Chemistry - TCC OER Subject Guide: OER starting points
This guide compiles starting points for OER and freely available resources for Chemistry courses and topics. This OER subject guide was created for TCC faculty and staff and reflects TCC courses and curriculum. The purpose of this guide is to help faculty and staff more easily find and review OER in their areas so that they can make decisions about quality, accuracy, relevancy, and potential use.
OER starting points for Chemistry, by course area and material type
Introduction to chemistry (non-majors)
Textbooks, courses, and readers:
- Introductory Chemistry - 1st Canadian Edition (OER textbook)Jessie A. Key and David W. Ball, BCcampus, 2014. Adapted from David W. Ball's Introductory Chemistry 2011 text. "This survey should give you enough knowledge to appreciate the impact of chemistry in everyday life." Organized into 18 chapters, each including end-of-chapter exercises. Includes instructor powerpoint slides. Online, PDF, and course cartridge formats.CC BY NC SA (Attribution - NonCommercial - Share Alike) license. Eligible for Print on Demand.
- CLUE: Chemistry, Life, the Universe and Everything (OER textbook)Melanie Cooper and Michael Klymkowsky, Michigan State University, 2020. Emphasizes student learning. "The book was developed using a design research approach that focuses on scaffolded progressions around four core ideas: structure and properties, bonding and interactions, energy, and change and stability. The course emphasizes causal mechanistic reasoning in order to help students move beyond knowing that, to knowing how and knowing why chemical phenomena occur.” Organized into 9 chapters. Online, PDF, EPUB, and editable OpenDocument formats. CC BY NC SA (Creative Commons Attribution NonCommercial ShareAlike) license. Eligible for Print on Demand.
- Introduction to Chemistry (OER textbook + lab manual)Carol Higginbotham, Open Oregon, 2022. "Designed for a one-term introductory chemistry course. For many students, this course provides their first and what may be their only academic introduction to chemistry. As such, this textbook provides an important opportunity for students to learn some core concepts of chemistry and understand how those concepts apply to their lives and the world around them." Organized into 9 main chapters, including a chapter for labs, plus appendices. Online (Pressbooks) and EPUB formats. CC BY NC SA (Creative Commons Attribution NonCommercial ShareAlike) license. Eligible for Print on Demand.
- Chemistry and Global Awareness (OER textbook)Elizabeth Gordon, Furman University, 2020, hosted on LibreTexts platform. "A major goal of this text is to demonstrate the importance of chemistry in your daily life and in our collective understanding of both the physical world we occupy and the biological realm of which we are apart." Designed for non-STEM majors. Organized into 10 chapters. Online and PDF formats. CC BY NC SA (Creative Commons - Attribution - NonCommercial - ShareAlike) license. Eligible for Print on Demand.
- Science of Everyday Materials (OER textbook)Skanda Vivek and Sairam Tangirala, an Affordable Learning Georgia project, 2021. "This textbook is about how complex everyday phenomena ranging from materials to societies - emerge from basic building blocks." Developed for non-science majors. Organized into 10 chapters, each with sample problems. Interactive online format + downloadable zip file of source files (largely image files). CC BY (Creative Commons - Attribution) license. Eligible for Print on Demand if materials are compiled into a print-ready format.
- Introductory Chemistry (OER textbook)David W. Ball, Cleveland State University, published by Saylor, 2011. Text incorporates a "chemistry is everywhere" perspective appropriate for non-majors. Organized into 16 chapters, each with learning outcomes and exercises. PDF and online versions of the text. Peer reviews of this site available on this site. CC BY-NC-SA (Creative Commons - Attribution - NonCommercial - ShareAlike) license. Eligible for Print on Demand.
- CH150: Preparatory Chemistry (OER textbook)H. Abozenadah, et al., Western Oregon University, 2017. "The focus of this textbook is to introduce students to the foundations of General Chemistry. The first part of the textbook focuses on the basic fundamentals of measurements in chemistry, the scientific method, an introduction into atoms, elements and trends of the periodic table. The second part of the textbook focuses on ionic and covalent compounds and their nomenclature, an introduction to chemistry reactions, stoichiometry, and solutions chemistry." Organized into 7 chapters, each with chapter summaries and homework sections. Web or PDF download versions. CC BY NC SA (Creative Commons - Attribution - NonCommercial - ShareAlike) 3.0 license. Eligible for Print on Demand.
