Transitional and Developmental Studies (ABE, ELA, EAP) - TCC OER Subject Guide: OER starting points
This guide compiles starting points for OER and freely available resources for Transitional and Developmental Studies (ABE, AESL, EAP, and Developmental Education) courses and topics. This OER subject guide was created for TCC faculty and staff and reflects TCC courses and curriculum. The purpose of this guide is to help faculty and staff more easily find and review OER in their areas so that they can make decisions about quality, accuracy, relevancy, and potential use.
Transitional and Developmental Studies - OER starting points, by topic and material type
Multi-discipline OER repositories
This sub-tab highlights multi-discipline OER repositories that include pre-college or Adult Education materials.
- OER CommonsMajor OER repository site that has search filters that include Educational Level, so you can narrow down to a specific level(s), including Community College as well as Adult Education.
- CK-12 Adult Education OER TextbooksAdult Education section for CK-12, began 2021. "The CK-12 Foundation and the Outreach and Technical Assistance Network (OTAN) have partnered together to create this space on the CK-12 platform to support adult educators and learners." Includes several Math options for ABE textbooks; High School Diploma textbooks for U.S. History, U.S. Government, Economics, Biology, Chemistry, Physics, Pre-Algebra, and Algebra 1; and High School Equivalency textbooks for Foundational Math, Algebra Basics, Geometry, Statistics, and Science. A free log-in is required to browse these resources. Online + PDF formats; can be integrated into Canvas via a CK-12 app. CK-12 curriculum materials license is equivalent to CC BY NC (Creative Commons - Attribution - NonCommercial) license. Eligible for Print on Demand.
- CK-12High-quality open content for K-12, including textbooks ("flexbooks"), activities, interactive games, lessons, and more. Primarily math and science, but also includes other areas, like English, History, Health, and more. There's a "teacher version" and a "student version" of this site. Integrates with Canvas via an app. Everything is openly licensed.
Grammar and punctuation
Canvas course shells:
- Grammar I (WACTC OER course)To view: First, log into your TCC Canvas faculty account, then click on the Canvas Commons link/icon in the global navigation menu, and then finally click this link to view this Canvas course content. OER Canvas course shared by Grays Harbor College instructor, 2019. "Grammar 1 5-week course online." Includes modules, assignments, quizzes, and discussions. Public domain license.
Textbooks, courses, and readers:
- A Digital Workbook for Beginning ESOL (OER workbook)Created by Portland Community College instructors, published by Open Oregon. "Three levels of interactive grammar and reading activities for beginning and intermediate students of ESOL [...] The grammar section includes a select set of YouTube videos, and the three original readers include short picture or chapter stories. Each lesson is accompanied by self-correcting exercises." Online, PDF, and EPUB formats. CC BY (Creative Commons - Attribution) license. Eligible for Print on Demand.
- Explorations 1: Grammar for the Experienced Beginner (OER textbook)Clackamas Community College instructors, 2021. Created for community college ESOL students "who need only a review of the BE verb and are ready to learn the simple present and present progressive tenses." Organized into 4 chapters: BE Verb in the Simple Present, Present Progressive, Simple Present, Simple Present & Present Progressive. Online, PDF, e-book formats. Faculty peer reviews of this text available on this site. CC BY-NC-SA (Creative Commons - Attribution - NonCommercial - ShareAlike) license. Eligible for Print on Demand.
- College ESL Writers: Applied Grammar and Composing Strategies for Success (OER textbook)Georgia State University, 2018. "[D]esigned as a comprehensive grammar and writing etext for high intermediate and advanced level non-native speakers of English. We open the text with a discussion on the sentence and then break it down into its elemental components, before reconstructing them into effective sentences with paragraphs and larger academic assignments. Following that, we provide instruction in paragraph and essay writing with several opportunities to both review the fundamentals as well as to demonstrate mastery and move on to more challenging assignments." Accessible PDF and Word formats. CC BY NC SA (Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike) license. Eligible for Print on Demand.
- Conventions 101: A Functional Approach to Teaching (and Assessing!) Grammar and Punctuation“This is a collection of cumulative units of study for conventional errors common in student writing. It’s flexible, functional, and zeroes in problems typically seen in writing of all types, from the eternal “there/they’re/their” struggle to correct colon use. Units are organized from most simple to most challenging.” A “cheat sheet” is also included at the end of the textbook. Available in multiple formats, including PDF, online, eBook, and ePub. 2016, Columbia Gorge Community College. CC BY NC 4.0 license (Creative Commons - Attribution - NonCommercial) Eligible for Print on Demand.
- Reedley College ESL OERA suite of ESL OER materials developed by Rebecca Al Haider, Reedley College, 2021. Includes: Intermediate Academic Grammar, Intermediate Reading and Writing, High-Intermediate Academic Grammar, Advanced Academic Grammar, as well as ESL YouTube playlist. Each text available in PDF and Word formats. CC BY (Creative Commons - Attribution) license. Eligible for Print on Demand.
- Writing for SuccessUniv. of Minnesota, originally published 2015, updated 2019. "[P]rovides instruction in steps, builds writing, reading, and critical thinking, and combines comprehensive grammar review with an introduction to paragraph writing and composition." Includes a chapter for English Language Learners and has sections on sentence-creation and grammar. Multiple file formats available to download and edit. CC BY NC SA (Creative Commons - Attribution - NonCommercial) license. Eligible for Print on Demand.
- About Writing: A Guide (revised edition)Includes a chapter on Multilingual Writers and ESL Challenges, as well as other chapters on basic grammar. 2015, Klamath Community College in Oregon. CC BY 4.0 license (Creative Commons - Attribution). Eligible for Print on Demand.
- Rhetoric and Composition: A Guide for the College WriterIncludes a “Grammar and Mechanics” section. last updated 2021, Wikibooks. Online, printable, and PDF versions available. CC BY SA 3.0 license (Creative Commons - Attribution - ShareAlike) Eligible for Print on Demand.
Supplemental tools and materials (incl. games, lessons, videos, exercises, etc.):
- 51 Bite-Size Lessons on Verbs (OER ancillary materials)Lin Cui, Harper College, 2022. "The book addresses some of the most frequently occurring verb errors made by English as a Second Language (ESL) students." Organized into 51 lessons. Online (Pressbooks), PDF, and EPUB formats. CC BY NC SA (Creative Commons Attribution NonCommercial ShareAlike) license. Eligible for Print on Demand.
- ELL novice practices: Supplementary materials for your beginning adult English language learners (OER ancillary materials)Catherine Donaldson, Lake Washington Institute of Technology, Open WA, 2022. "Handouts, checklists and practices for second language learners of English." Organized into 5 units, including Words You Should Know and Grammar Fundamentals. Online (Pressbooks) format, with handouts and worksheets available in PDF formats. CC BY (Creative Commons Attribution) license. Eligible for Print on Demand.
