History - TCC OER Subject Guide: OER starting points
This guide compiles starting points for OER and freely available resources for History courses and topics. This OER subject guide was created for TCC faculty and staff and reflects TCC credit, continuing education, and corrections course offerings. The purpose of this guide is to help faculty and staff more easily find and review OER in their areas so that they can make decisions about quality, accuracy, relevancy, and potential use.
OER starting points for History, by course area and material type
Canvas course shells:
- World Civilizations I (OER Canvas course)To view: First, log into your TCC Canvas faculty account, then click on the Canvas Commons link/icon in the global navigation menu, and then finally click this link to view this Canvas course content. OER Canvas course shared in 2020. Modules cover Ancient and Medieval History. Includes assignments, quizzes, and discussions. CC BY NC SA (Creative Commons - Attribution - NonCommercial - ShareAlike) license.
- HIST&126 World Civilizations I (WACTC OER course)To view: First, log into your TCC Canvas faculty account, then click on the Canvas Commons link/icon in the global navigation menu, and then finally click this link to view this Canvas course content. OER Canvas course shared by Pierce College instructor, 2018. Designed for an 8-week schedule, this course includes modules, quizzes, and discussions. CC BY (Creative Commons - Attribution) license.
Textbooks, courses, and readers:
- World History, Volume 1: to 1500 (OER textbook)OpenStax, published 2023. Textbook "designed to meet the scope and sequence of a world history course to 1500 offered at both two-year and four-year institutions" and "effort has been made to introduce and juxtapose people’s experiences of history for a rich and nuanced discussion. Primary source material represents the cultures being discussed from a firsthand perspective whenever possible." Organized into 4 units, organized chronologically, with 17 chapters. Instructor resources, including answer guide, test bank, and slides, freely available upon verified account. Online and PDF formats; customizable Word document files available upon verified log-in. CC BY (Creative Commons - Attribution) license. Eligible for Print on Demand.
- World History, Volume 2: from 1400 (OER textbook)OpenStax, published 2022, updated 2023. Textbook "designed to meet the scope and sequence of a world history course to 1500 offered at both two-year and four-year institutions" and "effort has been made to introduce and juxtapose people’s experiences of history for a rich and nuanced discussion. Primary source material represents the cultures being discussed from a firsthand perspective whenever possible." Organized into 3 units, organized chronologically, with 15 chapters. Instructor resources, including answer guide, test bank, and slides, freely available upon verified account. Online and PDF formats; customizable Word document files available upon verified log-in. CC BY (Creative Commons - Attribution) license. Eligible for Print on Demand.
- World History: Cultures, States, and Societies to 1500 (OER textbook)University of North Georgia Press, 2016. "offers a comprehensive introduction to the history of humankind from prehistory to 1500. Authored by six USG faculty members with advance degrees in History, this textbook offers up-to-date original scholarship. It covers such cultures, states, and societies as Ancient Mesopotamia, Ancient Israel, Dynastic Egypt, India's Classical Age, the Dynasties of China, Archaic Greece, the Roman Empire, Islam, Medieval Africa, the Americas, and the Khanates of Central Asia.It includes 350 high-quality images and maps, chronologies, and learning questions to help guide student learning. Its digital nature allows students to follow links to applicable sources and videos, expanding their educational experience beyond the textbook." 12 chapters. PDF format. CC BY SA (Creative Commons - Attribution - ShareAlike) license. Eligible for Print on Demand.
- World History: Cultures, States, and Societies (Global Remix)Remixed, updated, and expanded version of the "World History: Cultures, States, and Societies to 1500" text. Updated by a Michigan Community College instructor, 2018. Purpose was "to provide a more globally integrated narrative."
- HIST103: World History in the Early Modern and Modern Eras, 1600-Present (OER course)Saylor Academy. "This course will present a comparative overview of world history from the 17th century to the present era. You will examine the origins of major economic, political, social, cultural, and technological trends of the past 400 years and explore the impact of these trends on world societies. This course will be structured chronologically and thematically, with each unit focusing on a significant historical subject. The units will include representative primary-source documents and images that illustrate important overarching themes, such as the emergence of modern nation-states, the economic and technological interactions between Western and non-Western peoples, the changing social and cultural perceptions about religion and the state, and the development of physical and virtual networks of information exchange." Organized into 10 main units. TIP: The Resources link in the course menu is a shortcut to the sources and files used in the course. Online format. Overall, course has CC BY (Creative Commons - Attribution) license, but sources used may have different or additional licenses. Eligible for Print on Demand if materials are compiled into a print-ready format.
- Western Civilization: A Concise History - Volume 1Textbook series created by Portland Community College instructor, originally published 2019, last updated 2021. Volume I has 15 chapters, from "The Origins of Civilization" and "Mesopotamia" to "Early Medieval Europe." PDF format. Peer reviews of the text available on this site. CC BY NC SA (Creative Commons - Attribution - NonCommercial - ShareAlike) license.
- Western Civilization: A Concise History - Volume 2Textbook series created by Portland Community College instructor, originally published 2019, last updated 2020. Volume 2 has 15 chapters, from "The Crusades and the High Middle Ages" and "The French Revolution." PDF format. Peer reviews of the text available on this site. CC BY NC SA (Creative Commons - Attribution - NonCommercial - ShareAlike) license.
