Health Information Technology and Management - TCC OER Subject Guide: OER starting points
This guide compiles starting points for OER and freely available resources for Health Information Technology (HIT) and Health Information Management (HIM) courses and topics. This OER subject guide was created for TCC faculty and staff and reflects TCC courses and curriculum. The purpose of this guide is to help faculty and staff more easily find and review OER in their areas so that they can make decisions about quality, accuracy, relevancy, and potential use.
OER starting points for Health Information Technology & Health Information Management, by course area and material type
HIT and HIM foundations
Textbooks, courses, and readers:
- Exploring the U.S. Healthcare System (OER textbook)Karen Valaitis, University of West Florida, 2023. "[I]ntroduces students to foundational characteristics of the U.S. healthcare system [...] Chapter content is supplemented with additional material such as reports, briefs, figures, infographics, definitions, and key terms. Chapters two through six end with a “knowledge check” exercise to actively engage students with the content." Organized into 6 chapters. Online (Pressbooks), PDF, and EPUB formats; other formats available upon request. CC BY NC SA (Creative Commons Attribution NonCommercial ShareAlike) license. Eligible for Print on Demand.
- Health Information Technology FoundationsA free course from Carnegie Mellon University that offers an overview of healthcare, health information technology, and health information management systems. The focus is on the role and responsibilities of entry-level health IT specialists in each phase of the health information. Contains a unit on privacy and security.
- Health IT Workforce CurriculumOffice of the National Coordinator for Health Information Technology (ONC), content last reviewed 2023. Complete course materials, including syllabi, readings, lecture slides, assessments, and more. 25 modules in total. CC BY NC SA (Creative Commons - Attribution - NonCommercial - ShareAlike) license.
Library e-books
Unlimited user license. Please note that library e-books are not eligible for Print on Demand.
Careers in Health Information Technology (HIT)Call Number: OnlinePublication Date: 2014"This practical, one-stop career guide describes the depth and breadth of job opportunities and careers currently available in health information technology (HIT), and helps readers to enter and advance within this expanding field."
Essentials of healthcare management: Cases, concepts, and skills, 2nd ed.Call Number: OnlinePublication Date: 2019"[P]rovides a knowledge base and develops aptitude in interpersonal skills such as leadership, professionalism, communication, and teamwork, as well as in business skills such as finance, human resources management, strategy, and marketing."
Supplemental tools and materials (incl. games, lessons, videos, exercises, etc.):
- Foundations of Health Information Technology (Undergraduate) Course Materials (Galileo)Kennesaw State University, Spring 2018. “This is a collection of all materials used in Health Information Technology by Dr. Chi Zhang at Kennesaw State University, including lecture slides, assignments, and assessments, including a question bank.” Topics include evidence-based medicine, health information networks, and e-prescribing. Zip file download. CC BY (Creative Commons - Attribution) license.
Medical terminology
Textbooks, courses, and readers:
- Medical Terminology - 2e (OER textbook)Open Resources for Nursing (Open RN), Chippewa Valley Technical College, 2024. "The Medical Terminology course focuses on learning the components of medical terms, including prefixes, suffixes, and word roots, and also introduces students to diagnostic, therapeutic, surgical, and symptomatic terminology of all body systems." Organized into 17 chapters, with integrated self-check activities and glossaries. Online (Pressbooks), PDF, and ePUB formats. CC BY (Creative Commons Attribution) license. Eligible for Print on Demand.
- Building a Medical Terminology Foundation (OER textbook)Kimberlee Carter and Marie Rutherford, eCampus Ontario, 2020. "An OER that focuses on breaking down medical terms into their word parts, pronouncing medical terms, and learning the meaning of medical terms within the context of introductory anatomy and physiology. This resource is targeted for health office administration and health services students in the first year of their college programs." Organized into 20 chapters, each integrated with illustrations, videos, and self-check activities. Online, EPUB, PDF, and editable OpenDocument formats. CC BY (Creative Commons Attribution) license. Eligible for Print on Demand.
- Medical Terminology (OER textbook)Stacey Grimm, et al, Nicolet College, Aug. 2022. Remixed version of "Building a Medical Terminology Foundation" OER text, also linked on this guide. "This resource is targeted for health services students in the first year of their college programs." Organized into 17 chapters. Online and PDF formats. CC BY (Creative Commons - Attribution) format. Eligible for Print on Demand.
- Medical Terminology Student Companion (OER textbook)Stacey Grimm, et al, Nicolet College, Aug. 2022. "Printable study companion aligned with Medical Terminology, an open educational resource that focuses on breaking down medical terms into their word parts, pronouncing medical terms, and learning the meaning of medical terms. This resource is targeted for health services students in the first year of their college programs." Section 1 has 17 chapters, and Section II has an extensive word bank. Online, PDF, and EPUB formats. CC BY (Creative Commons Attribution) license. Eligible for Print on Demand.
- Medical Terminology: An Interactive Approach (OER textbook)Kendra Anspaugh, et al., LOUIS: The Louisiana Library Network, 2022. "This textbook is designed to teach medical terminology, the language of medicine, in an engaging and meaningful way. Learning medical terminology will allow the learner to more easily understand the language of medicine and utilize this knowledge throughout their academic and medical-based career. While learning medical terms in this course, the learner will also learn basic anatomy and physiology, as well as basic diseases and professions dealing with each body system." Organized into 12 chapters, each with glossaries and H5P activities. Online (Pressbooks), PDF, and EPUB formats. CC BY (Creative Commons Attribution) license. Eligible for Print on Demand.
