Humanities - TCC OER Subject Guide: OER starting points
This guide compiles starting points for OER and freely available resources for interdisciplinary Humanities courses and topics. This OER subject guide was created for TCC faculty and staff and reflects TCC courses and curriculum. The purpose of this guide is to help faculty and staff more easily find and review OER in their areas so that they can make decisions about quality, accuracy, relevancy, and potential use.
OER starting points for Humanities, by course area and material type
Introduction to humanities
TCC-created resources:
- HUM& 101 Introduction to Humanities (TCC OER course)To view: First, log into your TCC Canvas faculty account, then click on the Canvas Commons link/icon in the global navigation menu, and then finally click this link to view this Canvas course content. Online course developed by TCC instructor, Kristina Young, 2019. Includes assignments and discussion forums. CC BY (Creative Commons - Attribution) license.
Textbooks, courses, and readers:
- Exploring the Arts: A Brief Introduction to Art, Theatre, Music, and Dance (OER textbook)Doris Hall, et al., LOUIS: The Louisiana Library Network, 2022. Explores diverse expressions of human achievement in visual and performing arts. Organized into 19 chapters. Designed for dual-enrolled high school & college students. Online (Pressbooks), PDF, EPUB, and Common Cartridge formats. CC BY (Creative Commons - Attribution) license. Eligible for Print on Demand.
- Extraordinary Partnerships: How the Arts and Humanities are Transforming America (ebook)Ebook by Christine Henseler, published by Lever Press, 2020. "This inspirative and hopeful collection demonstrates that the arts and humanities are entering a renaissance that stands to change the direction of our communities. Community leaders, artists, educators, scholars, and professionals from many fields show how they are creating responsible transformations through partnership in the arts and humanities. The diverse perspectives that come together in this book teach us how to perceive our lives and our disciplines through a broader context. The contributions exemplify how individuals, groups, and organizations use artistic and humanistic principles to explore new structures and novel ways of interacting to reimagine society. They refresh and reinterpret the ways in which we have traditionally assigned space and value to the arts and humanities." Online and ePUB formats. CC BY NC ND (Creative Commons - Attribution - NonCommercial - NoDerivatives) license.
- Making Sense of Digital Humanities: Transformations and Interventions in Technocultures (OER textbook)Julian Chambliss and Ellen Moll, Michigan State University Libraries, 2022. "Exploring the pathways offered by the intersection of the digital and the humanities, Making Sense of Digital Humanities seeks to support students and faculty engaging with the complex ways digital humanities enhances our understanding of modern society." Organized into 4 major sections: Data, Ethics, and Society; Global Digital Humanities; Community and Digital Humanities; and Teaching and Learning. Online (Pressbooks), PDF, and EPUB formats. CC BY NC SA (Creative Commons Attribution NonCommercial ShareAlike) license. Eligible for Print on Demand.
Library e-books and videos with unlimited user access:
Understanding culture: A handbook for students in the humanitiesCall Number: OnlinePublication Date: 2017Tip: You may need to log in with your portal credentials to view this e-book. "How is it possible to study 'culture' when the topic covers the arts, literature, movies, history, sociology, anthropology and gender studies? Understanding Culture examines the evolution of a concept with varying meanings depending on changing norms."
- Films on Demand This link opens in a new window
Tip: You may need to log in with your TCC portal credentials to view this content. Easily embed these videos into your Canvas course. Includes streaming videos in the categories of Architecture, Art History, Drama and the Theater, World Literature, World Music, and Music History.
Supplemental tools and materials (incl. primary sources, games, lessons, videos, exercises, etc.):
- HUM& 101 Intro to Humanities (OER ancillary materials)Developed by Open Course Library, SBCTC, 2013. Materials include readings and handouts, instructor guide, and assessments. Organized into a Google Drive with two folders for "Course Modules" and "Course Resources." CC BY (Creative Commons - Attribution) license. Eligible for Print on Demand.
- Theater and Drama - Crash Course video playlistCrash Course video series of 50 videos (each video around 10 mins.) with innovative graphics, last updated 2020. Includes videos on: What is Theater, Where Did Theater Go?, Greek and Roman Drama and Comedy, Sanskrit Drama, Mystery Plays, Shakespeare, Beijing Opera, Realism, Surrealism, Expressionism, Futurism, Avant Garde, and more. Crash Course videos are high-quality, with a mix of live-action and animated graphics. Not openly licensed but freely available to view, link, and embed into courses.
