provides a window into the vast storehouse of innovations and technologies of the Indigenous peoples who live in Northwestern North America. It is our hope that the Indigenous Science examples, research, and curriculum models will inspire deep reflection regarding the under-representation of Aboriginal students in the sciences. It is intended that the rich examples and cases, combined with the resources listed in the appendices, will enable teachers and students to explore Indigenous Science examples in the classroom, and in addition, support the development of curriculum projects in home places." Organized into 3 sections, with 9 chapters and 2 appendices. Section III focuses on Culturally Appropriate Curriculum Projects. Online, digital PDF, print PDF, EPUB, and course catridge formats. CC BY NC SA (Creative Commons Attribution - NonCommercial - ShareAlike) license. Eligible for Print on Demand.
Teaching Math for Emergent Bilinguals: Building on Culture, Language, and Identity (OER textbook)
Ji-Yeong I and Ricardo Martinez, Iowa State University, 2021. "This book is designed for pre-service/in-service teachers and others who will work or work with K–12 students who have linguistically and culturally diverse backgrounds, especially students of other languages (English language learners/Emergent bilingual/multilingual)." Organized into 6 chapters. Online, PDF, EPUB, and Common Cartridge formats. CC BY NC SA (Creative Commons Attribution NonCommercial ShareAlike) license. Eligible for Print on Demand.

Related OER subject guides with additional resources:

Astronomy - TCC OER Subject Guide
by Jennifer Snoek-Brown Last Updated Jul 23, 2024 58 views this year
Biology - TCC OER Subject Guide
by Jennifer Snoek-Brown Last Updated Sep 24, 2024 284 views this year
Nutrition - TCC OER Subject Guide
by Jennifer Snoek-Brown Last Updated Jul 25, 2024 91 views this year
Chemistry - TCC OER Subject Guide
by Jennifer Snoek-Brown Last Updated Sep 25, 2024 88 views this year
Environmental Science and Sustainability - TCC OER Subject Guide
by Jennifer Snoek-Brown Last Updated Jul 25, 2024 357 views this year
Engineering - TCC OER Subject Guide
by Jennifer Snoek-Brown Last Updated Jul 26, 2024 46 views this year
Physics - TCC OER Subject Guide
by Jennifer Snoek-Brown Last Updated Jul 25, 2024 93 views this year
Mathematics - TCC OER Subject Guide
by Jennifer Snoek-Brown Last Updated Aug 15, 2024 70 views this year
Geography - TCC OER Subject Guide
by Jennifer Snoek-Brown Last Updated Jul 23, 2024 69 views this year
Geology - TCC OER Subject Guide
by Jennifer Snoek-Brown Last Updated Oct 19, 2024 56 views this year
Oceanography - TCC OER Subject Guide
by Jennifer Snoek-Brown Last Updated Jul 23, 2024 46 views this year

Writing and literature

Pedagogy resources for writing instruction:

