Writing - TCC OER Subject Guide: OER starting points
This OER subject guide for TCC faculty serves as a starting point for potential OER and freely available resources for writing and English courses and topics.
This guide compiles starting points for OER and freely available resources for English and Writing courses and topics. This OER subject guide was created for TCC faculty and staff and reflects TCC courses and curriculum. The purpose of this guide is to help faculty and staff more easily find and review OER in their areas so that they can make decisions about quality, accuracy, relevancy, and potential use.
OER starting points for writing, by course area/theme and material type
General writing handbooks
Textbooks, courses, and readers:
- Writing Guide with Handbook (OER handbook)OpenStax, published 2021, web version updated 2023."Focuses on the writing process, effective writing practices or strategies—including graphic organizers, writing frames, and word banks to support visual learning—and conventions of usage and style. The text includes an editing and documentation handbook, which provides information on grammar and mechanics, common usage errors, and citation styles." Organized into 3 main sections, with 20 total chapters plus handbook. Uses MLA 8th ed. and APA 7th ed. Instructor resources, including Canvas course cartridge, slides, instructor's manual and student toolkit with exercises and examples, available upon a verified free account. Student resources include a Reading and Notetaking Guide and a Time Management Guide. Online and PDF formats; customizable Word document files available upon verified log-in. CC BY (Creative Commons - Attribution) license. Eligible for Print on Demand.
- Reading and Writing Successfully in College: A Guide for Students (OER guide)Patricia Lynne, Framingham State University, published by ROTEL (Remixing Open Textbooks Through an Equity Lens), 2023. "This textbook provides students with guidelines for understanding writing tasks as intellectual work using Bloom’s Taxonomy and for treating the writing process as a set of variable activities that move along a trajectory from idea or assignment to a finished product. The book also includes chapters on strengthening reading strategies and on finding, evaluating, and using sources effectively." Organized into 4 sections: Successful College Reading, Doing Intellectual Work (with sample assignments), Writing Process in College, and Writing with Sources. Faculty peer reviews of this text available on this site. Online (Pressbooks), EPUB, and PDF formats. CC BY SA (Creative Commons Attribution ShareAlike) license. Eligible for Print on Demand.
- Writing, Reading, and College Success: A First-Year Composition Course for All Learners (OER textbook)Athena Kashyap & Erika Dyquisto, City College of San Francisco, 2020. Funded by an ASCCC grant. "The goal for this textbook was to revise and adapt the open educational resource (OER) textbook, Writing for Success [...] We succeeded in meeting our goal by adding additional scaffolding for developmental and ESL learners to help them with reading, writing, and college success skills; materials for learning in multiple modalities; teacher resources; and expanded materials about the reading and writing process. This in-depth revision allowed us to combine pre-collegiate level English instruction along with first year composition materials." Organized into 12 chapters, including a grammar chapter. Integrates checklists and exercises throughout. Online, PDF, print book files, and LMS course formats. CC BY-SA (Creative Commons - Attribution - ShareAlike) license. Eligible for Print on Demand.
- About Writing: A Guide (revised edition)Revised 2016 textbook edition created by Oregon community college instructor. Beginning writing text includes the basics of composition, grammar, citing, and research -- broken down into easy-to-tackle sections. Includes a "Multilingual Writers and ESL Challenges" section. Available formats include web, e-pub, PDF, and MOBI. Licensed under a CC BY 4.0 license (Creative Commons - Attribution).
- A Guide to Rhetoric, Genre, and Success in First-Year Writing (OER textbook)OER textbook created by Cleveland State University professors, 2017. Organized into 12 chapters plus appendices. Many chapters include a "Deeper Reading" section. Online, EPUB, and digital PDF formats. CC BY NC SA (Creative Commons - Attribution - NonCommercial - Share Alike) license. Eligible for Print on Demand.
- (Re)Writing Communities and Identities - Sixth Edition (OER textbook)Phillip Marzluf, et al., Kansas State University, 2021, last updated 2024. "Enables college-level students to develop their ability to compose various informative and expressive genres, including analyses, reflections, summaries, syntheses, and informative reports. While students raise their consciousness about their writing process and audience-based informative strategies, they also familiarize themselves with important social and cultural issues related to the theme of 'identities and communities.'" Organized into 7 chapters, including a handbook. PDF format. CC BY-NC (Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial) license. Eligible for Print on Demand.
- Pocket Style Guide (OER guide)Frost & Samra et al., Kellogg Community College, 2020, via LibreTexts platform. "This is by no means a complete reference for every English question you might encounter in your life; however, it is a collection of common issues and areas of concern that professors across all disciplines address." Organized into 5 main sections: Etiquette Issues, Writing, Grammar and Punctuation, Research and Documentation, and Writing for Employment. Online, PDF, print book files, and LMS course formats. CC BY NC SA (Creative Commons - Attribution - NonCommercial - ShareAlike) license. Eligible for Print on Demand.
- Writing for SuccessTextbook "that provides instruction in steps, builds writing, reading, and critical thinking, and combines comprehensive grammar review with an introduction to paragraph writing and composition." Includes a chapter for English Language Learners and has sections on sentence-creation and grammar. 2015, Univ. of Minnesota. Multiple file formats available to download and edit. CC BY NC SA 4.0 license (Creative Commons - Attribution - NonCommercial).Eligible for Print on Demand.
- Writing for Success – 1st Canadian H5P Edition (OER textbook)Tara Horkoff, BCcampus (Canada), 2021. A "text that provides instruction in steps, builds writing, reading, and critical thinking, and combines comprehensive grammar review with an introduction to paragraph writing and composition. It includes over 150 interactive H5P activities." The self-check H5P activities are integrated throughout text, with grammar activities concentrated in chs. 2-3. Online (Pressbooks), PDF, EPUB, and Common Cartridge (web links) formats. CC BY NC SA (Creative Commons Attribution NonCommercial ShareAlike) license. Eligible for Print on Demand.
- The Word on College Reading and WritingCreated by Oregon community college instructors, 2017. Uses a reading apprenticeship-style approach to teaching reading and writing; organized into two main sections, Part I Working with Texts and Part II Writing. PDF and online versions available, as well as peer reviews. Licensed under a CC BY NC license (Creative Commons - Attribution - Noncommercial). Eligible for Print on Demand.
- EmpoWord: A Student-Centered Anthology & Handbook for College Writers2018, Portland State Univ. Three major sections: Description Narration and Reflection; Text Wrestling; and Research and Argumentation. Designed for 1st and 2nd-year college composition courses. Strong emphasis on vocabulary, concepts, and strategies, as well as using student writing to exemplify those writing strategies. Online and PDF versions available for entire text and individual chapters. Licensed under a CC BY NC license (Creative Commons - Attribution - NonCommercial). Eligible for Print on Demand.
Supplemental tools and materials (incl. games, lessons, videos, exercises, etc.):
- Writability PodcastPodcast series developed by English faculty and librarians at the College of the Sequoias, 2020-22. This is an openly licensed series of conversations about writing tips and topics. Length varies for each episode, 25+ episodes total. Topics include: Using Instructor Feedback, Beyond the 5 Paragraph Essay, Sending Professional Emails to Professors, Should We Use Wikipedia?, Writing And Talking About Race In Class, and more. Audio files + transcripts. CC BY-NC (Creative Commons - Attribution - NonCommercial) license.
