TCC Library: Find articles
Library "How do I...?"
Welcome to TCC Library "How Do I...?"
Find the information you need. Get your questions answered here.
Need help? Ask us!
- About the LibraryHours and contact info for the TCC Library
Need more help? Try using Ask WA, our statewide librarian chat service for reference help.
Search article databases directly
-
Start with databases
From the Library's home page, go to Research Databases, or use the link below.
- Complete List of TCC Library Research DatabasesClick here to view all of the research databases available at your TCC Library
-
The Library has many databases
Some contain information about many topics and disciplines. Some focus on specific disciplines. Each database listed on the Research Databases page comes with a brief description.
-
Tips on searching:
Use the same strategies for searching all databases, just as you did with SuperSearch.
- Enter search terms
- Interpret results
- Narrow results by using the database’s filters
- Access full-text articles
- Modify your search, if needed.
Here are a few commonly used and recommended databases below:
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
(Ebsco) Periodical database. This multi-disciplinary database covers most disciplines taught at TCC. Most articles are scholarly. - ProQuest Periodical Databases This link opens in a new window
Multiple periodical databases providing coverage of a wide range of topics, with a mix of popular and scholarly sources. Particularly good for current events. - Gale eBooks This link opens in a new window
Digitized reference works, covering many disciplines. Very useful for background information on a topic. - CQ Researcher This link opens in a new window
These weekly reports provide thoughtfully written analyses of social, economic and political issues. Every issue features an extensive report on one topic.
Find articles in Super Search
Super Search on the Library's homepage searches across all library resources at once, including articles. Here's a basic explanation of how to search for and find articles using this search tool.
-
Go to SuperSearch
SuperSearch is located on the Library's homepage.
-
Enter your keywords into the search box and select the search button.
(click on image to enlarge)
-
Select an article type
On the left side of the screen, look for the “Content-Type” section and select the format you’re interested in such as "Journal articles" or "Magazine articles."
-
Look through the results
You'll now have a list of results with articles focused on your search terms. Follow the "Full text" links to access the full articles for reading online, printing, or emailing to yourself.
Find pro/con articles in library databases
Finding Pro/Con Articles in the Library's Databases
Pro/Con articles provide different perspectives and opinions on current and often controversial issues. Newspapers, for example, are a great place to find pro/con views through opinion-type articles such as editorials, columns, or letters to the editor. Databases like Proquest and New York Times provide these types of newspaper articles.
Also, some databases, like Points of View Reference Center and CQ Researcher explore current issues and include differing pro/con stances.
Try searching these databases below:
- Points of View Reference Center This link opens in a new window
Articles on 400 topics, each with an overview and an argument, and many with opposing arguments. Also includes primary sources. - CQ Researcher This link opens in a new windowThese weekly reports provide thoughtfully written analyses of social, economic and political issues. Every issue features an extensive report on one topic.
- ProQuest Periodical Databases This link opens in a new windowMultiple periodical databases providing coverage of a wide range of topics, with a mix of popular and scholarly sources. Particularly good for current events.
- New York Times This link opens in a new window
Set up an account for full access to New York Times: https://nytimesineducation.com/access-nyt/ (Note: 52 weeks after you first set up your own NYTimes account, you will need to re-authenticate by going to the same URL.) [Historical coverage: full access to New York Times articles published between 1851 through 1922, and between 1981 through current day. Access to the years 1923-1980 is limited.]
Library "How do I?" credits
The TCC Library "How do I?" guide is adapted from the Library DIY project created by Meredith Farkas, Amy Hofer, Lisa Molinelli and Kimberly Willson-St. Clair at Portland State University Library. Several Library "How Do I?" pages are adapted from pages within the Portland Community College Library "How do I" project, as well as the Oregon State University Libraries' Library DIY project.
Except where otherwise noted, the content in these guides by Tacoma Community College Library is licensed under CC BY SA 4.0.
This openly licensed content allows others to cite, share, or modify this content, with credit to TCC Library. When reusing or adapting this content, include this statement in the new document: This content was originally created by Tacoma Community College Library and shared with a CC BY SA 4.0 license.
Tacoma Community College Library - Building 7, 6501 South 19th Street, Tacoma, WA 98466 - P. 253.566.5087
Visit us on Instagram!