- CH105: Consumer Chemistry - How Organic Chemistry Impacts Our Lives (OER textbook)H. Abozenadah, et al., Western Oregon University, 2017. Text "introduce[s] students to the fundamental applications of organic chemistry to society, technology, and the development of consumer products. The first part of the textbook focuses on the basic fundamentals of measurements in chemistry, the scientific method, and an introduction into atoms and elements. The second part of the textbook focuses on an introduction to organic chemistry and how it is applied to our daily lives. Topics include fuels and energy, polymers, fertilizers, pesticides, food and food additives, household cleaners, cosmetics and personal care items, pharmaceuticals, and air and water pollution." Online, printable PDF, and interactive PDF formats available. CC BY NC SA (Creative Commons - Attribution - NonCommercial - ShareAlike) 3.0 license. Eligible for Print on Demand.
- CH 104: Chemistry and the Environment (OER textbook)H. Abozenadah, et al., Western Oregon University, 2018. "The focus of this textbook is to introduce students to the foundations of General Chemistry. Within each chapter, there is also a section entitled ‘Focus on the Environment’ that provides students an opportunity to learn and engage with environmental issues and concerns in the context of scientific studies and chemistry concepts. Within these sections are suggested written and discussion assignments that are appropriate for use in an introductory college-level course in chemistry." Web or PDF download versions. CC BY NC SA (Creative Commons - Attribution - NonCommercial - ShareAlike) 3.0 license. Eligible for Print on Demand.
- CK-12 Chemistry Flexbooks"Flexbooks" are customizable digital textbooks. Several different CK-12 Chemistry flexbooks, including Basic and Intermediate, "From Vitamins to Baked Goods: Real Applications of Organic Chemistry, and more. Created for HS level -- chemistry resources at Grades 10-12 level -- but potentially adaptable for community college level. Downloadable PDF versions of all texts, and CK-12 materials can be integrated into Canvas via a Canvas app. All CK-12 resources are licensed under a CC BY NC (Creative Commons - Attribution - NonCommercial) license and began in 2021. Eligible for Print on Demand..
- Chemistry of Cooking (OER textbook)Sorangel Rodriguez-Velazquez, American University instructor, 2016. Organized into 11 units; the introductory units might be most useful for introductory chemistry concepts. PDF format. Peer reviews of the text available on this site. CC BY NC SA (Creative Commons - Attribution - NonCommercial - ShareAlike) license. Eligible for Print on Demand.
Supplemental tools and materials (incl. games, lessons, videos, exercises, etc.):
- Chemistry I Laboratory Manual (OER course)Jessica Garber Morales, Tidewater Community College, via Lumen Learning platform. "This lab manual accompanies the college chemistry courses and is used to support and assess knowledge acquired in the classroom setting to be applied in the real world. Labs include activities such as measuring the density of a sucrose solution, calculating the percent composition, stoichiometry, determining limiting reactants and more to complement an introductory chemistry course." Organized into 11 lab units, each with instructor notes, materials, and worksheets. Online format, and lab files also available in Word format. CC BY (Creative Commons - Attribution) license. Eligible for Print on Demand.
- Online Chemistry Lab Manual (OER collection)Santa Monica College, last updated 2021. Lab manuals and experiments for General Chemistry, Organic Chemistry, and Biochemistry. Organized into 4 units. Online and PDF formats. CC BY NC (Creative Commons - Attribution - NonCommercial) license. Eligible for Print on Demand.
- Clinical and Evidence-Based Chemistry Lab Manual and Workbook for Survey of Chemistry I (OER ancillary materials)Leonard Anagho, et al, University System of Georgia, 2022. Lab manual and workbook for labs for chemistry survey class. Includes labs for units and measurements, food, household products, etc. Zip file downloads of editable Word documents. CC BY (Creative Commons - Attribution) license. Eligible for Print on Demand.
- Labflow Chemistry OER Experiment Library (OER ancillary materials)Catalyst Education. "[M]any quality experiments available for General Chemistry, Introductory Chemistry, Organic Chemistry, and GOB Chemistry lab courses." Grouped by topic. Click "View Lab" links to view/download PDFs of labs. CC BY NC SA (Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike) license. Eligible for Print on Demand if materials are compiled into a print-ready format.