- Writing CommonsWeb texts for students and faculty in college-level courses that require writing and research. Web texts are stand-alone modules with essays, activities, and supplemental materials. Ten main sections/chapters. Web texts are available to print, email, PDF and hyperlink. Most are licensed under CC BY-NC-ND (Creative Commons - Attribution - NonCommercial - No Derivatives).
- The Writing Center @ UNC-Chapel HillExcellent handouts and videos around key writing concepts, including Writing the Paper; Citation, Style, and Sentence Level Concerns; Specific Writing Assignments or Contexts; and Writing for Specific Fields. Licensed under CC BY NC ND (Creative Commons - Attribution - NonCommercial - No Derivatives).
Curriculum & online lab resources
Textbooks, courses, and readers:
- Writing for Success – 1st Canadian H5P Edition (OER textbook)Tara Horkoff, BCcampus (Canada), 2021. A "text that provides instruction in steps, builds writing, reading, and critical thinking, and combines comprehensive grammar review with an introduction to paragraph writing and composition. It includes over 150 interactive H5P activities." The self-check H5P activities are integrated throughout text, with grammar activities concentrated in chs. 2-3. Online (Pressbooks), PDF, EPUB, and Common Cartridge (web links) formats. CC BY NC SA (Creative Commons Attribution NonCommercial ShareAlike) license. Eligible for Print on Demand.
- Online Writing Labs: Fix Common Writing Mistakes (Canvas course)To view: First, log into your TCC Canvas faculty account, then click on the Canvas Commons link/icon in the global navigation menu, and then finally click this link to view this Canvas course content. OER Canvas course shared by Damaris Hawkins, Riverside Community College District, 2020. Includes 6 interactive assignments for common writing mistakes, such as parallel structure and run-ons. CC BY NC SA (Creative Commons - Attribution - NonCommercial - ShareAlike) license.
- Online Writing Labs: Read & Respond (Canvas course)To view: First, log into your TCC Canvas faculty account, then click on the Canvas Commons link/icon in the global navigation menu, and then finally click this link to view this Canvas course content. OER Canvas course shared by DJ Hawkins, Riverside Community College District, 2020. Includes 5 interactive, read & respond assignments, such as grammar checkers and speech recognition. CC BY SA (Creative Commons - Attribution - ShareAlike) license.
Supplemental tools and materials (incl. games, lessons, videos, exercises, etc.):
- University Writing Resources (OER collection)Collection of openly licensed writing handouts, assignments, assessments, etc., provided by Auburn University writing instructors, shared 2022. Materials "support students and instructors across the disciplines in their writing and writing instruction. We define writing broadly, so you will find resources on ePortfolios, visual design, professional communication, and presentations in addition to traditional writing tasks like reflective writing, literature reviews, peer review, and editing and proofing." Use subject tags on the right to narrow down, including resources for Abstracts, Peer Review, Plagiarism, Research Writing, STEM Writing, and more. All resources provided in both PDF and editable Word formats. Materials have CC BY NC SA (Creative Commons - Attribution - NonCommercial - ShareAlike) license.
- Project CORA (Community of Online Research Assignments)An open access resource for faculty and librarians. It is intended to be a collaborative space for adapting and experimenting with research assignments and sharing the success or lessons learned so that others may benefit. The database contains multiple, reliable and reproducible research assignments.
- The Writing Center @ UNC-Chapel HillExcellent handouts and videos around key writing concepts, including Writing the Paper; Citation, Style, and Sentence Level Concerns; Specific Writing Assignments or Contexts; and Writing for Specific Fields. Licensed under CC BY NC ND (Creative Commons - Attribution - NonCommercial - No Derivatives).
- RUwrite online writing labRegent University, created 2020. Online writing lab created as an open alternative comparable to MyWritingLab. "To help you become a professional leader with strong writing skills, this digital learning experience will guide you through the fundamentals of excellent writing. Your journey will begin with essentials related to grammar and sentence construction. As you progress through the units, you will sequentially build your skills to applying punctuation correctly and writing in a scholarly voice." Organized into four units: Topic 1: Parts of Speech, Topic 2: Structuring Your Sentences, Topic 3: Polishing your Punctuation, and Topic 4: Writing in a Clear, Scholarly Voice. Each unit has embedded videos and practice exercises using Google Forms. (Note: You do NOT have to have a Google email address for the exercises.) Online format. Site utilizes openly licensed content.
- Excelsior Online Writing & Reading LabsOnline writing and reading labs from Excelsior College, updated 2023. Online Writing Lab includes slides and activities for aspects of the writing process, including Grammar Essentials, Avoiding Plagiarism, Academic Writing 101, and more. Online Reading Comprehension Lab includes sections for Previewing, Questioning, Paraphrasing, and more. Online format, with embeddable activities and exercises. All PDFs updated for accessibility. CC BY (Creative Commons - Attribution) license.
Anthologies & essays
Textbooks, courses, and readers:
- 88 Open Essays: A Reader for Students of Composition & Rhetoric (open collection)Edited by Sarah Wangler and Tina Ulrich, Northwestern Michigan College, 2019, "This book is a free and open resource for composition instructors and students, full of essays that could supplement OER rhetoric and writing texts that lack readings. All of the essays in this reader are versatile rhetorically and thematically. It is arranged alphabetically by author name. Each essay has a series of hashtags that apply to the essay in some way. You can search for essays thematically for topics like education, the environment, politics, or health. You can also search for essays based on composition concepts like analysis, synthesis, and research. You can search for essays that are based on shared values, essays that rely heavily on ethos, logos, or pathos, essays that are very kairos-dependent, and essays that are scholarly." Online, digital PDF, and EPUB formats. CC BY (Creative Commons - Attribution) license. Eligible for Print on Demand.
- Bad Ideas About Writing (OER collection)West Virginia University, 2017. A compilation of essays from English and writing instructors that push back against established ideas and stereotypes about writing and research. "[T]he same core questions such as what is good writing, what makes a good writer, how should writing be assessed, and the like persist across contexts, technologies, and eras. The project has its genesis in frustration, but what emerges is hope: hope for leaving aside bad ideas and thinking about writing in more productive, inclusive, and useful ways." Faculty peer reviews of this text available on this site. PDF format. CC BY (Creative Commons - Attribution) format. Eligible for Print on Demand.
- My Slipper Floated Away: New American Memoirs (OER anthology)Anthology of 25+ essays written by students at Lehman College in the Bronx, 2020. "The writers are immigrants or the children of immigrants and/or POC. They grew up hearing gunshots and sirens at night, played fire escape basketball and still celebrate Thanksgiving by dancing. The stories reveal the writers' intense longing to belong in America and their passion to succeed in this country, while dealing with myriad challenges. They bear witness, in riveting, artful narratives that will be revelatory to Americans who fear and resent immigrants or people of color." Essays grouped by theme (e.g. Resilience). PDF format. CC BY NC ND (Creative Commons Attribution - Non-Commercial - No-Derivatives) license. Eligible for Print on Demand.