Teacher’s Guide to Using Literature to Promote Inclusion of People with Disabilities (OER guide)
Bruce Menchetti, University of Tennessee at Chattanooga, [2023]. " designed to assist teachers who wish to use literature to promote inclusion of people with disabilities in all aspects of life. The Guide consists of two parts. Part 1 is a rubric for evaluating how short stories, books, poems, TV programs, movies, digital media, and other forms of literature portray characters with disabilities. Part 2 of the Teacher’s Guide to Using Literature to Promote Inclusion of People with Disabilities is a curriculum guide with learning objectives, lesson activities, and strategies for outcome evaluation. The curriculum guide is a resource for teachers who wish to design lessons using literature to teach about disabilities." Online (Pressbooks), PDF, EPUB, and Common Cartridge formats. CC BY NC SA (Creative Commons Attribution NonCommercial ShareAlike) license. Eligible for Print on Demand.
Antiracist Writing Assessment Ecologies (OER text)
Asao B. Inoue, UW-Tacoma, 2015. "To explain how and why antiracist work in the writing classroom is vital to literacy learning, Inoue incorporates ideas about the white racial habitus that informs dominant discourses in the academy and other contexts. Inoue helps teachers understand the unintended racism that often occurs when teachers do not have explicit antiracist agendas in their assessments. Drawing on his own teaching and classroom inquiry, Inoue offers a heuristic for developing and critiquing writing assessment ecologies that explores seven elements of any writing assessment ecology: power, parts, purposes, people, processes, products, and places." Organized into 5 chapters. CC BY NC ND (Creative Commons Attribution - NonCommercial - No Derivatives) license.
WAC and Second-Language Writers: Research Towards Linguistically and Culturally Inclusive Programs and Practices (OER text)
Edited by Terry Myers Zawacki, George Mason University, and Michelle Cox, Dartmouth College, 2014. "The chapters within this collection not only report new research but also share a wealth of pedagogical, curricular, and programmatic practices relevant to second-language writers. Representing a range of institutional perspectives—including those of students and faculty at public universities, community colleges, liberal arts colleges, and English-language schools—and a diverse set of geographical and cultural contexts, the editors and contributors report on work taking place in the United States, Asia, Europe, and the Middle East." Organized into 3 sections, with 18 chapters. Faculty peer reviews of this text available on this site. E-book and PDF formats. CC BY NC ND (Creative Commons Attribution - NonCommercial - No Derivatives) license.
Foundational Practices of Online Writing Instruction (OER text)
Beth L. Hewett, Kevin Eric DePew, Elif Guler, Robbin Zeff Warner, 2015. "[A]ddresses the questions and decisions that administrators and instructors most need to consider when developing online writing programs and courses [...] in every chapter, the authors address issues of inclusive and accessible writing instruction (based upon physical and mental disability, linguistic ability, and socioeconomic challenges) in technology enhanced settings." Organized into 5 parts: (1) An OWI Primer, (2) OWI Pedagogy and Administrative Decisions, (3) Practicing Inclusivity in OWI, (4) Faculty and Student Preparation for OWI, and (5) New Directions in OWI. PDF and e-book formats. CC BY NC ND (Creative Commons Attribution - NonCommercial - No Derivatives) license.

Sample textbooks/anthologies that incorporate EDI:

