Skip to main content

TCC Library: Linking to library database articles

Got links to subscription database articles?

Using the actual URL to link to database articles

For links to articles for most of our research databases (assuming you access them through the Library portal), just use the actual URL of articles.

Exceptions to linking to database articles:

There are exceptions to using the actual URL to link to articles in TCC Library research databases. Below are some instructions, screenshots, and short videos on how to use "permanent links" -- also known as "permalinks," "persistent URLs," and "Record URLs" -- in some of our popular databases.

Academic Search Complete, CINAHL, Literary Reference Center, and psycARTICLES (all EBSCOhost databases)

Use the Permalink (on right under Tools when you are in an article).

Screenshot of permalink in EBSCOhost databases

Bloom’s Literature

Use the "Record URL" below the article.

Screenshot of Record URL in Bloom's Literature database

Ebook Central / Ebrary

When you get to the book you want to share, click on ‘Share link to ebook’ to get URL and add this before it: https://tacomacc.idm.oclc.org/login?url=

Gale Virtual Reference Library 

Use the Document URL below the article, and add this before it: https://tacomacc.idm.oclc.org/login?url=

But what about copyright?

The TCC Library has license agreements with over a dozen database vendors. These agreements assure that faculty, staff and students currently enrolled at the College have legal access to any individual full text article in the Library databases.  As always, the hallmarks of fair use involve adequate protection of the copyright owner's interests. Since Canvas classrooms are available only to enrolled students, it is permissible to link to individual articles from the databases in those classrooms. 

Although the database vendor chooses the data and has the responsibility to obtain all needed rights to distribute the data, it is good to remind students that any copyrighted material posted in the electronic classroom should not be copied and posted outside the classroom.

Here is some suggested language:

  • Notice:  Materials posted in this classroom may be protected by copyright law under Title 17 U.S. Code.
  • Notice: The copyright law of the United States (Title 17 U.S. Code) governs the making of photocopies or other reproductions of copyrighted material, including articles posted in this classroom.

Also, please review our Copyright guide for more information about copyright and fair use.

CC BY SA license

Except where otherwise noted, the content in these guides by Tacoma Community College Library is licensed under CC BY SA 4.0.

Tacoma Community College Library - Building 7, 6501 South 19th Street, Tacoma, WA 98466 - P. 253.566.5134