- Writing SpacesPeer-reviewed essays on writing, "an open textbook project for college-level writing studies courses. Each volume contains peer-reviewed collections of essays about writing—all composed by teachers for students.” Each essay and volume available as web or downloadable PDF versions. Click the “Downloads” tab to browse and download essays. Could be used for a textbook or as supplemental sources. CC BY NC ND (Creative Commons - Attribution - NonCommercial - No Derivatives) license. Eligible for Print on Demand.
- Public Domain Core CollectionCollaboration between Ryerson and Brock universities (Canada). "The Public Domain Core Collection consists of over 50 titles of public domain works that have been created using Pressbooks and made available in online, epub, pdf and editable formats." Includes classic fiction and non-fiction titles, in areas of American and African-American literature, British literature, women's literature, classic philosophy, mythology, political science, and more. Public Domain. Eligible for Print on Demand.
- Entering the Conversation: A College Composition CompilationEdited by Naomi Salmon, UW-Madison. "This collection of readings that emerged out of partnerships between OER enthusiasts, composition instructors at the University of Wisconsin–Madison, and contributors who shared ideas and resources on a Twitter thread about open composition." Readings, essay and discussion prompts, and activities. Online format. CC BY (Creative Commons Attribution) license. Eligible for Print on Demand.
- Writing LCC: An Anthology of Student Writing Collected at Lansing Community College Lansing, Michigan (OER collection)Open pedagogy collection of student essays from English courses at Lansing Community College, 2020. "Student writing collected from English classes at Lansing Community College with brief notes from instructors. Intended audience--faculty and students. A brief annotated bibliography about publishing student writing and permission form in Appendices." Online, PDF, and editable OpenDocument formats. CC BY (Creative Commons - Attribution). Eligible for Print on Demand.
- Composition Reading Bank (libguide)Compiled by Columbus State Community Library College, last updated 2021, "a repository of links to freely available texts that replaces a traditional reader for Composition courses." Organized into tabs for common topics, such as Society & Culture, Identity, Food & Health, and more. Online format. Most articles are not openly licensed but are freely available online. Not eligible for Print on Demand.
- Writing Unleashed: ReaderCompiled by Sybil Priebe, North Dakota State College of Science, 2020. "This reader contains example genres and strategies, along with example arguments and other general readings. It contains full accessibility." Word format via Google Docs; make a copy to edit. CC BY NC SA (Creative Commons - Attribution - Non-Commercial - ShareAlike) license. Eligible for Print on Demand.
- Reading Anthology: Three Levels (OER course)OER course from Lumen and currently hosted by LibreTexts. Online reading anthology organized into three modules/levels with openly licensed/public domain readings. Each level includes both creative and non-fiction readings. Online and PDF formats. Course pages may have different CC (Creative Commons) open licenses. Eligible for Print on Demand.
- Thematic Reading Anthology (OER ancillary materials)OER course from Lumen and currently hosted by LibreTexts. Curated collection of openly licensed or public domain primary texts, organized thematically, including themes of Food, Culture, Nature & Conservation, Technology, Health Care, Politics, and Literature. Online and PDF formats. Course pages may have different CC (Creative Commons) open licenses. Eligible for Print on Demand.
Supplemental tools and materials (incl. games, lessons, videos, exercises, etc.):
- Writing CommonsWeb texts for students and faculty in college-level courses that require writing and research. Web texts are stand-alone modules with essays, activities, and supplemental materials. Ten main sections/chapters. Web texts are available to print, email, PDF and hyperlink. Most are licensed under CC BY-NC-ND (Creative Commons - Attribution - NonCommercial - No Derivatives).
- TheConversation.com"Academic rigor, journalistic flair." A collection of essays and articles on current issues, written by academics. Browse by topic, e.g., Arts + Culture and Economy + Energy. Online format. CC BY- ND (Creative Commons - Attribution - NoDerivatives) format.
Pre-college writing
Textbooks, courses, and readers:
- Building Blocks of Academic Writing (OER textbook)Carellin Brooks, BCcampus (Canada), 2020. Designed for intermediate level and Adult Basic Education curriculum. "Covers typical writing situations for developing academic writers, from prewriting and research through expressing themselves online. Developmental work in different types of paragraphs—descriptive, narrative, expository, persuasive—allows students to build capacity for longer essays." Organized into 11 chapters, each with review questions for writing practice. Includes an appendix for Grammar Review. Faculty peer reviews of this text on this site. Online (Pressbooks), PDF, EPUB, and Common Cartridge formats. CC BY NC (Creative Commons Attribution NonCommercial) license. Eligible for Print on Demand.
- ENGL000: Pre-College English course (OER course)Saylor Academy course, with 5 units focusing on active reading and analytic writing, as well as an intro to the expository essay. Includes active reading practice in each unit, plus study guides and review exercises available. Web version only. TIP: Click on the "Resources" menu link for a shortcut to the files and link to resources used in the course. CC BY (Creative Commons - Attribution) license. Eligible for Print on Demand if materials are compiled into a print-ready format.
- Basic Reading and Writing (OER course)OER course from Lumen and currently hosted by LibreTexts. “Focuses on helping students identify and apply foundational concepts and skills in reading and writing.” Organized into 5 main modules: Success Skills, Critical Reading, Writing Process, Research Process, and Grammar. Online and PDF formats. Course pages may have different CC (Creative Commons) open licenses. Eligible for Print on Demand.
Rhetoric and composition
TCC-created resources:
- ENGL& 101 English Composition I (TCC OER course)To view: First, log into your TCC Canvas faculty account, then click on the Canvas Commons link/icon in the global navigation menu, and then finally click this link to view this Canvas course content. ENGL& 101 English Composition I (TCC OER course) Online course developed by TCC instructor, Kristina Young, 2016. Includes assignments, quizzes, and discussion forums. CC BY NC SA (Creative Commons - Attribution - NonCommercial - ShareAlike) license.
- ENGL& 101 English Composition I (TCC OER course)To view: First, log into your TCC Canvas faculty account, then click on the Canvas Commons link/icon in the global navigation menu, and then finally click this link to view this Canvas course content. OER Canvas course developed by TCC faculty, Alexis McMillan-Clifton, 2012. Organized into 10 weekly modules, with readings, assignments, and discussion forums. This course may be used as both a reference and content resource for developing and improving your own courses. CC BY (Creative Commons - Attribution) license.
- ENGL& 101 English Composition I - Arts option (TCC OER course)To view: First, log into your TCC Canvas faculty account, then click on the Canvas Commons link/icon in the global navigation menu, and then finally click this link to view this Canvas course content. Online course developed by TCC instructor, Kristina Young, 2014. "This is an OER course which has been taught online and on campus, using The Arts as a theme. The focus here is on digital, multimedia and interdisciplinary sources (TED talks, etc.)." Includes assignments and discussion forums. CC BY NC SA (Creative Commons - Attribution - NonCommercial - ShareAlike) license.
- ENGL& 102 Composition II: Argument and Persuasion - Honors (TCC Canvas course)To view: First, log into your TCC Canvas faculty account, then click on the Canvas Commons link/icon in the global navigation menu, and then finally click this link to view this Canvas course content. Online course developed by TCC instructor, Michael Huffman, 2019. "Honors English 102 globalization and foodways," Includes modules, assignments, and discussion forums. All rights reserved copyright; contact instructor or eLearning.
