Chinese
Textbooks, courses, and readers:
-
Elementary Chinese I (OER textbook)
Wenying Zhou, Michigan State University, 2022. "This open textbook is designed for beginners learning Chinese as a second/foreign language. This book aims to introduce learners to standard Chinese pronunciation, character knowledge, basic conversational phrases, grammar and vocabulary use, and cultural knowledge. Throughout the eight chapters, learners will explore: greetings and self-introduction, hobbies, nationalities, family members and occupations, inviting friends to dinner, talking about food and beverage, making phone calls, and talking about classes and exams." Integrates learning activities with audio recordings and videos "created by the author to facilitate the practice of target vocabulary and dialogues." Organized into 7 main sections/lessons. Faculty peer reviews for this text available on this site. Online (Pressbooks), PDF, EPUB, and editable OpenDocument formats. CC BY-NC (Creative Commons Attribution NonCommercial) license. Eligible for Print on Demand.
-
Elementary Chinese II (OER textbook)
Wenying Zhou, Michigan State University, 2022. Companion and continuation to author's Elementary Chinese I OER textbook. "This open textbook contains six main lessons, including topics such as school life, shopping, transportation, weather, eating out, and asking and giving directions. They are organized in a straightforward and well-structured manner that are easy to follow. Within each lesson, there are a set of two dialogues or a set of one dialogue plus one narration. The texts of the dialogues or narrations are created to provide real-life Chinese language to beginning learners." Includes cultural notes for context. Organized into 6 main chapters/lessons. Online (Pressbooks), PDF, EPUB, and editable OpenDocument formats. CC BY-NC (Creative Commons Attribution NonCommercial) license. Eligible for Print on Demand.
-
CHN101 Elementary Mandarin I (OER textbook)
Carl Polley, Kapi'olani Community College via LibreTexts, 2020. Organized into 9 chapters, including introductory chapters as well as themed chapters. Each chapter includes worksheets, homework exercises, vocabulary reviews and quizzes, and more. Online, PDF, and LMS formats. CC BY NC SA (Creative Commons - Attribution - NonCommercial - ShareAlike) license. Eligible for Print on Demand.
-
CHN102 Elementary Mandarin II (OER textbook)
Carl Polley, Kapi'olani Community College via LibreTexts, 2022. Organized into 8 themed chapters, with worksheets, homework exercises, vocabulary reviews and quizzes, and more. Online, PDF, and LMS formats. CC BY NC SA (Creative Commons - Attribution - NonCommercial - ShareAlike) license. Eligible for Print on Demand.
-
Introduction to Classical Chinese (OER textbook)
Andrew Schonebaum, et al., Rebus Community, 2024. "An openly licensed college level Classical Chinese textbook compiled by Professor Patrick Hanan at Harvard University, and further developed by many contributors at various universities over the span of forty years between 1984 and 2024." Organized into 20 chapters, with 16 lessons and a glossary. Online (Pressbooks), PDF, and EPUB formats. CC BY NC SA (Creative Commons Attribution NonCommercial ShareAlike) license. Eligible for Print on Demand.
-
Beginning Chinese (OER textbook)
OER textbook developed by Oregon community college instructor, 2019. "Textbook for a year-long Beginning Chinese course." Organized into 8 main units, with two "pre-units" in a Google Drive. PDF and editable Word book files. CC BY NC SA (Creative Commons - Attribution - NonCommercial - ShareAlike) license. Eligible for Print on Demand.
-
Elementary Chinese 1 (OER course)
OER course developed by Carnegie Mellon University, 2017. Tip: Click to enter the course, then click the reCAPTCHA button to enter the course as a guest. The first of two semesters on Mandarin Chinese. Organized into 2 units, with 7 modules. Online format. CC BY NC SA (Creative Commons -Attribution - Noncommercial - Share Alike) license. Eligible for Print on Demand.
-
Chinese (Mandarin) - Wikibooks
OER Wikibook, a free Chinese textbook on the Standard Mandarin dialect, last updated 2024. Organized into modules for Introduction, Pronunciation, Vocabulary, Lesson Texts, plus Appendices of common categories of words. Online, PDF, and printable versions available. CC BY SA ( Creative Commons Attribution-ShareAlike) license. Eligible for Print on Demand.