- Mobile ESL“This is a course of lessons and practice on the system of English. It is divided into eighty-six sections. Each section covers an area of basic grammar and contains a number of exercises.” Designed with mobile technology in mind. CC BY 3.0, can download source code for everything; link to units and practice examples; or download PDF and Word versions of each section. Online lessons and practice examples
- Grammar BytesFreely available grammar resources online but not openly licensed. Includes vocabulary, exercises, handouts, presentations, videos, tips and rules, and more.
- No Red Ink CurriculumCurriculum library of standards-aligned grammar and writing topics designed for students in Grades 5-12. Some resources freely available, but not openly licensed, for registered users. Requires registration (see the “Getting Started Guide for Free Users” guide).
- All Things GrammarExcellent grammar worksheets, including listening exercises. Free to use but not openly licensed.
- Adele’s ESL CornerGrammar, reading, listening exercises (web-based, not printable). Free to use but not openly licensed.
Spelling and phonics
Textbooks, courses, and readers:
- CK-12 Basic Speller Flexbooks - student versionCK-12, student version, last updated 2021. "The Basic Speller is intended as a spelling program for elementary-level spelling and consists of eight volumes of 48 lessons each. It offers the students lessons and practice dealing with the relationships between sounds and their spellings. "CC BY NC (Creative Commons - Attribution - NonCommercial) license.
- CK-12 Basic Speller Flexbooks - teacher versionCK-12, teacher version, last updated 2021. Covers elementary-level spelling. Organized into 16 modules with lessons. CC BY NC (Creative Commons - Attribution - NonCommercial) license.
Supplemental tools and materials (incl. games, lessons, videos, exercises, etc.):
- Adult ELL PhonicsPhonics study units with slides, worksheets, and audio versions. “The goal of this program is to provide a bridge for those students with limited literacy skills so that they are able to move on to a more traditional beginning ESL class.” 2017, updated in 2023. CC BY NC 4.0 license (Creative Commons - Attribution - NonCommercial)
- CK-12 Spelling concepts and lessonsReadings, lessons, videos, and games for spelling. Can integrate CK-12 content into Canvas via an app. CC BY NC 3.0 license (Creative Commons - Attribution - NonCommercial).
Listening and speaking
Textbooks, courses, and readers:
- Oral Communication for Non-Native Speakers of English (OER textbook)Timothy Kochem; Monica Ghosh; Lily Compton; and Elena Cotos, Iowa State University, 2020. "This textbook includes materials on listening, speaking, lexicogrammar, pragmatics, and pronunciation." Organized into sections and integrated activities for Segmentals, Word Stress, Thought Groups, Prominence, and Intonation. Each section includes a Teacher's Corner. Online and Common Cartridge formats. CC BY NC SA (Creative Commons Attribution NonCommercial ShareAlike) license. Eligible for Print on Demand.
- Common American English Pronunciation Patterns (OER textbook)David Fox, Lake Washington Institute of Technology, Open WA, [2022]. "Several English pronunciation lessons to make you a more effective speaker." Designed for ELL 80 course at LWTech. Organized into 10 chapters, with integrated videos. Online (Pressbooks) format. CC BY (Creative Commons Attribution) license. Eligible for Print on Demand.
- Speaking, Listening, and Pronunciation Projects for ELLs, Intermediate Level (OER textbook)Brittany Zemlick, Grossmont College via LibreTexts platform. "This textbook was designed to support a pronunciation class; however, it could be used in any intermediate-level speaking and listening class." Organized into 4 main units: People and Places, Getting to Know You, Zero Waste, and Education and Creativity. Includes videos, vocabulary reviews, and unit projects. Online, PDF, and LMS import file formats. CC BY (Creative Commons - Attribution) license. Eligible for Print on Demand.
- ESL College Transition: Listening & Speaking ("Level F")Created by ESL faculty at Lane Community College. "We created this site to share the lesson plans and other materials that we use in this Listening/Speaking Level F class with other ESL teachers -- click around and use what works for you! This is a 10-week course at LCC, but you can pick and choose from the 8 chapters for a shorter or longer term." Each class topic is theme-based, with videos, lesson plans, and slides.
- Communication Beginnings: An Introductory Listening and Speaking Text for English Language LearnersDella Jean Abrahams, Portland State University, published 2017, updated 2019. "This textbook is designed for beginning-intermediate English language learners. It is composed of 7 chapters, each of which covers specific speaking and listening learning objectives and includes dialogues, interviews, discussions and conversation activities. Each chapter includes listening and speaking components such as dialogues, interviews, discussions and conversation activities. Each chapter also focuses on 10 target words from the New General Service List of English vocabulary. The textbook includes an audio component that consists of recorded conversations of native and non-native English speakers, as well as links to additional listening resources on the web." Faculty peer reviews available of this text. CC BY NC (Creative Commons - Attribution - NonCommercial) license. Eligible for Print on Demand.
Supplemental tools and materials (incl. games, lessons, videos, exercises, etc.):
- Green Tea Intermediate English Communication OER (OER collection)Eric Dodson, et al., Open Oregon, 2020. This set of multimedia materials incorporates interesting topics and real-world language in an accessible way for adult English language learners at the low-to-mid intermediate level, using eclectic methods (communicative activities, content-based instruction lite, focus on form), all while maintaining a connection to our learners’ lives. Each unit has handouts, presentation slides, key vocabulary lists, informative speeches recorded by ESOL teachers at PCC, dialogs, extension activities, and additional videos or materials for assessment." Organized into 10 units. Online (Pressbooks), EPUB, PDF, and Common Cartridge formats. CC BY (Creative Commons Attribution) license.
- Global Storybooks PortalCollection of 40 basic stories with text and audio options in English and the most widely spoken immigrant and refugee languages in countries all over the world. 5 reading levels of stories, with instructions on how to read, listen, and download stories. Everything on this site is openly licensed, with a CC BY license (Creative Commons - Attribution), which means you can use, download, print, and even make changes to stuff, as long as you give credit (attribution) to the original source.
- RoPeCast - The light-hearted podcast for learners of EnglishPodcast and video series that “offers challenging listening opportunities for upper intermediate to advanced learners and fascinating topics to do with the English language and culture.” Available as YouTube videos or mp3 podcasts. Can embed or download videos into Canvas courses. CC BY license (Creative Commons - Attribution).
- Professor Myhren’s “Basic English” concept videosCreated by an English instructor in Saddleback College, CA. Funded by a Basic Skills Initiative grant from the State of California. Videos hosted on YouTube and range from 1-5 minutes. Videos have closed captioning. CC BY license (Creative Commons - Attribution)
- All Things GrammarExcellent grammar worksheets, including listening exercises. Free to use but not openly licensed.