- ENGL 103 Composition III Writing about Literature (TCC OER course)To view: First, log into your TCC Canvas faculty account, then click on the Canvas Commons link/icon in the global navigation menu, and then finally click this link to view this Canvas course content. OER Canvas course shared by TCC instructor Kristina Young, 2019. Master course with several different themed modules. Includes assignments, quizzes, and discussions. CC BY (Creative Commons - Attribution) license.
- ENGL 103 Composition III Writing about Literature - Honors (TCC OER course)To view: First, log into your TCC Canvas faculty account, then click on the Canvas Commons link/icon in the global navigation menu, and then finally click this link to view this Canvas course content. Online course developed by TCC instructor, Kristina Young, 2018. "This is the initial English 103 Honors section." Includes modules, assignments, quizzes, and discussion forums. CC BY (Creative Commons - Attribution) license.
Additional Canvas course shells:
- ENGL& 101 English Composition I (WACTC OER course)To view: First, log into your TCC Canvas faculty account, then click on the Canvas Commons link/icon in the global navigation menu, and then finally click this link to view this Canvas course content. OER Canvas course shared by SBCTC, 2020. Includes modules, assignments, quizzes, and discussions. CC BY (Creative Commons - Attribution) license.
- ENGL& 102 English Composition II (WACTC OER course)To view: First, log into your TCC Canvas faculty account, then click on the Canvas Commons link/icon in the global navigation menu, and then finally click this link to view this Canvas course content. OER Canvas course shared by SBCTC, 2020. Includes modules, assignments, quizzes, and discussions. CC BY (Creative Commons - Attribution) license.
Textbooks, courses, and readers:
- Writing, Reading, and College Success: A First-Year Composition Course for All Learners (OER textbook)Athena Kashyap & Erika Dyquisto, City College of San Francisco, 2020. Funded by an ASCCC grant. "The goal for this textbook was to revise and adapt the open educational resource (OER) textbook, Writing for Success [...] We succeeded in meeting our goal by adding additional scaffolding for developmental and ESL learners to help them with reading, writing, and college success skills; materials for learning in multiple modalities; teacher resources; and expanded materials about the reading and writing process. This in-depth revision allowed us to combine pre-collegiate level English instruction along with first year composition materials." Organized into 12 chapters, including a grammar chapter. Integrates checklists and exercises throughout. Online, PDF, print book files, and LMS course formats. CC BY-SA (Creative Commons - Attribution - ShareAlike) license. Eligible for Print on Demand.
- Successful College Composition (3rd Edition)Created by Georgia State University instructors, 3rd edition published 2019. A reworking of the "Writing for Success" OER text, with a new instructor's manual. Online, PDF, Word, and course cartridge file formats. CC BY NC SA (Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike) license. Eligible for Print on Demand.
- Rhetoric and Composition: A Guide for the College WriterIncludes a “Grammar and Mechanics” section. last updated 2021, Wikibooks. Online, printable, and PDF versions available. CC BY SA 3.0 license (Creative Commons - Attribution - ShareAlike) Eligible for Print on Demand.
- Heritages of Change: Curatorial Activism and First-Year Writing (OER textbook)Kisha Tracy, Remixing Open Textbooks through an Equity Lens (ROTEL) project, 2024. "In first-year writing courses, it can often feel that we practice writing and research in a vacuum. Writing is about communication, and, if we do not feel that we have an audience, then it can seem like our writing has no purpose (even though practice of any kind will help us develop these skills). Heritages of Change: Curatorial Activism and First-Year Writing is a method for students to think about the social changes that were prevalent during the COVID years and remain important in their wake. Heritages of Change is a lens for thinking and writing about these ideas. Through curation and exhibition as an act of activism, students focus on a specific audience with whom they can communicate authentically about this dynamic world." Organized into 4 major sections. Online (Pressbooks), PDF, and EPUB formats. CC BY NC SA (reative Commons Attribution NonCommercial ShareAlike) license. Eligible for Print on Demand.
- A Guide to Rhetoric, Genre, and Success in First-Year Writing (OER textbook)OER textbook created by Cleveland State University professors, 2017. Organized into 12 chapters plus appendices. Many chapters include a "Deeper Reading" section. Online, EPUB, and digital PDF formats. CC BY NC SA (Creative Commons - Attribution - NonCommercial - Share Alike) license. Eligible for Print on Demand.
- Writing Skills Lab (OER course)Lumen Learning online course developed in collaboration with Univ. of Mississippi writing faculty, and currently hosted by LibreTexts, last updated 2020. Organized into 9 module. Focuses more on academic reading and arguments. Online and PDF formats. Course pages may have different CC (Creative Commons) open licenses. Eligible for Print on Demand.
- Bad Ideas About Writing (OER collection)West Virginia University, 2017. A compilation of essays from English and writing instructors that push back against established ideas and stereotypes about writing and research. "[T]he same core questions such as what is good writing, what makes a good writer, how should writing be assessed, and the like persist across contexts, technologies, and eras. The project has its genesis in frustration, but what emerges is hope: hope for leaving aside bad ideas and thinking about writing in more productive, inclusive, and useful ways." Faculty peer reviews of this text available on this site. PDF format. CC BY (Creative Commons - Attribution) format. Eligible for Print on Demand.
- ENGL001: English Composition ISaylor Academy course, with 4 units focusing on critical thinking and academic writing skills. Includes study guides and review exercises. Web version only. TIP: Click on the "Resources" menu link for a shortcut to the files and link to resources used in the course. CC BY (Creative Commons - Attribution) license. Eligible for Print on Demand if materials are compiled into a print-ready format.
- ENGL002: English Composition IISaylor Academy course, with 6 units focusing on basic research concepts and writing techniques. Includes study guides and review exercises. Web version only. TIP: Click on the "Resources" menu link for a shortcut to the files and link to resources used in the course. CC BY (Creative Commons - Attribution) license. Eligible for Print on Demand if materials are compiled into a print-ready format.
- Writing in College: From Competence to ExcellenceAmy Guptill, Open SUNY, 2016. “Designed for students who have largely mastered high-school level conventions of formal academic writing and are now moving beyond the five-paragraph essay to more advanced engagement with text. It is well suited to composition courses or first-year seminars and valuable as a supplemental or recommended text in other writing-intensive classes.” Available as PDF, e-book, and web page. Licensed under a CC BY NC SA license (Creative Commons - Attribution - NonCommercial - ShareAlike). Eligible for Print on Demand.
Supplemental tools and materials (incl. games, lessons, videos, exercises, etc.):
- Writability PodcastPodcast series developed by English faculty and librarians at the College of the Sequoias, 2020-22. This is an openly licensed series of conversations about writing tips and topics. Length varies for each episode, 25+ episodes total. Topics include: Using Instructor Feedback, Beyond the 5 Paragraph Essay, Sending Professional Emails to Professors, Should We Use Wikipedia?, Writing And Talking About Race In Class, and more. Audio files + transcripts. CC BY-NC (Creative Commons - Attribution - NonCommercial) license.
- The Writing Center @ UNC-Chapel HillExcellent handouts and videos around key writing concepts, including Writing the Paper; Citation, Style, and Sentence Level Concerns; Specific Writing Assignments or Contexts; and Writing for Specific Fields. Licensed under CC BY NC ND (Creative Commons - Attribution - NonCommercial - No Derivatives).
