This guide compiles starting points for OER and freely available resources for Computer Science courses and topics. This OER subject guide was created for TCC faculty and staff and reflects TCC credit, continuing education, and corrections course offerings. The purpose of this guide is to help faculty and staff more easily find and review OER in their areas so that they can make decisions about quality, accuracy, relevancy, and potential use.
OER starting points for Computer Science, by course area and material type
Clément Aubert, et al, University System of Georgia, 2022. "A rigorous study of the principles of computer programming with emphasis on problem solving methods which result in correct, well-structured programs. Other topics: an introduction to data representation, data types and control structures, functions, and structured data types." Online, PDF, and editable Word and OpenDocument formats. Ancillary materials include exercises with or without solutions, labs, and slides. CC BY (Creative Commons - Attribution) license. Eligible for Print on Demand.
Chris Bourke, University of Nebraska–Lincoln, 2018. "This textbook covers the traditional introductory Computer Science I topics but takes a unique approach. Topics are covered in a language-agnostic manner in the first part with supplemental parts that cover the same concepts in a specific language. The current version covers C, Java, and PHP. This textbook as been used in several Computer Science I sections over multiple years at the University of Nebraska-Lincoln." PDF and LaTeX formats. CC BY-SA (Creative Commons - Attribution-ShareAlike) license. Eligible for Print on Demand.
Martin Wolske, University of Illinois at Urbana Champaign, 2020. "[E]ach session of the book begins first with a social chapter with background knowledge probe, conceptual introductions, and a lesson plan for the session. A technical chapter follows with technical introductions and hands-on activities, and a concluding wrap up and comprehension check. The technical of the Orange Unit especially focuses on electronics and physical computer components; the Blue Unit highlights software through a series of introductory programming activities, with possibilities for alternate pathways for those who bring in some existing programming experience; the Rainbow Unit then brings the hardware and software together into networked systems, concluding with a final design adventure." Online and PDF formats. CC BY SA (Creative Commons Attribution - ShareAlike) license.
David R. Gibson and Noel Rojas, University System of Georgia, 2022. "The first five chapters cover the basics of object-oriented programing. The remaining chapters cover various basic topics that build on the first five chapters." Zip file download of each chapter plus examples, editable Word format. CC BY (Creative Commons - Attribution) license. Eligible for Print on Demand.
Version 8.1.1, updated 2020. "A free, on-line textbook on introductory programming, which uses Java as the language of instruction. This book is directed mainly towards beginning programmers, although it might also be useful for experienced programmers who want to learn something about Java. It is not meant to provide complete coverage of the Java language." Multiple formats available, also includes source code downloads. CC BY NC SA (Creative Commons - Attribution - NonCommercial - ShareAlike) license.
Pat Morin, 2011. Textbook "covers the implementation and analysis of data structures for sequences (lists), queues, priority queues, unordered dictionaries, ordered dictionaries, and graphs. All data structures are rigorously analyzed and implemented in Java and C++." Online and PDF formats. Links to Java files. CC BY (Creative Commons - Attribution) license. Eligible for Print on Demand.
2nd edition published in 2020. "[H] ands-on introduction to computer science and programming used by many universities and high schools around the world. Its conciseness, emphasis on vocabulary, and informal tone make it particularly appealing for readers with little or no experience. The book starts with the most basic programming concepts and gradually works its way to advanced object-oriented techniques." Organized into 17 chapters + 4 appendices, with Intentionally concise chapters. Peer reviews of the text available on this site. CC BY NC SA (Creative Commons - Attribution - NonCommercial - ShareAlike) license.
3rd edition, 2012. "Java, Java, Java, 3e was previously published by Pearson Education, Inc. The first edition (2000) and the second edition (2003) were published by Prentice-Hall. In 2010 Pearson Education, Inc. reassigned the copyright to the authors, and we are happy now to be able to make the book available under an open source license." Site includes source code, assignments, and notes. CC BY (Creative Commons - Attribution) license.
Last updated 2021. All rights reserved but free to access and use for educational use. Can request an instructor copy of the text and lecture slides. Description includes “for the next generation of scientists and engineers” and an “interdisciplinary approach.”
Hyesung Park, et al, University System of Georgia, 2021. Organized into 8 chapters, with embedded exercises. Online and PDF formats. CC BY (Creative Commons - Attribution) license. Eligible for Print on Demand.
OpenDSA license (open-source software that is free to use). “Infrastructure and materials to support courses in a wide variety of Computer Science-related topics such as Data Structures and Algorithms (DSA), Formal Languages, Finite Automata, and Programming Languages.OpenDSA materials include many visualizations and interactive exercises.” Includes instructor guides for how to import into a course, including Canvas, eTextbooks, and more.
This MIT course, 2010, primarily uses the “Think Java” text linked above; additional Java resources under the “Related Resources” link. Click the “Assignments” for assignment files and supporting code files.
CC BY NC SA (Creative Commons - Attribution - NonCommercial - ShareAlike) license.
Online book. “What’s New in Java 8 is a short introduction to Java 8, the only publicly supported version. The book aims to offer a basic understanding of the new features and be ready to start using it. You’ll need a good understanding of Java the language and the JVM to reap the full benefits of the book. The author helps you understand Java 8, including Project Lambda, the new Date-Time API, Streams, Nashorn, and more.” CC BY NC SA (Creative Commons - Attribution - NonCommercial - ShareAlike) license.
The Culturally Responsive and Inclusive Pedagogy OER Subject Guide, linked below, provides a starting point for OER professional development and curricular materials relating to issues of equity, diversity, and inclusion; trauma-informed practices; and culturally responsive, inclusive, and anti-racist pedagogy and practices. This guide includes concepts and keywords; TCC OEDI resources; introductory and more in-depth professional development resources (toolkits, guides, etc.); curriculum resources (activities, assignments, etc.); OER and EDI rubrics; instructional design; accessibility; as well as EDI-focused OER in different disciplines across the curriculum, including information technology.
This form is for TCC faculty and staff. Use this form to add suggestions, improvements, and personal recommendations or tips for specific resources. Thank you for contributing to and improving this OER subject guide!
How does this guide incorporate TCC faculty/staff feedback?
If you leave recommendations or feedback about specific resources on this guide, then these personalized TCC comments will then be added in "more..." drop-down links below the specific resource(s).
Here's an example of a "more..." link below a resource:
When you click the "more..." link, then the personalized comment appears below. So when you see a "more..." drop-down link, please click it and see what your fellow TCC faculty members have shared!
Thank you for helping add to this OER subject guide!
Email: email@example.com (the fastest way to contact me) Office: Bldg 7, Library (please wear a face mask) Phone: 253.460.3936 (forwards to my email) Book an appointment Click the "book now" button above to book a personal appointment with me via Zoom.
Except where otherwise noted, the content in these guides by Tacoma Community College Library is licensed under CC BY SA 4.0.
This openly licensed content allows others to cite, share, or modify this content, with credit to TCC Library. When reusing or adapting this content, include this statement in the new document: This content was originally created by Tacoma Community College Library and shared with a CC BY SA 4.0 license.
Tacoma Community College Library - Building 7, 6501 South 19th Street, Tacoma, WA 98466 - P. 253.566.5087