- Chem Collective"A collection of virtual labs, scenario-based learning activities, tutorials, and concept tests. Teachers can use our content for pre-labs, for alternatives to textbook homework, and for in-class activities for individuals or teams. Students can review and learn chemistry concepts using our virtual labs, simulations, and tutorials. The ChemCollective is organized by a group of faculty and staff at Carnegie Mellon who are interested in using, assessing, and creating engaging online activities for chemistry education." Explore resources by topic or by type. Everything on the site is licensed under a CC BY NC ND (Creative Commons - Attribution - NonCommercial - NoDerivatives) 3.0 license.
- Khan Academy - ChemistryKhan Academy video lessons and practice questions for chemistry basics, including atoms, acids and bases, kinetics, and more. All videos have captions, and most also include transcripts on the lesson pages. All Khan Academy resources freely available to use or link to -- and easily embedded via the Canvas toolbar.
- TED-ED - Chemistry lessons and videosTED-ED lessons incorporate animated videos and lessons (watch, think, dig deeper) that can be easily embedded or adapted into Canvas courses. Chemistry-related videos and lessons include "The Chemistry of Cookies," "The Chemistry of Cold Packs," "The Chemistry of Cars," etc. Unless otherwise indicated, TED resources are licensed via a CC BY NC ND (Creative Commons - Attribution - NonCommercial - No Derivatives) 4.0 license.
- Science Stories"Science Stories brings scientific work into social spaces." Browse annotated stories and videos about scientists from traditionally marginalized backgrounds. A mix of historical and current stories. Covers all areas of STEM. Open access (okay to link to and/or embed videos).
General chemistry
Textbooks, courses, and readers:
- Chemistry 2e (OER textbook)OpenStax, 2nd edition, published 2019, web version updated 2024. "[D]esigned to meet the scope and sequence requirements of the two-semester general chemistry course." Includes interactive exercises and real-world applications. Instructor resources, including Canvas course cartridge, solutions manual, supplemental test items, and slides, freely available upon verified account. Online and PDF formats; customizable Word document files available upon verified log-in. CC BY (Creative Commons - Attribution) license. Eligible for Print on Demand.
- Chemistry: Atoms First 2e (OER textbook)OpenStax, 2nd edition, published 2019, web version updated 2024. Adapted from OpenStax Chemistry text to "introduces atomic and molecular structure much earlier than the traditional approach, delaying the introduction of more abstract material so students have time to acclimate to the study of chemistry." Covers scope and sequence requirements of the two-semester general chemistry course. Instructor resources, including Canvas course cartridge, solutions manual, and slides, freely available upon verified account. Online and PDF formats; customizable Word document files available upon verified log-in. CC BY (Creative Commons - Attribution) license. Eligible for Print on Demand.
- General Chemistry: Principles, Patterns, and Applications (OER textbook)Bruce Averill and Patricia Eldredge, Saylor, 2011. Organized into 24 chapters. Used as the text for inorganic chemistry in an Oregon community college. PDF and web formats. Peer reviews of this text available on this site. CC BY NC SA (Creative Commons - Attribution - NonCommercial - ShareAlike) license. Eligible for Print on Demand.
- Chem1 Virtual Textbook (OER textbook)Stephen Lower, Simon Fraser University, last updated 2018. "It offers a more comprehensive, organized, and measured approach than is found in most standard textbooks. Although directed mainly at the first-year college level, it is also helpful as review material for students in more advanced courses in chemistry, and in biology, geology, and engineering." Online and zip file formats. CC BY (Creative Commons - Attribution) 3.0 license. Eligible for Print on Demand.
- CHEM101: General Chemistry I (OER course)Saylor Academy. Full course with readings and study guides for 8 major units. Heavily uses readings from Stephen Lower's Chem1 virtual textbook. Online format. TIP: Click on the "Resources" menu link for a shortcut to the files and link to resources used in the course. CC BY (Attribution) license, last updated in 2015. Eligible for Print on Demand if materials are compiled into a print-ready format.
Supplemental tools and materials (incl. games, lessons, videos, exercises, etc.):
- Chemistry I Laboratory Manual (OER course)Jessica Garber Morales, Tidewater Community College, via Lumen Learning platform. "This lab manual accompanies the college chemistry courses and is used to support and assess knowledge acquired in the classroom setting to be applied in the real world. Labs include activities such as measuring the density of a sucrose solution, calculating the percent composition, stoichiometry, determining limiting reactants and more to complement an introductory chemistry course." Organized into 11 lab units, each with instructor notes, materials, and worksheets. Online format, and lab files also available in Word format. CC BY (Creative Commons - Attribution) license. Eligible for Print on Demand.