- Writing CommonsWeb texts for students and faculty in college-level courses that require writing and research. Web texts are stand-alone modules with essays, activities, and supplemental materials. Ten main sections/chapters, including the Writing Process, Academic Writing, and Rhetoric. Web texts are available to print, email, PDF and hyperlink. Most are licensed under CC BY-NC-ND (Creative Commons - Attribution - NonCommercial - No Derivatives).
- Writer's Handbook, Writing Process and StructureFrom the UW-Madison Writer's Handbook. Sections on different stages of writing a paper, including getting started, drafting, and revising. Freely available online (not OER).
- Writer's Handbook, Academic and Professional WritingFrom the UW-Madison Writer's Handbook. Sections on different types of academic writing, including analysis and research papers. Freely available online (not OER).
Argument
Textbooks, courses, and readers:
- How Arguments Work - A Guide to Writing and Analyzing Texts in College (OER textbook)Anna Mills, City College of San Francisco, via LibreTexts platform, updated 2021. "How Arguments Work takes students through the techniques they will need to respond to readings and make sophisticated arguments in any college class. This is a practical guide to argumentation with strategies and templates for the kinds of assignments students will commonly encounter. It covers rhetorical concepts in everyday language and explores how arguments can build trust and move readers." Organized into 11 main chapters + a Teacher's Guide. Online, PDF, print book files, and course cartridge formats. CC BY NC (Creative Commons - Attribution - NonCommercial) license. Eligible for Print on Demand.
- Critical Thinking in Academic Research (OER textbook)Cindy Gruwell and Robin Ewing, Minnesota State Colleges & Universities, 2nd ed., 2023. "[P]rovides examples and easy-to-understand explanations to equip students with the skills to develop research questions, evaluate and choose the right sources, search for information, and understand arguments. This 2nd Edition includes new content based on student feedback as well as additional interactive elements throughout the text." Organized into 11 chapters, including chapters on "Analyzing Arguments," "Making an Argument," "Research Questions," and more. Faculty peer reviews of this text available on this site. Online (Pressbooks), PDF, and EPUB formats. CC BY-SA (Creative Commons - Attribution - ShareAlike) license. Eligible for Print on Demand.
- Writing Unleashed: Argument (OER textbook)OER textbook by Sybil Priebe, North Dakota State College of Science, 2019. Focuses on writing and understanding argument essays, with different examples of argument essays. Word format via Google Docs; make a copy to edit. CC BY NC SA (Creative Commons - Attribution - Non-Commercial - ShareAlike) license. Eligible for Print on Demand.
- Informed Arguments: A Guide to Writing and Research, Revised 2nd ed. (OER textbook)Texas A&M University instructors, revised second edition 2022. "Our goal is for students to leave this course as critical thinkers, polished writers, and informed citizens who can engage in civil public discourse." Organized into 8 sections, including sections on Types of Argumentation, Joining the Academic Conversation, and Researched Writing. PDF format. CC BY-NC-SA (Creative Commons - Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike) license. Eligible for Print on Demand.
- Designing Arguments for Academic, Public, and Professional Audiences - Fourteenth Edition (OER textbook)Phillip Marzluf, Kansas State University, 2021. "This college-level textbook guides students through five different types of arguments: evaluations, responses, persuasive rhetorical arguments, proposals, and practical professional development arguments." Organized into 6 chapters. PDF format. CC BY NC (Creative Commons - Attribution-NonCommercial) license. Eligible for Print on Demand.
- Reading, Writing and Evaluating Argument (OER textbook)Chris Werry, San Diego State University, 2018. OER textbook for first year writing, with sections on claims, strategies, close reading, analysis, drafting, fallacies. Integrates exercises and videos throughout. Includes a glossary. Editable Word format. CC BY NC SA (Creative Commons - Attribution - NonCommercial - ShareAlike) license. Eligible for Print on Demand.
- Intermediate College Writing: Building and Practicing Mindful Writing Skills (OER textbook)Dawn Atkinson and Stacey Corbitt, Montana Technological University, 2022. "An open textbook designed for use in university‐level courses that focus on cultivating study skills alongside effective academic and workplace writing skills." Designed for co-req models. Organized into 9 units, with 44 total chapters. Activities and discussion questions are embedded throughout, so this text could also be used as a workbook or the basis for activities or discussion forums. PDF format via Google Drive. CC BY-NC-SA (Creative Commons - Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike) license. Eligible for Print on Demand.
- EmpoWord: A Student-Centered Anthology & Handbook for College Writers2018, Portland State Univ. Includes a major section on "Research and Argumentation." Designed for 1st and 2nd-year college composition courses. Strong emphasis on vocabulary, concepts, and strategies, as well as using student writing to exemplify those writing strategies. Online and PDF versions available for entire text and individual chapters. Licensed under a CC BY NC license (Creative Commons - Attribution - NonCommercial). Eligible for Print on Demand.
- A Guide to Rhetoric, Genre, and Success in First-Year Writing (OER textbook)OER textbook created by Cleveland State University professors, 2017. Includes chapters on "Making Academic Arguments," "The Research Process," "Sources and Research," and "Ethical Source Integration." Many chapters include a "Deeper Reading" section. Online, EPUB, and digital PDF formats. CC BY NC SA (Creative Commons - Attribution - NonCommercial - Share Alike) license. Eligible for Print on Demand.
- Writing in College: From Competence to Excellence2016, Open SUNY Textbook. “It is well suited to composition courses or first-year seminars and valuable as a supplemental or recommended text in other writing-intensive classes.” Includes a chapter on argument. Available as PDF, e-book, and web page. Licensed under a CC BY NC SA license (Creative Commons - Attribution - NonCommercial - ShareAlike).
Supplemental tools and materials (incl. games, lessons, videos, exercises, etc.):
- Reading, Writing and Evaluating Argument – teaching materials (OER collection)Teaching materials for Chris Werry's Reading, Writing and Evaluating Argument OER textbook, linked above.
- Writer's Handbook, Academic and Professional WritingFrom the UW-Madison Writer's Handbook. Sections on different types of academic writing, including analysis and research papers. Freely available online (not OER).
- Writability PodcastPodcast series developed by English faculty and librarians at the College of the Sequoias, 2020-22. This is an openly licensed series of conversations about writing tips and topics. Length varies for each episode, 25+ episodes total. Topics include: Using Instructor Feedback, Beyond the 5 Paragraph Essay, Sending Professional Emails to Professors, Should We Use Wikipedia?, Writing And Talking About Race In Class, and more. Audio files + transcripts. CC BY-NC (Creative Commons - Attribution - NonCommercial) license.
Research
For TCC Library-created and external resources on research and information literacy skills, explore the Information Literacy and Research Skills OER subject guide, linked below, including sub-tabs for Research skills and information literacy, and for Research and writing.
Grammar
Textbooks, courses, and readers:
- Brehe's Grammar Anatomy"Brehe’s Grammar Anatomy makes grammar accessible to general and specialist readers alike. This book provides an in-depth look at beginner grammar terms and concepts, providing clear examples with limited technical jargon." Practice exercises in each chapter. Includes glossary. CC BY SA (Creative Commons - Attribution - ShareAlike) license. Eligible for Print on Demand.