- Health IT Curriculum Resources for Educators25 modules of OER health IT instructional materials -- Unit 3 is Terminology in Health Care and Public Health Settings. Funded by the Office of the National Coordinator for Health Information Technology (ONC), "to help healthcare workers and others stay current in the changing healthcare environment and deliver care more effectively." Each module is a zip download of lecture slides, videos, audio transcripts, self-assessment activities and instructor keys. CC BY NC SA (Creative Commons - Attribution - NonCommercial - ShareAlike) license.
- Human Body Systems and Related Medical Terminology (OER textbook)This text, published by University of Hawaii, 2017, "covers an introduction to the following body systems: Directional terms, levels of organization (cell, tissue, organ, organ system, organism), integumentary, digestive, cardiovascular, respiratory, reproductive, skeletal, muscular, endocrine, and nervous systems."
Note: This text has been extensively adapted from the This adaptation of the OpenStax OER textbook for A&) is highly edited to focus on basic human body systems required for an introductory anatomy and medical terminology course. PDF and editable Word file formats. CC BY (Creative Commons - Attribution) open license.
Supplemental tools and materials (incl. games, lessons, videos, exercises, etc.):
- Digital Histology (OER collection + textbook)Virginia Commonwealth University (VCU), 2020. "[C]ombines a digital atlas with extensive descriptive text. It is organized as a multi-hierarchy outline that reinforces broader histological concepts and parallels the content of most histology textbooks. Digital Histology, featuring on-demand labeling of structures and interactive quizzes with formative feedback, can be used by a diverse group of learners." Images slides for Cells, Tissues, Organs & Systems. Additional resources section includes self-assessment quizzes and an accompanying textbook. Online format for images, Word files for textbook. CC BY-NC-SA (Creative Commons - Attribution - NonCommercial - ShareAlike). Textbook files eligible for Print on Demand.
- Understanding Medical Words: A Tutorial from the National Library of MedicineA tutorial about how to understand medical words, from MedlinePlus.
- Online Medical Terminology CourseDes Moines University. 15 mini-modules with interactive quizzes. Open access, freely available to view or link to.
- Medical Terminology Pronunciation JukeboxWisc-Online, interactive pronunciation activities. CC BY NC (Creative Commons - Attribution - NonCommercial) license
- Merck Manual Pronunciation GuideIncludes audio files with pronunciations of medical terms. Not openly licensed but open access and freely available to view or link to.
- Merck Manual “Understanding Medical Terms” pageDefines many commonly used medical prefixes, roots, and suffixes. Not openly licensed but open access and freely available to view or link to.
- Merriam-Webster Medical DictionaryIncludes audio pronunciation and definitions. Open access, freely available to view or link to.
Pathophysiology
Textbooks, courses, and readers:
- Human Body Systems and Related Medical Terminology (OER textbook)This text, published by University of Hawaii, 2017, "covers an introduction to the following body systems: Directional terms, levels of organization (cell, tissue, organ, organ system, organism), integumentary, digestive, cardiovascular, respiratory, reproductive, skeletal, muscular, endocrine, and nervous systems."
Note: This text has been extensively adapted from the This adaptation of the OpenStax OER textbook for A&) is highly edited to focus on basic human body systems required for an introductory anatomy and medical terminology course. PDF and editable Word file formats. CC BY (Creative Commons - Attribution) open license. - Health IT Curriculum Resources for Educators25 modules of OER health IT instructional materials -- Unit 3 is Terminology in Health Care and Public Health Settings. Funded by the Office of the National Coordinator for Health Information Technology (ONC), "to help healthcare workers and others stay current in the changing healthcare environment and deliver care more effectively." Each module is a zip download of lecture slides, videos, audio transcripts, self-assessment activities and instructor keys. CC BY NC SA (Creative Commons - Attribution - NonCommercial - ShareAlike) license.
Supplemental tools and materials (incl. games, lessons, videos, exercises, etc.):
- “Pathophysiology” moduleDeveloped by ToxMSDT, National Institutes of Health, 2017. “This e-module was created as part of the Toxicology Mentoring and Skills Development Training Program (ToxMSDT), a two-year pilot program funded by the National Institutes of Health.”
Organized into 6 topics, from “What is Pathophysiology?” to “Patterns of Toxic Injury.” Each topic of the e-module includes high-quality images and graphics. CC BY NC ND (Creative Commons - Attribution - NonCommercial - NoDerivatives) license. - Human Physiology - WikibooksOER textbook via Wikibooks, last updated 2021. Organized into 20 main sections, with different body systems -- and lots of openly licensed graphics and diagrams. Online, PDF, and print formats. CC BY SA 3.0 (Creative Commons Attribution-ShareAlike) license.
- Pathophysiology for Health Information - ImagesA collection of A&P images and graphics (jpgs) to illustrate and supplement a pathophysiology course, by Palm Beach State College, 2009. CC BY (Creative Commons - Attribution) license. Eligible for Print on Demand if materials are complied into a print-ready format.
- “Health and Medicine” Khan Academy videosPathophysiology-specific sub-sections throughout these tutorials of body systems. Note: The course has been "retired," but the content is still available. All videos in this series have a CC BY NC SA license (Creative Commons - Attribution - NonCommercial - ShareAlike) license.
Pharmacology
Textbooks, courses, and readers:
- Nursing Pharmacology 2e (OER textbook)Open Resources for Nursing (Open RN), 2nd ed., 2023. This textbook "explains basic concepts of pharmacology and describes common medication classes." Organized into 10 main sections + answer key. Online, PDF, and EPUB formats. CC BY (Creative Commons - Attribution) license. Eligible for Print on Demand.
