- Tacoma Community College Library
- Tacoma Community College Library
- Pacific Northwest History
- Search for Primary Sources
Pacific Northwest History
Searching for Primary Sources
What is a Primary Source?
A primary source is information in its original form. A primary source is a document or physical object which was written or created during the time that is being studied. It has NOT been interpreted or translated.
Examples of primary sources include:
- Audio: oral histories, memoirs, interviews, music
- Images: photographs, videos, film, fine art
- Objects: clothing, tools, pottery gravestones, weapons, memorabilia
- Statistics: Census data, population statistics, weather records
- Text: letters, diaries, original documents, legal agreements, treaties, maps, laws, advertisements, recipes, genealogical information, sermons/lectures
Remember: A copy of a primary source is also a primary source!
You might find primary sources on your topic in TCC books and reference books (both print and online), magazines, newspapers (TCC research databases), and on academic institution and archive websites that host special historical collections.
Understanding Primary Sources
Primary sources are the raw materials of history — original documents and objects which were created at the time under study (such as journals & diaries, speeches, works of art, audio/visual, interviews, etc.). They are different from secondary sources, accounts, or interpretations of events created by someone without firsthand experience (often in biographies, monographs, journal articles, etc.).
Primary source collections
Linked below are some of the larger collections for all things related to the Pacific Northwest. While these resources do include secondary sources as well, you will find many primary sources, such as images, digitized original documents, as well as excerpts from letters, diaries, and other various correspondence. Try searching some of the online collections using the links below, but do also look for more collections and resources on the subject-specific pages in this guide.
- HistoryLinkA free, authoritative, Washington State history encyclopedia.
- Tacoma Public Library: Northwest RoomCollection includes photographs, obituary information, historical building indexes, and northwest people databases.
- Oregon DigitalThe collections are comprised of unique digitized and born-digital materials including photographs, articles, sheet music, manuscripts, ephemera, and more
- Washington State Historical Society Ethnic CollectionThe collection includes images, letters, various documents, and more.
- Digital Collections - University of IdahoA large collection of primary source materials - search by keyword, topic, of collection.
- UW Digital ArchivesFind information, documents, and photographs on an array of Pacific Northwest related topics in the UW Digital archives.
- Alaska's Digital CollectionSearch through a collection of primary and secondary sources.
- Washington State University Libraries Digital Collections"WSU Libraries Digital Collections provide access to the academic and cultural heritage of Washington State and the Palouse Region."
- Tacoma Community History Project - UW Digital CollectionsThe Tacoma Community History Project gathers oral histories created by University of Washington Tacoma students enrolled in courses taught by Professor Michael Honey.
- Tacoma Then and Again: Rephotographing the City of Destiny"a growing collection of rephotography—or what is commonly called “then and now” photography—of buildings, streets, neighborhoods, and parks in Tacoma."
- The Northwest Lesbian and Gay History ProjectSearch for information and resources, including articles, history, and timelines related to LGBT history in the PNW
- Primarily Washington"Washington's Gateway to Pacific Northwest Primary Source Materials for Teachers and Students"
- Digital Public Library of America - Primary Source Sets“Digital Public Library of America (DPLA) Primary Source Sets are designed to help students develop critical thinking skills by exploring topics in history, literature, and culture through primary sources. Drawing online materials from libraries, archives, and museums across the United States, the sets use letters, photographs, posters, oral histories, video clips, sheet music, and more. Each set includes a topic overview, ten to fifteen primary sources, links to related resources, and a teaching guide.” CC BY (Creative Commons - Attribution) license.
Found something but you're not sure if it's considered a primary source?
Chat with a librarian! We're happy to take a peek and help you figure out what you're looking at and what you need to find!
- Ask WA, a 24/7 chat service
If the TCC Library is closed, or you're working from home, and you need research help, you can still get a librarian's assistance 24/7 with the "Ask WA" chat service!
Primary sources in Google Books
Linked below are some saved searches from Google Books for specific areas of the PNW. You can easily limit your search to see just books that are there available in full text, or to books that at least have a preview available. Consider the searches below, or try your own using the search box below.
- Google Books: Alaska History (Saved Search)Google Books provides full-text access to many public domain books. Search "Alaska History" and then limit to ""Free Google ebooks" under the Tools tab to see a list of full-text access books.
- Google Books: Idaho History (Saved Search)Google Books provides full-text access to many public domain books. Search "Idaho history" and then limit to ""Free Google ebooks" under the Tools tab to see a list of full-text access books.
- Google Books: Oregon History (Saved Search)Google Books provides full-text access to many public domain books. Search "Oregon history" and then limit to ""Free Google ebooks" under the Tools tab to see a list of full-text access books.
- Google Books: Pacific Northwest History (Saved Search)Google Books provides full-text access to many public domain books. Search "Pacific Northwest history" and then limit to ""Free Google ebooks" under the Tools tab to see a list of full-text access books.
- Google Books: Puget Sound History (Saved Search)Google Books provides full-text access to many public domain books. Search "Puget Sound history" and then limit to ""Free Google ebooks" under the Tools tab to see a list of full-text access books.
- Google Books: Seattle History (Saved Search)Google Books provides full-text access to many public domain books. Search "Seattle history" and then limit to ""Free Google ebooks" under the Tools tab to see a list of full-text access books.
- Google Books: Tacoma History (Saved Search)Google Books provides full-text access to many public domain books. Search "Tacoma history" and then limit to ""Free Google ebooks" under the Tools tab to see a list of full-text access books.
- Google Books: Washington State History (Saved Search)Google Books provides full-text access to many public domain books. Search "Washington State History" and then limit to ""Free Google ebooks" under the Tools tab to see a list of full-text access books.
Except where otherwise noted, the content in these guides by Tacoma Community College Library is licensed under CC BY SA 4.0.
This openly licensed content allows others to cite, share, or modify this content, with credit to TCC Library. When reusing or adapting this content, include this statement in the new document: This content was originally created by Tacoma Community College Library and shared with a CC BY SA 4.0 license.
Tacoma Community College Library - Building 7, 6501 South 19th Street, Tacoma, WA 98466 - P. 253.566.5087
Visit us on Instagram!