- Conventions 101: A Functional Approach to Teaching (and Assessing!) Grammar and Punctuation“This is a collection of cumulative units of study for conventional errors common in student writing. It’s flexible, functional, and zeroes in problems typically seen in writing of all types, from the eternal “there/they’re/their” struggle to correct colon use. Units are organized from most simple to most challenging.” A “cheat sheet” is also included at the end of the textbook. Available in multiple formats, including PDF, online, eBook, and ePub. 2016, Columbia Gorge Community College. CC BY NC 4.0 license (Creative Commons - Attribution - NonCommercial) Eligible for Print on Demand.
- Rhetoric and Composition: A Guide for the College WriterIncludes a “Grammar and Mechanics” section. last updated 2021, Wikibooks. Online, printable, and PDF versions available. CC BY SA 3.0 license (Creative Commons - Attribution - ShareAlike) Eligible for Print on Demand.
- Writing for SuccessUniv. of Minnesota, originally published 2015, updated 2019. "[P]rovides instruction in steps, builds writing, reading, and critical thinking, and combines comprehensive grammar review with an introduction to paragraph writing and composition." Includes a chapter for English Language Learners and has sections on sentence-creation and grammar. Multiple file formats available to download and edit. CC BY NC SA (Creative Commons - Attribution - NonCommercial) license. Eligible for Print on Demand.
- About Writing: A Guide (revised edition)Includes a chapter on Multilingual Writers and ESL Challenges, as well as other chapters on basic grammar. 2015, Klamath Community College in Oregon. CC BY 4.0 license (Creative Commons - Attribution). Eligible for Print on Demand.
Supplemental tools and materials (incl. games, lessons, videos, exercises, etc.):
- Writing CommonsWeb texts for students and faculty in college-level courses that require writing and research. Web texts are stand-alone modules with essays, activities, and supplemental materials. Ten main sections/chapters, including Style and Sentence-Level Mechanics. Web texts are available to print, email, PDF and hyperlink. Most are licensed under CC BY-NC-ND (Creative Commons - Attribution - NonCommercial - No Derivatives).
- The Writing Center @ UNC-Chapel HillExcellent handouts and videos around key writing concepts, including Writing the Paper; Citation, Style, and Sentence Level Concerns; Specific Writing Assignments or Contexts; and Writing for Specific Fields. Licensed under CC BY NC ND (Creative Commons - Attribution - NonCommercial - No Derivatives).
- Writer’s Handbook, Grammar and PunctuationFrom the UW-Madison Writer's Handbook. The “Twelve Common Errors: An Editing Checklist” could be a particularly useful supplement for students. Freely available online (not OER).
- Daily Grammar ArchiveLinks to free, self-paced grammar lessons and quizzes you could incorporate into classes. Daily Grammar consists of 440 lessons and 88 quizzes. Includes answers. Freely available online (not OER).
Resources for ELA and multilingual students
Textbooks, courses, and readers:
- Supporting English Language Learners in First-Year College Composition (OER textbook)Breana Bayraktar, et al., VIVA (Virtual Library of Virginia), 2023. "[O]rganized around five key essays, selected to coordinate with the essay styles commonly taught in first-year/first-semester composition courses. This organization is planned to offer instructors the flexibility to best support the pacing of the composition course. There are 2 expository, 1 narrative, and 2 argument essays. Each module includes one essay, with accompanying activities and supporting materials." Faculty peer reviews of this text available on this site. Online (Pressbooks), PDF, and EPUB formats. CC BY-NC-SA (Creative Commons - Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike) license. Eligible for Print on Demand.
- Writing, Reading, and College Success: A First-Year Composition Course for All Learners (OER textbook)Athena Kashyap & Erika Dyquisto, City College of San Francisco, 2020. Funded by an ASCCC grant. "The goal for this textbook was to revise and adapt the open educational resource (OER) textbook, Writing for Success [...] We succeeded in meeting our goal by adding additional scaffolding for developmental and ESL learners to help them with reading, writing, and college success skills; materials for learning in multiple modalities; teacher resources; and expanded materials about the reading and writing process. This in-depth revision allowed us to combine pre-collegiate level English instruction along with first year composition materials." Organized into 12 chapters, including a grammar chapter. Integrates checklists and exercises throughout. Online, PDF, print book files, and LMS course formats. CC BY-SA (Creative Commons - Attribution - ShareAlike) license. Eligible for Print on Demand.
- Intro to Academic Writing for ESOLTextbook and course, revised edition Sept. 2018. Written by a community college instructor in Oregon. Materials for ESOL learners with intermediate-high writing skills to help transition to college-level composition courses. Includes syllabus, textbook, slideshows, creative writing journal, and homework. Each unit previewable on website; files linked to Google Docs. CC BY NC SA license (Creative Commons - Attribution - NonCommercial - ShareAlike) Eligible for Print on Demand.
- College ESL Writers: Applied Grammar and Composing Strategies for Success (OER textbook)Georgia State University, 2018. "[D]esigned as a comprehensive grammar and writing etext for high intermediate and advanced level non-native speakers of English. We open the text with a discussion on the sentence and then break it down into its elemental components, before reconstructing them into effective sentences with paragraphs and larger academic assignments. Following that, we provide instruction in paragraph and essay writing with several opportunities to both review the fundamentals as well as to demonstrate mastery and move on to more challenging assignments." Accessible PDF and Word formats. CC BY NC SA (Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike) license. Eligible for Print on Demand.
- Transition with Purpose: Pathways from English Language to Academic Study (OER textbook)Michele Miller and Anne Greenhoe, Portland State University Library, 2018. "This Open Access Textbook will guide students through their English language to academic degree studies [...] Key elements include culture and expectations in an American university, transferring academic skills from ESL to content-specific academic courses, and helpful exercises to be academically successful." Eligible for Print on Demand.
- Writing for SuccessUniv. of Minnesota, originally published 2015, updated 2019. "[P]rovides instruction in steps, builds writing, reading, and critical thinking, and combines comprehensive grammar review with an introduction to paragraph writing and composition." Includes a chapter for English Language Learners and has sections on sentence-creation and grammar. Multiple file formats available to download and edit. CC BY NC SA (Creative Commons - Attribution - NonCommercial) license. Eligible for Print on Demand.
- About Writing: A Guide (revised edition)Includes a chapter on Multilingual Writers and ESL Challenges, as well as other chapters on basic grammar. 2015, Klamath Community College in Oregon. CC BY 4.0 license (Creative Commons - Attribution). Eligible for Print on Demand.
- Advanced Community College ESL Composition: An Integrated Skills Approach (OER textbook)Created by California Community College instructors, 2020. "This book has been created to provide a framework for building your skills in writing and critical thinking. It provides access to published samples from professional authors along with essay drafts from ESL students who have polished their skills in their respective writing courses." Organized into 4 main sections: The Writing Process, Sentence Structure, Literary Analysis, and Critical Thinking and Reading. Appendices include sample essays from ESL students. Faculty peer reviews of this text available on this site. Online and PDF formats. CC BY-NC-SA (Creative Commons - Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike) license. Eligible for Print on Demand.