- Principles of Pharmacology (OER textbook)Developed by MIT OpenCourseWare (OCW) via LibreTexts, 2019. “The object of this text is to teach students an approach to the study of pharmacologic agents. The focus is on the basic principles of biophysics, biochemistry and physiology, as related to the mechanisms of drug action, biodistribution and metabolism. The course consists of lectures and student-led case discussions. Topics covered include: mechanisms of drug action, dose-response relations, pharmacokinetics, drug delivery systems, drug metabolism, toxicity of pharmacological agents, drug interaction and substance abuse. Selected agents and classes of agents are examined in detail.” Organized into 18 sections. Online format, also available in PDF formats (click on the ref “PDF” icon along the top right of the textbook screen). CC BY NC SA (Creative Commons - Attribution - NonCommercial - ShareAlike) license. Eligible for Print on Demand.
- Principles of Pharmacology -- Study GuideOER textbook by Dr. Esam El-Fakahany and Becky Merkey, [2019]. Organized into 22 chapters, with lots of original, colorful graphics in each chapter. CC BY NC (Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial) license.
- Public Health in Pharmacy Practice: A Casebook, 2nd ed. (OER textbook)Jordan R Covvey, et al, SUNY Binghamton, 2nd ed., 2021. "[A] collaboration of over 90 individuals with expertise and training in public health pharmacy. A total of 54 chapters are presented, covering a broad array of topics relevant to pharmacy applications of public health. These topics include, but are not limited to, cross-cultural care, health literacy and disparities, infectious disease, health promotion and disease prevention, medication safety, structural racism, advocacy/policy analysis, chronic disease, women’s health, rural health, travel medicine and more. The book is designed to allow educators/students to choose chapters of interest as they feel suited, as each chapter is independent from the others. Each chapter contains learning objectives and an introduction to the topic, followed by a case and questions. The chapter closes with commentary from the authors and patient-oriented considerations for the topic at hand." Online, PDF, and EPUB formats. CC BY (Creative Commons - Attribution) license. Eligible for Print on Demand.
Supplemental tools and materials (incl. games, lessons, videos, exercises, etc.):
- Pharmacology Notes: Nursing Implications for Clinical PracticeGloria Velarde, 2020. “[I]ntended to organize pharmacological information in a meaningful manner that draws from prior learning (i.e. anatomy & physiology and pathophysiology), in order to reveal and reinforce relevant nursing implications. These notes utilize the framework, A-T-A-T, to assist in understanding nursing implications related to medication administration.” Organized into 9 units, organized by body systems and related pharmacology. PDF format. CC BY NC SA 4.0 license (Creative Commons - Attribution - NonCommercial - ShareAlike) license.
- “Clinical Pharmacology” Merck Manual“[This] manual deals with Pharmacology topics such as Adverse Drug Reactions, Concepts in Pharmacotherapy, Drug Therapy in the Elderly, and others. Each sub-section has an Introduction along with Description of the Problem and Symptomology.” Open access, which means you can link to this page/site.
- “Health and Medicine” Khan Academy videosSome pharmacology sub-sections throughout these videos. All videos in this series have a CC BY NC SA license (Creative Commons - Attribution - NonCommercial - ShareAlike) license.
Health records and systems
Supplemental tools and materials (incl. games, lessons, videos, exercises, etc.):
- HCS 230 Vendor-Specific Systems (OER ancillary materials)Hazard Community and Technical College, 2018, via SkillsCommons site. "In this course will provide an in-depth discussion in Vendor-Specific Systems, focusing specifically on system and database architectures used in commercial Electronic Health Records (EHRs), vendor strategies for terminology, knowledge management, ways to assess decision support capabilities of EHRs, and vendor-specific training (go-live strategies)." Word, PowerPoints, SoftChalk, and Blackboard course shell files. CC BY (Creative Commons - Attribution) license. Eligible for Print on Demand if materials are complied into a print-ready format.
- Foundations of Health Information Technology (Undergraduate) Course Materials (Galileo)Kennesaw State University, Spring 2018. “This is a collection of all materials used in Health Information Technology by Dr. Chi Zhang at Kennesaw State University, including lecture slides, assignments, and assessments, including a question bank.” Topics include clinical financial records and health information networks. Zip file download. CC BY (Creative Commons - Attribution) license.
- Health IT Workforce CurriculumOffice of the National Coordinator for Health Information Technology (ONC), content last reviewed 2023. Complete course materials, including syllabi, readings, lecture slides, assessments, and more. 25 modules in total, including Module 13, Public Health IT, with sections about health databases and registries.CC BY NC SA (Creative Commons - Attribution - NonCommercial - ShareAlike) license.
Health information protection and HIPAA
Supplemental tools and materials (incl. games, lessons, videos, exercises, etc.):
- Health Records and Privacy (OER video course)Video course by LawShelf, 2019. "This is an introductory-level course on principles of healthcare privacy and it requires no previous knowledge of healthcare or law." Note: Developed for paralegal students, but info may also be useful and applicable for HIT program. 5 modules with videos, text, and self-quiz questions, in the areas of: 1. Overview of HIPAA, 2. Authorized Disclosures and Privacy Rule Expectations, 3. Enforcement Actions for Unauthorized Disclosures, 4. HIPAA and the Preemption of State Law, and 5. Records Retention and Destruction Policies. Video and online text formats, which could be linked and copied-and-pasted, with attribution, into a Canvas page. CC BY NC ND (Creative Commons Attribution Non-Commercial No Derivatives) license. Eligible for Print on Demand, if applicable.