Cross-disciplinary OER subject guides:
As HUM&101 is so inter-disciplinary, you may also want to explore resources on the following OER subject guides:
Global humanities
Textbooks, courses, and readers:
- Humanities: Prehistory to the 15th Century, 1st ed. (OER textbook)OER textbook developed by Florida State College at Jacksonville faculty for Lumen Learning's Achieving the Dream, 1st ed. Organized into 8 main modules, from Prehistoric Culture to Western European Civilization During the Middle Ages. Online (Pressbooks), EPUB, PDF, and Canvas Cartridge formats. Alternative course module format available at LibreTexts at https://human.libretexts.org/Courses/Lumen_Learning/Book%3A_Humanities%3A_Prehistory_to_the_15th_Century_(Lumen). CC BY (Creative Commons Attribution) license. Eligible for Print on Demand.
- Humanities: Prehistory to the 15th Century, 2nd ed. (OER textbook)Thomas Scott Cason, Florida State College at Jacksonville, 2nd ed., [2020]. This updated edition of this OER textbook is organized into 7 modules, from Prehistoric Culture to Global Civilizations During the Middle Ages. Online (Pressbooks) format. CC BY NC SA (Creative Commons Attribution NonCommercial ShareAlike) license. Eligible for Print on Demand.
- Introduction to Humanities: From Prehistoric Era to ChristendomJude Chudi Okpala and Megan Ackatz, UTSA Libraries and Museums, 2023. Organized into 9 chapters, including Prehistory, Mesopotamia, African Civilization, Greek and Roman Civilizations, and more. An adaptation of Humanities: From Prehistory to 15th Century by Florida State College at Jacksonville, which is also linked on this guide. Online (Pressbooks) format. CC BY (Creative Commons Attribution) license. Eligible for Print on Demand.
The making of the humanities: Volume 1- early modern Europe (open access text) by Call Number: OnlinePublication Date: 2010Open access text via JSTOR. "This book is the first step towards the development of a comparative history of the humanities. Specialists in philology, musicology, art history, linguistics, literary theory, and other disciplines highlight the intertwining of the various fields and their impact on the sciences." Online and PDF versions of each chapter. CC BY NC ND (Creative Commons - Attribution - NonCommercial - NoDerivatives) license.
The making of the humanities: Volume II: From early modern to modern disciplines (open access text) by Call Number: OnlinePublication Date: 2012Open access text via JSTOR. "In this volume, the editors have selected a series of essays that look at the origins of the humanities and find that long before 1800 the concept of the humanities was already at the fore." Online and PDF versions of each chapter. CC BY NC ND (Creative Commons - Attribution - NonCommercial - NoDerivatives) license.
The making of the humanities: Volume III: The modern humanities (open access text) by Call Number: OnlinePublication Date: 2014Open access text via JSTOR. "This book is the long awaited third volume in a series that provides a comprehensive comparative history of the humanities. This installment turns to the modern period, from 1850 to 2000, bringing together specialists in philology, musicology, art history, linguistics, archaeology, and literary theory to explore the intertwining nature of these various disciplines, and how together they make up the broader investigative project of the humanities." Online and PDF versions of each chapter. CC BY NC ND (Creative Commons - Attribution - NonCommercial - NoDerivatives) license.
- Making Sense of Digital Humanities: Transformations and Interventions in Technocultures (OER textbook)Julian Chambliss and Ellen Moll, Michigan State University Libraries, 2022. "Exploring the pathways offered by the intersection of the digital and the humanities, Making Sense of Digital Humanities seeks to support students and faculty engaging with the complex ways digital humanities enhances our understanding of modern society." Organized into 4 major sections: Data, Ethics, and Society; Global Digital Humanities; Community and Digital Humanities; and Teaching and Learning. Online (Pressbooks), PDF, and EPUB formats. CC BY NC SA (Creative Commons Attribution NonCommercial ShareAlike) license. Eligible for Print on Demand.
Library e-books and videos with unlimited user access:
- Understanding culture: A handbook for students in the humanitiesCall Number: OnlinePublication Date: 2017Tip: You may need to log in with your portal credentials to view this e-book. "How is it possible to study 'culture' when the topic covers the arts, literature, movies, history, sociology, anthropology and gender studies? Understanding Culture examines the evolution of a concept with varying meanings depending on changing norms."