Technical writing
Canvas course shells:
- Technical Writing - Open Oregon (OER Canvas Commons course)Tip: Log into your TCC Canvas faculty account *before* clicking on this link! Course created by Treasure Valley Community College, using the Technical Writing OER textbook by Central Oregon Community College, linked below. Course materials include modules, assignments, discussions, and quizzes. CC BY NC SA (Creative Commons - Attribution - NonCommercial - ShareAlike) license.
Textbooks, courses, and readers:
- Professional and Technical Writing (OER textbook)Suzie Baker, 2024. "This textbook for professional and technical communication is a compilation of several Open Resource materials. The purpose in its design is to provide a wide variety of materials on subjects in professional and technical communication, and to offer several different perspectives and delivery modes of those materials." Organized into 17 chapters, includes activities and exercises. TIP: Click on the "Table of Contents" tab to view entire contents. Online format + exportable to Google Docs. CC BY NC (Creative Commons Attribution Non-Commercial) license. Eligible for Print on Demand.
- Technical Report Writing GuidelinesLeah M. Akins, Dutchess Community College, Open SUNY, 2023. "This document specifies the recommended format to be used when submitting a formal technical report in a variety of disciplines and purposes." PDF format. CC BY-NC-SA (Creative Commons - Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike) license. Eligible for Print on Demand.
- Effective Professional Communication: A Rhetorical Approach (OER textbook)Rebekah Bennetch, et al, Univ. of Saskatchewan (Canada), 2021. "focuses on communicating in professional environments." Organized into 7 main chapters, including Technical Writing Essentials and Writing a Report, plus several appendices. Covers different modes of communication, including memos, letters, text messages, reports, and speeches. Online, PDF, EPUB, course cartridge, and editable OpenDocument formats. CC BY NC SA (Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike) license. Eligible for Print on Demand.
- Technical Writing Essentials:Introduction to Professional Communications in the Technical Fields - H5P Edition (OER textbook)Suzan Last, BCcampus (Canada), 2022. "This open textbook is designed to introduce readers to the basics of technical communication: audience and task analysis in workplace contexts, clear and concise communications style, effective document design, teamwork and collaboration, and fundamental research skills. This text includes over 40 interactive H5P activities created by Deb Nielsen." Organized into 8 chapters, plus appendices. Online (Pressbooks), PDF, EPUB, and Common Cartridge formats. CC BY (Creative Commons - Attribution) license. Eligible for Print on Demand.
- Technical Writing (Central Oregon CC textbook)Created by Central Oregon Community College instructors, 2017. "A textbook focusing on writing in the workplace, with an emphasis on audience analysis, writing for specific situations, document design, research processes, and visual aids." Organized into 14 chapters. Online, EPUB, Digital and Print PDF, and editable OpenDocument formats. CC BY NC SA (Creative Commons - Attribution - NonCommercial - ShareAlike) license. Eligible for Print on Demand.
- Technical Writing Essentials (OER textbook)Created by Univ. of Victoria instructors (Canada), 2019. This open textbook "is designed to introduce readers to the basics of technical communication: audience and task analysis in workplace contexts, clear and concise communications style, effective document design, teamwork and collaboration, and fundamental research skills." Organized into 8 chapters plus appendices. Online, EPUB, Digital and Print PDFs, and editable OpenDocument formats. CC BY (Creative Commons - Attribution) license. Eligible for Print on Demand.
- Technical Writing Strategies (OER textbook)This text was adapted by Lumen Learning from materials developed by Dr. Elizabeth Lohman, with additional updates by Joshua Dickinson, Jefferson Community College / SUNY, 2017. "[O]verviews the fields of technical writing and professional communication. It includes sections introducing students to the field of study, audience-centered communications, APA and MLA formats, language and tone, visuals, websites, memos, letters, descriptive and prescriptive reports, classification and partition reports, white papers, informative presentations, research, problem analysis, summaries and responses, proposals, feasibility reports, persuasive presentations, and writing conventions." PDF format. CC BY NC SA (Creative Commons - Attribution - NonCommercial - ShareAlike) license. Eligible for Print on Demand.
- Howdy or Hello?: Technical and Business Communications (OER textbook)Matt McKinney, et al., Texas A&M University, 2021, revised pilot edition. "Technical writing courses introduce you to some of the most important aspects of writing in the worlds of science, technology, and business." Organized into 20 chapters, including chapters on different types of oral and written communications. PDF format. CC BY-NC-SA (Creative Commons - Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike) license. Eligible for Print on Demand.
- Introduction to Professional Communications (OER textbook)Melissa Ashman, Kwantlen Polytechnic University (Canada), 2018. "This book covers key business communications topics that will help you in your career, including intercultural communication, team work, professional writing, audience analysis and adapting messages, document formatting, oral communication, and more.” Organized into 8 main parts, with sub-sections. Includes links to two open online course packs using this text. Online, EPUB, Digital PDF, Print PDF, and course cartridge formats. CC BY NC SA 4.0 (Creative Commons - Attribution - NonCommercial - ShareAlike) license. Eligible for Print on Demand.
- Workplace Writing: A Handbook for Common Workplace Genres and Professional Writing (OER textbook)Kansas State University, 2016. "This handbook is designed for a generalized business writing course that seeks to meet the needs of a variety of student majors and career interests. In it you will find: descriptions and discussions of common genres, both routine and formal, print and electronic, and in-class activities and sample assignments. You will also find commentary on how to adapt the writing process to the rhetorical constraints of a workplace as well as how to think about, conduct, and use research outside an academic setting." Includes lots of sample assignments. PDF, EPUB, and Kindle formats. CC BY NC SA (Creative Commons - Attribution - NonCommercial - ShareAlike) license. Eligible for Print on Demand.
- Open Technical Writing: An Open-Access Text for Instruction in Technical and Professional Writing (OER textbook)Created by University of Arkansas-Fayetteville instructor, 2019. "This book presents technical writing as an approach to researching and carrying out writing that centers on technical subject matter. Each and every chapter is devoted to helping students understand that good technical writing is situationally-aware and context-driven." PDF format. CC BY SA (Creative Commons - Attribution - ShareAlike) license. Eligible for Print on Demand.
Writing about literature
To browse OER on Writing about Literature, explore the Literature OER subject guide, linked below >> click on the sub-tab for "Writing about literature."
Bible as literature
To browse OER on Bible as literature, explore the Literature OER subject guide, linked below >> click on the sub-tab for "Bible as literature."
Environmental literature/writing
To browse additional OER and library resources on environmental literature and writing, please explore the Literature OER subject guide, linked below and then click on the "Environmental literature/writing" sub-tab:
Health care writing
Related OER subject guides:
For additional OER and library resources on health communication, please explore the Communication Studies OER subject guide, linked below and then click on the "Health communication" sub-tab:
Canvas course shells:
- English Communication for Health Professionals, Course A (OER Canvas course)To view: First, log into your TCC Canvas faculty account, then click on the Canvas Commons link/icon in the global navigation menu, and then finally click this link to view this Canvas course content. Georgia State University, Jan. 2021. “In this course, we will discuss different health content areas and language skills that will help enrich your English communication as a student and as a future health professional. In this course, you will consider the areas of nutrition, hygiene, first aid, and procedures. You will explore various English vocabulary, grammar, and strategies to become more effective in your communication in English while exploring these topics.” This course has four main modules, each with assignments: 1 - Nutrition ; 2 - Hygiene ; 3 - First Aid ; 4 - Hospital/Medical Lab Procedures. Real-world assignments focusing on community and public health may be useful for adaptation, like the assignments/discussion for writing instructions for first aid, writing about hygiene, social media campaigns, and writing about a food group. CC BY (Creative Commons - Attribution) license.