- Adele’s ESL CornerGrammar, reading, listening exercises (web-based, not printable). Free to use but not openly licensed.
Audiobooks and e-books
ESL-specific collections of audiobooks and e-books:
- ESL BITSNon-profit site with free audiobooks, including classics, novellas, short stories, intermediate, and advanced. Note: You can access this site only from off-campus, due to IT restrictions
- TeachersFirst's Audio Books with Text"These educator-reviewed resources from TeachersFirst offer audio books with accompanying text so all students, including emerging readers and ESL/ELL learners, can experience literature and other reading selections in audio form as they reinforce and inspire literacy skills and enjoyment. Be sure to explore each site, as many include multiple types of activities, including the audio books and texts."
- EnglishClub - Free eBooks for English LearnersDownloadable ebooks for English learners, 7 Secrets for ESL Learners and Minimal Pairs (with audio)
- EL Civics for ESL Learners - ESL eBooksIncludes "print and go" ESL downloadable workbooks. Not eligible for print on demand.
General collections of audiobooks and ebooks:
- DigitalBookDigital audiobooks, ebooks, and podcasts. Searchable and browsable by trending, top-rated, and genres.
- 1000+ Free audio books - Open CultureDownload hundreds of free and openly licensed audio books, mostly classics, to your MP3 player or computer. Includes fiction, poetry, and non-fiction.
Stories, readers, and news articles
Textbooks, courses, and readers:
- Home and School: Ten Easy Picture Stories for Beginning Students of English (OER reader)Timothy Krause, Portland Community College. "This book contains 10 easy picture stories for beginning students of English. The stories have a Lexile level of 100L-500L and address common home and school situations. Each story includes images, self-correcting comprehension exercises, and a conversation prompt." (Creative Commons - Attribution - CC BY 4.0 license ). Eligible for Print on Demand.
- Stig Digs In (OER reader)Timothy Krause, Open Oregon, 2020. "This short novel for low-intermediate students of English is an extrapolation, exploration, and Portlandification of the original story Max Makes a Million by Maira Kalman, 1990." Organized into 7 chapters, plus appendices for vocabulary, comprehension, discussion, and activities. Online (Pressbooks), EPUB, PDF, and Common Cartridge formats. CC BY NC SA (Creative Commons Attribution NonCommercial ShareAlike) license. Eligible for Print on Demand.
- Alma Strikes a Chord (OER reader)Timothy Krause, Open Oregon, 2021. "This short novel for low-intermediate students of English introduces more quirky characters from Portland set in the world of Stig Digs In." Organized into 8 chapters, plus appendices for vocabulary, comprehension, discussion questions, and activities. Online (Pressbooks), PDF, EPUB, and Common Cartridge formats. CC BY NC SA (Creative Commons Attribution NonCommercial ShareAlike) license. Eligible for Print on Demand.
- Evergreen (Beginner): Oregon Stories for English Language Learners (OER reader)Timothy Krause and Davida Jordan, Open Oregon, 2023. "This book contains favorite stories about Oregon from ESOL News Oregon (http://www.tinyurl.com/esolnewsoregon) prepared specifically for beginner ESOL students. Each story contains an image or video; graded text; self-scoring exercises for vocabulary and comprehension practice; discussion prompts, and writing prompts." Organized into 10 parts. Online (Pressbooks) format. CC BY NC SA (Creative Commons Attribution NonCommercial ShareAlike) license. Eligible for Print on Demand.
- Evergreen (Intermediate): Oregon Stories for English Language Learners (OER reader)Timothy Krause and Davida Jordan, Open Oregon, 2023. "This book contains favorite stories about Oregon from ESOL News Oregon (http://www.tinyurl.com/esolnewsoregon) prepared specifically for intermediate ESOL students. Each story contains an image or video; graded text; self-scoring exercises for vocabulary and comprehension practice; discussion prompts, and writing prompts." Organized into 10 parts. Online (Pressbooks) format. CC BY NC SA (Creative Commons Attribution NonCommercial ShareAlike) license. Eligible for Print on Demand.
- Evergreen (Advanced): Oregon Stories for English Language Learners (OER reader)Timothy Krause and Davida Jordan, Open Oregon, 2023. "This book contains favorite stories about Oregon from ESOL News Oregon (http://www.tinyurl.com/esolnewsoregon) prepared specifically for advanced ESOL students. Each story contains an image or video; graded text; self-scoring exercises for vocabulary and comprehension practice; discussion prompts, and writing prompts." Organized into 10 parts. Online (Pressbooks) format. CC BY NC SA (Creative Commons Attribution NonCommercial ShareAlike) license. Eligible for Print on Demand.
- PDX Journeys: Studying and Living in the US, Low-Intermediate Novel and Textbook for University ESL StudentsPortland State University (PDX), 2016, updated 2018. “Each unit begins with a chapter of fiction about a teacher and students in one ESL class. Reading comprehension and reading skills exercises follow. Prefix and suffix vocabulary-focus exercises are included. Academic Word List vocabulary exercises help students build a strong foundation in both receptive and productive knowledge.” Written by an ESL instructor using examples for Portland, but the examples can be revised. CC BY NC license (Creative Commons - Attribution - NonCommercial). Eligible for Print on Demand.
- Science and Culture: Readings for Writers (OER collection)Jenée Wilde and Stephen Rust, University of Oregon, 2023. Collection of OER and open access readings, "a resource intended for college and secondary students to engage with scientific concepts, facts, and history as they relate to society in the United States and globally. The multimodality, diversity of voices, and range of topics should appeal to anyone interested in exploring these particular knowledge debates across natural and social sciences, humanities, and creative arts. The themes in this volume have been cultivated to engage readers not merely as receptors of information but as active participants in this ongoing process of knowledge building." Organized into 5 themed units of readings. Online (Pressbooks), PDF, and EPUB formats. CC BY NC SA (Creative Commons Attribution NonCommercial ShareAlike) license, although readings themselves may have different licenses and/or terms of usage. Eligible for Print on Demand.
Supplemental tools and materials (incl. games, lessons, videos, exercises, etc.):
- ESOL News OregonGrowing site that offers several new articles each month summarizing news from around the state. Specifically created for ESOL (English for Speakers of Other Languages) and ABE (Adult Basic Education) instructors who want to use news stories and current events as content for teaching reading. Stories are labeled with word count and Lexile level (a measure of degree of difficulty), and grouped into beginner, intermediate, or advanced levels. Each story includes a related image or video, a set of online self-correcting exercises created using H5P technology, a PDF version of the text suitable for printing, and a list of sources. CC BY-NC-SA 4.0 license (Creative Commons - Attribution - NonCommercial - Share Alike)
- Global Storybooks PortalCollection of 40 basic stories with text and audio options in English and the most widely spoken immigrant and refugee languages in countries all over the world. 5 reading levels of stories, with instructions on how to read, listen, and download stories. Everything on this site is openly licensed, with a CC BY license (Creative Commons - Attribution), which means you can use, download, print, and even make changes to stuff, as long as you give credit (attribution) to the original source.
