TCC Library: Database tutorials
What's here?
Short tutorials -- most are 3 to 4 minutes -- about how to use several databases. (Note: Some of the interfaces have changed since we made these videos, but the concepts are the same.)
What are databases?
TCC's research databases provide full text (and indexing) of magazine, newspaper, journal, and subject encyclopedia articles. Access library databases through the "Research databases" tab above.
Using the library catalog tutorial
Library Catalog Search Tutorial
Find books using the library catalog.
Academic Search Complete tutorials
Explore the Academic Search Complete Database
Find academic, scholarly, and peer-reviewed journal articles.
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
(Ebsco) Periodical database. This multi-disciplinary database covers most disciplines taught at TCC. Most articles are scholarly.
Searching Tutorial
- Academic Search Complete Tutorial (2020)Click the link to watch this video for an introduction to searching Academic Search Complete.
Gale eBooks tutorials
Search the Gale eBooks Database
Search subject encyclopedias for background information.
- Gale eBooks This link opens in a new window
Digitized reference works, covering many disciplines. Very useful for background information on a topic.
Gale eBooks Tutorial
Database: JSTOR
Explore the JSTOR Database
Find scholarly journal articles, dating from the 1800s through about 3 years ago.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Full text of a range of academic journal articles and primary sources. TCC's collection includes: "Archival Journal / Primary Source Collections." Good coverage of history, sociology, anthropology, literature, and economics. All images from Artstor are now on JSTOR!
Video Tutorial
Super Search tutorial
ProQuest tutorials
ProQuest Tutorials
- ProQuest Periodical Databases This link opens in a new window
Multiple periodical databases providing coverage of a wide range of topics, with a mix of popular and scholarly sources. Particularly good for current events.
Quick Guide
- Quick Guide: ProQuest PeriodicalsView or download this quick guide to learn more about what kinds of information this databases houses and how to access it.
General Video Tutorial
Database: CINAHL
Explore CINAHL
Find academic, scholarly, and peer-reviewed journal articles in the the fields of nursing and allied health.
- CINAHL with Full Text This link opens in a new window
(Ebsco) The Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health with Full Text provides access to over 600 journals from the fields of nursing and allied health.
CINAHL Tutorial
CQ Researcher tutorials
Search the CQ Researcher Database
Choose or research a social, political or economic issues through reports in the CQ Researcher database.
- CQ Researcher This link opens in a new window
These weekly reports provide thoughtfully written analyses of social, economic and political issues. Every issue features an extensive report on one topic.
Search Tutorial
Database: PsycArticles
Explore the PsycArticles Database
Search this databases for Scholarly articles in the field of psychology.
- PsycARTICLES This link opens in a new window
(Also known as APA PsycARTICLES).(Ebsco) Periodical database of peer-reviewed, scholarly, and scientific articles in psychology.
Video Tutorial
- PsycARTICLES video tutorial (2020)Click the link to watch this video for an introduction to searching PsycARTICLES
Database: PubMed
Explore PubMed
Find more than 30 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full-text content (i.e. not all articles will be available to you)
- PubMed
PubMed comprises more than 30 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher Web sites (i.e. not all articles will be available to you).
PubMed Tutorial
Except where otherwise noted, the content in these guides by Tacoma Community College Library is licensed under CC BY SA 4.0.
This openly licensed content allows others to cite, share, or modify this content, with credit to TCC Library. When reusing or adapting this content, include this statement in the new document: This content was originally created by Tacoma Community College Library and shared with a CC BY SA 4.0 license.
Tacoma Community College Library - Building 7, 6501 South 19th Street, Tacoma, WA 98466 - P. 253.566.5087
Visit us on Instagram!