Writing for Change: An Advanced ELL Resource (OER textbook)
Inés Poblet, Whatcom Community College, 2021. "This OER text includes the following: an introduction to creating a collectivist culture to support learning models and activities about multiple ways of organizing ideas in an essay; short readings and discussion highlighting the work of community organizers, activists, and social justice movements; writing prompts that ask learners to synthesize, reflect on, and connect to the topics; projects inviting learners to apply the content to their community environment; additional resources offering multiple modalities for further learning including videos, articles, and podcasts; a contrastive and multilingual approach to exploring grammar patterns to support writing." Organized into 7 main chapters, including an appendix about Decolonizing ELT. Online, PDF, and LMS course formats. CC BY NC SA (Creative Commons - Attribution - NonCommercial - ShareAlike) license. Eligible for Print on Demand.
(Re)Writing Communities and Identities - Sixth Edition (OER textbook)
Phillip Marzluf, et al., Kansas State University, 2021, last updated 2024. "Enables college-level students to develop their ability to compose various informative and expressive genres, including analyses, reflections, summaries, syntheses, and informative reports. While students raise their consciousness about their writing process and audience-based informative strategies, they also familiarize themselves with important social and cultural issues related to the theme of 'identities and communities.'" Organized into 7 chapters, including a handbook. PDF format. CC BY-NC (Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial) license. Eligible for Print on Demand.
Reading and Writing Successfully in College: A Guide for Students (OER guide)
Patricia Lynne, Framingham State University, published by ROTEL (Remixing Open Textbooks Through an Equity Lens), 2023. "This textbook provides students with guidelines for understanding writing tasks as intellectual work using Bloom’s Taxonomy and for treating the writing process as a set of variable activities that move along a trajectory from idea or assignment to a finished product. The book also includes chapters on strengthening reading strategies and on finding, evaluating, and using sources effectively." Organized into 4 sections: Successful College Reading, Doing Intellectual Work (with sample assignments), Writing Process in College, and Writing with Sources. Faculty peer reviews of this text available on this site. Online (Pressbooks), EPUB, and PDF formats. CC BY SA (Creative Commons Attribution ShareAlike) license. Eligible for Print on Demand.
Literary Studies For A Sustainable Future (OER textbook)
Lisette Helena Assia Espinoza, Remixing Open Textbooks through an Equity Lens (ROTEL) project, June 2024. "Offers a sampling of the vast array of storytelling and literary traditions from around the world [...] Through songs and folklore, film clips, poetry, myth, storytelling, and satirical theater, its chapters feature key literary texts and terms to present literature as vital community-sustaining cultural expressions. Learners witness the roles literature have on climate, ecology, and social justice challenges." Organized into 3 major sections, each with readings, activities, and assignments. Online (Pressbooks), PDF, and EPUB formats. CC BY NC SA (Creative Commons Attribution NonCommercial ShareAlike) license. Eligible for Print on Demand.
Heritages of Change: Curatorial Activism and First-Year Writing (OER textbook)
Kisha Tracy, Remixing Open Textbooks through an Equity Lens (ROTEL) project, 2024. "In first-year writing courses, it can often feel that we practice writing and research in a vacuum. Writing is about communication, and, if we do not feel that we have an audience, then it can seem like our writing has no purpose (even though practice of any kind will help us develop these skills). Heritages of Change: Curatorial Activism and First-Year Writing is a method for students to think about the social changes that were prevalent during the COVID years and remain important in their wake. Heritages of Change is a lens for thinking and writing about these ideas. Through curation and exhibition as an act of activism, students focus on a specific audience with whom they can communicate authentically about this dynamic world." Organized into 4 major sections. Online (Pressbooks), PDF, and EPUB formats. CC BY NC SA (reative Commons Attribution NonCommercial ShareAlike) license. Eligible for Print on Demand.
Bad Ideas About Writing (OER collection)
West Virginia University, 2017. A compilation of essays from English and writing instructors that push back against established ideas and stereotypes about writing and research. "[T]he same core questions such as what is good writing, what makes a good writer, how should writing be assessed, and the like persist across contexts, technologies, and eras. The project has its genesis in frustration, but what emerges is hope: hope for leaving aside bad ideas and thinking about writing in more productive, inclusive, and useful ways." Chapters include: African American Language is Not Good English; Good Writers Always Follow My Rules; You Need My Credentials to Be a Writer. Faculty peer reviews of this text available on this site. PDF format. CC BY (Creative Commons - Attribution) license.
My Slipper Floated Away: New American Memoirs (OER anthology)
Anthology of 25+ essays written by students at Lehman College in the Bronx, 2020. "The writers are immigrants or the children of immigrants and/or POC. They grew up hearing gunshots and sirens at night, played fire escape basketball and still celebrate Thanksgiving by dancing. The stories reveal the writers' intense longing to belong in America and their passion to succeed in this country, while dealing with myriad challenges. They bear witness, in riveting, artful narratives that will be revelatory to Americans who fear and resent immigrants or people of color." Essays grouped by theme (e.g. Resilience). PDF format. CC BY NC ND (Creative Commons Attribution - Non-Commercial - No-Derivatives) license. Eligible for Print on Demand.
Teaching Autoethnography: Personal Writing in the Classroom (OER textbook)
Melissa Tombro, The Fashion Institute of Technology, Open SUNY, 2016. "[D]edicated to the practice of immersive ethnographic and autoethnographic writing that encourages authors to participate in the communities about which they write. This book draws ... also on theories and sensibilities from creative writing and performance studies, which encourage self-reflection and narrative composition.” PDF, EPUB, and online formats. CC BY NC SA (Creative Commons - Attribution - Non-Commercial - Share Alike) license. Eligible for Print on Demand.
An Introduction to African and Afro-Diasporic Peoples and Influences in British Literature and Culture before the Industrial Revolution (OER textbook)
Jonathan Elmore and Jenni Halpin, University System of Georgia’s “Affordable Learning Georgia” initiative, 2021. "Corrects, expands, and celebrates the presence of the African Diaspora in the study of British Literature, undoing some of the anti-Black history of British studies." Organized into 9 main chapters, including interviews with current instructors of British literature and history. PDF and editable Word formats. CC BY-NC-SA (Creative Commons - Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike) license. Eligible for Print on Demand.