- Western Civilization: A Concise History - Volume 3Textbook series created by Portland Community College instructor, originally published 2019, last updated 2020. Volume 3 has 15 chapters, from "Napoleon" and "Toward the Present." PDF format. Peer reviews of the text available on this site. CC BY NC SA (Creative Commons - Attribution - NonCommercial - ShareAlike) license.
- Macrohistory: World History (Open access text)Content originally created by historian Frank Smitha. "The original author of this site ... believed that a study of history such as this is a collective endeavor. It should draw from the works of professional archeologists and the work of professional historians who have dedicated their lives to a particular field of study." Includes sections covering before 1000 BCE through the 21st century. Includes map indexes and additional resources. Open access (okay to link to). Not eligible for Print on Demand.
- Keys to Understanding the Middle East: Diverse Perspectives (OER textbook)Alam Payind and Melinda McClimans, Ohio State, 2020. "This book is intended for readers who have never studied the Middle East, or experts who may wish to fill gaps in their knowledge of the region from other disciplines." Organized into 3 main chapters: Languages, Faith and Religious Identity, and The Middle East and the Impact of Imperialism. Print PDF CC BY SA (Creative Commons Attribution-ShareAlike) license. Eligible for Print on Demand.
Supplemental tools and materials (incl. primary sources, games, lessons, videos, exercises, etc.):
- World History - Crash Course video playlistCrash Course video series of 42 videos (each video around 10 mins.) with innovative graphics, last updated 2020. "Based on the 2012 AP World History curriculum, from growing the first crops in the First Agricultural Revolution to global textile production in the 2010s." Includes videos on: Agricultural Revolution, Mesopotamia, Ancient Egypt, Chinese History, The Silk Road, The Crusades, The Mongols, The Atlantic Slave Trade, Haitian Revolutions, Nationalism, Globalization, and more. Crash Course videos are high-quality, with a mix of live-action and animated graphics. Not openly licensed but freely available to view, link, and embed into courses.
- World History 2 - Crash Course video playlistCrash Course video series of 30 videos (each video around 10 mins.) with innovative graphics, last updated 2020. "[W]e take a different approach and try to think more thematically rather than chronologically. This material ... expands on Crash Course World History 1." Includes videos on: civilization, money, disease, war, Ice Age, energy, famine, water, and more. Crash Course videos are high-quality, with a mix of live-action and animated graphics. Not openly licensed but freely available to view, link, and embed into courses.
- World History EncyclopediaOnline encyclopedia with lots of resources, including a timeline, videos, images, atlas, and more. Entries are quite extensive. Browsable encyclopedia and tools, as well as searchable by a search box for specific articles or topics. Articles also have audio formats. CC BY NC SA (Creative Commons - NonCommercial - Attribution - Share-Alike) license.
- Reading About the World, Vol. I (book excerpts)Excerpts from world history and literature textbooks from retired WSU faculty member. "This anthology prints short selections sharply focussed on major topics of interest to beginning students of World Civilizations. It combines traditional historical sources with literary and philosophical selections." Book is out-of-print, but the available excerpts have a CC BY NC SA (Attribution - NonCommercial - Share Alike) license listed at the bottom of each page.
- Reading About the World, Vol. 2 (book excerpts)Excerpts from world history and literature textbooks from retired WSU faculty member. "This anthology prints short selections sharply focussed on major topics of interest to beginning students of World Civilizations. It combines traditional historical sources with literary and philosophical selections." Book is out-of-print, but the available excerpts have a CC BY NC SA (Attribution - NonCommercial - Share Alike) license listed at the bottom of each page.
- The Western World: Daily Readings on Geography (OER textbook)Joel Quam and Scott Campbell, College of DuPage, 2020. "In essay format, this textbook considers examples of various sub-categories of Geography in combination with five regions of the Western World." Examples and essays about the Pacific Realm, North America, Europe, Latin America and the Caribbean, and Russia, in areas of regional, cultural, economic, historical, physical, political, population, urban, and medical geography. Online, PDF, EPUB, and LMS cartridge formats. CC BY NC SA (Creative Commons Attribution NonCommercial ShareAlike) license. Eligible for Print on Demand.
- Internet Ancient History SourcebookSourcebook provides and organizes ancient history texts for use in classroom situations. Topics covered are along the left navigation bar. Most texts are in the public domain and/or allowed for educational use. Compiled by Fordham University.
Textbooks, courses, and readers:
- Western Civilization I (OER textbook)East Georgia State College, 2018. "This hybrid textbook and open course is a comprehensive set of teaching materials for Western Civilization I (until 1648) [...] Topics covered include prehistory and ancient history by region, the Middle Ages, the Renaissance, and the Reformation." Full text, accessible PDF, and zip file downloads. CC BY NC SA (Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike) license. Eligible for Print on Demand.
- Western Civilization: A Concise History - Volume 1Textbook series created by Portland Community College instructor, 2019. The final chapter of Volume I is "Early Medieval Europe." PDF format. Peer reviews of the text available on this site. CC BY NC SA (Creative Commons - Attribution - NonCommercial - ShareAlike) license.
- Western Civilization: A Concise History - Volume 2Textbook series created by Portland Community College instructor, originally published 2019, last updated 2020. Volume 2 has 15 chapters, from "The Crusades and the High Middle Ages" and "The French Revolution." PDF format. Peer reviews of the text available on this site. CC BY NC SA (Creative Commons - Attribution - NonCommercial - ShareAlike) license.
