Pacific Northwest History
Idaho State
Remember to click on the Articles in the TCC Databases tab located in this guide to see a list of suggested databases. There you can find articles about the history of the Pacific Northwest. And be sure to check the other tabs in this guide, such as the People Groups & Immigration or Trade, Industry & Transportation for more Tacoma/Pierce County-related articles on a variety of topics.
Source: "Collier's 1921 Idaho" by L. L. Poates Eng. Co. is in the Public Domain
Online Resources
- Idaho Historical Society"The Idaho State Historical Society is a trusted guide through the state’s history and how it has shaped every aspect of our lives — our land, our communities, our government and our people." Search through their collection of online photos and stories about the state's past.
- University of Idaho Digital CollectionsSearch through online collections of various publications, maps, audio, photographs and more.
- Idaho: A Guide in Word and Picture - Federal Writer's Project BookThis book was written by the Federal Writer's Project in 1937 and gives an account of the history of the state.
- Idaho - History and HeritageA 2007 article from the Smithsonian Magazine
- Idaho's Equality ProfileFind statistics related to LGBT issues and equality in the state.
- Idaho State Archives Digital Collections"This site highlights a small curated digital collection of historical images that are held and preserved at the Archives."
- Northwest Historical Postcards CollectionDigitized Historical Postcards from Idaho and the Greater Northwest, 1864 to 2000 - From the university of Idaho
- Latah County Oral History CollectionA collection of articles and oral histories from this collection by the University of Idaho
- Idaho RailRoad Visual HistoryA collection of images from the Digital Collections at the Idaho State Archives.
- Idaho LGBT Since Stonewall: Out in America's Conservative Mecca, 1969-2010An online exhibit created by Ellwood Howard on OutHistory.org
Featured Videos
- Silver Linings - The Early Days of Idaho's Silver ValleyA video, streaming on YouTube, from KSPS Public TC
- Landscape of History -The Nez Perce (Nee-Me-Poo) National Historic Trail (video)A video, streaming on YouTube, from the Forest Service
- The History of McCall Idaho (video)A video, streaming on YouTube, from the City of McCall
Featured Books & eBooks
Click on the book, or title, below to learn more
The Idaho story.
Main Collection
Northwest Lands, Northwest Peoples : readings in environmental history
G155 .N75 N66 1999
Searching the Library's Collection
- Library Catalog This link opens in a new window
Find items on the TCC library's shelves, as well as digital books from our ebook collections.
Quickly find books in the Library Catalog by limiting to "Subject" from the dropdown menu beside the search box and typing in one of the following subject headings:
- Idaho
- Idaho -- History
- Idaho -- Maps
- Indians of North America -- Idaho
Except where otherwise noted, the content in these guides by Tacoma Community College Library is licensed under CC BY SA 4.0.
This openly licensed content allows others to cite, share, or modify this content, with credit to TCC Library. When reusing or adapting this content, include this statement in the new document: This content was originally created by Tacoma Community College Library and shared with a CC BY SA 4.0 license.
Tacoma Community College Library - Building 7, 6501 South 19th Street, Tacoma, WA 98466 - P. 253.566.5087
Visit us on Instagram!