Pacific Northwest History
Oregon State
Remember to click on the Articles in the TCC Databases tab located in this guide to see a list of suggested databases. There you can find articles about the history of the Pacific Northwest. And be sure to check the other tabs in this guide, such as the People Groups & Immigration or Trade, Industry & Transportation for more Tacoma/Pierce County-related articles on a variety of topics.
Source: "Map of Oregon from Collier's New Encyclopedia (1921)" by Collier's New Encyclopledia is in the Public Domain
Online Resources
- The Oregon Historical SocietySearch through digital collections and other resources on this website.
- Oregon DigitalThe collections are comprised of unique digitized and born-digital materials including photographs, articles, sheet music, manuscripts, ephemera, and more
- Portland State University Special Collections & ArchivesHoldings include books, journals, manuscripts, documents, photographs, maps, graphic novels, audio-visual material, and realia, spanning the 15th century to the present.
- The Oregon History Project"The Oregon History Project is a digital resource of the Oregon Historical Society Museum and Research Library. So far, hundreds of historical records and artifacts from the unique and extensive OHS collections have been digitized, annotated, and organized using the State of Oregon Department of Education standards and guidelines. "
- Oregon.com: HistoryThis travel website highlights lodging, recreation, and attractions in the state, and it also has a section on the history of the state, including resources about the Oregon Trail and Portland's Pittock Mansion.
- Oregon Blue Book"The Oregon Blue Book is the state's official almanac and fact book. It contains listings and functional descriptions of government agencies and educational institutions. It also features an almanac, maps, facts about Oregon history and elections, as well as information on the arts, media, and other cultural institutions in Oregon."
- Oregon Explorer: Natural Resources Digital LibraryCreated by Oregon State University and the Institute for Natural Resources, this website allows you to search by topic or location to learn more about the state of Oregon
- Oregon Historic Photograph Collection"The history of Oregon preserved in six collections of photographs of people, places, and events that provide snapshots of the states history from 1840 to more recent times."
- Historical Images of Oregon State University"The Historical Images of Oregon State University repository contains a vast array of OSU related photographs drawn from the more than 600,000 photographs held in the collections of the OSU Libraries' Special Collections and Archives Research Center."
- The Oregon History WayFinderSearch this interactive map for information about people, places, and events in Oregon history
- The Oregon trail: the Missouri River to the Pacific OceanThis book was written by the Federal Writer's Project in 1937 and gives an account of the history of the state.
- Booze and the Big House: Faces of Prohibition, 1920-1933An online exhibit from the Oregon Secretary of State website.
- Echoes of Oregon, 1837-1859 - History Learning GuideAn exhibit from the Oregon Secretary of State
- Historic Oregon Newspapers"Access complete content for historic Oregon newspapers that have been digitized ...Contains almost 1,400,000 pages from Oregon newspapers dated 1846 - 2020"
- Oregon - History and HeritageA 2007 article from the Smithsonian Magazine
- Oregon's Equality ProfileFind statistics related to LGBT issues and equality in the state.
- Exploration and ExplorersSearch through a list of notable people and explorations at the Oregon Encyclopedia
Featured Books & eBooks
Click on the book, or title, below to learn more
Historical atlas of Washington and Oregon
Library Reference
Yours for Liberty: Selections From Abigail Scott Duniway's Suffrage Newspaper
Includes entries on many relevant topics, like the Chinese in the area, transportation, women's suffrage, and more.
- Library Catalog This link opens in a new window
Find items on the TCC library's shelves, as well as digital books from our ebook collections.
Quickly find books in the Library Catalog by limiting to "Subject" from the dropdown menu beside the search box and typing in one of the following subject headings:
- Oregon
- Oregon -- History
- Oregon -- Maps
- Indians of North America -- Oregon
- Oregon Territory -- History
- Fur trade -- Oregon
Except where otherwise noted, the content in these guides by Tacoma Community College Library is licensed under CC BY SA 4.0.
This openly licensed content allows others to cite, share, or modify this content, with credit to TCC Library. When reusing or adapting this content, include this statement in the new document: This content was originally created by Tacoma Community College Library and shared with a CC BY SA 4.0 license.
Tacoma Community College Library - Building 7, 6501 South 19th Street, Tacoma, WA 98466 - P. 253.566.5087
Visit us on Instagram!