- Western Civilization: A Concise History - Volume 3Textbook series created by Portland Community College instructor, originally published 2019, last updated 2020. Volume 3 has 15 chapters, from "Napoleon" and "Toward the Present." PDF format. Peer reviews of the text available on this site. CC BY NC SA (Creative Commons - Attribution - NonCommercial - ShareAlike) license.
- Contested Visions: The History of Western Civilization from 1648 (OER textbook)Thomas Aiello and J. Franklin Williamson, University System of Georgia, 2020. Covers from The Age of Discovery through World War II. Online and accessible Word formats. CC BY (Creative Commons - Attribution) license. Eligible for Print on Demand.
- The History Guide (online courses)Contains the complete content of three undergraduate courses in European history: Ancient and Medieval European History, Early Modern European History, and Modern European Intellectual History. Not technically OER but freely available to view and link to. Last update 2014.
Supplemental tools and materials (incl. primary sources, games, lessons, videos, exercises, etc.):
- Spectacles in the Roman World: A Sourcebook (OER textbook)Siobhán McElduff, BC Campus, 2020. "This is a collection of primary sources on Roman games and spectacles in their various forms, created for a second-year undergraduate class." Themed modules, e.g. Chariot Racing. CC BY NC SA (Creative Commons - Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike) license. Eligible for Print on Demand.
- European history - Crash Course video playlistCrash Course video series of 50 videos (each video around 10 mins.) with innovative graphics, last updated 2020. College-level introduction videos ranging from an "overview of Europe’s history and connection with the world from 1450 to the present." Crash Course videos are high-quality, with a mix of live-action and animated graphics. Not openly licensed but freely available to view, link, and embed into courses.
Canvas course shells:
- U.S. History, Chapters 1-16 (OER Canvas course)To view: First, log into your TCC Canvas faculty account, then click on the Canvas Commons link/icon in the global navigation menu, and then finally click this link to view this Canvas course content. Canvas course shared by California Community Colleges, 2019. Uses the OpenStax OER textbook for U.S. History, covers before 1492 through Reconstruction era. Organized into chapter modules, with readings, powerpoints, and appendices of primary sources. CC BY (Creative Commons - Attribution) license.
- U.S. History, Chapters 16-32 (OER Canvas course)To view: First, log into your TCC Canvas faculty account, then click on the Canvas Commons link/icon in the global navigation menu, and then finally click this link to view this Canvas course content. Canvas course shared by California Community Colleges, 2019. Uses the OpenStax OER textbook for U.S. History, covers Reconstruction era through 21st century. Organized into chapter modules, with readings, powerpoints, and appendices of primary sources. CC BY (Creative Commons - Attribution) license.
TCC-created resources:
- HIST& 148 U.S. History III (TCC Canvas course)To view: First, log into your TCC Canvas faculty account, then click on the Canvas Commons link/icon in the global navigation menu, and then finally click this link to view this Canvas course content. Online course shared by TCC instructor, David Jepsen, 2017. Includes lectures, powerpoints, assignments, and quizzes. All rights reserved copyright; contact instructor or eLearning.
Textbooks, courses, and readers:
- U.S. History (OER textbook)OpenStax, published 2014, updated 2022. "U.S. History is designed to meet the scope and sequence requirements of most introductory courses. The text provides a balanced approach to U.S. history, considering the people, events, and ideas that have shaped the United States from both the top down (politics, economics, diplomacy) and bottom up (eyewitness accounts, lived experience). Instructor resources, including Canvas course cartridge, instructor answer guide, supplemental test items, and slides, freely available upon verified account. Online and PDF formats; customizable Word document files available upon verified log-in.CC BY (Creative Commons - Attribution) license. Eligible for Print on Demand.
- Life, Liberty, and the Pursuit of Happiness for AP Courses (OER textbook)Collaboration between OpenStax and the Bill of Rights Institute, published 2020. "The course is designed to align with the curriculum guidelines for AP U.S. History." Units arranged chronologically. This content is freely available for students when instructors set up a course in OpenStax Tutor. CC BY (Creative Commons - Attribution) license. Eligible for Print on Demand.
- The American Yawp (OER textbook)“Balancing academic rigor with popular readability, The American Yawp offers a multi-layered, democratic alternative to the American past.” and “Without losing sight of politics and power, it incorporates transnational perspectives, integrates diverse voices, recovers narratives of resistance, and explores the complex process of cultural creation.” Online, PDF, and print formats available. CC BY SA (Attribution - Share Alike) license.
- U.S. History to 1865 (OER textbook)Bay College textbook, organized into 11 chapters. Heavily incorporates The American Yawp text with additional text and resources. PDF format. CC BY (Creative Commons - Attribution) license.
- U.S. History, 1865 to present (OER textbook)Bay College textbook, organized into 12 units. Heavily incorporates The American Yawp, with additional content. PDF format. CC BY (Creative Commons - Attribution) license
- United States History I (OER course)OER course from Lumen and currently hosted by LibreTexts. "This text comes almost entirely from OpenStax U.S. History, but is supplemented with primary source readings from The American Yawp Reader. There are other minor additions and enhancements made by Lumen Learning or other faculty." Online and PDF formats. Course pages may have different CC (Creative Commons) open licenses. Eligible for Print on Demand.