-
Introductory Chinese Grammar I (OER text)
OER text/course on the LibreTexts site, last updated 2020. Modules for Parts of Speech, Grammatical Structures, and Comparisons of Similar Grammar Points. Online, PDF, print book files, LMS cartridge, and zip file formats (click the blue "Download" button in the top right). CC BY NC SA (Creative Commons - Attribution - NonCommercial - ShareAlike) license. Eligible for Print on Demand.
Supplemental tools and materials (incl. games, lessons, videos, exercises, etc.):
-
Mandarin Chinese Activities (novice to intermediate)
Series of over 30 Mandarin Chinese activities, lesson plans, and videos from novice to intermediate-level. Developed by instructors at Boise State University's World Languages Resource Center. All activities are under a CC BY NC SA (Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike) license.
-
Gateway to Chinese playlist (beginner videos)
University of Texas at Austin, 2017. "A collection of video lessons on grammar topics for beginning Mandarin Chinese, available as a YouTube playlist." Videos range from 2-8 minutes. CC BY (Creative Commons - Attribution) license.
-
Learn Mandarin Chinese Essentials Online! playlist (beginner videos)
Videos by edX, 2019. Playlist currently includes 22 videos, ranging from 2-8 minutes each. Not openly licensed but freely available to view and link to.
-
Chinese Language videos - Films on Demand
Tip: You may need to log in with your TCC portal credentials to view this content.Shortcut link to view and browse Chinese Language academic videos available through the TCC Library's Films on Demand database subscription. Easily embed these videos into your Canvas course.
-
Chinese Culture & History videos - Films on Demand
Tip: You may need to log in with your TCC portal credentials to view this content. Shortcut link to view and browse Chinese Culture and History academic videos available through the TCC Library's Films on Demand database subscription. Easily embed these videos into your Canvas course.
-
Mandarin Chinese Ancillary Activities and OER Materials
The Pathways Project, Boise State University. Most resources created 2020. "Many of the activities on the Pathways Project OER Commons Repository are created by upper-division students at Boise State University and serve as a foundation that our community of practice can build upon and refine." Page includes links to Interpersonal Speaking Activities for different levels. Each resource may have a different CC license
German
Textbooks, courses, and readers:
-
German OER textbook series - Univ. of Alabama (OER textbooks)
Sequence of 5 OER textbooks by Rebecca Linam, Univ. of North Alabama, 2024, for German 101, 102, 201, 202, and 350. Each textbook "features easy-to-read explanations of grammar, up-to-date videos, extra practice, and interactive exercises, as well as reading selections." Each text also has a glossary. Online (Pressbooks), PDF, and EPUB formats. Each textbook has a CC BY (Creative Commons - Attribution) license. Eligible for Print on Demand.
-
German 101 (OER textbook)
Rebecca Linam, University of North Alabama, 2022. "Students whose native language is English can use that as a helpful resource to make learning German easier." Organized into 3 chapters, each with links to extra practice, interactive video series, comic strips and music, and oral proficiency interview practice lessons. Links to www.germanzone.org for automatic graded practice assignments. (Author is also working on "German 102" OER textbook.) Online, ebook, and PDF formats. CC BY (Creative Commons - Attribution) license. Eligible for Print on Demand.
-
Willkommen: Deutsch für alle (OER textbook)
Claudia Kost and Crystal Sawatzky, Open Education Alberta (Canada), 2020. "[A]n innovative first-year German language e-textbook" that "follows a blended-learning model, a combination of alternating in-class (face-to-face) instruction and interaction, and online (self-paced) individual learning" and "takes an inclusive approach to the depiction of people, contexts, and concepts." Organized into 10 chapters, and includes Notes for Instructors as well as Notes for Students. Online, EPUB, and PDF formats. CC BY NC SA (Creative Commons Attribution NonCommercial ShareAlike) license. Eligible for Print on Demand.
-
Der und mehr: German Language Textbook (OER textbook)
Shane Peterson, Sabine Smith, Dylan Goldblatt, and Susanne Estrella, University System of Georgia, 2020. "This textbook is developed for use with the der | die | das German language learning website," which is also linked below. Designed for a two-year language program, separated into 4 courses with 4 chapters each. Online and zip file formats. CC BY (Creative Commons - Attribution) license. Eligible for Print on Demand.