- Following HIPAA eLearning Simulation (OER ancillary materials)El Centro College, 2015. "This simulation is designed to enhance and illustrate HIPAA’s Protected Health Information (PHI) rules for healthcare students who have received initial instruction or information on this topic. This is accomplished through video scenarios that show how various healthcare professionals are responsible for following and enforcing the HIPAA law. Students are asked to respond to each scenario to determine their knowledge of HIPAA rules and regulations including recognition of HIPAA violations and demonstration of corrective actions." Includes simulation and instructor guide. Word and zip files. CC BY (Creative Commons - Attribution). Eligible for Print on Demand, if applicable.
- Instructional Materials - Privacy Security Confidentiality in HIT Systems (OER ancillary materials)Bellevue College, 2014. "Privacy, Security and Confidentiality are standard requirements of HIT systems. This impacts the way they are designed and used. The following activities, assessments and resources are useful to both technical and clinical students ready to explore these topics." 7 lecture modules + instructional resources. Word and Powerpoint files. CC BY (Creative Commons - Attribution) license. Eligible for Print on Demand, if applicable.
- Instructional Materials - HIPAA and PHI (OER ancillary materials)Bellevue College, 2014. "The Health Insurance Portability and Accountability Act (HIPAA) provides protection for patients regarding the use of their personal medical information. It provides specific instruction on the types of information that must be protected by their providers, generally called personal health information (PHI). Recognizing how to protect patient information is a growing challenge as new HIT is implemented in clinical settings. The following activities and resources will benefit both clinical and technical students." 7 lecture modules + instructor resources. CC BY (Creative Commons - Attribution) license. Eligible for Print on Demand, if applicable.
- Health IT Workforce CurriculumComplete course materials, including syllabi, readings, lecture slides, assessments, and more, funded by the Office of the National Coordinator for Health Information Technology (ONC). 25 modules in total, including Module 7, Working with Health IT Systems, with sections on Protecting Privacy, Security, and Confidentiality in HIT Systems. Content last reviewed 2021. CC BY NC SA (Creative Commons - Attribution - NonCommercial - ShareAlike) license.
- Health Information Security & Privacy Ancillary MaterialsSeyedamin Pouriyeh and Shirley Tian, University System of Georgia, Dec. 2020. Powerpoint slides and materials for 11 modules, including HIPAA, risk management, incident response, and more. Zip file download. CC BY (Creative Commons - Attribution) license.
Library e-books
Unlimited user license. Please note that library e-books are not eligible for Print on Demand.
HIPAA Handbook for Registration and Front Office Staff (2013 Update) by Call Number: OnlinePublication Date: 2013"These handbooks provide fundamental privacy and security training for new and seasoned staff." PDF format.
HIPAA Handbook for Nutrition, Environmental Services, and Volunteer Staff (2013 Update) by Call Number: OnlinePublication Date: 2013"These handbooks provide fundamental privacy and security training for new and seasoned staff." PDF format.
HIPAA Handbook for Physicians (2013 Update) by Call Number: OnlinePublication Date: 2013"These handbooks provide fundamental privacy and security training for new and seasoned staff." PDF format.
Coding
Library e-books
Unlimited user license. Please note that library e-books are not eligible for Print on Demand.
ICD-10 trainer: Top coding scenarios for CM and PCS by Call Number: OnlinePublication Date: 2014"We'll take you on a tour of ICD-10, from the basic rules and guidelines to the intricacies of brain surgery. You'll learn the meanings of the ICD-10-PCS root operations and get the lowdown on key new concepts. And to make sure you don't suffer from F41.0 (panic attack) at the thought of coding in ICD-10, we've included exercises to test your knowledge." Although the publication date is older, some of these scenarios and exercises may be useful as a foundation for ICD basics and concepts.
JustCoding's guide to anatomy and physiology for ICD-10Call Number: OnlinePublication Date: 2015"[W]ill aid coders just learning how to code in ICD-10-CM, and will serve as a quick reference guide for all coders after implementation [...] Dozens of detailed illustrations are included to highlight important anatomical elements for coders to review, including the skeletal and muscular systems and specific organs and structures." Although the publication date is older, some of the info and illustrations may be useful for ICD basics.
Supplemental tools and materials (incl. games, lessons, videos, exercises, etc.):
- CRS 111 - Basic Coding I (OER ancillary materials)Linn-Benton Virtual College (Oregon), 2015, via SkillsCommons OER repository site. " This course prepares the medical coding student for detailed procedural coding in integumentary, musculoskeletal, respiratory, and cardiovascular systems. Additionally, this course prepares the student to use ICD-10 diagnostic codes as principal, primary, secondary, and tertiary medical necessity justification. This course also prepares students to competently select accurate HCPCS codes for supplies, medications, transportation, etc." Although the publication date is older, the activities and info can be updated, with attribution. Canvas Course export package + zip files. CC BY (Creative Commons - Attribution) license. Eligible for Print on Demand if materials are complied into a print-ready format.
- CRS 210 - Advanced Coding and Exam Prep (OER ancillary materials)Linn-Benton Virtual College (Oregon), 2015, via SkillsCommons OER repository site. "This course reviews the coding and basic functions of body systems, as well as educating you on pathology, anesthesia, radiology, evaluation, and medicine. The course will also prepare you to take the national coding exam." Although the publication date is older, the activities and info can be updated, with attribution. Canvas Course export package + zip files. CC BY (Creative Commons - Attribution) license. Eligible for Print on Demand if materials are complied into a print-ready format.
- HIT215 CPT and Ambulatory Care Coding (OER ancillary materials)Saddleback College, 2016, via SkillsCommons OER repository site. "Addresses the utilization of CPT-4 and HCPCS codes for hospital outpatient, physician, and other ambulatory services. Analysis of medical documentation and application of guidelines for coders and health information professionals." Although the publication date is older, the activities and info can be updated, with attribution. Course zip file. CC BY (Creative Commons - Attribution) license. Eligible for Print on Demand if materials are complied into a print-ready format.