- United History II (OER course)OER course from Lumen and currently hosted by LibreTexts. "This text comes almost entirely from OpenStax U.S. History, but is supplemented with primary source readings from The American Yawp Reader. There are other minor additions and enhancements made by Lumen Learning or other faculty." Online and PDF formats. Course pages may have different CC (Creative Commons) open licenses. Eligible for Print on Demand.
- American History I: Colonial Period to Civil War (OER textbook)Developed by Gordon State College, 2019, this textbook "contains all modular text content used in the LMS implementation of their American History I (HIST 2111) courses. American History 1 covers topics ranging from the colonial period to the Civil War." Includes lecture slides and primary source documents. PDF and editable Word formats. CC BY (Creative Commons - Attribution) license.
- A History of the United States, 1870-Present (OER textbook)Version of Saylor's "A History of the United States Vol. 2 " OER text, hosted on the LibreTexts platform, which provides additional formats: PDF, print book files, LMS cartridge, and zip file formats (click the blue "Download" button in the top right). Organized into 13 main chapters. CC BY NC SA (Creative Commons - Attribution - NonCommercial - ShareAlike) license. Eligible for Print on Demand.
- Digital History (online textbook + website)Online textbook of American history organized into history eras from "The First Americans" to "The 21st Century." Also browsable by topic. Incorporates active learning. Not strictly open but educational use and linking encouraged. On Copyright page, states “Teachers are expressly given permission to reproduce print copies of Digital History materials for their courses as long as Digital History is credited and the Digital History copyright remains on each page that is printed.”
- History in the Making: A History of the People of the United States of America to 1877 (OER textbook)Georgia Galileo project, 2013. "This textbook examines U.S. History from before European Contact through Reconstruction, while focusing on the people and their history. Prior to its publication, History in the Making underwent a rigorous double blind peer review, a process that involved over thirty scholars who reviewed the materially carefully, objectively, and candidly in order to ensure not only its scholarly integrity but also its high standard of quality. This book provides a strong emphasis on critical thinking about US History." 17 chapters. PDF format. CC BY SA (Creative Commons - Attribution - ShareAlike) license.
- American Environmental History (OER textbook)Created by history professor, 2019. " This text surveys findings of the new field of Environmental History about how the environment of the Americas influenced the actions of people here and how people affected their environments, from prehistory to the present." Organized into 15 chapters. Online, digital PDF, print PDF, EPUB, MOBI, and editable OpenDocument formats. Peer reviews of the text available on this site. CC BY SA (Creative Commons - Attribution - ShareAlike) license.
Library e-books
Unlimited user access. Sign in with same username and password used to log into portal. Library e-books not eligible for Print on Demand.
The American Yawp: Vol. 1, To 1877 by Call Number: OnlinePublication Date: 2019E-book version of Vol. 1 of "a massively collaborative open U.S. history textbook."
The American Yawp: Vol. 2, Since 1877 by Call Number: OnlinePublication Date: 2019E-book version of Vol. 2 of "a massively collaborative open U.S. history textbook."
Supplemental tools and materials (incl. primary sources, games, lessons, videos, exercises, etc.):
- Instructor resources for OpenStax U.S. History textbookInstructor resources freely available upon verified log-in. Includes PowerPoint slides, instructor answer guide, supplemental test items, and two Canvas course cartridge options.
- US History - Crash Course video playlistCrash Course video series of 48 videos (each video around 10 mins.) with innovative graphics, last updated 2020. "Based on the 2012 AP World History curriculum, from growing the first crops in the First Agricultural Revolution to global textile production in the 2010s." Includes videos on: Native Americans, Colonizing America, Colonial America, American Revolution, The Constitution, Westward Expansion, Immigrant Cities, Reform Movements, Women's Suffrage, and more. Crash Course videos are high-quality, with a mix of live-action and animated graphics. Not openly licensed but freely available to view, link, and embed into courses.
- The American Yawp ReaderA documentary companion to the American Yawp textbook, with primary source readings for both Volume I (before 1877) and Volume II (after 1877). CC BY SA (Attribution - Share Alike) license with public domain readings.
- Digital Public Library of America - Primary Source Sets“Digital Public Library of America (DPLA) Primary Source Sets are designed to help students develop critical thinking skills by exploring topics in history, literature, and culture through primary sources. Drawing online materials from libraries, archives, and museums across the United States, the sets use letters, photographs, posters, oral histories, video clips, sheet music, and more. Each set includes a topic overview, ten to fifteen primary sources, links to related resources, and a teaching guide.” CC BY (Creative Commons - Attribution) license.
- Japanese American incarceration - Densho Publications (OER collection)"Information dedicated to preserving, educating, and sharing the story of World War II-era incarceration of Japanese Americans in order to deepen understandings of American history and inspire action for equity." CC BY NC SA (Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike) license.
- Library of Congress Classroom MaterialsExtensive educational resources about American history and memory, including primary source sets, lesson plans, themed resources, and presentations & activities. Public domain.
For OER on American film history, please explore the Film Studies OER subject guide, linked below, and click on the "American history, American film" sub-tab:
Textbooks, courses, and readers:
- HistoryLinkA free, authoritative encyclopedia of Washington state history. Education tab includes Curriculum Materials. CC BY NC ND (Creative Commons - Attribution - NonCommercial - NoDerivatives) license. "Our written content is licensed under a Creative Commons license that encourages reproduction for noncommercial use, with attribution. Credit should be given to both HistoryLink.org and to the author, and sources must be included with any reproduction. Please note that this Creative Commons license applies to text only, and not to images."