-
A Foundation Course in Reading German (OER textbook)
Created by Univ. of Wisconsin German instructors, 2017. “This textbook guides a learner who has no previous German experience to gain the ability to accurately understand formal written German prose, aided only by a comprehensive dictionary.” Organized into 16 units of increasing difficulty and complexity. PDF format. Peer reviews of the text are available on this site. CC BY NC SA (Creative Commons - Attribution - NonCommercial - ShareAlike) license. Eligible for Print on Demand.
Supplemental tools and materials (incl. primary sources, games, lessons, videos, exercises, etc.):
-
Let's Chat! German
Conversation activities from The Pathways Project, Boise State University, 2022. "[F]eatures a collection of over 100 classroom-ready interpersonal speaking activities for novice and intermediate learners. Touching on a range of thematic topics such as school, travel, daily routines, health, jobs, art and so much more, German teachers are sure to find an activity to use in their courses. These activities may be used as is or can easily be revised and remixed to fit the unique needs of individual classrooms." Many of the activities were created by upper-division students at Boise State University. Online format. CC BY NC SA (Creative Commons Attribution NonCommercial ShareAlike) license. Eligible for Print on Demand.
Additional OER activities available on the Pathways Project website, https://www.boisestate.edu/pathwaysproject/german/
-
German Studies Collection @ Univ. of Wisconsin-Madison
Digital library of German-language and cultural artifacts, mostly historical. “The German Studies Collection brings together, in digital form, primary and secondary materials relating to German Studies.” This collection is copyrighted, but the site’s terms of use supports fair use for non-profit educational and research purposes. This means that you can use, download, and/or link to their resources as long as you cite the original source and don’t change anything. Includes essays and videos that could be useful for supplemental readings. Click the “Search the Collection” for keyword searching.
-
der | die | da website
Site developed by Dr. Jamie Rankin of Princeton University. Password-protected site, access provided upon verified request. Organized into 16 chapters.
Japanese
Canvas course shells:
-
Japanese 1 (WACTC Canvas course)
To view: First, log into your TCC Canvas faculty account, then click on the Canvas Commons link/icon in the global navigation menu, and then finally click this link to view this Canvas course content. Canvas course shared by Kathy Brooks, South Puget Sound CC, 2016. "This course contains files used to teach Japanese 1. These files work with the Genki book: An Integrated Course in Elementary Japanese," which is linked below. CC BY (Creative Commons - Attribution) license.
-
Japanese 2 (WACTC Canvas course)
To view: First, log into your TCC Canvas faculty account, then click on the Canvas Commons link/icon in the global navigation menu, and then finally click this link to view this Canvas course content. Canvas course shared by Kathy Brooks, South Puget Sound CC, 2016. "This course contains files used to teach Japanese 2. These files work with the Genki book: An Integrated Course in Elementary Japanese," which is linked below. CC BY (Creative Commons - Attribution) license.
-
Japanese 3 (WACTC Canvas course)
To view: First, log into your TCC Canvas faculty account, then click on the Canvas Commons link/icon in the global navigation menu, and then finally click this link to view this Canvas course content. Canvas course shared by Kathy Brooks, South Puget Sound CC, 2016. "This course contains files used to teach Japanese 3. These files work with the Genki book: An Integrated Course in Elementary Japanese," which is linked below. CC BY (Creative Commons - Attribution) license.
Textbooks with accompanying supplemental resources:
-
Beginning Japanese for Professionals: Book 1 (OER textbook + audio files)
Three-book series for beginning Japanese developed by Portland State University instructor, 2015. "This textbook is designed for beginning learners who want to learn basic Japanese for the purpose of living and working in Japan. Unlike textbooks written primarily for students, whose content largely centers on student life, this book focuses more on social and professional life beyond school. As a beginning level textbook, this book includes many elementary grammar patterns (Japanese Language Proficiency Test Levels 5 and 4), but the vocabulary and situations are selected specifically for working adults." Organized into 4 lessons. "Online, PDF, and editable formats for textbook. Audio file downloads. CC BY NC (Creative Commons - Attribution - NonCommercial) license.