- HIT221 ICD Diagnostic Coding (OER ancillary materials)Saddleback College, 2016, via SkillsCommons OER repository site. "Provides overview of the organization and format of the ICD diagnostic coding and its role in the Prospective Payment System. Provides instruction in diagnostic coding of health records by applying ICD guidelines. Students will use specialized software for the completion of the HIM processes with emphasis on encoders and groupers." Although the publication date is older, the activities and info can be updated, with attribution. Course zip file. CC BY (Creative Commons - Attribution) license. Eligible for Print on Demand if materials are complied into a print-ready format.
- HIT 241 CPT Coding Basic Principles (OER ancillary materials)Arapahoe Community College, 2017, via SkillsCommons OER repository site. "Provides the student with skill sets to apply the current procedural terminology (CPT) and HCPCS code set principles and guidelines for application in reporting/communicating information and data about clinical services provided to patients by healthcare providers. Includes understanding what the CPT nomenclature is, how and why it is used, and guidelines for each code category and how it is applied to represent services within each code category." Although the publication date is older, the activities and info can be updated, with attribution. Course zip file. CC BY (Creative Commons - Attribution) license. Eligible for Print on Demand if materials are complied into a print-ready format.
Data analytics
Textbooks, courses, and readers:
- Health IT Workforce CurriculumOffice of the National Coordinator for Health Information Technology (ONC), content last reviewed 2023. Complete course materials, including syllabi, readings, lecture slides, assessments, and more. 25 modules in total, including modules on data analytics. CC BY NC SA (Creative Commons - Attribution - NonCommercial - ShareAlike) license.
- Introduction to Health Care Data Analytics course materials collection (Bellevue College)Bellevue College's course materials, modules, case studies, and more relating to the "Introduction to Health Care Data Analytics" course, available via SkillsCommons. CC BY (Creative Commons - Attribution) license. Eligible for Print on Demand
Supplemental tools and materials (incl. games, lessons, videos, exercises, etc.):
- “Impact of Big Data Analytics on Healthcare and Society” articleJournal of Biometrics & Biostatistics, 2016. CC BY (Creative Commons - Attribution) license.
Quality improvement
Textbooks, courses, and readers:
- Basic Tools for Quality Improvement in Health Care Informatics (OER textbook)Jerome Niyiora, SUNY Polytechnic Institute, 2020. "This textbook introduces students to the essential tools of quality improvement. The emphasis is placed on health care informatics [...] Several How-To sections are included to demonstrate the hands-on implementation of the discussed concepts using software such as Minitab, Visio, and Excel." PDF format. CC BY-NC-SA (Creative Commons - Attribution - NonCommercial - ShareAlike) license. Eligible for Print on Demand.
- Applications of Control Charts for Quality Improvement in Health Care (OER textbook)Jerome Niyiora, SUNY Polytechnic Institute, 2020. "This textbook introduces students to the application methods of control charts to improve quality in health care. The textbook is written to be accessible to any student in the areas of health information management, health care informatics, and health care industrial engineering." PDF format. CC BY-NC-SA (Creative Commons - Attribution - NonCommercial - ShareAlike) license. Eligible for Print on Demand.
Medical office procedures
Canvas course shells:
- CMA 110 - Medical Office Communications (OER Canvas course)Canvas course by Linn-Benton Community College (Oregon), 2015-2018. "This Medical Office Communications course is designed to help prepare you to use effective communication in the medical setting. You will learn a variety of communication methods specific to the medical office. This course is designed to assist you in discovering applications of good communication skills, as well as provide elements of critical thinking. This course has 3 Credit Units that emphasize a variety of communication competencies." Canvas course cartridge, with readings, lectures, and assessments organized into 4 units, with 1-4 modules in each unit. CC BY (Creative Commons - Attribution) license.
- CMA 111 - Medical Documentation and Screening (OER Canvas course)Canvas course by Linn-Benton Community College (Oregon), 2015-2018. "This course prepares the student to properly document and organize information for the medical record. This class prepares the student to initially screen patient calls for emergency and other medical intervention." Canvas course cartridge, with readings, lectures, and assessments organized into 3 units, with 2-5 modules in each unit. Course readings provided via Google Docs and Prezis. CC BY (Creative Commons - Attribution) license.
- CMA 200 - Medical Office Management (OER Canvas course)Canvas course by Linn-Benton Community College (Oregon), 2015-2018. "This course prepares the student to function in the administrative outpatient setting. Course Outcomes: 1. Operate EMR systems 2. Effectively communicate in a professional environment 3. Work effectively in a medical office environment 4. Perform basic medical office accounting." Canvas course cartridge, with readings, lectures, and assessments organized into 3 units, with 2-4 modules in each unit. CC BY (Creative Commons - Attribution) license.
- CRS 110 - Medical Insurance & Reimbursement Systems (OER Canvas course)Canvas course by Linn-Benton Community College (Oregon) via SkillsCommons, 2015. "This course prepares students to understand the evolution and function of health insurance, to include Medicare, Medicaid, commercial and managed care. The students will learn to understand, prepare and process claims." Canvas course cartridge, with readings, lectures, and assessments organized into 4 units. CC BY (Creative Commons - Attribution) license.
- Medical Office-Spring '18 (OER Canvas course)To view: First, log into your TCC Canvas faculty account, then click on the Canvas Commons link/icon in the global navigation menu, and then finally click this link to view this Canvas course content. Canvas Commons course shared by L. Brammer, 2018. Organized into 16 main chapters/modules, with readings, powerpoints, and assessments; includes modules on Communications, Records, Coding, Billing, etc. Most chapter reading files available within the Files section. Public Domain license.