Related OER subject guides with additional resources:

Writing - TCC OER Subject Guide
by Jennifer Snoek-Brown Last Updated Jul 26, 2024 245 views this year
Creative Writing - TCC OER Subject Guide
by Jennifer Snoek-Brown Last Updated Jul 25, 2024 83 views this year
Literature - TCC OER Subject Guide
by Jennifer Snoek-Brown Last Updated Oct 18, 2024 193 views this year
Humanities - TCC OER Subject Guide
by Jennifer Snoek-Brown Last Updated Oct 10, 2024 65 views this year
Transitional and Developmental Studies (ABE, ELA, EAP) - TCC OER Subject Guide
by Jennifer Snoek-Brown Last Updated Jul 26, 2024 110 views this year

Your OER librarian

Jennifer Snoek-Brown

she/her

Email Me

Contact:

Email: jsnoek-brown@tacomacc.edu (the fastest way to contact me)
Office: Bldg 7, Library (please wear a face mask)
Phone: 253.460.3936 (forwards to my email)
Book an appointment Click the "book now" button above to book a personal appointment with me via Zoom.

Subjects: Communication, English, OER, OER Subject Guides, Psychology, WRITE

Attributions

Except where otherwise noted, the content in this guide is licensed under a CC BY SA 4.0 license. This guide was compiled by Jennifer Snoek-Brown, Tacoma Community College Library, with the collaboration and feedback of TCC faculty members, Library & Learning Innovation colleagues, and Office of EDI staff.

Culturally Responsive and Inclusive Pedagogy - TCC OER Subject Guide: OER starting points

Concepts and keywords

OER starting points for culturally responsive and inclusive pedagogy, by topic and discipline

TCC EDI resources

OEDI Professional Development Resources:

TRPPEL Tool:

Introductory professional development

Toolkits/handbooks:

Articles:

Webinars/courses:

Advanced professional development

Webinars/courses:

Books and guides:

Curriculum (activities, lesson plans, assignments, syllabus)

General resources for curriculum, syllabus, etc.:

Resources for activities, assignments, etc.:

Classroom environment

General resources for culturally responsive classroom management:

OER and EDI rubrics

OER and equity frameworks, rubrics, and tools:

Related guides with additional resources:

OER rubrics with EDI criteria:

Open pedagogy

Additional open pedagogy resources:

Images

Related guides:

Inclusive image sites (multimedia highlighting a diversity of ethnicities, genders, sizes, abilities, cultures, etc.):

Instructional design

OER guides and manuals for instructional design:

Accessibility

OER guides for accessibility:

Online tools for evaluating accessibility:

Supplemental tools and materials (incl. games, lessons, videos, exercises, etc.):

Business

Sample textbooks that incorporate EDI:

Related OER subject guides with additional resources:

College success

Sample textbooks that incorporate EDI:

Related OER subject guides with additional resources:

Communication studies

Sample textbooks that incorporate EDI:

Related OER subject guides with additional resources:

Education

General education pedagogy texts:

Related OER subject guides with additional resources:

ELA and languages

Sample textbooks that incorporate EDI:

Handbooks and best practices for language instructors:

Related OER subject guides with additional resources:

Environmental studies

Sample textbooks/courses that incorporate EDI:

Supplemental resources:

Related OER subject guides with additional resources:

Health

Toolkits:

Sample textbooks that incorporate EDI:

Related OER subject guides with additional resources:

History

Sample curriculum that incorporates EDI:

Related OER subject guides with additional resources:

Information systems

Sample curriculum that incorporates EDI:

Related OER subject guides with additional resources:

International programs

Sample resources that incorporate EDI:

Social sciences

Sample textbooks/curriculum that incorporate EDI:

Related OER subject guides with additional resources:

STEM

Textbooks, toolkits, and pedagogy:

Related OER subject guides with additional resources:

Writing and literature

Pedagogy resources for writing instruction:

Sample textbooks/anthologies that incorporate EDI:

Related OER subject guides with additional resources:

Your OER librarian

Attributions