-
Beginning Japanese for Professionals: Book 2 (OER textbook + audio files)
Three-book series for beginning Japanese developed by Portland State University instructor, 2017. "This textbook is designed for beginning learners who want to learn basic Japanese for the purpose of living and working in Japan. Unlike textbooks written primarily for students, whose content largely centers on student life, this book focuses more on social and professional life beyond school. As a beginning level textbook, this book includes many elementary grammar patterns (Japanese Language Proficiency Test Levels 5 and 4), but the vocabulary and situations are selected specifically for working adults." Organized into 4 lessons. "Online, PDF, and editable formats for textbook. Audio file downloads. CC BY NC (Creative Commons - Attribution - NonCommercial) license.
-
Beginning Japanese for Professionals: Book 3 (OER textbook + audio files)
Three-book series for beginning Japanese developed by Portland State University instructor, 2018. "This textbook is designed for beginning learners who want to learn basic Japanese for the purpose of living and working in Japan. Unlike textbooks written primarily for students, whose content largely centers on student life, this book focuses more on social and professional life beyond school. As a beginning level textbook, this book includes many elementary grammar patterns (Japanese Language Proficiency Test Levels 5 and 4), but the vocabulary and situations are selected specifically for working adults." Organized into 2 lessons. "Online, PDF, and editable formats for textbook. Audio file downloads. CC BY NC (Creative Commons - Attribution - NonCommercial) license.
-
Preadvanced Japanese (textbook + audio files)
Developed by Portland State University instructor, 2014. "This textbook is designed for students who have intermediate competency in Japanese, roughly at Level 2 on the ILR (The Interagency Language Roundtable) proficiency scale, and are working on reaching Level 3." Organized into 4 cja[ters. "Online, PDF, and editable formats for textbook. Audio file downloads. CC BY NC (Creative Commons - Attribution - NonCommercial) license.
Textbooks, courses, and readers:
Supplemental tools and materials (incl. primary sources, games, lessons, videos, exercises, etc.):
-
Japanese Ancillary Activities and OER Materials
The Pathways Project, Boise State University. Most resources created 2020. "Many of the activities on the Pathways Project OER Commons Repository are created by upper-division students at Boise State University and serve as a foundation that our community of practice can build upon and refine." Page includes links to Interpersonal Speaking Activities for different levels, as well as OER Projects and Resources. Each resource may have a different CC license.
Spanish - introductory
TCC-created resources:
-
SPAN& 121 Spanish I (TCC OER course)
To view: First, log into your TCC Canvas faculty account, then click on the Canvas Commons link/icon in the global navigation menu, and then finally click this link to view this Canvas course content. OER Canvas course shared by TCC instructor Amy Carrillo, 2019. Includes modules, assignments, quizzes, and discussions. Public domain.
-
SPAN&122 Spanish II (TCC OER course)
To view: First, log into your TCC Canvas faculty account, then click on the Canvas Commons link/icon in the global navigation menu, and then finally click this link to view this Canvas course content. OER Canvas course shared by TCC instructor Amy Carrillo, 2016. Includes modules, assignments, quizzes, and discussions. Public domain.
-
SPAN& 123 Spanish III (TCC Canvas course)
To view: First, log into your TCC Canvas faculty account, then click on the Canvas Commons link/icon in the global navigation menu, and then finally click this link to view this Canvas course content. Online course developed by TCC instructor, Amy Carrillo, 2016. Includes assignments and discussion forums. All rights reserved copyright; contact instructor or eLearning.
Textbooks, courses, and readers:
-
Beginning Spanish ¡Empecemos por aquí! (OER textbook + ancillary resources)
Jenny Ceciliano and Lisa Notman, Portland State University, 2021, last updated 2022. "Focuses on the development of communication skills in interpretive, interpersonal, and presentational modes while centering student voices. Activities engage learners in real exchanges of information on topics that are relevant to adult students. In addition to language-acquisition learning outcomes, this text supports learning outcomes in diversity, equity, inclusion, cultural sustainability, and social justice." Includes a link to a Google Drive folder of audio files and supplementary files. Online and PDF formats. This site also includes faculty peer reviews of this text. CC BY-NC (Creative Commons - Attribution-NonCommercial) license. Eligible for Print on Demand.