Textbooks, courses, and readers:
- Healthcare IT Foundations (OER course)Click the “Enter Open & Free Course button >> enter the Captcha info to access course. OER course by Carnegie Mellon University, Open Learning Initiative. "An overview of healthcare, health information technology, and health information management systems. The focus is on the role and responsibilities of entry-level healthcare IT specialists in each phase of the health information management systems lifecycle. The curriculum is intended to be similar to the Certified Associate in Healthcare Information and Management Systems (CAHIMS) certification administered by HIMSS." Organized into 9 modules. Online format. Modules 4, 6, and 9 may be particularly useful for supplementary materials. CC BY NC SA (Creative Commons - Attribution - NonCommercial - ShareAlike) 4.0 license.
- HEALTHCARE: Medical Office Assistant Professional Course Materials (OER course)UDC - Community College via SkillsCommons, 2018. ""This program covers the administrative duties found in the medical office. Students who successfully complete the program and pass the certification exam will be certified by the National Healthcare Association and possess marketable skills that prepare them for an entry-level administrative position in a medical facility." Zip file downloads. Note: Summary indicates some additional permissions required. CC BY (Creative Commons - Attribution) license.
Supplemental tools and materials (incl. games, lessons, videos, exercises, etc.):
- Health IT Curriculum Resources for EducatorsOffice of the National Coordinator for Health Information Technology (ONC), content last reviewed 2023. Modules of OER health IT instructional materials "to help healthcare workers and others stay current in the changing healthcare environment and deliver care more effectively." Each module is a zip download of lecture slides, videos, audio transcripts, self-assessment activities and instructor keys. EHRs are included in: modules 5, 6, 8, 9, 11, and 14. CC BY NC SA (Creative Commons - Attribution - NonCommercial - ShareAlike) license.
- Medical Office Assistant (OER course)Course materials by Pierce College via SkillsCommons, 2014. "Pierce College offers the Certificate in Office Assistant: Medical at both the Ft. Steilacoom and Puyallup campuses. As the front-office person, you will greet patients, screen telephone calls, schedule appointments and assist in records management and accounting. The office assistant in a medical setting works with a high degree of accuracy and a clear understanding of medical ethics, legality of medical reports and empathy for patients. The certificate is designed to step into the Associate Medical Office Assistant. Students who intend to transfer to a four-year institution should complete AA requirements." Zip file download. CC BY (Creative Commons - Attribution) license.
- “Medical office” course materialsCalifornia Educators Together site. Includes lessons on Medical Office Filing, Medical Office - Medical Record Management, Telephone Techniques in a Medical Office, Medical Office Confidentiality & HIPAA, and more. Free account registration to download lesson plans and materials. All materials have a CC BY-NC-SA (Creative Commons - Attribution - NonCommercial - ShareAlike) 4.0 license.
Library e-books
Unlimited user license. Please note that library e-books are not eligible for Print on Demand.
The Medical Staff Office Manual: Tools and Techniques for Success by Call Number: OnlinePublication Date: 2015"A comprehensive guide that maps every aspect of the medical staff office, from onboarding and orienting physicians to querying other facilities for practitioner information and effectively collaborating with physician leadership." PDF + EPUB formats.- HIPAA Handbook for Registration and Front Office Staff (2013 Update) by Call Number: OnlinePublication Date: 2013"These handbooks provide fundamental privacy and security training for new and seasoned staff." PDF format.
Fundamentals of medical practice management by Call Number: OnlinePublication Date: 2018“Although the book delves into many practical topics, its aim is to shape the reader's mind-set for a new era of people-focused practice management. Fundamentals of Medical Practice Management covers these areas and more:• Information technology and management• Regulatory issues, law, and practice management• Strategic planning, project management, and marketing• Third-party payers and revenue cycle• Human resources management• Quality and emergency management.” Online with unlimited user access + PDF and EPUB download options. May have useful case studies.
Security and privacy of electronic healthcare records by Call Number: OnlinePublication Date: 2019“Electronic Health Record systems (EHRs) consist of clinical notes, patient listings, lab results, imaging results and screening tests. EHRs are growing in complexity over time and requiring increasing amounts of data storage." Online with unlimited user access + PDF and EPUB download options. Potentially useful for case studies or supplemental readings.
Health laws, policies, and ethics
Textbooks, courses, and readers:
- Legal Fundamentals of Healthcare Law (OER textbook)Tiffany Jackman, University of West Florida, 2024. "Healthcare, a field dedicated to the well-being of individuals and communities, operates within an intricate web of legal principles. Understanding these laws is not simply a professional necessity for doctors, nurses, administrators, and researchers; it’s also an ethical imperative for anyone who interacts with the healthcare system. This book is your compass, guiding you through the labyrinth of legal fundamentals that shape the landscape of healthcare." Organized into 10 chapters. Online (Pressbooks), PDF, and EPUB formats. CC BY NC SA (Creative Commons Attribution NonCommercial ShareAlike) license. Eligible for Print on Demand.
Supplemental tools and materials (incl. games, lessons, videos, exercises, etc.):
- CMA 112 Medical Law and Ethics syllabus + resourcesSyllabus with detailed syllabus, course outline, notes, and linked readings developed and taught by Rick Durling, Linn Benton Community College in Oregon, 2019. Developed for a medical assistant program, and resources specific to Oregon law would need to be substituted. Looks like most linked resources are available via Google Docs or online. Might be useful for course development and primary resources. Syllabus is in Word format for download. Not explicitly openly licensed but educational use encouraged. Not eligible for Print on Demand.