- All Things TopicsDiscussion starters, reading, vocabulary on many different topics. Free to use but not openly licensed.
Vocabulary building
Textbooks, courses, and readers:
- PDX Journeys: Studying and Living in the US, Low-Intermediate Novel and Textbook for University ESL StudentsPortland State University (PDX), 2016, updated 2018. “Each unit begins with a chapter of fiction about a teacher and students in one ESL class. Reading comprehension and reading skills exercises follow. Prefix and suffix vocabulary-focus exercises are included. Academic Word List vocabulary exercises help students build a strong foundation in both receptive and productive knowledge.” Written by an ESL instructor using examples for Portland, but the examples can be revised. CC BY NC license (Creative Commons - Attribution - NonCommercial). Eligible for Print on Demand.
Supplemental tools and materials (incl. games, lessons, videos, exercises, etc.):
- Global Storybooks PortalCollection of 40 basic stories with text and audio options in English and the most widely spoken immigrant and refugee languages in countries all over the world. 5 reading levels of stories, with instructions on how to read, listen, and download stories. Everything on this site is openly licensed, with a CC BY license (Creative Commons - Attribution), which means you can use, download, print, and even make changes to stuff, as long as you give credit (attribution) to the original source.
- Professor Myhren’s “Basic English” concept videosCreated by an English instructor in Saddleback College, CA. Funded by a Basic Skills Initiative grant from the State of California. Videos hosted on YouTube and range from 1-5 minutes. Videos have closed captioning. CC BY license (Creative Commons - Attribution)
- All Things TopicsDiscussion starters, reading, vocabulary on many different topics. Free to use but not openly licensed.
Reading and literacy
Textbooks, courses, and readers:
- A Digital Workbook for Beginning ESOL (OER workbook)Created by Portland Community College instructors, published by Open Oregon. "Three levels of interactive grammar and reading activities for beginning and intermediate students of ESOL [...] The grammar section includes a select set of YouTube videos, and the three original readers include short picture or chapter stories. Each lesson is accompanied by self-correcting exercises." Online, PDF, and EPUB formats. CC BY (Creative Commons - Attribution) license. Eligible for Print on Demand.
- Reading, Writing, Research, and Reasoning: An Advanced ESL Text (OER textbook)Gabriel Winer & Elizabeth Wadell, Berkeley City College & Laney College via LibreTexts platform, 2022. Organized into 6 main chapters, including chapters on Critical Reading, Research, Analyzing Arguments, and more. Chapter 7 has Instructor Resources, including suggested supplementary readings, assignments, and activities. Online, PDF, and LMS import formats. CC BY NC (Creative Commons - Attribution - NonCommercial) license. Eligible for Print on demand.
- Developmental Reading (OER course)OER course from Lumen and currently hosted by LibreTexts. Organized into 8 modules, including "What It Means to be a Good Reader," "Active Reading," "Critical Reading," "Reading to Respond," and more. Each module includes discussion boards and assignments. Online and PDF formats. Course pages may have different CC (Creative Commons) open licenses. Eligible for Print on Demand if materials are compiled into a print-ready format.
- Basic Reading and Writing (OER course)OER course from Lumen and currently hosted by LibreTexts. “Focuses on helping students identify and apply foundational concepts and skills in reading and writing.” Organized into 5 main modules: Success Skills, Critical Reading, Writing Process, Research Process, and Grammar. Online and PDF formats. Course pages may have different CC (Creative Commons) open licenses. Eligible for Print on Demand.
- Reedley College ESL OERA suite of ESL OER materials developed by Rebecca Al Haider, Reedley College, 2021. Includes: Intermediate Academic Grammar, Intermediate Reading and Writing, High-Intermediate Academic Grammar, Advanced Academic Grammar, as well as ESL YouTube playlist. Each text available in PDF and Word formats. CC BY (Creative Commons - Attribution) license. Eligible for Print on Demand.
- Reading Anthology: Three Levels (OER course)OER course from Lumen and currently hosted by LibreTexts. Online reading anthology organized into three modules/levels with openly licensed/public domain readings. Each level includes both creative and non-fiction readings. Online and PDF formats. Course pages may have different CC (Creative Commons) open licenses. Eligible for Print on Demand.
- PDX Journeys: Studying and Living in the US, Low-Intermediate Novel and Textbook for University ESL StudentsPortland State University (PDX), 2016, updated 2018. “Each unit begins with a chapter of fiction about a teacher and students in one ESL class. Reading comprehension and reading skills exercises follow. Prefix and suffix vocabulary-focus exercises are included. Academic Word List vocabulary exercises help students build a strong foundation in both receptive and productive knowledge.” Written by an ESL instructor using examples for Portland, but the examples can be revised. CC BY NC license (Creative Commons - Attribution - NonCommercial). Eligible for Print on Demand.
- Adult Literacy Fundamentals Textbooks from BC Campus Open EdBCcampus, 2nd editions, 2023. Adult Literacy textbooks for Mathematics, English, and College Success. PDF and editable Word formats. CC BY licensed (Creative Commons - Attribution). Eligible for Print on Demand.
- Learning to Learn (OER textbook)Julie Hovden, et al., College of the Canyons, 2020. Organized into 13 lessons, including lessons for successful learning strategies, active listening, reading to learn, etc. PDF and editable Word formats. CC BY (Creative Commons - Attribution) license. Eligible for Print on Demand.
Supplemental tools and materials (incl. games, lessons, videos, exercises, etc.):
- Reading Texts: An Interactive Workshop (OER guide/workshop)KPU Learning Centres and Christina Page, Kwantlen Polytechnic University (Canada), 2018. Developed as part of a KPU Learning Centres series of tutoring and academic skills workshops. "Interactive workshop guides you through a series of videos and exercises to help you read efficiently and purposefully." Organized into 9 sections. Online format. CC BY NC SA (Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike) license. Eligible for Print on Demand.
- Daily Departures: Speed Reading Passages for English Language LearnersDeveloped by Portland State University instructor, 2019. A collection of 20 reading passages that are 200-225 words, with comprehension quizzes. Online, PDF, and editable formats. CC BY NC (Creative Commons - Attribution - NonCommercial) license.
