- Tacoma Community College Library
- Tacoma Community College Library
- Pacific Northwest History
- Parks, architecture, maps & more
Pacific Northwest History
Architecture & City Planning
Stadium High School, circa 1909
This building, "started as hotel in 1890, (the Tourist Hotel or the Olympian), never completed, converted to a high school in 1905" when architect Frederick Heath remodeled the building. Stadium Bowl was built in 1909, it has been remodeled many times because of mudslides and weather damage"
- Northwest Room at The Tacoma Public Library, (TPL-6716)
(image and text cited below)
Articles & Online Collections
- Architecture of the Pacific NorthwestA collection from the University of Washington's Digital Collections
- Architectural Styles and Architects: Historic Preservation Resource GuideA 30 page document from the City of Tacoma that outlines notable architecture and architects in the city's history
- Interactive Map of Race Tacoma/Pierce County 1950-2010"Explore patterns of segregation and desegregation in this sequence of interactive maps."
- Mapping Inequality: Redlining in New Deal AmericaClick on Tacoma or Seattle on this interactive map that shows housing and population information from the 1930s and 1940s from the American Panorama website
- Northwest Illustrations Collection - WSU Digital Collections"This collection consists of 53 selected illustrations taken from the rare book, History of the Pacific Northwest: Oregon and Washington..." Focus on landscapes and building/architecture.
- A photographic Heritage of Seattle & Surrounding areasKing County Snapshots presents King County, Washington, through more than 12,000 historical images carefully chosen from thirteen organizations' collections. These cataloged 19th and 20th century images portray people, places, and events in the county's urban, suburban, and rural communities.
- Researching Tacoma’s Built HeritageA short guide to resources such as Sandborn maps, and other local history collections from the Tacoma Public LIbrary's Northwest Room
- Tacoma-Pierce County Buildings IndexLearn about buildings and locations in this amazing online index: "The Tacoma-Pierce County Buildings Index contains information on Tacoma and Pierce County buildings found in Tacoma papers and in over 200 books on local history and architecture. Each source cited in the index is available to view in the Northwest Room"
- Notable Architects in TacomaFrom Historic Tacoma, this page provides short biographies of well-known architects in Tacoma's history with images and examples of their work.
- Historic Property Register SearchThe Historic Property Register Search is a part of the City of Tacoma website and allows you to search for homes on the historic registry
- Tacoma Union Station, Tacoma, WA - HistoryFrom the US General Services Administration, read about the history of Tacoma Union Station and other architecture in the state.
- Tacoma’s Historic DistrictsThe City of Tacoma website has information on the Wedge Neighborhood Historic District, North Slope Historic District, Old City Hall Historic District, Union Depot/Warehouse District, Stadium/Seminary Historic District and more.
Sources used on this tab:
[Entrance to Stadium High School, four people in front of building.]. (c. 1909). General Photograph Collection (TPL-6716). Tacoma Public Library, Northwest Room, Tacoma, WA, United States. www.cdm17061.contentdm.oclc.org/digital/collection/p17061coll21/id/4274/rec/1
Metropolitan Parks
An unidentified family exits Never Never Land at Point Defiance in June 1965. The popular park attraction first opened in 1964. Alfred Pettersen, who also designed "Wooded Wonderland" in Victoria, British Columbia, was the first manager. The two facilities were said to be the only two "enchanted forests" on the continent.
- From Northwest Room at Tacoma Public Library (TPL-1926)
(click on image to enlarge, cited below)
Metro Parks Online Resources
- Metro Parks: Activities & SportsSearch for info on activities and events in the city from the Metro Parks website
- Metro Parks: Fort NisquallyInformation about the park and its history
- Metro Parks: Historic Art & ArtifactsSearch through a collection of images, postcards, objects, photos, and more - pertaining to places, parks, and people in Tacoma's history.
- Metro Parks: Historic PeopleA shortlist of biographical entries about some of the notable people in the history of the park service and their contributions to the city.
- Metro Parks: Park Location FinderIncludes locations, hours, maps, and guides to the trails.
- Metro Parks: Park Tree ViewerThis interactive map allows you to search for specific trees planted by the park system.
- Metro Parks: Public ArtSearch through images and info on public art installations in the city, includes maps, plans, tour and artist info.
Featured Online Articles
- Buy or Bye: Never Never Land’s Statues Are Being AuctionedA 2021 article from Grit City Magazine
- Tacoma’s Never Never Land May Return to Play Another DayAn article from Grit City Magazine
Videos
Sources used on this tab:
[An unidentified family exits Never Never Land at Point Defiance in June 1965.]. (c. 1965). William Trueblood Collection (TPL-1926). Tacoma Public Library, Northwest Room, Tacoma, WA, United States. www.cdm17061.contentdm.oclc.org/digital/collection/p17061coll21/id/13119
The Tacoma Dome 
Looking at the Tacoma Dome, the cone-like Glass Museum, the historic Union Station building and Washington State History Museum, Bob's Java Jive, or any other number of curious structures in the city, it becomes clear that Tacoma enjoys a little flair!
