Fundamentals of radiologic science
Textbooks, courses, and readers:
-
Radiation Safety (OER textbook)
J. S. Ballard, Linn-Benton Community College, 2020. "The purpose of this OER is to provide students with a comprehensive textbook aligned with the NDT 130 (Radiographic Testing) course as taught at Linn-Benton Community College." Organized into 9 units, which include glossaries, quizzes, and worksheets. Faculty peer reviews of this text available on this site. Online, PDF, EPUB, and editable OpenDocument formats. CC BY (Creative Commons Attribution) license. Eligible for Print on Demand
Supplemental tools and materials (incl. games, lessons, videos, exercises, etc.):
-
Radiation Safety Cases
ImageWisely.org site. "[F]ree series of online and mobile-compatible educational modules. Our radiation safety cases are interactive slide presentations with case-based questions that allow you to firstly improve, and then assess, your understanding of important safety concepts in medical imaging. Each case present specific learning objectives, a case overview, interactive case challenges, key takeaways, a summary discussion, and a quiz to assess your understanding of the material." Freely available to view and link to.
-
Radiologic Technology 101 (videos)
ASRT RAD Academy. "Get a crash course in radiologic technology from fellow students on a quest for knowledge. The videos on this page will give you an introduction to medical imaging and radiation therapy." 4 videos total. Freely available to view and link to.
-
Radiology Ebooks
A digital library of free (but not necessarily openly licensed) radiology apps and ebooks for many different radiology fields. Curated by Michael P. D'Alessandro, M.D. Site last updated June 2020.
-
Radiation Terror 101 (OER ancillary materials)
Jonathan Links, Johns Hopkins Center For Public Health Preparedness, 2006. "This topic introduces you to general radiation principles, radiation safety and protection, and the basic types of radiological terror, and also provides practical guidance on acute response techniques and general countermeasures." Lecture slides. Archived version of course; ancillary materials may still be useful for course development purposes. CC BY NC SA (Creative Commons - Attribution - NonCommercial - ShareAlike) license.
-
MedPix
From the National Library of Medicine, "a free open-access online database of medical images, teaching cases, and clinical topics, integrating images and textual metadata including over 12,000 patient case scenarios, 9,000 topics, and nearly 59,000 images. Our primary target audience includes physicians and nurses, allied health professionals, medical students, nursing students and others interested in medical knowledge." Do a keyword search or browse cases or topics. Terms of use allow "free of charge for your personal use and for local teaching at your institution."
Radiation physics
Textbooks, courses, and readers:
-
Ultrasound Physics and its Application in Medicine (OER textbook)
Arbin Thapaliya, et al., Franklin College, PALNI Press, 2024. "This textbook ... covers general aspects of diagnostic ultrasound providing an excellent reference for both beginners and professionals. In addition, this textbook has end-of-the-chapter experiments that will help educators conduct labs for students and any other learners to enhance their learning and solidify the practical skills." Organized into 11 chapters. Online (Pressbooks), PDF, EPUB, and Common Cartridge formats. CC BY (Creative Commons Attribution) license. Eligible for Print on Demand.
-
Exercises with Solutions in Radiation Physics (OER manual)
Bo N. Nilsson, 2015. "The textbook begins with exercises related to radioactive sources and decay schemes. The problems covered include series decay and how to determine the frequency and energy of emitted particles in disintegrations." Organized into 6 main sections. EPUB and PDF of entire work as well as each individual chapter/section. CC BY NC ND (Creative Commons - Attribution - NonCommercial - NoDerivatives) license.
Supplemental tools and materials (incl. games, lessons, videos, exercises, etc.):
-
Radiology Ebooks
A digital library of free (but not necessarily openly licensed) radiology apps and ebooks for many different radiology fields. Curated by Michael P. D'Alessandro, M.D. Site last updated June 2020.
-
Physics Teaching File for Radiology Residents
Upstate Medical University's Radiology Department. Lefthand menu includes link to resources for Introduction: Images, Radiography, Fluoro, Interventional Radiography, CT, Mammography, and Image Processing. Freely available to view and link to.
-
PHET Interactive Simulations
Interactive simulations in the Physics: Light & Radiation category. University of Colorado-Boulder. CC BY (Creative Commons Attribution) license.
-
Radiopaedia
"Radiopaedia is a rapidly growing open-edit educational radiology resource which has been primarily compiled by radiologists and radiology trainees from across the world. Our mission is to create the best radiology reference, and to make it available for free, forever." Sections for Articles and Cases. Site has ads. CC BY NC SA (Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike) license.
-
MedPix
From the National Library of Medicine, "a free open-access online database of medical images, teaching cases, and clinical topics, integrating images and textual metadata including over 12,000 patient case scenarios, 9,000 topics, and nearly 59,000 images. Our primary target audience includes physicians and nurses, allied health professionals, medical students, nursing students and others interested in medical knowledge." Do a keyword search or browse cases or topics. Terms of use allow "free of charge for your personal use and for local teaching at your institution."