- Online Chemistry Lab Manual (OER collection)Santa Monica College, last updated 2021. Lab manuals and experiments for General Chemistry, Organic Chemistry, and Biochemistry. Organized into 4 units. Online and PDF formats. CC BY NC (Creative Commons - Attribution - NonCommercial) license. Eligible for Print on Demand.
- Chemistry OpenStax Hub at OER CommonsAdditional instructor resources via OER Commons Hub, shared by faculty using the Chemistry OpenStax text. Currently shared resources include study guides, activity/labs, as well as alternate versions of the text.
- Chemistry: Atoms First 2e - OpenStax Instructor ResourcesInstructor resources available upon verified log-in. Currently includes Canvas course cartridge, solutions manual, PowerPoint slides, and more.
- Labflow Chemistry OER Experiment Library (OER ancillary materials)Catalyst Education. "[M]any quality experiments available for General Chemistry, Introductory Chemistry, Organic Chemistry, and GOB Chemistry lab courses." Grouped by topic. Click "View Lab" links to view/download PDFs of labs. CC BY NC SA (Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike) license. Eligible for Print on Demand if materials are compiled into a print-ready format.
- ChemWiki (OER ancillary materials)Univ. of California Davis. The “Core” section organized into sub-sections for organic chemistry, inorganic chemistry, biochemistry, physical chemistry, and analytical chemistry. Includes homework exercises, worksheets, case studies, visualizations and simulations, and more. CC BY NC SA (Attribution - NonCommercial - Share Alike) license.
- Video Mini-lessons - Ancillaries for General Chemistry coursesOver 60 video mini-lessons developed by Mark Blaser, California Community Colleges TechConnect, 2019. Created for General Chemistry courses for science majors. MP4 video files with closed caption files. CC BY NC SA (Creative Commons - Attribution - NonCommercial - ShareAlike) license.
- Chemistry - Crash Course video playlistCrashCourse video series of 45+ videos (each video around 10 mins.) with innovative graphics, last updated 2020. Includes videos on: fundamental tools of chemistry, structure of matter, chemical reactions, kinetics, and more. Crash Course videos are high-quality, with a mix of live-action and animated graphics. Not openly licensed but freely available to view, link, and embed into courses.
- Khan Academy - ChemistryKhan Academy video lessons and practice questions for chemistry basics, including atoms, acids and bases, kinetics, and more. All videos have captions, and most also include transcripts on the lesson pages. All Khan Academy resources freely available to use or link to -- and easily embedded via the Canvas toolbar.
- Shawn Shields Chemistry videosOpenly licensed short concept videos for a community college instructor’s Introductory Chemistry classes. Videos range from 5-15 mins. apiece with auto-generated captions. Videos include a CC BY NC SA (Creative Commons - Attribution - NonCommercial - ShareAlike) license on the cover slides.
- Chem Collective"A collection of virtual labs, scenario-based learning activities, tutorials, and concept tests. Teachers can use our content for pre-labs, for alternatives to textbook homework, and for in-class activities for individuals or teams. Students can review and learn chemistry concepts using our virtual labs, simulations, and tutorials. The ChemCollective is organized by a group of faculty and staff at Carnegie Mellon who are interested in using, assessing, and creating engaging online activities for chemistry education." Explore resources by topic or by type. Everything on the site is licensed under a CC BY NC ND (Creative Commons - Attribution - NonCommercial - NoDerivatives) 3.0 license.
- PubChem"The world's largest collection of freely accessible chemical information. Search chemicals by name, molecular formula, structure, and other identifiers. Find chemical and physical properties, biological activities, safety and toxicity information, patents, literature citations and more." Public domain site part of the National Institutes of Health, U.S. National Library of Medicine, National Center for Biotechnology Information.
- Science Stories"Science Stories brings scientific work into social spaces." Browse annotated stories and videos about scientists from traditionally marginalized backgrounds. A mix of historical and current stories. Covers all areas of STEM. Open access (okay to link to and/or embed videos).
Organic/biochemistry
Textbooks, courses, and readers:
- Organic Chemistry: A 10th Edition (OER textbook)John McMurry, new digital edition published by OpenStax, 2023, web version updated 2024. "John McMurry decided to publish Organic Chemistry: A Tenth Edition under an open license as a tribute to his son, Peter McMurry, who passed away from cystic fibrosis in December 2019." Online and PDF formats. CC BY NC SA (Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike) license. Eligible for Print on Demand.