- English in The World TodayOpenLearn, 2018. “This unit introduces you to the role that English plays in the world today, and examines the social, political and cultural factors that have influenced its development.” Available as web page (linked to separate chapters/sections or as a single page) or e-book download. Licensed under CC BY NC SA (Creative Commons - Attribution - NonCommercial - ShareAlike). Eligible for Print on Demand.
- Global Storybooks PortalCollection of 40 basic stories with text and audio options in English and the most widely spoken immigrant and refugee languages in countries all over the world. 5 reading levels of stories, with instructions on how to read, listen, and download stories. Everything on this site is openly licensed, with a CC BY license (Creative Commons - Attribution), which means you can use, download, print, and even make changes to stuff, as long as you give credit (attribution) to the original source.
- All Things TopicsDiscussion starters, reading, vocabulary on many different topics. Free to use but not openly licensed.
- Excelsior Online Writing & Reading LabsOnline writing and reading labs from Excelsior College, updated 2023. Online Writing Lab includes slides and activities for aspects of the writing process, including Grammar Essentials, Avoiding Plagiarism, Academic Writing 101, and more. Online Reading Comprehension Lab includes sections for Previewing, Questioning, Paraphrasing, and more. Online format, with embeddable activities and exercises. All PDFs updated for accessibility. CC BY (Creative Commons - Attribution) license.
- Adele’s ESL CornerGrammar, reading, listening exercises (web-based, not printable). Free to use but not openly licensed.
Writing
Textbooks, courses, and readers:
- Building Blocks of Academic Writing (OER textbook)Carellin Brooks, BCcampus (Canada), 2020. Designed for intermediate level and Adult Basic Education curriculum. "Covers typical writing situations for developing academic writers, from prewriting and research through expressing themselves online. Developmental work in different types of paragraphs—descriptive, narrative, expository, persuasive—allows students to build capacity for longer essays." Organized into 11 chapters, each with review questions for writing practice. Includes an appendix for Grammar Review. Faculty peer reviews of this text on this site. Online (Pressbooks), PDF, EPUB, and Common Cartridge formats. CC BY NC (Creative Commons Attribution NonCommercial) license. Eligible for Print on Demand.
- Reading, Writing, Research, and Reasoning: An Advanced ESL Text (OER textbook)Gabriel Winer & Elizabeth Wadell, Berkeley City College & Laney College via LibreTexts platform, 2022. Organized into 6 main chapters, including chapters on Critical Reading, Research, Analyzing Arguments, and more. Chapter 7 has Instructor Resources, including suggested supplementary readings, assignments, and activities. Online, PDF, and LMS import formats. CC BY NC (Creative Commons - Attribution - NonCommercial) license. Eligible for Print on demand.
- Writing for Change: An Advanced ELL Resource (OER textbook)Inés Poblet, Whatcom Community College, 2021. "This OER text includes the following: an introduction to creating a collectivist culture to support learning models and activities about multiple ways of organizing ideas in an essay; short readings and discussion highlighting the work of community organizers, activists, and social justice movements; writing prompts that ask learners to synthesize, reflect on, and connect to the topics; projects inviting learners to apply the content to their community environment; additional resources offering multiple modalities for further learning including videos, articles, and podcasts; a contrastive and multilingual approach to exploring grammar patterns to support writing." Organized into 7 main chapters, including an appendix about Decolonizing ELT. Online, PDF, and LMS course formats. CC BY NC SA (Creative Commons - Attribution - NonCommercial - ShareAlike) license. Eligible for Print on Demand.
- OER Writing Workbooks for ESOLDeveloped by Portland Community College instructor, 2018-2019. Sites includes "ESOL Writing 6: Paragraph to Essay Workbook" and "ESOL Writing 8: Academic Essays and Research." PDF and Word versions for each workbook. ESOL Writing 8 includes chapter slideshows. . CC BY (Creative Commons Attribution) license & CC BY NC SA (Creative Commons - Attribution - NonCommercial - ShareAlike) license. Eligible for Print on Demand.
- Intro to Academic Writing for ESOLTextbook and course, revised edition Sept. 2018. Written by a community college instructor in Oregon. Materials for ESOL learners with intermediate-high writing skills to help transition to college-level composition courses. Includes syllabus, textbook, slideshows, creative writing journal, and homework. Each unit previewable on website; files linked to Google Docs. CC BY NC SA license (Creative Commons - Attribution - NonCommercial - ShareAlike) Eligible for Print on Demand.
- Reedley College ESL OERA suite of ESL OER materials developed by Rebecca Al Haider, Reedley College, 2021. Includes: Intermediate Academic Grammar, Intermediate Reading and Writing, High-Intermediate Academic Grammar, Advanced Academic Grammar, as well as ESL YouTube playlist. Each text available in PDF and Word formats. CC BY (Creative Commons - Attribution) license. Eligible for Print on Demand.
- Advanced Community College ESL Composition: An Integrated Skills Approach (OER textbook)Created by California Community College instructors, 2020. "This book has been created to provide a framework for building your skills in writing and critical thinking. It provides access to published samples from professional authors along with essay drafts from ESL students who have polished their skills in their respective writing courses." Organized into 4 main sections: The Writing Process, Sentence Structure, Literary Analysis, and Critical Thinking and Reading. Appendices include sample essays from ESL students. Faculty peer reviews of this text available on this site. Online and PDF formats. CC BY-NC-SA (Creative Commons - Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike) license. Eligible for Print on Demand.
- College ESL Writers: Applied Grammar and Composing Strategies for Success (OER textbook)Georgia State University, 2018. "[D]esigned as a comprehensive grammar and writing etext for high intermediate and advanced level non-native speakers of English. We open the text with a discussion on the sentence and then break it down into its elemental components, before reconstructing them into effective sentences with paragraphs and larger academic assignments. Following that, we provide instruction in paragraph and essay writing with several opportunities to both review the fundamentals as well as to demonstrate mastery and move on to more challenging assignments." Accessible PDF and Word formats. CC BY NC SA (Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike) license. Eligible for Print on Demand.
- Writing, Reading, and College Success: A First-Year Composition Course for All Learners (OER textbook)Athena Kashyap & Erika Dyquisto, City College of San Francisco, 2020. Funded by an ASCCC grant. "The goal for this textbook was to revise and adapt the open educational resource (OER) textbook, Writing for Success [...] We succeeded in meeting our goal by adding additional scaffolding for developmental and ESL learners to help them with reading, writing, and college success skills; materials for learning in multiple modalities; teacher resources; and expanded materials about the reading and writing process. This in-depth revision allowed us to combine pre-collegiate level English instruction along with first year composition materials." Organized into 12 chapters, including a grammar chapter. Integrates checklists and exercises throughout. Online, PDF, print book files, and LMS course formats. CC BY-SA (Creative Commons - Attribution - ShareAlike) license. Eligible for Print on Demand.
