Pacific Northwest History
Locating background information
Background Information
Use Gale eBooks (formerly Gale Virtual Reference Library) to find background information on a city or person or event. This database has articles from encyclopedias, dictionaries, and almanacs. Or find basic background information using the "States Edition" in CultureGrams.
-
Gale eBooks This link opens in a new window
Digitized reference works, covering many disciplines. Very useful for background information on a topic. -
CultureGrams This link opens in a new window
Concise, reliable, and up-to-date reports on more than 200 countries, each U.S. state, and all 13 Canadian provinces and territories.
Locating articles in magazines, newspapers, and journals
Newspaper, Magazine, and Journal Articles
Search for newspaper, magazine, and journal articles about people, places, and events in state or city history using the databases linked below.
-
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
(Ebsco) Periodical database. This multi-disciplinary database covers most disciplines taught at TCC. Most articles are scholarly.
-
ProQuest Periodical Databases This link opens in a new window
Multiple periodical databases providing coverage of a wide range of topics, with a mix of popular and scholarly sources. Particularly good for current events.Learn how to search this database with this ProQuest Video Tutorial
-
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Full text of a range of academic journal articles and primary sources. TCC's collection includes: "Archival Journal / Primary Source Collections." Good coverage of history, sociology, anthropology, literature, and economics. All images from Artstor are now on JSTOR! -
Ethnic Newswatch This link opens in a new window
(ProQuest) News, culture and history from 200 plus publications from the ethnic, minority and Native press in English and Spanish.
Featured Journal
-
Pacific Northwest QuarterlyPNQ is the leading scholarly journal devoted to the history and culture of the northwestern United States, including Alaska, and western Canada.
Washington state history and articles
Washington State History
Search online, using the unique, Washington-centric website HistoryLink.org or search for older newspaper articles in Washington Newsstand.
-
HistoryLinkA free, authoritative, Washington State history encyclopedia.
-
U.S. West Newsstream This link opens in a new window
(ProQuest) Includes the full text of most larger Washington State newspapers.
Except where otherwise noted, the content in these guides by Tacoma Community College Library is licensed under CC BY SA 4.0.
This openly licensed content allows others to cite, share, or modify this content, with credit to TCC Library. When reusing or adapting this content, include this statement in the new document: This content was originally created by Tacoma Community College Library and shared with a CC BY SA 4.0 license.
Tacoma Community College Library - Building 7, 6501 South 19th Street, Tacoma, WA 98466 - P. 253.566.5087
Visit us on Instagram!