- Introductory Biochemistry (OER textbook)Carol Higginbotham, Open Oregon, 2022. "A text supporting a single-term biochemistry course as part of a one-year Introductory Chemistry course series often described as General, Organic and Biological Chemistry (GOB). The audience for this book includes students majoring in fields outside of the Sciences who need or want some knowledge of biochemistry. This includes students in pre-health fields, but also possibly students interested in Natural Resources, Agriculture or Business. The objective is to provide these students with an exposure to core ideas of the subject." Organized into 7 main chapters. Online (Pressbooks), PDF, and EPUB formats. CC BY NC SA (Creative Commons Attribution NonCommercial ShareAlike) license. Eligible for Print on Demand.
- OCLUE: Organic Chemistry, Life, the Universe & Everything (OER textbook)Melanie M. Cooper and Michael W. Klymkowsky, Michigan State University, 2020. "The basics of bonding and intermolecular interactions are introduced in the general chemistry version of CLUE (Chemistry, Life, the Universe & Everything), along with how the structure of a molecule affects its properties, how the energy changes associated with chemical and physical changes can be predicted and explained, and how chemical systems can be stabilized or perturbed by changing conditions." Organized into 9 chapters. Online, EPUB, digital and print PDF, and editable OpenDocument formats. CC BY NC SA (Creative Commons - Attribution - NonCommercial - ShareAlike) license. Eligible for Print on Demand.
- Organic Chemistry I & II (OER textbook)Shainaz Landge, et al., Georgia Southern University, 2020, an Affordable Learning Georgia project. In-depth organic chemistry content, organized into 21 chapters. Sample problem sets included in each chapter. LibGuide format. CC BY NC SA (Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike) license. Eligible for Print on Demand.
- Organic Chemistry With a Biological Emphasis - Volumes I & IITimothy Soderberg, Univ. of Minnesota-Morris, updated 2019. "This textbook is designed for a two-semester, sophomore-level course in Organic Chemistry in which biological chemistry takes center stage. For the most part, the text covers the core concepts of organic structure, structure determination, and reactivity in the standard order. What is different is the context: biological chemistry is fully integrated into the explanation of central principles, and as much as possible the in-chapter and end-of-chapter problems are taken from the biochemical literature." Web, print, and editable formats available. Ancillary materials include solutions to in-chapter exercises and end-of-chapter problems. CC BY NC SA (Creative Commons - Attribution - NonCommercial - ShareAlike) license. Eligible for Print on Demand.
- Threshold Concepts in Biochemistry (OER textbook)Julian Pakay, et al.., La Trobe University (Australia), 2023. "This book is designed as a succinct and focused resource, specifically aimed to help students grasp key threshold concepts in Biochemistry." First half published with 4 chapters (the final four chapters will be published in 2024). Online (Pressbooks), PDF, EPUB, and editable OpenDocument formats. CC BY-NC-SA (Creative Commons - Attribution NonCommercial ShareAlike) license. Eligible for Print on Demand.
- Biochemistry: Free For All (OER textbook)Kevin Ahern, et al., Oregon State University, 2018. "Biochemistry is a relatively young science, but its rate of growth has been truly impressive. The rapid pace of discoveries, which shows no sign of slowing, is reflected in the steady increase in the size of biochemistry textbooks." Includes "point by point" chapters that correspond to the major sections of the text. PDF format. CC BY-NC (Creative Commons - Attribution-NonCommercial) license. Eligible for Print on Demand.
- How to be a Successful Organic Chemist (OER textbook)Alexander H. Sandtorv, Portland State University, 2018. OER manual "meant as an introductory text for undergraduates taking organic chemistry teaching labs. The text is a clear and practical introduction to safety, chemical handling, organic chemistry techniques, and lab reports." Online and PDF formats. CC BY NC (Creative Commons - Attribution - NonCommercial) license. Eligible for Print on Demand.
Supplemental tools and materials (incl. games, lessons, videos, exercises, etc.):
- Organic Chemistry - Crash Course video playlistCrash Course video series of 50+ videos (each video around 10 mins) with innovative graphics, last updated 2022. "[B]ased on sophomore-level college material, covering topics from Organic Chemistry I and II. It was developed with 9 reference texts and journal articles on specialized topics in organic chemistry." Includes videos on: Organic Nomenclature, 3D Structure and Bonding, Acidity, Thermodynamics, Alcohols, and more. Crash Course videos are high-quality, with a mix of live-action and animated graphics. Not openly licensed but freely available to view, link, and embed into courses.