Authors recommend using Redes 2. Curso de español intermedio, used at Portland State University, for the intermediate Spanish sequence. https://pdx.pressbooks.pub/redes2/
-
¡Chévere! Introductory Spanish I & II
Small, Escudero, Montoya, and Ed Beck., 2021, State University of New York, College at Oneonta. "a comprehensive introductory Spanish sequence, providing guidance and practice in reading, writing, listening to, and speaking Spanish. Each module includes thematic vocabulary, sequenced grammar instruction, numerous self-check drills and exercises, open-form communicative activities, scaffolded writing assignments, and reading passages exploring various aspects of life and culture in the Spanish-speaking world. Each grammar section is introduced by a short reading passage to highlight new structures and patterns within their linguistic context. Within each lesson, self-grading practice activities with targeted feedback allow students to learn by doing and track their level of mastery. The text is accompanied by engaging images and videos throughout, and all vocabulary and reading passages include audio files to practice pronunciation and listening comprehension." PDFs for each volume. CC BY (Creative Commons - Attribution) license. Eligible for Print on Demand.
-
¡Bienvenidos! Spanish Language Textbook (OER textbook)
Julia Farmer, et al., 2021, an Affordable Learning Georgia OER project. Online textbooks for Spanish I, II, and III. Each volume has 4-5 chapters, with activities and vocabulary. Interactive online format. CC BY (Creative Commons - Attribution) format. Eligible for Print on Demand.
-
¡Naveguemos Juntos! An Introductory Spanish OER, Levels 1 and 2 (OER textbook)
M. Barrio De Mendoza, K Gutiérrez, H.Ho, C. Lin, & A Stere Lugo, ASCCC Open Educational Resources Initiative, 2020, updated 2024. Created for community college students. "This text was created for students taking the first year of Spanish; intended as an introductory Spanish course that covers levels 1 and 2 at community colleges. Instructors can use it as is, download a PDF of all the activities, or incorporate it in the LMS of their college (including Canvas)." Organized into 10 chapters. Online, PDF, print book files, and LMS course formats. CC BY NC (Creative Commons - Attribution - NonCommercial) license. Eligible for Print on Demand.
-
¡Voy en camino! Spanish Language and Intercultural Learning (OER textbook)
Constanza Rojas-Primus and Ana Robles, Kwantlen Polytechnic University (Canada), 2023. "With its digital format and open publication ¡Voy en camino! is meant to serve the first two introductory Spanish language courses." Organized into 7 chapters, each with parts and exercises relating to vocabulary, grammar, and culture. "All sections come with embedded activities for you to practice the material you are studying." Includes an appendix of grammar tables + a glossary. Online (Pressbooks, PDF, EPUB, and Common Cartridge formats. CC BY NC (Creative Commons Attribution NonCommercial) license. Eligible for Print on Demand.
-
Yo puedo: para empezar (OER textbook)
Elizabeth Silvaggio-Adams and Ma. Del Rocío Vallejo-Alegre, SUNY Geneseo, July 2021. "The text is designed for beginning Spanish language students. The pedagogical approach incorporates the flipped classroom methodology." The textbook description also includes a link to accompanying videos and websites. PDF format. CC BY-NC (Creative Commons - Attribution - NonCommercial) license. Eligible for Print on Demand.
-
Yo puedo: segundos pasos (OER textbook)
Elizabeth Silvaggio-Adams and Ma. Del Rocío Vallejo-Alegre, SUNY Geneseo, July 2021. Designed for a second semester Spanish course. "We sought to enhance second language learning by creating our own materials that take a new approach, the flipped classroom model, to learning a second language based upon the skills that we deem most useful and that will enable our students to confidently express themselves in Spanish." The description includes a link to accompanying videos and sites. PDF format. CC BY-NC (Creative Commons - Attribution - NonCommercial) license. Eligible for Print on Demand.
-
Libro Libre: Beginning Spanish (OER textbook)
Erin Huebener and Jessica Steinberg, Spokane Community College instructor, 2018. Organized into 10 culturally themed chapters. PDF format. CC BY NC SA (Creative Commons - Attribution - NonCommercial - ShareAlike) license. Eligible for Print on Demand.
-
Spanish 001: Elementary Spanish 1 (OER textbook for introductory Spanish)
Developed by PennState instructor. Organized into 3 sections: Introduction, Elements of a Sentence, and Spanish Verbs. Interactive practice activities are embedded into the text. Online format. CC BY NC SA (Creative Commons - Attribution - NonCommercial - ShareAlike) license, Eligible for Print on Demand.
