Pacific Northwest History: LGBTQ+ History
Online sources
LGBTQ History in the PNW
Tacoma native Perry Watkins (1948-1996), a U. S. Army sergeant who fought a legal battle with the military over his homosexuality, speaks at a rally in Freeway Park after about 2,000 gay right supporters marched through downtown Seattle.
-Image from the Museum of History and Industry
(click image to enlarge, citation below)
Special Collections & Archives
Consider the links below to find materials, largely primary sources, on the topic.
- Gay & Lesbian Archives of the Pacific Northwest LGBTQ HistoryA part of "The Oregon Encyclopedia" and a project of the Oregon Historical Society.
- GLAPN: Northwest LGBTQ HistorySearch through videos, articles, images and more - From the Gay & Lesbian Archives of the Pacific Northwest
- GLBTQ: Special Collections & Archival Resources - UW Digital CollectionsThis library research guide provides access to a collection of topical archives, websites, photographs, and more.
- Idaho LGBTQ Oral History ProjectCreated for course curriculum, this archive of oral history in an "an interactive learning tool to help students understand LGBTQ history, with special emphasis on Idaho history, and the impacts of this history on local individuals."
- The Northwest Lesbian and Gay History ProjectSearch for information and resources, including articles, history, and timelines related to LGBT history in the PNW
- Oasis Youth Center"Oasis Youth Center... is a drop-in & support center dedicated to the needs of LGBTQ youth ages 11-24 in Pierce County. Oasis is committed to creating a safe, affirming space for LGBTQ youth to be proud of who they are with the encouragement they need to become healthy, productive and fully participating members of the community."
- Oregon EncyclopediaA Project of the Oregon Historical Society - search for articles about OR History topics
- Palouse LGBTQ History Project (WSU)A timeline of events with info and images, from the Washington State University collection
LGBTQ History in the PNW
Featured articles
Consider the links to online sources below.
- Alaska's Equality ProfileFind statistics related to LGBT issues and equality in the state
- A brief history of LGBTQ Activism in Seattle - Seattle Civil Rights & Labor History ProjectFrom the LGBTQ Activism in Seattle History Project
- Gay and lesbian rights movementFocusing on events before, as early as 1912, and leading up to Stonewall
- The Gay Rights Movement and the City of Seattle during the 1970sAn article from the Seattle.gov website
- How Did Tacoma, Wash., Get To Be America's 'Gayest City'?January 19, 2013 Article from NPR
- Idaho's Equality ProfileFind statistics related to LGBT issues and equality in the state.
- Idaho LGBT Since Stonewall: Out in America's Conservative Mecca, 1969-2010An online exhibit created by Ellwood Howard on OutHistory.org
- Oregon's Equality ProfileFind statistics related to LGBT issues and equality in the state.
- Portland Vice Scandal (1912-1913)An article about an event that led to the awareness of a gay subculture in Portland's history - from the Oregon Encyclopedia
- Queer History in Seattle, Part 1: to 1967An article from HistoryLink.org
- Queer History in Seattle, Part 2: After StonewallFrom Historylink.org
- Seattle (LGBTQ)From the Encyclopedia of Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual and Transgender History in America
- Washington's Equality ProfileFind statistics related to LGBT issues and equality in the state.
- Tacoma Pride 2023 & Tacoma’s Queer Community"Marguerite interviews Matthew Wilson from Oasis Youth Center and Quincy Tyson from Tacoma's Rainbow Center about Tacoma Pride 2023, what's going on in Washington in the Queer Community, and how Tacomans can be great allies to the LGBTQIA+ community."
LGBTQ History in the PNW
Associations & Organizations
The websites linked below go to key organizations aimed at educating the public and supporting LGBTQIA people and their allies. Each organization likely has some history-related information and possible links and resources to other related info sources.
- Alaskans Together for Equality"Alaska’s statewide lesbian, gay, bisexual, and transgender educational and advocacy organization website"
- Basic Rights OregonBasic Rights Oregon...was formed in 1996 out of community responses to anti-gay ballot measures that had plagued Oregon for more than 20 years.
- Human Rights CampaignThe Human Rights Campaign is America’s largest civil rights organization working to achieve gay, lesbian, bisexual and transgender equality. By inspiring and engaging all Americans, HRC strives to end discrimination against GLBT citizens and realize a nation that achieves fundamental fairness and equality for all.
- Identity AlaskaA statewide organization with the goal "to advance Alaska's LGBT...community through advocacy, education and connectivity"
- LGBTQ Rights - ACLU"The ACLU works to ensure that lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender, & queer people belong everywhere and can live openly and authentically without discrimination, harassment, or violence. "
- Oasis Youth Center"Oasis Youth Center... is a drop-in & support center dedicated to the needs of LGBTQ youth ages 11-24 in Pierce County. Oasis is committed to creating a safe, affirming space for LGBTQ youth to be proud of who they are with the encouragement they need to become healthy, productive and fully participating members of the community."
- PFLAG TacomaPFLAG (Parents Families & Friends of Lesbians and Gays) Meets at the Rainbow Center, messages taken at (253) 383-2318
- Pride FoundationAimed at "building a better, safer, and more equitable world for lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender, and queer (LGBTQ+) people and our families in the Northwest."
- Tacoma Older LGBTA non-profit aimed at "advocating for; serving, supporting, and working with older LGBT adults in Tacoma, Pierce County and surrounding areas."
Looking for more info?
Consider the LGBTQ Subject Guide linked below.
Featured Books & eBooks
Click on the book, or title, below to learn more
Related guide
Looking for articles from newspapers, magazines, and journals?
Remember to click on the Articles in the TCC Databases tab located in this guide to see a list of suggested databases. There you can find articles about the history of the Pacific Northwest. And be sure to check the other tabs in this guide, such as the People Groups & Immigration or Trade, Industry & Transportation for more Tacoma/Pierce County-related articles on a variety of topics.
Related guide
Find more info on LGBTQ+ history in the guide linked below.
Sources used on this page:
Kok, J. M. (1983). Perry Watkins speaking at Pride Week rally, Seattle, June 26, 1983 [Photograph]. Museum of History and Industry. https://digitalcollections.lib.washington.edu/digital/ collection/imlsmohai/id/9469/rec/71
Except where otherwise noted, the content in these guides by Tacoma Community College Library is licensed under CC BY SA 4.0.
This openly licensed content allows others to cite, share, or modify this content, with credit to TCC Library. When reusing or adapting this content, include this statement in the new document: This content was originally created by Tacoma Community College Library and shared with a CC BY SA 4.0 license.
Tacoma Community College Library - Building 7, 6501 South 19th Street, Tacoma, WA 98466 - P. 253.566.5087
Visit us on Instagram!