- Writing for SuccessUniv. of Minnesota, originally published 2015, updated 2019. "[P]rovides instruction in steps, builds writing, reading, and critical thinking, and combines comprehensive grammar review with an introduction to paragraph writing and composition." Includes a chapter for English Language Learners and has sections on sentence-creation and grammar. Multiple file formats available to download and edit. CC BY NC SA (Creative Commons - Attribution - NonCommercial) license. Eligible for Print on Demand.
- About Writing: A Guide (revised edition)Includes a chapter on Multilingual Writers and ESL Challenges, as well as other chapters on basic grammar. 2015, Klamath Community College in Oregon. CC BY 4.0 license (Creative Commons - Attribution). Eligible for Print on Demand.
- Rhetoric and Composition: A Guide for the College WriterIncludes a “Grammar and Mechanics” section. last updated 2021, Wikibooks. Online, printable, and PDF versions available. CC BY SA 3.0 license (Creative Commons - Attribution - ShareAlike) Eligible for Print on Demand.
- Basic Reading and Writing (OER course)OER course from Lumen and currently hosted by LibreTexts. “Focuses on helping students identify and apply foundational concepts and skills in reading and writing.” Organized into 5 main modules: Success Skills, Critical Reading, Writing Process, Research Process, and Grammar. Online and PDF formats. Course pages may have different CC (Creative Commons) open licenses. Eligible for Print on Demand.
- CK-12 Writing Flexbooks3 flexbook textbooks currently available: Commonsense Composition, The Glyfada Method, and Journalism 101. CC BY NC 3.0 license (Creative Commons - Attribution - NonCommercial)
Supplemental tools and materials (incl. games, lessons, videos, exercises, etc.):
- No Red Ink CurriculumCurriculum library of standards-aligned grammar and writing topics designed for students in Grades 5-12. Some resources freely available, but not openly licensed, for registered users. Requires registration (see the “Getting Started Guide for Free Users” guide).
- Excelsior Online Writing & Reading LabsOnline writing and reading labs from Excelsior College, updated 2023. Online Writing Lab includes slides and activities for aspects of the writing process, including Grammar Essentials, Avoiding Plagiarism, Academic Writing 101, and more. Online Reading Comprehension Lab includes sections for Previewing, Questioning, Paraphrasing, and more. Online format, with embeddable activities and exercises. All PDFs updated for accessibility. CC BY (Creative Commons - Attribution) license.
- RUwrite online writing labRegent University, created 2020. Online writing lab created as an open alternative comparable to MyWritingLab. "To help you become a professional leader with strong writing skills, this digital learning experience will guide you through the fundamentals of excellent writing. Your journey will begin with essentials related to grammar and sentence construction. As you progress through the units, you will sequentially build your skills to applying punctuation correctly and writing in a scholarly voice." Organized into four units: Topic 1: Parts of Speech, Topic 2: Structuring Your Sentences, Topic 3: Polishing your Punctuation, and Topic 4: Writing in a Clear, Scholarly Voice. Each unit has embedded videos and practice exercises using Google Forms. (Note: You do NOT have to have a Google email address for the exercises.) Online format. Site utilizes openly licensed content.
Life skills
Textbooks, courses, and readers:
- Transition with Purpose: Pathways from English Language to Academic Study (OER textbook)Michele Miller and Anne Greenhoe, Portland State University Library, 2018. "This Open Access Textbook will guide students through their English language to academic degree studies [...] Key elements include culture and expectations in an American university, transferring academic skills from ESL to content-specific academic courses, and helpful exercises to be academically successful." Eligible for Print on Demand.
- Adult Literacy Fundamentals Textbooks from BC Campus Open EdBCcampus, 2nd editions, 2023. Adult Literacy textbooks for Mathematics, English, and College Success. PDF and editable Word formats. CC BY licensed (Creative Commons - Attribution). Eligible for Print on Demand.
- Bridges: United States Academia for First-Generation and International College Students (OER textbook)Shawn Higgins, Temple University, 2021. "[D]esigned to help first-generation, first-year, English language learners, and/or culturally unfamiliarized students more fully and successfully explore their educational environments. By using this book, students will be better prepared for the academic and social challenges of successfully undertaking higher education in English." Organized into 21 chapters. Faculty reviews on this site. Online, PDF, and e-book formats. CC BY-NC-SA (Creative Commons - Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike) license. Eligible for Print on Demand.
Occupational education
Textbooks, courses, and readers:
- EDCP: Career Planning (OER course)OER course pack curated and designed by Allison Schubert and Mary Shier, BCcampus (Canada), 2022. Adult Basic Education curriculum. "The goal of Career Planning is to enhance the life and employment readiness skills of adult learners. Students will be prepared to pursue occupational and educational goals in a changing and diverse world. The topics include career exploration, communication skills, personal awareness, living skills, job search, interpersonal skills, and career management. The course includes learning modules, student activities and assignments. Instructors can pick and choose modules they want to incorporate into their own courses. This course also includes an Instructor Assignment Guide to help mark assignments. It includes the assignments, answer keys, and reference material to aid in marking." Common cartridge format (compatible with Canvas). CC BY (Creative Commons - Attribution) license. Eligible for Print on Demand, as applicable.
Math
Canvas course shells:
- Transitions Math I (WACTC OER course)To view: First, log into your TCC Canvas faculty account, then click on the Canvas Commons link/icon in the global navigation menu, and then finally click this link to view this Canvas course content. OER Canvas course shared by Grays Harbor College instructor, updated 2022. "Transitions Math I course is comprised of six modules that focus on arithmetic: whole numbers, fractions (2 modules), decimals, ratios and proportions, and percents. Most lessons have a pretest, video lesson(s), follow up quiz(zes) and homework. At the end of each module, there is a practice test and answer key. The module does not include the module tests or the final exam. The course is designed for GED students, high school completion students, and students brushing up for the college placement test." Includes modules, assignments, quizzes, and discussions. CC BY NC SA (Creative Commons - Attribution - NonCommercial - ShareAlike) license.
Textbooks, courses, and readers:
- CK-12 Adult Education OER TextbooksAdult Education section for CK-12, began 2021. "The CK-12 Foundation and the Outreach and Technical Assistance Network (OTAN) have partnered together to create this space on the CK-12 platform to support adult educators and learners." Includes several Math options for ABE textbooks; High School Diploma textbooks for U.S. History, U.S. Government, Economics, Biology, Chemistry, Physics, Pre-Algebra, and Algebra 1; and High School Equivalency textbooks for Foundational Math, Algebra Basics, Geometry, Statistics, and Science. A free log-in is required to browse these resources. Online + PDF formats; can be integrated into Canvas via a CK-12 app. CK-12 curriculum materials license is equivalent to CC BY NC (Creative Commons - Attribution - NonCommercial) license. Eligible for Print on Demand.