- Films on Demand This link opens in a new windowTip: You may need to log in with your TCC portal credentials to view this content. Easily embed these videos into your Canvas course. Includes streaming videos in the categories of Architecture, Art History, Drama and the Theater, World Literature, World Music, and Music History.
American multicultural arts
TCC-created resources:
- HUM 120 American Multicultural Arts Experience (TCC OER course)To view: First, log into your TCC Canvas faculty account, then click on the Canvas Commons link/icon in the global navigation menu, and then finally click this link to view this Canvas course content. Online course developed by TCC instructor, Kristina Young, 2019. "This is an inquiry-based version of Hum 120." Includes modules, assignments, and discussion forums. CC BY (Creative Commons - Attribution) license.
Textbooks, courses, and readers:
- American Encounters: Art, History, and Cultural Identity (OER textbook)Angela L Miller, et al., 2018. Textbook previously published by Pearson and released with an open license by Univ. of Washington. "American Encounters provides a narrative of the history of American art that focuses on historical encounters among diverse cultures, upon broad structural transformations such as the rise of the middle classes and the emergence of consumer and mass culture, and on the fluid conversations between "high" art and vernacular expressions. The text emphasizes the intersections among cultures and populations, as well as the exchanges, borrowings, and appropriations that have enriched and vitalized our collective cultural heritage." PDF format. CC BY NC SA (Creative Commons - Attribution - Noncommercial - Share Alike) License.
- Seeing America: A portal to American art and historyOnline course materials created by Smarthistory. "Seeing America was created by Smarthistory with 17 leading museums collections. Together we examine the long history of the United States, from before European settlers to the modern era." Modules, which include readings, videos, and primary sources, include Themes (e.g. "American and national identity," "American and regional culture," etc.); Historical Periods (ranging from before 1607 to the modern era); and Classroom Topics (e.g. "Contemporary America," etc.). Online format. CC BY NC SA (Creative Commons - Attribution - NonCommercial -ShareAlike) license.
Supplemental tools and materials (incl. primary sources, games, lessons, videos, exercises, etc.):
- Folkstreams"Folkstreams provides a venue for independent film-makers to showcase their documentaries about American traditional folklore and cultural roots. Their film archival collection focuses on the cultural, historical, and artistic significance of unnoticed Americans from many different regions and communities." Film pages also include related links and introductory guides. All rights reserved copyright, but films are available to link to.
- Digital Public Library of America - Primary Source Sets“Digital Public Library of America (DPLA) Primary Source Sets are designed to help students develop critical thinking skills by exploring topics in history, literature, and culture through primary sources. Drawing online materials from libraries, archives, and museums across the United States, the sets use letters, photographs, posters, oral histories, video clips, sheet music, and more. Each set includes a topic overview, ten to fifteen primary sources, links to related resources, and a teaching guide.” CC BY (Creative Commons - Attribution) license.
- Library of Congress Classroom MaterialsExtensive educational resources about American history and memory, including primary source sets, lesson plans, themed resources, and presentations & activities. Public domain.
Introduction to film
For OER on introductory film studies, please explore the Film Studies OER subject guide, linked below, and click on the "Introduction to film" sub-tab:
American history, American film
For OER on American film history, please explore the Film Studies OER subject guide, linked below, and click on the "American history, American film" sub-tab:
The city
TCC-created resources:
- HUM 285 The City - San Francisco (TCC OER course)To view: First, log into your TCC Canvas faculty account, then click on the Canvas Commons link/icon in the global navigation menu, and then finally click this link to view this Canvas course content. OER Canvas course shared by TCC instructor Kristina Young, 2019. Focuses on the city of San Francisco. Includes modules, assignments, quizzes, and discussions. CC BY (Creative Commons - Attribution) license.
- HUM 285 The City - Tacoma (TCC OER course)To view: First, log into your TCC Canvas faculty account, then click on the Canvas Commons link/icon in the global navigation menu, and then finally click this link to view this Canvas course content. OER Canvas course shared by TCC instructor Kristina Young, 2017. Focuses on the city of Tacoma. Includes modules, assignments, quizzes, and discussions. CC BY NC SA (Creative Commons - Attribution - NonCommercial - ShareAlike) license.