- Medical Law and Ethics course (OER ancillary materials)Roane State Community College, 2015. via SkillsCommons OER repository site. "This course introduces legal and ethical issues that impact healthcare professionals. Laws and regulations related to the health care industry such as HIPAA, Patient Bill of Rights, and standard of care are addressed, and ethical and moral issues that healthcare professionals may encounter are presented. Students will develop an understanding of the unique interplay of the new and changing health care, technology, workforce, research, financing, regulation, and personal and professional behaviors, values and assumptions that underlie the current healthcare system." Zip file download. CC BY (Creative Commons - Attribution) license. Eligible for Print on Demand if materials are compiled into a print-ready format.
- Health IT Workforce CurriculumOffice of the National Coordinator for Health Information Technology (ONC), content last reviewed 2023. Complete course materials, including syllabi, readings, lecture slides, assessments, and more. 25 modules in total, including modules on ethics. CC BY NC SA (Creative Commons - Attribution - NonCommercial - ShareAlike) license.
- Public Health Law Academy (CDC)Developed by the CDC in collaboration with ChangeLab Solutions. "The Public Health Law Academy offers free, online training to provide an understanding of the basics of our legal system and the use of law and policy for improving population health outcomes. These self-paced courses were designed for state, tribal, local, and territorial public health professionals, as well as public health lawyers, nurses, educators, advocates, and faculty and students in graduate and undergraduate programs." Training topics organized under introduction, hot topics, and legal epidemiology sections. Open access. Not eligible for Print on Demand.
- Public Health Law Academy (PHLA) video playlistSeries of 8 videos developed by ChangeLab Solutions, as part of the CDC's Public Health Law Academy training program. Most videos produced in 2019, last updates in 2024. Videos range from 20 minutes to 1 hour. All videos have accessible captions. Public domain.
- Public Health Law 101 (CDC)A foundational course for public health practitioners, developed by the CDC's Public Health Law Program. "The course comprises nine lecture units for delivery by legal counsel to health departments and by other persons trained in law." PDF and PowerPoint formats. Public domain terms of use: "All content currently displayed in each slide cannot be altered; however, additional slides can be made to customize the course simply by adding a slide in the appropriate area." Eligible for Print on Demand.
- Public Health Ethics: Global Cases, Practice, and ContextCDC, 2016. "For a public health practitioner, knowing how to employ an ethics framework to address a range of ethical challenges in public health—a know-how that depends on practice—is the ultimate take-home message." Organized into 2 sections, with 9 chapters. Section II includes multiple case studies. PDF and EPUB formats. Peer reviews of the book available on this site. CC BY NC (Creative Commons - Attribution - NonCommercial) license. Eligible for Print on Demand.
Library e-books with unlimited user access:
Log into library e-books with your portal credentials. Use permalinks to integrate library e-books or chapters into Canvas courses. Library e-books are not eligible for Print on Demand.
Public health law: Power, duty, restraintCall Number: OnlinePublication Date: 20163rd ed. "The authors draw on constitutional law, administrative law, local government law, and tort law to develop their conception of law as a tool for protecting the public's health. The book creates an intellectual framework for modern public health law and supports that framework with illustrations of the scientific, political, and ethical issues involved." Unlimited user access. PDF and EPUB formats.
Health policymaking in the United StatesCall Number: OnlinePublication Date: 20166th ed. "This book provides context and background for understanding the development of today's health reform legislation. In the new edition of this widely used book, Beaufort Longest provides a framework for understanding the formulation, implementation, and modification of health policymaking at both the federal and state levels. Students will learn how policymaking relates to decisions that affect healthcare providers and patients. They will also gain insight into how they can influence the policymaking process. Incorporated in the book are excerpts from congressional testimony, news stories, executive orders, legislation, and other documents related to real-world policy issues." Unlimited user access. PDF and EPUB formats.
The law of healthcare administrationCall Number: OnlinePublication Date: 20177th ed. "a thorough examination of health law in the United States from a management perspective. Using plain language accessible to nonlawyers, the book moves from broad-brush treatments of the US legal system and the history of medicine to specific issues that affect healthcare leaders daily, including contracts, torts, taxation, antitrust laws, regulatory compliance, and, most pressing, health insurance reform and the important changes that have taken place since the Affordable Care Act (ACA) became law in 2010. The legal concepts discussed in the book are amply supported by real-life examples, detailed explanations, and excerpts from decisions of federal and state courts." Unlimited user access. PDF and EPUB formats.
Public health ethics: Key concepts and issues in policy and practiceCall Number: OnlinePublication Date: 2012Cambridge University Press. "Topics covered include the nature of public health ethics, the concepts of disease and prevention, risk and precaution, health inequalities and justice, screening, vaccination and disease control, smoking and issues relating to the environment and public health." Unlimited user access.
Online learning
TCC-created resources:
- OLL 101 Success in Online Learning (TCC OER course)To view: First, log into your TCC Canvas faculty account, then click on the Canvas Commons link/icon in the global navigation menu, and then finally click this link to view this Canvas course content. Online course shared by TCC instructor, Kristina Young, 2017. CC BY SA (Creative Commons - Attribution - ShareAlike) license.
Textbooks, courses, and readers:
- Learning to Learn Online (OER textbook)Christina Page and Adam Vincent, Kwantlen Polytechnic University (Canada), 2018. "[H]elps you prepare for online learning success by introducing you to the online learning environment and your role as a learner within it." Incorporates a lot of self-reflection exercises throughout, particularly when it comes to adjusting the ways of thinking and interacting in an online learning environment. Peer reviews of this text emphasize how each chapter is already set up like a module, with readings, videos, and practice built in. Multiple formats, including online, print PDF, digital PDF, and editable OpenDocument format. CC BY SA (Creative Commons - Attribution - ShareAlike) license. Eligible for Print on Demand.