Clinical education
Supplemental tools and materials (incl. games, lessons, videos, exercises, etc.):
-
Radiology Ebooks
A digital library of free (but not necessarily openly licensed) radiology apps and ebooks for many different radiology fields. Curated by Michael P. D'Alessandro, M.D. Site last updated June 2020.
-
Teaching Files Portal - UW's Department of Radiology
Teaching files from the University of Washington's Department of Radiology. Includes Online Musculoskeletal Radiology Book, Breast Imaging Teaching Files, Neuroradiology Teaching Files, Liver Atlas, Muscle Atlas, and Nuclear Medicine Lectures. Freely available to view and link to.
-
MedPix
From the National Library of Medicine, "a free open-access online database of medical images, teaching cases, and clinical topics, integrating images and textual metadata including over 12,000 patient case scenarios, 9,000 topics, and nearly 59,000 images. Our primary target audience includes physicians and nurses, allied health professionals, medical students, nursing students and others interested in medical knowledge." Do a keyword search or browse cases or topics. Terms of use allow "free of charge for your personal use and for local teaching at your institution."
-
Radiopaedia
"Radiopaedia is a rapidly growing open-edit educational radiology resource which has been primarily compiled by radiologists and radiology trainees from across the world. Our mission is to create the best radiology reference, and to make it available for free, forever." Sections for Articles and Cases. Site has ads. CC BY NC SA (Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike) license.
Radiographic positioning
Supplemental tools and materials (incl. games, lessons, videos, exercises, etc.):
-
Radiographic positioning video playlist
YouTube playlist of 50+ videos and last updated in 2016. Includes a video series by a radiology instructor at Delaware Technical Community College. Freely available to view and link to.
-
Radiology videos available via TCC Library’s streaming video databases
List compiled by Jennifer Snoek-Brown, OER Librarian, with links to radiology videos available via TCC Library's streaming video databases Films on Demand and Academic Videos Online. Video categories include radiographic positioning, CT, X-ray interpretation, MRI, Nuclear medicine, and Ultrasound. Last updated Spring 2020.
-
MedPix
From the National Library of Medicine, "a free open-access online database of medical images, teaching cases, and clinical topics, integrating images and textual metadata including over 12,000 patient case scenarios, 9,000 topics, and nearly 59,000 images. Our primary target audience includes physicians and nurses, allied health professionals, medical students, nursing students and others interested in medical knowledge." Do a keyword search or browse cases or topics. Terms of use allow "free of charge for your personal use and for local teaching at your institution."
Radiographic images and digital radiography
Textbooks, courses, and readers:
-
Undergraduate Diagnostic Imaging Fundamentals (OER textbook)
University of Saskatchewan instructor, 2017. "Diagnostic Imaging principles and concepts are augmented by the presentation of images for common clinical conditions. Guiding principles related to minimizing radiation exposure and requesting the most appropriate imaging examination are addressed." Organized into 17 chapters. Online, PDF, and EPUB formats. Faculty peer reviews of this text available on this site. CC BY-NC-SA (Creative Commons - Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike) license. Eligible for Print on Demand.
Supplemental tools and materials (incl. games, lessons, videos, exercises, etc.):
-
Radiological Atlas
From Clinical Anatomy site.Click on different points of an image to see different views and identify specific body parts. CC BY NC SA (Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike) license.
-
Radiology Ebooks
A digital library of free (but not necessarily openly licensed) radiology apps and ebooks for many different radiology fields. Curated by Michael P. D'Alessandro, M.D. Site last updated June 2020.
-
Radiology videos available via TCC Library’s streaming video databases
List compiled by Jennifer Snoek-Brown, OER Librarian, with links to radiology videos available via TCC Library's streaming video databases Films on Demand and Academic Videos Online. Video categories include radiographic positioning, CT, X-ray interpretation, MRI, Nuclear medicine, and Ultrasound. Last updated Spring 2020.
-
Teaching Files Portal - UW's Department of Radiology
Teaching files from the University of Washington's Department of Radiology. Includes Online Musculoskeletal Radiology Book, Breast Imaging Teaching Files, Neuroradiology Teaching Files, Liver Atlas, Muscle Atlas, and Nuclear Medicine Lectures. Freely available to view and link to.
-
Wayne State University Radiology Teaching File
Archived version of site and resources. "The Wayne State University Radiology Teaching File, sponsored by the Detroit Receiving Hospital, is a collection of radiographic images. These images are divided into six categories: neuroradiology, chest, cardiovascular, gastrointestinal, genitourinary, and musculoskeletal. Each set contains radiographic images of infections, trauma, disorders, and other common types of injuries and illnesses which warrant a radiologist or radiographer to intervene. This site is very helpful for diagnostic radiology students to become familiar with how these common problems manifest themselves and what they look like in radiology images. These images are also helpful for educators to use in the classroom as a quiz or part of lecture notes so students can better diagnose and treat patients. Be sure to check out the "Anatomy Models" as well, for information of radiologic anatomy." Freely available to view and link to.
