For some library databases, you'll need to copy and paste a special link called a "permalink." In other databases, however, you can simply copy and paste the URL at the top of the page. How do you know when to do which?
Watch the brief video below to learn how to successfully link to any article in the library's databases.
Learn how to provide students with a direct link to articles and books in the library's databases.
But what about copyright?
The TCC Library has license agreements with over a dozen database vendors. These agreements assure that faculty, staff and students currently enrolled at the College have legal access to any individual full text article in the Library databases. As always, the hallmarks of fair use involve adequate protection of the copyright owner's interests. Since Canvas classrooms are available only to enrolled students, it is permissible to link to individual articles from the databases in those classrooms.
Although the database vendor chooses the data and has the responsibility to obtain all needed rights to distribute the data, it is good to remind students that any copyrighted material posted in the electronic classroom should not be copied and posted outside the classroom.
Here is some suggested language:
Notice: Materials posted in this classroom may be protected by copyright law under Title 17 U.S. Code.
Notice: The copyright law of the United States (Title 17 U.S. Code) governs the making of photocopies or other reproductions of copyrighted material, including articles posted in this classroom.
Also, please review our Copyright guide for more information about copyright and fair use.
Except where otherwise noted, the content in these guides by Tacoma Community College Library is licensed under CC BY SA 4.0.
This openly licensed content allows others to cite, share, or modify this content, with credit to TCC Library. When reusing or adapting this content, include this statement in the new document: This content was originally created by Tacoma Community College Library and shared with a CC BY SA 4.0 license.
Tacoma Community College Library - Building 7, 6501 South 19th Street, Tacoma, WA 98466 - P. 253.566.5087