- Washington State History - Transitional Learning (OER textbook)Created by Denise Ranney and published by Whatcom Community College, 2018. Organized into 6 lessons about Washington state history: Our Land, Our Native American Heritage, Cultural & Economic Change, Our State Government, Local Governments, and Current Economy. Online format. CC BY (Creative Commons - Attribution) format. Eligible for Print on Demand.
- Pacific Northwest: A Searchable History (OER collection)James Ruble, former WA state history teacher, last updated 2021. Collection of historical information about the PNW, from BCE to present day. Material presented in outline form, mostly in chronological order. Organized into 5 books, from origins through development. Online, Kindle, PDF, and editable Word formats. CC BY (Creative Commons - Attribution) license. Eligible for Print on Demand.
- Oregon’s History: People of the Northwest in the Land of Eden (OER textbook)By Athanasios Michaels, published by Open Oregon, 2020. "A social and cultural history of the people of Oregon representing powerful figures from the dominant Euro-American culture, the marginalized and oppressed, and social and political reformers who shaped the historical legacy of the state." Organized chronologically into 9 chapters. Online, PDF, and EPUB formats. CC BY (Creative Commons - Attribution) license. Eligible for Print on Demand.
- Indigenous History of Oregon (OER guide)Library guide compiled by Pacific University's archivist, last updated 2021, due to increasing request "for sources on indigenous history." Includes a timeline, readings, boarding schools, terminology, and more. LibGuide format with linked resources. CC BY (Creative Commons - Attribution) license.
Library e-books with unlimited user access:
Contested Boundaries: A New Pacific Northwest History by Call Number: OnlinePublication Date: 2017Tip: You may need to log in with your portal credentials to view this e-book. "[A]n engaging, contemporary look at the themes, events, and people that have shaped the history of the Pacific Northwest over the last two centuries." Includes an instructor companion site, linked below.
Supplemental tools and materials (incl. primary sources, games, lessons, videos, exercises, etc.):
- Instructor Companion Site -- Contested Boundaries: A New Pacific Northwest HistoryA companion website for this ebook, linked above, includes test banks, PowerPoint presentations, student self-assessment tests, useful primary documents, and resource links.
- Japanese American incarceration - Densho Publications (OER collection)"Information dedicated to preserving, educating, and sharing the story of World War II-era incarceration of Japanese Americans in order to deepen understandings of American history and inspire action for equity." CC BY NC SA (Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike) license.
- Washington Rural Heritage: Community Digital Archives for Washington StateA community memory project of primary resources from Washington State Library that "brings together unique local history materials from libraries, museums, and private collections of citizens across Washington State." Browse the resources by collection, community, format, and date.
- Washington State History Research CenterResearch Washington is the gateway to learning about Washington’s past by exploring objects, publications, ephemera and more. The Washington State Historical Society is home to many unique collections and includes over 70,000 artifacts and half a million images.
- Washington State Historical SocietyThe Washington State Historical Society website has a lot of information about the state's history. Search through various collections using this website.
- Field Guide to the Hall of Washington History"The WSHM Field Guide to the Hall of Washington History is packed with narrative descriptions, vocabulary, timelines, and drawings. It includes three levels of activity sheets for each area of the Great Hall as well as pre- and post-visit activities for your visit to the History Museum. Before your museum visit, we suggest that you prepare your class by doing a few of the activities described in this guide." Online field guides available, including a comprehensive teacher's guide as well as PDFs of particular sections.
- Tacoma Public Library: Northwest RoomCollection includes photographs, obituary information, historical building indexes, and northwest people databases.
Textbooks, courses, and readers:
- Since Time Immemorial: Tribal Sovereignty in Washington State curriculumHS curriculum project, begun in 2015, by Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction in partnership with the Federally Recognized Tribes in Washington State. Although developed for HS-level, some resources could be used or adapted for community college courses/topics. Focuses on Washington state tribal perspectives on U.S. History and Contemporary World Problems. Each unit includes curriculum downloads and related ancillary resources, including videos, maps, activities, and guides (available on right-hand columns). CC BY (Creative Commons Attribution) license. Eligible for Print on Demand.
- Native Peoples of North America (OER textbook)Susan Stebbins, University at Albany, Open SUNY, 2013. “[A]n introductory text about the Native peoples of North America (primarily the United States and Canada) presented from an anthropological perspective. As such, the text is organized around anthropological concepts such as language, kinship, marriage and family life, political and economic organization, food getting, spiritual and religious practices, and the arts. Prehistoric, historic and contemporary information is presented. Each chapter begins with an example from the oral tradition that reflects the theme of the chapter.” Textbook edition available in PDF and EPUB versions. CC BY NC SA (Attribution - NonCommercial - Share Alike) license. Eligible for Print on Demand.
- The American Yawp (open textbook)“Balancing academic rigor with popular readability, The American Yawp offers a multi-layered, democratic alternative to the American past.” and “Without losing sight of politics and power, it incorporates transnational perspectives, integrates diverse voices, recovers narratives of resistance, and explores the complex process of cultural creation.” Includes several Native American entries and readings. Online, PDF, and print formats available. CC BY SA (Attribution - Share Alike) license.