- Survey of Organic Chemistry Lab Manual (OER manual)Kathleen Hess, College of DuPage, 2022. "Introduction to organic chemistry. Nomenclature, structure, physical properties, reactions and synthesis of major organic functional groups. Intended for health science majors. These labs are designed for students working under the supervision of an instructor in a college chemistry laboratory." Designed to be used in conjunction with OER textbook, Organic Chemistry Laboratory Techniques, by Lisa Nichols. Organized into 10 labs. Google Drive folder with Word files. CC BY NC SA (Creative Commons Attribution NonCommercial ShareAlike) 4.0. license. Eligible for Print on Demand.
- Online Chemistry Lab Manual (OER collection)Santa Monica College, last updated 2021. Lab manuals and experiments for General Chemistry, Organic Chemistry, and Biochemistry. Organized into 4 units. Online and PDF formats. CC BY NC (Creative Commons - Attribution - NonCommercial) license. Eligible for Print on Demand.
- Organic Chemistry Lab TechniquesLisa Nichols, Butte Community College, 2nd edition, 2017. An organic chemistry lab techniques textbook organized into 7 main modules. All procedures are accompanied by step-by-step pictures, and graphics are heavily utilized throughout the resource. Faculty peer reviews of this lab manual available on this site. Online and PDF formats. CC BY NC ND (Creative Commons - Attribution - NonCommercial - No Derivatives) license. Eligible for Print on Demand.
- Labflow Chemistry OER Experiment Library (OER ancillary materials)Catalyst Education. "[M]any quality experiments available for General Chemistry, Introductory Chemistry, Organic Chemistry, and GOB Chemistry lab courses." Grouped by topic. Click "View Lab" links to view/download PDFs of labs. CC BY NC SA (Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike) license. Eligible for Print on Demand if materials are compiled into a print-ready format.
- ChemWiki (OER ancillary materials)Univ. of California Davis. The “Core” section organized into sub-sections for organic chemistry, inorganic chemistry, biochemistry, physical chemistry, and analytical chemistry. Includes homework exercises, worksheets, case studies, visualizations and simulations, and more. CC BY NC SA (Attribution - NonCommercial - Share Alike) license.
- PubChem"The world's largest collection of freely accessible chemical information. Search chemicals by name, molecular formula, structure, and other identifiers. Find chemical and physical properties, biological activities, safety and toxicity information, patents, literature citations and more." Public domain site part of the National Institutes of Health, U.S. National Library of Medicine, National Center for Biotechnology Information.
Chemistry for allied health
Textbooks, courses, and readers:
- The Basics of General, Organic, and Biological Chemistry (OER textbook)David W. Ball, John W. Hill, and Rhonda J. Scott, added to LibreTexts platform in 2021. Designed primarily as a one-semester course for allied health students. Contents are one-half general chemistry topics, one-fourth organic chemistry topics, and one-fourth biochemistry topics. Organized into 20 chapters, each with end-of-chapter exercises. Online, PDF, print book files, and LMS course formats. CC BY NC SA (Creative Commons - Attribution - NonCommercial - ShareAlike) license. Eligible for Print on Demand.
- CHE 120 - Introduction to Organic Chemistry (OER textbook)Nelson Nuñez-Rodriguez, Hostos Community College, last updated 2020. Adaptation of "The Basics of General, Organic, and Biological Chemistry" OER textbook. Organized into 11 chapters. LibGuide format. CC BY NC SA ( Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike) license. Eligible for Print on Demand.
- CH 103: Allied Health Chemistry (OER textbook)H. Abozenadah, et al., Western Oregon University, 2018. "The focus of this textbook is to introduce students to the foundations of General, Organic and Biological Chemistry and prepare students to be successful in health-related degree programs." Online, Word, and PDF formats available. CC BY NC SA (Creative Commons - Attribution - NonCommercial - ShareAlike) 3.0 license. Eligible for Print on Demand.
