TCC Library: Find books to read or videos to watch for fun
Library "How do I...?"
Welcome to TCC Library "How Do I...?"
Find the information you need. Get your questions answered here.
Need help? Ask us!
- About the LibraryHours and contact info for the TCC Library
Need more help? Try using Ask WA, our statewide librarian chat service for reference help.
Books and Films... for fun!
Leisure Reading & Feature Films
Popular Books
Browse our Popular Reads section in the larger south wing of the library - we have lots of fun, light reads to take your mind off of school work!
We have also created smaller, standing collections in the library for the following topics:
- Health & Wellness, including Mindfulness
- Children's Books
- Graphic Novels
- Global Reads
Popular Films
The library has a section of fun, feature films located in the south wing of the library, next to the Popular Reads section. Search the catalog linked below to locate a specific film or search an actor or genre, or come to the library to physically browse the shelf.
- Library Catalog This link opens in a new window
Find items on the TCC library's shelves, as well as digital books from our ebook collections.
Need a recommendation?
Book Ninja, linked below, gives recommendations based on book titles or authors you have read and liked. Find a title there, and then, see if our library carries one of these titles by searching our Library Catalog. If we don't have a specific title, ask a library staff member about borrowing it from another library (called Interlibrary Loan).
- Book NinjaGives recommendations on book titles or authors that you've read and liked.
- NPR’s Book ConciergeFind booklists by themes/topic and year using this source -lists "recommendations from NPR staff and trusted critics"
- InterLibrary Loan (ILL): InformationRequest a book or article from another library. Library staff can help you with this process.
Streaming films
The library has a collection of databases that house just streaming films - both educational films and short segments, as well as full -length feature films. Use the link below to access our info page on how to search the library's collection of streaming videos.
Or search for movie ideas and find movie ratings and reviews at Rotten Tomatoes.
- Find a Streaming Video in the Library's CollectionA "How Do I...?" page with information on how to search the library's streaming video databases to locate educational and feature films.
- Rotten TomatoesRates films based on both critics and audience ratings.
Email us your request (contact info linked below). If it fits with the Library's Collection Development policy, we'll do our best to add it to the collection.
Library "How do I?" credits
The TCC Library "How do I?" guide is adapted from the Library DIY project created by Meredith Farkas, Amy Hofer, Lisa Molinelli and Kimberly Willson-St. Clair at Portland State University Library. Several Library "How Do I?" pages are adapted from pages within the Portland Community College Library "How do I" project, as well as the Oregon State University Libraries' Library DIY project.
Except where otherwise noted, the content in these guides by Tacoma Community College Library is licensed under CC BY SA 4.0.
This openly licensed content allows others to cite, share, or modify this content, with credit to TCC Library. When reusing or adapting this content, include this statement in the new document: This content was originally created by Tacoma Community College Library and shared with a CC BY SA 4.0 license.
Tacoma Community College Library - Building 7, 6501 South 19th Street, Tacoma, WA 98466 - P. 253.566.5087
Visit us on Instagram!