-
Oral and Maxillofacial Radiology Images
Suvendra Vijayan, 2020. "Annotated intra oral, panoramic and CBCT oral and maxillofacial radiology images." Images are in .jpg or .png formats. CC BY NC SA (Creative Commons Attribution - NonCommercial - Share Alike) license.
-
Radiographic Anatomy of the Skeleton
University of Washington School of Medicine radiology program, last updated 1998. Radiographic images of the human skeleton, with labeled and unlabeled images. Freely available to view or link to.
-
Radiopaedia
"Radiopaedia is a rapidly growing open-edit educational radiology resource which has been primarily compiled by radiologists and radiology trainees from across the world. Our mission is to create the best radiology reference, and to make it available for free, forever." Sections for Articles and Cases. Site has ads. CC BY NC SA (Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike) license.
-
MedPix
From the National Library of Medicine, "a free open-access online database of medical images, teaching cases, and clinical topics, integrating images and textual metadata including over 12,000 patient case scenarios, 9,000 topics, and nearly 59,000 images. Our primary target audience includes physicians and nurses, allied health professionals, medical students, nursing students and others interested in medical knowledge." Do a keyword search or browse cases or topics. Terms of use allow "free of charge for your personal use and for local teaching at your institution."
Fundamentals of patient care
Textbooks, courses, and readers:
-
Clinical Procedures for Safer Patient Care (OER textbook)
Glynda Rees Doyle and Jodie Anita McCutcheon, British Columbia Institute of Technology (Canada), Version 2.2, 2024. "The checklist approach, used in this textbook, aims to provide standardized processes for clinical skills and to help nursing schools and clinical practice partners keep procedural practice current. Each skill/procedure is covered in a chapter that has learning objectives, a brief overview of the relevant theory, checklists of steps for procedures with the rationale behind each step of the process, and a summary of key takeaways." Organized into 10 chapters. Online, PDF, EPUB, and editable OpenDocument formats. Has an accompanying Health Case Studies text, linked on this guide. CC BY (Creative Commons Attribution) license. Eligible for Print on Demand.
-
Clinical Procedures for Safer Patient Care: Thompson Rivers University Edition (OER textbook)
Renée Anderson, et al, Thompson Rivers University (Canada), 2018. Updated version of original textbook created in 2015. "This open educational resource (OER) was developed to ensure best practice and quality care based on the latest evidence, and to address inconsistencies in how clinical health care skills are taught and practised in the clinical setting." Includes supplemental materials: faculty guide and health case studies. Online, PDF, EPUB, and course cartridge formats. CC BY (Creative Commons - Attribution) license. Eligible for Print on Demand.
-
Health Case Studies
Glynda Rees, Rob Kruger, Janet Morrison; British Columbia Institute of Technology (Canada), 2017. "Health Case Studies is composed of eight separate health case studies. Each case study includes the patient narrative or story that models the best practice (at the time of publishing) in healthcare settings. Associated with each case is a set of specific learning objectives to support learning and facilitate educational strategies and evaluation." Includes radiologists as part of the extensive case studies and multiple perspectives. Accompanies the OER textbook, Clinical Procedures for Safer Patient Care, linked above. Online, PDF, EPUB, and editable OpenDocument formats. CC BY SA (Creative Commons Attribution ShareAlike) license.
Supplemental tools and materials (incl. games, lessons, videos, exercises, etc.):
-
Images of Memorable Cases: 50 Years at the Bedside
Herbert L. Fred and Hendrik A. van Dijk, 2008. "A study in the art and science of medical diagnosis." Images and brief descriptions of 154 cases, with solutions. Online and PDF formats (click green "Get This Book!" button). CC BY (Creative Commons Attribution) license.
-
Cultural Diversity in Healthcare [Radiologic Technology]
Assignment created by CUNY La Guardia Community College instructors, Dec. 2019. This two-part assignment is designed for a Patient care course. "The purpose of this two-part assignment is to learn from each other’s culture and help educate the class about the different cultural practices that can influence how a healthcare worker should communicate with the patient. Through completion of this assignment, the students will be able help identify practices or beliefs that can be a possible barrier to good patient care and help decrease health disparities in Radiology." PDF format. CC BY NC (Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial) license.
-
Radiology Ebooks
A digital library of free (but not necessarily openly licensed) radiology apps and ebooks for many different radiology fields. Curated by Michael P. D'Alessandro, M.D. Site last updated June 2020.
Culturally responsive and inclusive pedagogy
The Culturally Responsive and Inclusive Pedagogy OER Subject Guide, linked below, provides a starting point for OER professional development and curricular materials relating to issues of equity, diversity, and inclusion; trauma-informed practices; and culturally responsive, inclusive, and anti-racist pedagogy and practices. This guide includes concepts and keywords; TCC OEDI resources; introductory and more in-depth professional development resources (toolkits, guides, etc.); curriculum resources (activities, assignments, etc.); OER and EDI rubrics; instructional design; accessibility; as well as EDI-focused OER in different disciplines across the curriculum, including Health and STEM.