Supplemental tools and materials (incl. games, lessons, videos, exercises, etc.):
-
Lecciones de Español
Dennis Miller, Rosario Vickery. and Courtney DuBois, University System of Georgia, 2022. Interactive lessons and exercises for introductory Spanish. Organized into 8 lessons. Online and accessible, editable Word formats. CC BY (Creative Commons - Attribution) license. Eligible for Print on Demand.
-
Spanish Grammar Manual (OER text)
OER text/course on the LibreTexts platform, last updated 2020, updated 2024, "a bilingual grammar manual for advanced students. It can be used for general review and reference in courses from second-year Spanish (B2) up." Organized into 18 modules. Online, PDF, print book files, LMS cartridge, and zip file formats (click the blue "Download" button in the top right). CC BY NC SA (Creative Commons - Attribution - NonCommercial - ShareAlike) license. Eligible for Print on Demand.
-
Let's Chat! Spanish
Conversation activities from The Pathways Project, Boise State University, 2022. "[F]eatures a collection of over 100 classroom-ready interpersonal speaking activities for novice and intermediate learners. Touching on a range of thematic topics such as free time activities, travel, daily routines, health, the environment, art and so much more, Spanish teachers are sure to find an activity to use in their courses. These activities may be used as is or can easily be revised and remixed to fit the unique needs of individual classrooms." Many of the activities were created by upper-division students at Boise State University. Online format. CC BY NC SA (Creative Commons Attribution NonCommercial ShareAlike) license. Eligible for Print on Demand.
Additional OER activities on the Pathways Projects website, https://www.boisestate.edu/pathwaysproject/spanish/
-
Destinos: An Introduction to Spanish (telenovela videos for introductory Spanish)
This telenovela, or Spanish soap opera, from Annenberg Learner immerses students in everyday situations and teaches speaking, listening, and comprehension skills in Spanish. Episodes incorporate Spanish from different Spanish-speaking countries. Each episode is closed-captioned and includes related practice vocabulary. Not openly licensed but freely available online.
-
Mi Vida Loca video series (introductory Spanish)
An immersive video mystery set in Spain to help learn simple Spanish. Created by the BBC. Includes PDF transcripts for each episode plus a syllabus, printouts, and a teacher guide. Note: This website no longer being updated. Not openly licensed but freely available online.
Spanish - intermediate/advanced
Textbooks, courses, and readers:
-
Redes 2. Curso de español intermedio (OER textbook)
Ines Warnock, Portland State University, 2020. Intermediate Spanish textbook. Organized into 7 modules, with 30 lessons plus appendices with additional resources per module. Online format. CC BY NC (Creative Commons Attribution NonCommercial) license. Eligible for Print on Demand if materials are compiled into a print-ready format.
Portland State University has also developed an introductory Spanish text, Beginning Spanish ¡Empecemos por aquí!, also linked on this guide, https://open.umn.edu/opentextbooks/textbooks/beginning-spanish-empecemos-por-aqui
-
Entrada Libre: Intermediate/Advanced Spanish Manual (OER textbook)
Nancy Ballesteros, Alejandro Lee, Nicolás Cristoso, & Cristina Moon, ASCCC Open Educational Resources Initiative, 2020, updated 2021. "[A]n intermediate/advanced college-level Spanish OER grammar manual for second language learners and heritage speakers of Spanish at the community college level." Organized into 8 chapters. Online, PDF, print book files, and LMS course formats. CC BY NC SA (Creative Commons - Attribution - NonCommercial - ShareAlike) license. Eligible for Print on Demand.
-
Acceso (open curriculum for intermediate Spanish)
From the University of Kansas Collaborative Digital Spanish Project, Acceso is intended as a complete, interactive curriculum for intermediate-level learners of Spanish. “An open-access, digital learning environment designed to promote the acquisition of Spanish and the development of cultural understanding of the varied groups of people who share Spanish as a common language.” Online format, organized into locations, like U.S., Mexico, Spain, Central America, South America, etc. CC BY NC (Creative Commons - Attribution - NonCommercial) license. Eligible for Print on Demand.