- Chemistry for Allied Health (OER textbook)Allison Soult, Univ. of Kentucky, last updated 2021. "A study of the basic concepts of general, organic, and biological chemistry. Topics include electronic structure of atoms and molecules, periodicity of the elements, states of matter, kinetics, equilibria, acids and bases, organic functional groups, stereochemistry, carbohydrates, lipids, proteins, and enzymes. Topics are presented with an emphasis on application to the allied health professions." Organized into 15 chapters, each with end-of-chapter exercises. Online, PDF, print files, and LMS import file formats. CC BY-NC-SA (Creative Commons - Attribution - NonCommercial - ShareAlike) license. Eligible for Print on Demand.
Supplemental tools and materials (incl. games, lessons, videos, exercises, etc.):
- Online Chemistry Lab Manual (OER collection)Santa Monica College, last updated 2021. Lab manuals and experiments for General Chemistry, Organic Chemistry, and Biochemistry. Organized into 4 units. Online and PDF formats. CC BY NC (Creative Commons - Attribution - NonCommercial) license. Eligible for Print on Demand.
- Labflow Chemistry OER Experiment Library (OER ancillary materials)Catalyst Education. "[M]any quality experiments available for General Chemistry, Introductory Chemistry, Organic Chemistry, and GOB Chemistry lab courses." Grouped by topic. Click "View Lab" links to view/download PDFs of labs. CC BY NC SA (Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike) license. Eligible for Print on Demand if materials are compiled into a print-ready format.
- Chem Collective"A collection of virtual labs, scenario-based learning activities, tutorials, and concept tests. Teachers can use our content for pre-labs, for alternatives to textbook homework, and for in-class activities for individuals or teams. Students can review and learn chemistry concepts using our virtual labs, simulations, and tutorials. The ChemCollective is organized by a group of faculty and staff at Carnegie Mellon who are interested in using, assessing, and creating engaging online activities for chemistry education." Explore resources by topic or by type. Everything on the site is licensed under a CC BY NC ND (Creative Commons - Attribution - NonCommercial - NoDerivatives) 3.0 license.
- PubChem"The world's largest collection of freely accessible chemical information. Search chemicals by name, molecular formula, structure, and other identifiers. Find chemical and physical properties, biological activities, safety and toxicity information, patents, literature citations and more." Public domain site part of the National Institutes of Health, U.S. National Library of Medicine, National Center for Biotechnology Information.
Culturally responsive and inclusive pedagogy
The Culturally Responsive and Inclusive Pedagogy OER Subject Guide, linked below, provides a starting point for OER professional development and curricular materials relating to issues of equity, diversity, and inclusion; trauma-informed practices; and culturally responsive, inclusive, and anti-racist pedagogy and practices. This guide includes concepts and keywords; TCC OEDI resources; introductory and more in-depth professional development resources (toolkits, guides, etc.); curriculum resources (activities, assignments, etc.); OER and EDI rubrics; instructional design; accessibility; as well as EDI-focused OER in different disciplines across the curriculum, including STEM.
Your OER librarian
Jennifer Snoek-Brown
she/her
Contact:
Email: jsnoek-brown@tacomacc.edu (the fastest way to contact me)
Office: Bldg 7, Library (please wear a face mask)
Phone: 253.460.3936 (forwards to my email)
Book an appointment Click the "book now" button above to book a personal appointment with me via Zoom.
Website
Office: Bldg 7, Library (please wear a face mask)
Phone: 253.460.3936 (forwards to my email)
Book an appointment Click the "book now" button above to book a personal appointment with me via Zoom.
Your liaison librarian
Melissa Adams
Subjects: Astronomy, Biology, Botany, Business/Economics, Careers, Chemistry, College 101, Community Health, Early Childhood Education, Economics, Education, Emergency Medical Services, Engineering, Environmental Science, Geology, Health, Math, Music, Nutrition, Philosophy, Radiologic Science, Science, Statistics
Attributions
Except where otherwise noted, the content in this guide was compiled by Jennifer Snoek-Brown, Tacoma Community College Library, and is licensed under a CC BY SA 4.0 license.
Except where otherwise noted, the content in these guides by Tacoma Community College Library is licensed under CC BY SA 4.0.
This openly licensed content allows others to cite, share, or modify this content, with credit to TCC Library. When reusing or adapting this content, include this statement in the new document: This content was originally created by Tacoma Community College Library and shared with a CC BY SA 4.0 license.
Tacoma Community College Library - Building 7, 6501 South 19th Street, Tacoma, WA 98466 - P. 253.566.5087
Visit us on Instagram!