- Technical Mathematics - 2nd edition (OER textbook)Morgan Chase, Clackamas Community College, Open Oregon, 2nd ed., 2024. "This developmental-level mathematics textbook is intended for career-technical students." Organized into 34 modules, from "Order of Operations" to "Radian Measure." Includes exercises and exercise answers for each module. Faculty peer reviews of this OER textbook available on this site. Online (Pressbooks) and PDF formats. CC BY NC SA (Creative Commons Attribution NonCommercial ShareAlike) license. Eligible for Print on Demand.
- Fundamentals of Mathematics (OER textbook)"This text will help the student develop the insight and intuition necessary to master arithmetic techniques and manipulative skills." 11 chapters. Peer reviews of the text are available on this site. Online, PDF, and offline zip file formats available. CC BY (Creative Commons - Attribution) license. Eligible for Print on Demand.
- MAT082 – Basic Arithmetic OER (OER ancillary materials)Materials developed by Scottsdale Community College instructors for developmental math sequence, 2013. Student workbook, mini-lesson worksheets, practice problem worksheets, and mini-lesson videos, organized into 11 weeks. CC BY SA (Creative Commons - Attribution - ShareAlike) license. Eligible for Print on Demand if materials are compiled into a print-ready format.
- MAT09x Introductory Algebra OER (Scottsdale Community College)Materials developed by Scottsdale Community College instructors for developmental math sequence, 2014. Student workbook, worksheets, and mini-lesson videos, organized into 12 weeks. CC BY NC SA (Creative Commons - Attribution - NonCommercial - ShareAlike) license.
- MAT12x – Intermediate Algebra OER (Scottsdale Community College)Materials developed by Scottsdale Community College instructors for developmental math sequence, 2015. Student workbook, mini-lesson worksheets, practice problem worksheets, and mini-lesson videos, organized into 12 weeks. CC BY (Creative Commons - Attribution) license.
- Adult Literacy Fundamentals Textbooks from BC Campus Open EdBCcampus, 2nd editions, 2023. Adult Literacy textbooks for Mathematics, English, and College Success. PDF and editable Word formats. CC BY licensed (Creative Commons - Attribution). Eligible for Print on Demand.
Supplemental tools and materials (incl. games, lessons, videos, exercises, etc.):
- CK-12 MathBiggest open content provider for K-12 STEM content. Look on the left column for links to Math subjects, including Grades 1-5, Arithmetic, Measurement, and more. CC BY NC 3.0 license (Creative Commons - Attribution - NonCommercial)
- ABCYA.com“ABCya is the leader in free educational computer games and mobile apps for kids. The innovation of a grade school teacher, ABCya is an award-winning destination for elementary students that offers hundreds of fun, engaging learning activities.” Free online games for Pre-K through 5th grade. Alphabet, numbers, money, geography, parts of speech, typing, technology vocabulary, skills -- INCLUDES MATH! Holiday themed games available. No charge to use on PCs. Mobile-friendly version requires a subscription
Technology
Supplemental tools and materials (incl. games, lessons, videos, exercises, etc.):
- TED-Ed Lessons about TechnologyTED-Ed videos are short, award-winning animated videos about ideas that spark the curiosity of learners everywhere. This link takes you to technology-themed TED-Ed videos and lessons. Many TED-Ed videos come with integrated lesson plans with discussion starters and activities.
- Educational Technology and Mobile LearningA resource of educational web tools and mobile apps for teachers and educators. Everything on this site is licensed under a CC BY NC ND (Creative Commons - Attribution - NonCommercial - No Derivatives license, meaning you can download, print, share or distribute it the way you want provided as long as you include a link back to the blog, keep it free of charge, and use it only for educational purposes.
- CK-12CK-12 is one of the biggest open content providers for K-12 STEM content, including a section for Technology. Also do a keyword search for "technology" for other technology-related lessons, which you can then narrow down by grade level or curriculum area. Everything on this site is under a CC BY NC (Creative Commons - Attribution - NonCommercial) license. There's also a CK-12 app in Canvas where you can easily integrate content.
- "Smartphones in Adult ESL/ESOL Instruction" video seriesVideo series from REEP, the Arlington Education and Employment Program of Arlington, Virginia, showing different ways to incorporate smartphones in adult ESL instruction. Each video is 3-4 minutes long and highlights student projects and activities.
- Betsy's Eclection: Language + TechnologyThis instructor's blog includes a variety of teaching materials. Many of them are geared at a beginning and intermediate level and are suitable for ESL students of many ages. The instructor's research interests are in language center studies and computer-assisted language learning (CALL).
Art
Supplemental tools and materials (incl. games, lessons, videos, exercises, etc.):
- J. Paul Getty Museum CurriculaArt lessons, guides, and activities for K-12 educators and students. Everything in the J. Paul Getty Museum Curricula is CC BY licensed (Creative Commons - Attribution). Eligible for Print on Demand.
- Create to Communicate: Art Activities for the EFL Classroom"Looking for ways to add art activities to your English language classroom? Create to Communicate is filled with great activities and lessons that use art to foster English language development. This book is intended for English language teachers who would like to reap the benefits that the visual arts provide, but are unsure of where or how to begin. By providing language objectives matched with art ideas and guidelines, this book seeks to use the arts as a tool to build and strengthen English reading, writing, listening, and speaking skills and develop the confidence students need to take risks and explore within a new language." Developed by the U.S. Dept. of State. Downloadable PDFs. Public domain. Eligible for Print on Demand.
History
Textbooks, courses, and readers:
- CK-12 Adult Education OER TextbooksAdult Education section for CK-12, began 2021. "The CK-12 Foundation and the Outreach and Technical Assistance Network (OTAN) have partnered together to create this space on the CK-12 platform to support adult educators and learners." Includes several Math options for ABE textbooks; High School Diploma textbooks for U.S. History, U.S. Government, Economics, Biology, Chemistry, Physics, Pre-Algebra, and Algebra 1; and High School Equivalency textbooks for Foundational Math, Algebra Basics, Geometry, Statistics, and Science. A free log-in is required to browse these resources. Online + PDF formats; can be integrated into Canvas via a CK-12 app. CK-12 curriculum materials license is equivalent to CC BY NC (Creative Commons - Attribution - NonCommercial) license. Eligible for Print on Demand.
