TCC Library: Faculty How Do I
Faculty How Do I...
If you are faculty and have questions about how to find and use library resources or how to do certain things in the Library, you're in the right place! Refer to the master list of videos below or by topic in the tabs above.
How does the Library support TCC faculty? Watch: Welcome to your online TCC Library!
What are the benefits of using library resources?
Library resources are:
- For all faculty - at both the TCC main campus and the Gig Harbor campus
- Accessible
- Quality content
- Easy to embed in Canvas
- Already licensed for your use!
If you have any questions about the videos or would like to see more videos, please contact us!
- Add a Library Research Guide (Libguide) to the Course Navigation Menu in CanvasAdd your course libguide to the course's navigation menu to help your students find it more easily.
- Attribute Images in CanvasLearn how to easily and consistently provide attributions for the images you use in Canvas.
- Attribute Videos in CanvasLearn how to easily and consistently provide attributions for the videos you use in Canvas.
- Cite and attribute OER textbooks and course materialsLearn to cite openly licensed textbooks in a traditional citation style, like APA, and also attribute those sources in Canvas using the Open Attribution Builder.
- E-books: How to find them in the Library's collectionLearn how to use different methods to search for and find ebooks.
- E-books: How to link to an e-book, link to a chapter, or download a chapter and embed into CanvasLearn how to better share e-books in your teaching.
- Embed Films on Demand in CanvasLearn how to search for and find Films on Demand streaming video from within Canvas and embed those videos on a Canvas page.
- How to place a hold on a library itemLearn how to place a hold on a library book or DVD that is in high demand. The Library will send items to the Gig Harbor campus, if requested.
- Video: How to request an Interlibrary LoanWatch this video to learn how to request and obtain a book or article that the TCC library doesn't have in its collection. The Library will send items to the Gig Harbor campus, if requested.
- Link to library database articles in CanvasLearn how to provide students with a direct link to articles and books in the library's databases.
Find Books
- E-books: How to find them in the Library's collectionLearn how to use different methods to search for and find ebooks.
- E-books: How to link to an e-book, link to a chapter, or download a chapter and embed into CanvasLearn how to better share e-books in your teaching.
- How to place a hold on a library itemLearn how to place a hold on a library book or DVD that is in high demand. The Library will send items to the Gig Harbor campus, if requested.
- Video: How to request an Interlibrary LoanWatch this video to learn how to request and obtain a book or article that the TCC library doesn't have in its collection. The Library will send items to the Gig Harbor campus, if requested.
Find Articles
- Link to library database articles in CanvasLearn how to provide students with a direct link to articles and books in the library's databases.
Find Streaming Films
- Embed Films on Demand in CanvasLearn how to search for and find Films on Demand streaming video from within Canvas and embed those videos on a Canvas page.
- OER & Library tools in the Canvas toolbar (Spring 2021)This video highlights major OER and Library tools in the new Canvas toolbar, including the Open Attribution Builder (OAB) tool and the Library's streaming video apps. Spring 2021, 8:33 mins. Panopto video with accessible captions and content shortcuts.
Cite & Attribute
- Attribute Images in CanvasLearn how to easily and consistently provide attributions for the images you use in Canvas.
- Attribute Videos in CanvasLearn how to easily and consistently provide attributions for the videos you use in Canvas.
- Cite and attribute OER textbooks and course materialsLearn to cite openly licensed textbooks in a traditional citation style, like APA, and also attribute those sources in Canvas using the Open Attribution Builder.
Copyright/Fair Use
Library Nits & Bolts
- How to place a hold on a library itemLearn how to place a hold on a library book or DVD that is in high demand. The Library will send items to the Gig Harbor campus, if requested.
- Video: How to request an Interlibrary LoanWatch this video to learn how to request and obtain a book or article that the TCC library doesn't have in its collection. The Library will send items to the Gig Harbor campus, if requested.
OER + Your Library
These are videos about OER and library resources that OER librarian Jennifer Snoek-Brown has sent out to all TCC faculty and staff, as part of a recurring "OER + Your TCC Library" series of communications.
- An introduction to your OER librarian (Fall 2022)A short introduction video for Jennifer Snoek-Brown, OER librarian at TCC, including what an "OER librarian" actually does, resources for exploring OER on your own, and who and how to contact for OER support. Fall 2022, 5:16 mins. Panopto video with accessible captions and content shortcuts.
- Finding and using OER images in Canvas (Spring/Summer 2023)Are you wanting to freshen up the images in your Canvas course during the upcoming break or during summer quarter? Are you wanting to feature more inclusive images within your Canvas course? Then this video is for you! Spring/Summer 2023, 9:45 mins. Canvas Studio video with accessible captions.
- Faculty assessment of OER support (Fall 2022)Reviewing OER questions on recent faculty surveys of library support and services and faculty ratings of OER support and OER subject guides. Fall 2022, 6 mins. Panopto video with accessible captions and content shortcuts.
- OER Subject Guides update (Fall 2021)Spotlighting new additions to the OER faculty/staff guide, expansions to existing OER subject guides, and new OER subject guides for culturally responsive & inclusive pedagogy, community & public health, film studies, human services, information technology, nursing, and paralegal.
- OER definitions for course labeling vs. Print on Demand (Spring 2021)How OER is defined and used at TCC to define course labeling vs. Print on Demand eligibility. Spring 2021, 7:40 mins. Panopto video with accessible captions and content shortcuts.
- OER & Library tools in the Canvas toolbar (Spring 2021)This video highlights major OER and Library tools in the new Canvas toolbar, including the Open Attribution Builder (OAB) tool and the Library's streaming video apps. Spring 2021, 8:33 mins. Panopto video with accessible captions and content shortcuts.
- OER and alignment with TCC strategic plan and core themes (Winter 2021)OER librarian Jennifer Snoek-Brown details how OER aligns with TCC's Strategic Plan, Core Themes, and related goals. Created for Accreditation visit, Winter 2021, 3:16 mins. Panopto video with accessible captions.
- OER subject guide survey follow-up (Winter 2021)A follow-up video highlighting results of our OER subject guide survey in the Fall 2020 quarter. Winter 2021, 11:47 mins. Panopto video with accessible captions and content shortcuts.
- OER subject guides update & survey video (Fall 2020)TCC Library launched OER subject guides in Fall 2019. This video provides a 1-year update about these OER subject guides and info about a survey to capture feedback about these guides, how to improve them, and additional OER subject guides we need to create. Fall 2020, 4:12 mins. Panopto video with accessible captions and content shortcuts.
- OER + inclusive image options (Fall 2020)OER video that highlights openly licensed collections of inclusive images, as well as how to use and attribute images via the Flickr image tool in Canvas. Fall 2020, 15:25 mins. Panopto video with accessible captions and content shortcuts.
Contact your TCC faculty librarians
Except where otherwise noted, the content in these guides by Tacoma Community College Library is licensed under CC BY SA 4.0.
This openly licensed content allows others to cite, share, or modify this content, with credit to TCC Library. When reusing or adapting this content, include this statement in the new document: This content was originally created by Tacoma Community College Library and shared with a CC BY SA 4.0 license.
Tacoma Community College Library - Building 7, 6501 South 19th Street, Tacoma, WA 98466 - P. 253.566.5087
Visit us on Instagram!