Tacoma Community College Archives: TCC Archives Home

About the TCC Archives

The TCC Archives works to support the college mission of meaningful learning, inspiring equity and celebrating success in the lives of the college and community members. TCC has a long history of social engagement and the archive works to reflect this element of the college, focusing on student and faculty activism, community engagement and the history of the college in Tacoma.

Materials collected include: meeting minutes and administrative reports, student publications, student work, scrapbooks, photographs, oral histories, course catalogs and schedules, school marketing materials, audiovisual materials and digital documentation. The archive primarily covers the years from 1963 to present, and focuses geographically on the city of Tacoma, Washington.

The Archives preserves materials significant to the College history and makes them accessible for research.

Archive History

Established in 2012 under the instruction of TCC President Pamela Transue, the Tacoma Community College Archives was granted the mandate to collect and develop a repository in support of the school’s mission, which found a home in the TCC Library. Four archivists have worked to grow the collection and make it more accessible since its founding.

The collection consists of materials donated by individuals and produced by the college, and include personal documents, photographs, scrapbooks, film, administrative minutes and materials, marketing materials, college presidents’ collections, and student publications such as the school newspaper and the arts magazine. In addition, there is a broad collection of photographs of the school and students, as well as a growing collection of oral histories. The bulk of the collection comes from the Communications Office and long-time former Communications Director Dan Small.

Related Library Guides

Location, Hours & Contact

In Person

The TCC Archives is housed in the Library, Building 7. The entrance to the Archives is on the east side of the building.

Because the Archives is staffed part-time, please contact the Archivist to make an appointment to use the TCC Archives with at least 48 hours notice.

Online