Library e-books with unlimited user access:
Why you can't teach United States history without American IndiansCall Number: OnlinePublication Date: 2015Tip: You may need to log in with your portal credentials to view this e-book. "[T]his book illuminates the unmistakable centrality of American Indian history to the full sweep of American history. The nineteen essays gathered in this collaboratively produced volume, written by leading scholars in the field of Native American history, reflect the newest directions of the field and are organized to follow the chronological arc of the standard American history survey."
Low-cost textbooks:
An Indigenous Peoples' history of the United States for young peopleCall Number: Not in library (low-cost book)Publication Date: 2019This is a link to the Amazon.com profile for this text which could be used as a low-cost textbook (less than $50). Part of the ReVisioning History for Young People series.
Supplemental tools and materials (incl. primary sources, games, lessons, videos, exercises, etc.):
- Our Lives: An Ethnic Studies Primer (OER textbook)Vera Guerrero Kennedy and Rowena Bermio, West Hills College, 2022. "The text [...] explores the four major underrepresented groups in the U.S. including ... Native American communities." Modules include summaries and review questions. The focus of this text incorporates a historical lens and may be useful for the Native American history course curriculum and supplemental materials. Online (Pressbooks) format. CC BY NC (Creative Commons - Attribution - NonCommercial) license. Eligible for Print on Demand.
- Enduring Legacies: Native Case StudiesEvergreen State College. "The Enduring Legacies Native Cases Initiative develops culturally relevant curriculum and teaching resources in the form of case studies on key issues in Indian Country. Culturally relevant curriculum is a key factor in student success and essential to prepare students for leadership roles. Key topics of our cases have been identified by Native leaders."
- Native Knowledge 360 Education InitiativeBrowse "Helpful Handouts" developed for educators with activities, lesson plans, and resources for teaching and learning about Native Americans. Part of the Smithsonian's National Museum of the American Indian site. Much of the museum's content is licensed with a CC0 (Creative Commons Zero) public domain license; otherwise, educational use is encouraged with attribution.
- The American Yawp ReaderA documentary companion to the American Yawp textbook, with primary source readings for both Volume I (before 1877) and Volume II (after 1877). CC BY SA (Attribution - Share Alike) license with public domain readings, including several Native American primary sources.
- Washington State History - Transitional Learning (OER textbook)Created by Denise Ranney and published by Whatcom Community College. Organized into 6 lessons about Washington state history, including Our Native American Heritage. Online format. CC BY (Creative Commons - Attribution) format.
- Tribesourcing Southwest Film ProjectThis project is creating new narrations for old films about tribal peoples, to counter inaccurate and/or culturally insensitive portrayals in the original narration.
Textbooks, courses, and readers:
- Slavery to Liberation: The African American Experience (OER textbook)Eastern Kentucky University, 2019. "[A] comprehensive and up-to-date account of African Americans’ cultural and political history, economic development, artistic expressiveness, and religious and philosophical worldviews in a critical framework. It offers sound interdisciplinary analysis of selected historical and contemporary issues surrounding the origins and manifestations of White supremacy in the United States. By placing race at the center of the work, the book offers significant lessons for understanding the institutional marginalization of Blacks in contemporary America and their historical resistance and perseverance." Organized into 14 chapters. PDF format. CC BY (Creative Commons - Attribution) license.
- African American History (OER textbook)Christopher Collins, Skyline College (California), 2020. Organized by historical era into 15 modules, from African Origins to the Black Lives Matter movement. Integrates primary sources. Google Drive Word document. CC BY-NC-SA (Creative Commons - Attribution - NonCommercial - ShareAlike) license. Eligible for Print on Demand.
- African American History and Culture (OER course)OER course originally developed by Florida State College at Jacksonville through an Achieving the Dream grant, currently hosted by LibreTexts. Organized into 10 modules, ranging from "African Origins - History and Culture" to "Reconstruction." Integrates primary sources throughout. Online and PDF formats. Course pages have different CC licenses. Eligible for Print on Demand if materials are compiled into a print-ready format.
- African American History (OER textbook)Version of Lumen Learning's "African American History and Culture" course hosted on the LibreTexts platform, which provides additional formats: PDF, print book files, LMS cartridge, and zip file formats (click the blue "Download" button in the top right). Eligible for Print on Demand.
- African American Heritage & Ethnography"A self-paced learning resource or course jointly sponsored by the Park Ethnography Program and the Cultural Resources Stewardship Careers Program." Organized into five sections: Key Concepts, Ethnographic Research Center, Content Modules, Heritage Preservation Notes and the Learning Resources Center. Online format. Public domain.
Canvas course shells:
- eSankofa: Conversations About the Black Experience (OER Canvas course)To view: First, log into your TCC Canvas faculty account, then click on the Canvas Commons link/icon in the global navigation menu, and then finally click this link to view this Canvas course content. Online Canvas course shared by Rita Kiki Edozie, CanvasNet, 2016. "eSankofa is a 'massive open online community course conversation' that leverages African American history and heritage to engage with new digital disciplinary studies. This course is designed to challenge your thoughts and perceptions about the Black Race and give rise to a “call of action” within yourself as a learner." Organized into thematic modules, with badges, readings, discussions, and assignments. CC BY SA (Creative Commons - Attribution - ShareAlike) license.
- African American Folklore (OER Canvas course)To view: First, log into your TCC Canvas faculty account, then click on the Canvas Commons link/icon in the global navigation menu, and then finally click this link to view this Canvas course content. Canvas course shared by William Carpenter, University of South Florida, 2020. "Here are some resources, links, and documents to help expose our learners to the riches of African-American folklore." Public domain license.