An aerial photo of the construction of the Tacoma Dome, circa 1983
(click image to enlarge, cited below)
Featured Articles
- A Dome of Our OwnRead about the Tacoma Dome, from THS's "Tales of Tacoma"
- A Dome of Our Own: the Tacoma Dome StoryAn article from Grit City Magazine
- Tacoma DomeThe Tacoma Dome venue website
- The Tacoma Dome - Venue StoryLearn more about "one of the largest wood domed structures in the world" on the Tacoma Dome website
- Tacoma Dome DistrictFine historical and current info about the Tacoma Dome and the surrounding neighborhoods and businesses
- Tacoma Dome opens its doors on April 21, 1983.A short article from HistoryLink
Tacoma Narrows Bridge
Clippings from the Tacoma News Tribute, 1940
“The bridge was cracking and groaning and I was scared. As I watched the man jump from his car I was thrown to the pavement. He went down, too. We tried to get up but the swaying motion made it impossible"
- From Grit City Magazine (cited below - click image to enlarge)
The Narrows Bridge, known as Galloping Gertie after it's fall, is one of the notable bridges in the city. While this page focuses on the Narrows, the Murray Morgan Bridge - and Murray Morgan himself - are worthy of note.
Articles & Online Collections
- Tacoma Narrows Bridge History - WSDOTThis website is rich in information on the Tacoma Narrows Bridge, includes articles and images.
- Titlow Tales and Galloping GertieA 2020 article from the Tacoma Historical Society's "Tales of Tacoma"
- Tacoma Narrows Bridge History - WSDOTThis website is rich in information on the Tacoma Narrows Bridge, includes articles and images.
- Lesser-known Tales of Galloping Gertie’s CollapseA 2019 article from Grit City Magazine
Videos
- Tacoma Narrows Bridge From the series - In Short: A Lesson On Almost Everything - Episode 171, 2011 ~3 Minutes
- Video - Tacoma Narrows Bridge CollapseThis "sound version" video shows the 1940 fall of "Galloping Gertie"
Sources used on this tab:
[Tacoma News Tribute Newspaper Clippings from 1940]. (2019). Grit City Magazine. https://gritcitymag.com/2019/11/tacoma-galloping-gertie-bridge-collapse-stories/
Metro Parks: Notable People
- History of Metro ParksSearch through a collection of artifacts, as well as articles about specific parks and people in connection with Metro Parks and local history
Noteworthy names in connection to Metro Parks
- Nelson Bennett, Park Board President 1908-1909
- Dr. H.A. Christoffersen, Park Commissioner 1931-1952
- Francis W. Cushman, U.S. Congressman 1899-1909
- Clarence Deming, Employee - Seymour Conservatory 1949-1971
- Gustav Faulk, Employee - Seymour Conservatory 1912-1949
- Frederick Heath, Park Commissioner 1908-1918
- Mathilda Mayer, Employee - Secretary for Park Board 1909
- Bernice Newell, Employee - Newspaper Reporter early 1900's
- Frederick Law Olmsted, Landscape Architect 1822-1903
- Floyd E. Owen, Employee - Park Superintendent 1912-1959
- Stuart Rice, Employee - Park Board President 1907
- Ebenezer Rhys Roberts, Employee - Superintendent of Parks before 1907
- William Wolcott Seymour, Park Commissioner,
- Mayor Eva Stewart, First Female Park Commissioner 1951
- J. Ralph Williams, Park Commissioner 1953-1970
Metro Parks: Notable Places
- History of Metro ParksSearch through a collection of artifacts, as well as articles about specific parks and people in connection with Metro Parks and local history
Noteworthy places in connection to Metro Parks
- Alling Park
- Browns Point Lighthouse Park
- Charlotte’s Blueberry Park
- Delong Park
- Ferry Park
- Fort Nisqually
- Franklin Park Irving Park
- Jack Hyde Park
- Kandle Park
- Lincoln Park
- Manitou Park
- McKinley Park
- Neighbors’ Park
- North Slope Historic District Park
Except where otherwise noted, the content in these guides by Tacoma Community College Library is licensed under CC BY SA 4.0.
This openly licensed content allows others to cite, share, or modify this content, with credit to TCC Library. When reusing or adapting this content, include this statement in the new document: This content was originally created by Tacoma Community College Library and shared with a CC BY SA 4.0 license.
Tacoma Community College Library - Building 7, 6501 South 19th Street, Tacoma, WA 98466 - P. 253.566.5087
Visit us on Instagram!