-
Spanish 1050: Intermediate Spanish (OER textbook for intermediate Spanish)
Developed by Appalachian State University instructor. Organized into 5 units, each with grammar, vocabulary, lectures, and more. Online format. CC BY NC SA (Creative Commons - Attribution - NonCommercial - ShareAlike) license. Eligible for Print on Demand.
-
La lingüística hispánica: Una introducción (OER textbook)
Ashwini Ganeshan, Ohio University, 2019. "This book, still in development, is aimed at Spanish students in American universities and aims to offer a brief and simple introduction to Hispanic linguistics. It includes basic concepts of linguistics, provides essays that cover topics of social interest connecting linguistics with daily life, and exercises to practice the concepts." Online, PDF, and EPUB formats. CC BY-NC-SA (Creative Commons - Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike) license. Eligible for Print on Demand.
-
¡Que viva la música!: Repaso de conversación en español (OER textbook)
Norma Corrales-Martin, Temple University, 2021. "Long Live Music! Spanish Conversational Review is an open textbook intended for conversational review, typically a fourth-semester Spanish class. The textbook is organized around nine different songs that provide students opportunities to practice, aurally and orally, as well as in writing, the main communicative goals and key grammatical structures learned in previous classes." Faculty peer reviews of this text available on this site. PDF and e-book formats. CC BY-NC (Creative Commons - Attribution-NonCommercial) license. Eligible for Print on Demand.
-
SPN215: Spanish for native speakers (OER textbook for native speakers of Spanish)
Published by Chemeketa Press, 2019. Content combines grammar with contemporary themes for native speakers; integrates activities throughout. Organized into 8 sections. Online format. CC BY NC SA (Creative Commons - Attribution - NonCommecial - ShareAlike) license. Note: Text is entirely in Spanish. Eligible for Print on Demand.
Supplemental tools and materials (incl. games, lessons, videos, exercises, etc.):
-
Manual de gramática básica y avanzada del español (OER textbook)
D. Thomas and I. McAlister, Univ. of Massachusetts Amherst, 2018, updated 2020. "The main objective of the book is to summarize the basic rules of grammar that are learned in the first years of formal study of Spanish, and then to offer a more advanced analysis of some grammatical areas that intermediate / advanced Spanish speakers need to focus on more detail." Organized into 4 sections, with 19 chapters. Online format. CC BY NC (Creative Commons Attribution NonCommercial) license. Eligible for Print on Demand.
-
Palabras propias: La historia cultural del mundo hispanohablante a través de textos primarios (OER textbook)
Andrés Rabinovich, Ginett Pineda, Lina Muñoz, Mirla González, Óscar Cardoner Sebio, y Sean Gullickson, University of Kansas Libraries, 2020, updated 2021. "The goal of this project is to provide high-quality, accessible primary sources to those teaching and studying the histories and cultures of the Spanish-speaking world and the indigenous peoples of Latin America." Organized into 15 modules. Online format. CC BY NC (Creative Commons - Attribution - NonCommercial) license. Eligible for Print on Demand.
-
Antología Abierta de Literatura Hispana (OER collection)
OER collection developed by University of Oklahoma instructor, published on LibreTexts site, last updated 2022. "A critical anthology of literary texts from the Spanish-speaking world. A focus on canonical authors and an attempt to include voices that have been marginalized. Each text includes an introduction and annotations created by students." Organized into 24 modules, each focusing on a different author's work. Includes a "Faculty Resources" module with PowerPoints, in-class activities, assignments, question banks, and more. Online, PDF, print book files, LMS cartridge, and zip file formats (click the blue "Download" button in the top right). CC BY (Creative Commons - Attribution) license. Eligible for Print on Demand.
Culturally responsive and inclusive pedagogy
The Culturally Responsive and Inclusive Pedagogy OER Subject Guide, linked below, provides a starting point for OER professional development and curricular materials relating to issues of equity, diversity, and inclusion; trauma-informed practices; and culturally responsive, inclusive, and anti-racist pedagogy and practices. This guide includes concepts and keywords; TCC OEDI resources; introductory and more in-depth professional development resources (toolkits, guides, etc.); curriculum resources (activities, assignments, etc.); OER and EDI rubrics; instructional design; accessibility; as well as EDI-focused OER in different disciplines across the curriculum, including AESL and Languages.