Supplemental tools and materials (incl. primary sources, games, lessons, videos, exercises, etc.):
- Our Lives: An Ethnic Studies Primer (OER textbook)Vera Guerrero Kennedy and Rowena Bermio, West Hills College, 2022. "The text [...] explores the four major underrepresented groups in the U.S. including ... African American communities." Modules include summaries and review questions. The focus of this text incorporates a historical lens and may be useful for the African American history course curriculum and supplemental materials. Online (Pressbooks) format. CC BY NC (Creative Commons - Attribution - NonCommercial) license. Eligible for Print on Demand.
- Great Works of African American Literature (OER collection)Compiled by Margaret Alma Cox and Patricia Ann West, University System of Georgia, 2022. Extensive collection of African American literary works organized by time period and then by author, from "Captivity, Enslavement, Resistance" to "Late Twentieth Century to the Present." Includes a "key topics podcast" for each section. Online, PDF, and editable Word formats. CC BY NC SA (Creative Commons - Attribution - NonCommercial - ShareAlike) license. Eligible for Print on Demand, although most readings are linked within the collection.
- Black American History - Crash Course video playlistCrashCourse video series (6-13 min. each) with innovative graphics, last updated 2022. Focuses on major events, issues, and figures in Black American history. Crash Course videos are high-quality, with a mix of live-action and animated graphics. Not openly licensed but freely available to view, link, and embed into courses.
- Slave VoyagesEmory University, 2019. "This digital memorial raises questions about the largest slave trades in history and offers access to the documentation available to answer them....Analyze these slave trades and view interactive maps, timelines, and animations to see the dispersal in action." Includes Trans-Atlantic Slave Trade Database, Intra-American Slave Trade Database, African Names Database, and Image Galleries. CC BY-NC (Creative Commons - Attribution - NonCommercial) license.
- Index of Project Gutenberg Works on Black History by Various Writers (public domain works)Compilation of historical and primary source writings by a variety of African American writers and historians. Online, EPUB, and full text formats. Public domain.
- African American History: From Emancipation to the Present (Open Yale video lectures)Open Yale course with video lectures, Spring 2010. "The purpose of this course is to examine the African American experience in the United States from 1863 to the present. Prominent themes include the end of the Civil War and the beginning of Reconstruction; African Americans’ urbanization experiences; the development of the modern civil rights movement and its aftermath; and the thought and leadership of Booker T. Washington, Ida B. Wells-Barnett, W.E.B. Du Bois, Marcus Garvey, Martin Luther King Jr., and Malcolm X." Course uses traditional copyrighted texts, but video lectures are openly licensed. Audio and video download formats, plus transcript files. CC BY NC SA (Creative Commons - Attribution - Noncommercial - Share Alike) license.
Library resources (embed articles via permalinks):
- African American Studies Center This link opens in a new window
(Oxford) Articles from specialized encyclopedias of African American and African history and culture. Includes primary sources and the African American National Biography.
Textbooks, courses, and readers:
- An Introduction to the History of Japan (public domain book)Available via Project Gutenberg, this book was published in 2011 and written for a Western audience by a Japanese professor from Kyoto Imperial University. Serves as both a primary source document and history text. Online, EPUB, Kindle, and full text formats. Public domain.
Supplemental tools and materials (incl. primary sources, games, lessons, videos, exercises, etc.):
- Modern Japan: 1868 to Present (course materials)MIT open courseware, Spring 2017. Course uses traditional copyrighted texts, but most useful part of course may be the Lecture Slides and Assignments sections. CC BY NC SA (Creative Commons - Attribution - NonCommercial - ShareAlike) license.
Library resources (embed resoures via permalinks):
- History Study Center This link opens in a new window
Vast collection of digitized primary and secondary sources for the study of global history. Includes resources on Japanese history.
Library resources (embed resoures via permalinks):
NOTE: All the library e-books below have unlimited user access.
China in world history by Call Number: OnlinePublication Date: 2010Tip: You may need to log in with your portal credentials to view this e-book. "Here is a fascinating compact history of Chinese political, economic, and cultural life, ranging from the origins of civilization in China to the beginning of the 21st century."
China: A history by Call Number: OnlinePublication Date: 2009Tip: You may need to log in with your portal credentials to view this e-book. "Many nations define themselves in terms of territory or people; China defines itself in terms of history."
A history of China by Call Number: OnlinePublication Date: 2013Tip: You may need to log in with your portal credentials to view this e-book. "Offers a complete political, economic, social, and cultural history of China, covering the major events and trends."
Supplemental tools and materials (incl. primary sources, games, lessons, videos, exercises, etc.):
- East Asia (includes China) - Primary Source guidesResearch guides with readings, interviews, and primary sources relating to different aspects of East Asian culture and history, including guides specific to China: Ancient China, Modern China, The Silk Roads, The Rise of State Level Society in Ancient China, The Chinese Family in the Twentieth Century, Chinese Dragon: A Powerful Metaphor in Chinese Cultural History, China: One of the World's Greatest Civilizations, and Asians/Asian Americans in the United States. Not openly licensed, but encourages fair use for educational purposes.