- Washington State History - Transitional Learning (OER textbook)Created by Denise Ranney and published by Whatcom Community College, 2018. Organized into 6 lessons about Washington state history: Our Land, Our Native American Heritage, Cultural & Economic Change, Our State Government, Local Governments, and Current Economy. Online format. CC BY (Creative Commons - Attribution) format. Eligible for Print on Demand.
- Since Time Immemorial: Tribal Sovereignty in Washington State curriculumHS curriculum project, begun in 2015, by Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction in partnership with the Federally Recognized Tribes in Washington State. Although developed for HS-level, some resources could be used or adapted for community college courses/topics. Focuses on Washington state tribal perspectives on U.S. History and Contemporary World Problems. Each unit includes curriculum downloads and related ancillary resources, including videos, maps, activities, and guides (available on right-hand columns). CC BY (Creative Commons Attribution) license. Eligible for Print on Demand.
- Native Knowledge 360 Education InitiativeBrowse "Helpful Handouts" developed for educators with activities, lesson plans, and resources for teaching and learning about Native Americans. Part of the Smithsonian's National Museum of the American Indian site. Much of the museum's content is licensed with a CC0 (Creative Commons Zero) public domain license; otherwise, educational use is encouraged with attribution.
STEM
Textbooks, courses, and readers:
- CK-12 Adult Education OER TextbooksAdult Education section for CK-12, began 2021. "The CK-12 Foundation and the Outreach and Technical Assistance Network (OTAN) have partnered together to create this space on the CK-12 platform to support adult educators and learners." Includes several Math options for ABE textbooks; High School Diploma textbooks for U.S. History, U.S. Government, Economics, Biology, Chemistry, Physics, Pre-Algebra, and Algebra 1; and High School Equivalency textbooks for Foundational Math, Algebra Basics, Geometry, Statistics, and Science. A free log-in is required to browse these resources. Online + PDF formats; can be integrated into Canvas via a CK-12 app. CK-12 curriculum materials license is equivalent to CC BY NC (Creative Commons - Attribution - NonCommercial) license. Eligible for Print on Demand.
- Science and Culture: Readings for Writers (OER collection)Jenée Wilde and Stephen Rust, University of Oregon, 2023. Collection of OER and open access readings, "a resource intended for college and secondary students to engage with scientific concepts, facts, and history as they relate to society in the United States and globally. The multimodality, diversity of voices, and range of topics should appeal to anyone interested in exploring these particular knowledge debates across natural and social sciences, humanities, and creative arts. The themes in this volume have been cultivated to engage readers not merely as receptors of information but as active participants in this ongoing process of knowledge building." Organized into 5 themed units of readings. Online (Pressbooks), PDF, and EPUB formats. CC BY NC SA (Creative Commons Attribution NonCommercial ShareAlike) license, although readings themselves may have different licenses and/or terms of usage. Eligible for Print on Demand.
- Intermediate General and Applied Science (OER course)Created by Christine Miller, Thompson Rivers University (Canada), 2023. Course pack designed for ABE students and curriculum. "Students are introduced to important basic science concepts relevant to the general or allied health sciences. The principles of biology, physics, and chemistry are studied in a modularized format with an emphasis on the connection between disciplines." Course content organized into 3 modules: Chemistry, Biology, and Physics, each with a student guide, lab manual, lecture slides, and assessments. Instructor resources include an instructor guide, instructor lab manual, assignments overview, and capstone project. Course materials are available in editable Word and PowerPoint file formats. CC BY-SA 4.0 (Creative Commons Attribution - ShareAlike) license. Eligible for Print on Demand if materials are compiled into a print-ready format.
- Provincial Biology (OER course)OER course pack curated and designed by Christine Miller, Thompson Rivers University (Canada), via BCcampus, 2023. Designed for Adult Basic Education curriculum. "Students are introduced to topics in cellular biology, genetics, anatomy and physiology. Much of the course content aligns with that of the open textbook Human Biology." The course pack includes an open textbook, assignments, tests, and answer keys. Word files. Most materials have a CC BY (Creative Commons - Attribution) license. Eligible for Print on Demand, as applicable.
- Intermediate Level Math (OER course)OER course pack curated and designed by Meizhong Wang, College of New Caledonia (Canada), via BCcampus, 2023. Designed for Adult Basic Education curriculum. "This course is intended to help students build confidence in approaching mathematics, thinking critically, and feeling that they are reflected in mathematics learning." Course materials created to be used in conjunction with the open textbook Key Concepts of Intermediate Level Math. The course pack includes an open textbook, assignments, tests, and answer keys. Word files. CC BY (Creative Commons - Attribution) license. Eligible for Print on Demand, as applicable.
Culturally responsive and inclusive pedagogy
The Culturally Responsive and Inclusive Pedagogy OER Subject Guide, linked below, provides a starting point for OER professional development and curricular materials relating to issues of equity, diversity, and inclusion; trauma-informed practices; and culturally responsive, inclusive, and anti-racist pedagogy and practices. This guide includes concepts and keywords; TCC OEDI resources; introductory and more in-depth professional development resources (toolkits, guides, etc.); curriculum resources (activities, assignments, etc.); OER and EDI rubrics; instructional design; accessibility; as well as EDI-focused OER in different disciplines across the curriculum, including AESL.
Your OER librarian
Jennifer Snoek-Brown
she/her
Contact:
Email: jsnoek-brown@tacomacc.edu (the fastest way to contact me)
Office: Bldg 7, Library (please wear a face mask)
Phone: 253.460.3936 (forwards to my email)
Book an appointment Click the "book now" button above to book a personal appointment with me via Zoom.
Website
Office: Bldg 7, Library (please wear a face mask)
Phone: 253.460.3936 (forwards to my email)
Book an appointment Click the "book now" button above to book a personal appointment with me via Zoom.
Your liaison librarian
Rebekah Williams
Contact:
Office Bldg 7, Library
If I'm not around, any of my librarian colleagues will be happy to assist you.
If I'm not around, any of my librarian colleagues will be happy to assist you.
Subjects: Adult Basic Education (ABE)/HS+, Anthropology, Biography, EAP, ELA, Fresh Start, History, HS 21+, Self-help, Sociology, Spanish, World Languages
Attributions
Except where otherwise noted, the content in this guide was compiled by Jennifer Snoek-Brown, Tacoma Community College Library, and is licensed under a CC BY SA 4.0 license.
Except where otherwise noted, the content in these guides by Tacoma Community College Library is licensed under CC BY SA 4.0.
This openly licensed content allows others to cite, share, or modify this content, with credit to TCC Library. When reusing or adapting this content, include this statement in the new document: This content was originally created by Tacoma Community College Library and shared with a CC BY SA 4.0 license.
Tacoma Community College Library - Building 7, 6501 South 19th Street, Tacoma, WA 98466 - P. 253.566.5087
Visit us on Instagram!