Supplemental tools and materials (incl. games, lessons, videos, exercises, etc.):
- Online Readiness tutorials + toolsCalifornia Community Colleges Online Education Initiative. 11 interactive tutorials plus 4 interactive tools. Scroll down to the "Interactive Tutorials" section. Each tutorial and tool includes downloads for the presentation, audio version, and script text. All have a CC BY (Creative Commons - Attribution) license.
- "Internet" Tutorials - GCF GlobalComprehensive and up-to-date tutorials created by GCF Global. This section includes tutorials and examples for Internet Basics, Internet Tips, Using the Web to Get Stuff Done, Chrome, Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari, and more. Not openly licensed but freely available to view online and link to.
- "Digital Skills" Tutorials - GCF GlobalComprehensive and up-to-date tutorials created by GCF Global. This section includes tutorials and examples for Digital Media Literacy, Tech Savvy Tips and Tricks, Using the Web to Get Stuff Done, Search Better, and Use Information Correctly. Not openly licensed but freely available to view online and link to.
Health care writing
For OER and library resources on health care writing, please explore the Writing OER subject guide, linked below and then click on the "Health care writing" sub-tab:
Leadership in healthcare
Textbooks, courses, and readers:
- Building Bridges: Establishing a Foundation for Interprofessional Collaboration in Healthcare (OER textbook)Andrea Nelson, et al., University of West Florida, 2024. "Focuses on teaching interprofessional collaboration in healthcare to students." Faculty peer reviews of this text available on this site. Online (Pressbooks), PDF, and EPUB formats. Organized into 5 chapters, plus an appendix of "choose your own adventure" activities. CC BY-NC-SA (Creative Commons Attribution NonCommercial ShareAlike) license. Eligible for Print on Demand.
- Leading in Health and Social Care (OER textbook)Sheree Lloyd, et al., Griffith University (Australia), 2023. "The text includes chapters that address evolving and innovative practices in leadership, ethics, leading people and human resource management, cultural safety for First Nations peoples, innovation, digital health, finance and resource management, systems thinking, change, evaluation and safety and quality." Organized into 3 major sections, with 14 chapters and a glossary. Online (Pressbooks), PDF, EPUB, and Common Cartridge formats. CC BY NC (Creative Commons Attribution NonCommercial) license. Eligible for Print on Demand.
- Professional Communication Skills for Health Studies (OER textbook)Andrea Chute, et al., McEwan University (Canada), 2023. "A comprehensive and practical textbook designed to equip individuals in health studies with the essential skills and strategies necessary for effective communication in their professional setting. This engaging and accessible resource provides a solid foundation for novice and experienced professionals to enhance their communication proficiency and succeed in their careers." Organized into 11 chapters, plus appendix of video transcripts. Online (Pressbooks) and PDF formats. CC BY NC SA (Creative Commons Attribution NonCommercial ShareAlike) license. Eligible for Print on Demand.
Internship/professional practice experience
Textbooks, courses, and readers:
- Career Cornerstones: Establishing a Foundation for a Career in Healthcare (OER textbook)Katherine Greene and Andrea Nelson, University of West Florida, 2023. "[F]ocuses on career skills required for students entering their respective health profession's program. This book is designed to help students be successful not only in their health profession's educational program, but also as they start to intern or work in healthcare settings. This resource is targeted for Healthcare Administration, Health Sciences, and Pre-Professional students." Organized into 8 chapters + appendices, including offline copies of test yourself quizzes. Online (Pressbooks), PDF, and EPUB formats. CC BY NC SA (Creative Commons Attribution NonCommercial ShareAlike) license. Eligible for Print on Demand.
Culturally responsive and inclusive pedagogy
The Culturally Responsive and Inclusive Pedagogy OER Subject Guide, linked below, provides a starting point for OER professional development and curricular materials relating to issues of equity, diversity, and inclusion; trauma-informed practices; and culturally responsive, inclusive, and anti-racist pedagogy and practices. This guide includes concepts and keywords; TCC OEDI resources; introductory and more in-depth professional development resources (toolkits, guides, etc.); curriculum resources (activities, assignments, etc.); OER and EDI rubrics; instructional design; accessibility; as well as EDI-focused OER in different disciplines across the curriculum, including Health.
Your OER librarian
Jennifer Snoek-Brown
she/her
Contact:
Email: jsnoek-brown@tacomacc.edu (the fastest way to contact me)
Office: Bldg 7, Library (please wear a face mask)
Phone: 253.460.3936 (forwards to my email)
Book an appointment Click the "book now" button above to book a personal appointment with me via Zoom.
Website
Office: Bldg 7, Library (please wear a face mask)
Phone: 253.460.3936 (forwards to my email)
Book an appointment Click the "book now" button above to book a personal appointment with me via Zoom.
Your liaison librarian
Heather Gillanders
Contact:
Bldg 7, Library
If I'm not available, please stop by the reference desk to talk to another librarian.
If I'm not available, please stop by the reference desk to talk to another librarian.
Attributions
Except where otherwise noted, the content in this guide was compiled by Jennifer Snoek-Brown, Tacoma Community College Library, and is licensed under a CC BY SA 4.0 license.
Except where otherwise noted, the content in these guides by Tacoma Community College Library is licensed under CC BY SA 4.0.
This openly licensed content allows others to cite, share, or modify this content, with credit to TCC Library. When reusing or adapting this content, include this statement in the new document: This content was originally created by Tacoma Community College Library and shared with a CC BY SA 4.0 license.
Tacoma Community College Library - Building 7, 6501 South 19th Street, Tacoma, WA 98466 - P. 253.566.5087
Visit us on Instagram!