- Women's Roles in China: Changes Over Time - Primary Source guideResearch guide of readings and interviews, last updated 2020. "Women's roles, responsibilities and expectations have changed in dramatic ways as Chinese society has transformed throughout different political eras. From family structure, marriage, and childbirth to education, workforce participation, and political activity, women have seen and taken part in historical transformations that have accelerated over the last century." Not openly licensed, but encourages fair use for educational purposes.
- China (OER modules)OER modules developed by smARThistory, 2016-2020. The history of China, as revealed through art and artifacts. Modules, which include readings, images, and videos, go from Imperial China through the People's Republic of China. Online format. CC BY NC SA (Creative Commons
Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike) license. - Chinese Heritage in the Making: Experiences, Negotiations and Contestations (open access book)Ebook from Asian Heritages series, 2018. "The Chinese state uses cultural heritage as a source of power by linking it to political and economic goals, but heritage discourse has at the same time encouraged new actors to appropriate the discourse to protect their own traditions." Online and PDF downloads of chapters. CC BY NC ND (Creative Commons - Attribution - NonCommercial - NoDerivatives) license. Eligible for Print on Demand.
- Ancient History EncyclopediaOnline encyclopedia with lots of resources, including a timeline, videos, images, atlas, and more. Entries on China are quite extensive. Browsable encyclopedia and tools, as well as searchable by a search box for specific articles or topics. CC BY NC SA (Creative Commons - Attribution - NonCommercial - Share-Alike) license
For OER on environmental history, please explore the Environmental Studies and Sustainability OER subject guide, linked below, and click on the "Environmental history and sustainability" sub-tab:
The Culturally Responsive and Inclusive Pedagogy OER Subject Guide, linked below, provides a starting point for OER professional development and curricular materials relating to issues of equity, diversity, and inclusion; trauma-informed practices; and culturally responsive, inclusive, and anti-racist pedagogy and practices. This guide includes concepts and keywords; TCC OEDI resources; introductory and more in-depth professional development resources (toolkits, guides, etc.); curriculum resources (activities, assignments, etc.); OER and EDI rubrics; instructional design; accessibility; as well as EDI-focused OER in different disciplines across the curriculum, including History.
- Faculty/staff guide to Open Educational Resources (OER)
- Political Science - TCC OER Subject Guide
- Philosophy and Religion - TCC OER Subject Guide
- Environmental Science and Sustainability - TCC OER Subject Guide
- Anthropology - TCC OER Subject Guide
- Sociology - TCC OER Subject Guide
- Film Studies - TCC OER Subject Guide
- Oral History Toolkit for College Instructors
- ABE 69: HS 21+ US History
- ABE 69: HS 21+ Washington State History
-
African American History
by Christina DelliSante TCC Last Updated Mar 21, 2024 302 views this year
- Guide to APA and Chicago citation for LS 102 students
- HIST 214: Sandin, J. (Spring 2024)
-
Pacific Northwest History
by Christina DelliSante TCC Last Updated Mar 21, 2024 765 views this year
- Primary sources
- Russian invasion of Ukraine
- TCC Time Capsule: Obi Society, 1968-1969
- United States History
- Washington State history and current information
Please fill out this form to add to this OER subject guide:
- Contribution form for TCC Library's OER subject guidesThis form is for TCC faculty and staff. Use this form to add suggestions, improvements, and personal recommendations or tips for specific resources. Thank you for contributing to and improving this OER subject guide!
How does this guide incorporate TCC faculty/staff feedback?
If you leave recommendations or feedback about specific resources on this guide, then these personalized TCC comments will then be added in "more..." drop-down links below the specific resource(s).
Here's an example of a "more..." link below a resource:
When you click the "more..." link, then the personalized comment appears below. So when you see a "more..." drop-down link, please click it and see what your fellow TCC faculty members have shared!
Thank you for helping add to this OER subject guide!
Your OER librarian
Jennifer Snoek-Brown
she/her
Contact:
Email: jsnoek-brown@tacomacc.edu (the fastest way to contact me)
Office: Bldg 7, Library (please wear a face mask)
Phone: 253.460.3936 (forwards to my email)
Book an appointment Click the "book now" button above to book a personal appointment with me via Zoom.
Website
Office: Bldg 7, Library (please wear a face mask)
Phone: 253.460.3936 (forwards to my email)
Book an appointment Click the "book now" button above to book a personal appointment with me via Zoom.
Your liaison librarian
Rebekah Williams
Contact:
Office Bldg 7, Library
If I'm not around, any of my librarian colleagues will be happy to assist you.
If I'm not around, any of my librarian colleagues will be happy to assist you.
Subjects: Adult Basic Education (ABE)/HS+, Anthropology, Biography, EAP, Fresh Start, History, HS 21+, Self-help, Sociology, Spanish, World Languages
Attributions
Except where otherwise noted, the content in this guide was compiled by Jennifer Snoek-Brown, Tacoma Community College Library, and is licensed under a CC BY SA 4.0 license.
Except where otherwise noted, the content in these guides by Tacoma Community College Library is licensed under CC BY SA 4.0.
This openly licensed content allows others to cite, share, or modify this content, with credit to TCC Library. When reusing or adapting this content, include this statement in the new document: This content was originally created by Tacoma Community College Library and shared with a CC BY SA 4.0 license.
Tacoma Community College Library - Building 7, 6501 South 19th Street, Tacoma, WA 98466 - P. 253.566.5087
Visit us on Instagram!