Textbooks, courses, and readers:
- Urban Literacy: Learning to Read the City Around You (OER textbook)Leanne Serbulo, Portland State University, 2021, last updated 2022. "This book introduces students to the basic concepts of urban studies. It is an interdisciplinary text that was developed for lower-division undergraduate students. The book is organized into thematic chapters that explore different aspects of urban life, such as the environment, housing, and culture. Each chapter introduces a new way of conceptualizing the city, presents core theories and concepts, and provides examples and case studies from cities around the globe to illustrate the ideas presented in the text. At the end of each chapter, there are review questions and a series of interactive field activities where students can apply the concepts introduced in the chapter to a real-world setting." Organized into 6 main thematic chapters. Online, ebook, PDF, and editable OpenDocument formats. CC BY-NC (Creative Commons - Attribution-NonCommercial) license. Eligible for Print on Demand.
Supplemental tools and materials (incl. primary sources, games, lessons, videos, exercises, etc.):
All of the library e-books below have unlimited user access.
The atlas of urban expansionCall Number: OnlinePublication Date: 2012Potential readings: Chapter 3: The Global Sample of 120 Cities, 1990–2000, and Chapter 4: Historical Perspectives on 30 Cities, 1800–2000
The city: A world historyCall Number: OnlinePublication Date: 2015The rise and development of urban centers from ancient times to the twenty-first century.
Encyclopedia of the cityCall Number: OnlinePublication Date: 2005An interdisciplinary and multidisciplinary perspective
- Globalization and the City: Two Connected Phenomena in Past and Present (open access book)Open access book published by Innsbruck University Press, 2013. Includes case studies of cities. "We view these cities not only in their globality, but also through their heritage, their economic relevance, their architecture, or financial flows connecting them." Online PDF format. Not openly licensed but freely available to link to.
Introduction to Pacific Rim cultures (Taiwan)
Textbooks, courses, and readers:
- HUM 110 - Intro to Pacific Rim Cultures (Taiwan) - potential OER (Google doc)Google doc of potential OER, open access, and TCC Library resources compiled by OER librarian Jennifer Snoek-Brown, Dec. 2020. Document organized by weekly theme; resources are linked throughout.
Literature
For more OER on different types and periods of literature and literary criticism, please explore the following OER subject guide(s):
Bible as literature
To browse OER on Bible as literature, explore the Literature OER subject guide, linked below >> click on the sub-tab for "Bible as literature."
Writing
For more OER on different types of writing, please explore the following OER subject guide(s):
Culturally responsive and inclusive pedagogy
The Culturally Responsive and Inclusive Pedagogy OER Subject Guide, linked below, provides a starting point for OER professional development and curricular materials relating to issues of equity, diversity, and inclusion; trauma-informed practices; and culturally responsive, inclusive, and anti-racist pedagogy and practices. This guide includes concepts and keywords; TCC OEDI resources; introductory and more in-depth professional development resources (toolkits, guides, etc.); curriculum resources (activities, assignments, etc.); OER and EDI rubrics; instructional design; accessibility; as well as EDI-focused OER in different disciplines across the curriculum.
Your OER librarian
Jennifer Snoek-Brown
she/her
Contact:
Email: jsnoek-brown@tacomacc.edu (the fastest way to contact me)
Office: Bldg 7, Library (please wear a face mask)
Phone: 253.460.3936 (forwards to my email)
Book an appointment Click the "book now" button above to book a personal appointment with me via Zoom.
Website
Office: Bldg 7, Library (please wear a face mask)
Phone: 253.460.3936 (forwards to my email)
Book an appointment Click the "book now" button above to book a personal appointment with me via Zoom.
Your liaison librarian
Attributions
Except where otherwise noted, the content in this guide was compiled by Jennifer Snoek-Brown, Tacoma Community College Library, and is licensed under a CC BY SA 4.0 license.
Except where otherwise noted, the content in these guides by Tacoma Community College Library is licensed under CC BY SA 4.0.
This openly licensed content allows others to cite, share, or modify this content, with credit to TCC Library. When reusing or adapting this content, include this statement in the new document: This content was originally created by Tacoma Community College Library and shared with a CC BY SA 4.0 license.
Tacoma Community College Library - Building 7, 6501 South 19th Street, Tacoma, WA 98466 - P. 253.566.5087
Visit us on Instagram!