- English Communication for Health Professionals, Course B (OER Canvas course)To view: First, log into your TCC Canvas faculty account, then click on the Canvas Commons link/icon in the global navigation menu, and then finally click this link to view this Canvas course content. Georgia State University, Jan. 2021. “In this course, we will discuss different health content areas and language skills that will help enrich your English communication as a student and as a future health professional. In this course, you will consider the areas of medical communication, public health issues, oral presentations, becoming more independent learners, and Empathy & Networking. You will explore various English vocabulary, grammar, and strategies to become more effective in your communication in English while exploring these topics.” Four main modules, each with assignments: 5 - Medical Communication; 6 - Public Health Issues; 7 - Oral Presentation: Language Do’s and Don’ts; and 8 - Becoming more independent learners. Real-world assignments focusing on community and public health may be useful for adaptation, like an assignment for writing disease fact sheets. CC BY (Creative Commons - Attribution) license.
Textbooks, courses, and readers:
- Public Health Writing Guide (Open access guide)Boston Univ. School of Public Health, 2018. “The Public Health Writing Guide provides concrete strategies for improving your prose, increasing your productivity, and meeting the specific needs of your readers. Our goal is to provide you with some best practices that can be useful to you over the course of your career, any time you are looking for encouragement, structure, or advice about how to get started.” Includes an expansive section, Part III: Specific Types of Writing in Public Health. Tone is practical and straightforward. Sections of the guide are embedded within image map pop-ups; the entire guide is also available in PDF format for online viewing or download. Open access. Not eligible for Print on Demand.
- Processes: Writing Across Academic Careers (OER collection)Edited by Christopherh Iverson and Dan Ehrenfeld, Open SUNY, Milne Open Textbooks, 2023. "The text features compositions from nursing, STEM and health sciences, education, and history and culture. The examples span from reflections on the role of writing in one’s academic career, examples of professional writing in the sciences, research papers, conference proposals, to laboratory reports." Features sections and essays on varied disciplines, including: Nursing, health sciences, STEM, education, philosophy, history, and more. Online (Pressbooks), PDF, and EPUB formats. CC BY-NC-SA (Creative Commons - Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike) license. Eligible for Print on Demand.
Library e-books:
Unlimited user access. Use permalinks in Canvas courses. Not eligible for Print on Demand. You may need to log in with your portal and/or Canvas credentials to access the e-books.
How to write well: A guide for health and social care students by Call Number: OnlinePublication Date: 2013"Written especially for health and social care students, this book demystifies academic writing, giving you a better understanding of what good writing looks like, and how to achieve it. [...] This user-friendly guide includes examples of good and bad writing, activities to work through, handy hints and tips at the end of each chapter and personal experiences from students, making it a must-read for any health and social care students looking for the skills and confidence to master good academic writing." PDF and EPUB formats.
Supplemental tools and materials (incl. games, lessons, videos, exercises, etc.):
- Community Tool BoxA service of the Center for Community Health and Development at the University of Kansas. "[R]esources and tools to help people work together to build healthier communities." The Table of Contents outlines the resources plus related toolkits. Chapter 6. Communications to Promote Interest includes sub-sections like “Section 7. Preparing Public Service Announcements” and “Section 15. Creating Fact Sheets on Local Issues.” CC BY NC SA (Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike) license.
- Science Writing and New Media: Perspectives on Medicine and Public Health (OER ancillary materials)Cynthia B. Taft, MIT OpenCourseware, Fall 2016. “Over the course of the semester, we will explore the full range of writings by physicians and other health practitioners.” Potentially some good readings and assignments in the Readings and Assignments sections. PDF files. CC BY NC SA (Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike) license. Eligible for Print on Demand if materials are compiled into a print-ready format.
- Soft Skills Training: Communication Competency Curriculum (OER ancillary materials)Health Workforce Initiative, California Community Colleges. “The purpose of the Health Workforce Initiative is to identify health care workforce needs and cultivate solutions. The role of the Health Workforce Initiative is to facilitate a community college response to workforce needs.” Developed specifically for community-college level of students in health care. The “Communication Competency Curriculum” set includes a “Written Communication” activity sheet and accompanying PowerPoint slides; other sets may be useful, as well. PDFs and PowerPoint slides downloads. Terms of use page includes a CC BY (Creative Commons - Attribution) license, and to use this statement when reusing their materials: “CC BY, copr. California Community Colleges, Chancellor’s Office.” Eligible for Print on Demand.
- Medical writing and health communication video seriesIMC Digital Health, 2019-2020. Short videos (1-2 minutes in length) developed by a healthcare branding and medical knowledge service in the last 1-2 years. The videos seem to provide general overviews and introductions to health written communications, so they may be useful -- but these may contain ads or info about their own company services. Sample video titles: What are different types of Medical Writing & Healthcare Communication? ; What is Medical Writing? ; Medical Writing Skills for Healthcare Professionals. Open access (but not openly licensed), ok to link to and/or embed YouTube videos in Canvas courses.
Culturally responsive and inclusive pedagogy
The Culturally Responsive and Inclusive Pedagogy OER Subject Guide, linked below, provides a starting point for OER professional development and curricular materials relating to issues of equity, diversity, and inclusion; trauma-informed practices; and culturally responsive, inclusive, and anti-racist pedagogy and practices. This guide includes concepts and keywords; TCC OEDI resources; introductory and more in-depth professional development resources (toolkits, guides, etc.); curriculum resources (activities, assignments, etc.); OER and EDI rubrics; instructional design; accessibility; as well as EDI-focused OER in different disciplines across the curriculum, including Writing.
Your OER and liaison librarian
Jennifer Snoek-Brown
she/her
Contact:
Email: jsnoek-brown@tacomacc.edu (the fastest way to contact me)
Office: Bldg 7, Library (please wear a face mask)
Phone: 253.460.3936 (forwards to my email)
Book an appointment Click the "book now" button above to book a personal appointment with me via Zoom.
Website
Office: Bldg 7, Library (please wear a face mask)
Phone: 253.460.3936 (forwards to my email)
Book an appointment Click the "book now" button above to book a personal appointment with me via Zoom.
Attributions
Except where otherwise noted, the content in this guide was compiled by Jennifer Snoek-Brown, Tacoma Community College Library, and is licensed under a CC BY SA 4.0 license.
Except where otherwise noted, the content in these guides by Tacoma Community College Library is licensed under CC BY SA 4.0.
This openly licensed content allows others to cite, share, or modify this content, with credit to TCC Library. When reusing or adapting this content, include this statement in the new document: This content was originally created by Tacoma Community College Library and shared with a CC BY SA 4.0 license.
Tacoma Community College Library - Building 7, 6501 South 19th Street, Tacoma, WA 98466 - P. 253.566.5087
Visit us on Instagram!