Pacific Northwest History: Native Americans
Finding resources
Native Americans in the PNW
Suquamish woman called Princess Angeline, Seattle, Washington, 1890.
"Kick-is-on-lo Cud was the eldest daughter of Chief Seattle. By the time this photo was taken, in the 1890s, her Suquamish and Duwamish people had been exiled to the Port Madison Reservation. White settlers renamed her Princess Angeline or Queen Angeline."
(click on image to enlarge - text & image citation below)
Tacoma Community College Land Acknowledgment
Land acknowledgment (approved by the Office of EDI)
We are so fortunate that TCC is located on the ancestral territory of First Nations peoples. The Puyallup tribe, a member of the Coast Salish tribal peoples have called this area home since time immemorial. In 1854, the Medicine Creek Treaty forcibly removed them from their lands and onto the Puyallup reservation.
The state of Washington has the 7th largest Native American population in the U.S. with 29 federally recognized tribes represented, as well as several unrecognized tribes. We recognize that the privilege of our campus being on the land on which we now stand comes at great cost to the Coast Salish peoples.
We gather here knowing that our presence is part of an ongoing invasion and that these lands were and continue to be forcibly and unlawfully taken from their original indigenous inhabitants. We acknowledge that these injustices are true here and also for indigenous communities around the globe, like the First Peoples of Mauna Kea, Papua and New Zealand, just to name a few.
Posted on the TCC Website linked below:
Native Americans in the PNW
Organizations & government Agencies
The links below are just some of the local, larger organizations aimed at educating the public and supporting Native Americans in the PNW.
- Tribal Government Resources, WashingtonFrom the Governor's Office of Tribal Affairs site.
- Intergovernmental Affairs: Tribal Affairs"This website highlights the Census Bureau's relationship with tribal governments and provides important AIAN and tribal resources. The Census Bureau collects data for the AIAN population and publishes specific counts, estimates, and statistics."
Special Collections & Archives
These websites below go to larger collections of resources where you can search for relevant materials, largely first-hand accounts, and other similar primary sources.
- American Indian Film GalleryConsists of short archival videos, mostly from the 1930s - 1970s. Films arranged by tribal name.
- American Indians of the Pacific Northwest Collection - UW Digital CollectionsFrom UW Digital Collections - Search through documents, photos, articles, and more.
- The Circle--Native American News and ArtsContains news stories affecting the Native American community written from a Native American perspective. Search by entering terms into the search box or by clicking on headings on left of page.
- Daybreak Star Indian Cultural Center"The creation of Daybreak Star Indian Cultural Center, located at the former site of the Fort Lawton military base in today's Discovery Park, was the result of persistent protest and activism by Seattle's Native community." - Learn more about this topic, and view images and other online resources in this online collection from The Seattle Municipal Archives
- HistoryLinkA free, authoritative, Washington State history encyclopedia.
- National Museum of the American IndianIncludes a sample of NMAI’s object and historic photo collections
- National Museum of the American IndianThe Smithsonian's museum of Native American heritage and culture. Over 800,000 items represent more than 1,200 indigenous cultures. "Items and educational materials on religion, traditions, and contemporary identity to ancient artifacts and modern fine art."
- Native American Immigration - Library of CongressRead short articles in this interactive module about Immigration and the United States. Includes sections such as Destroying the Native American Cultures, Removing Native Americans from their Land, Civil War Years, 19th Century Perceptions, Custer's Last Stand ... Aftermath, Losses, Disaster at Wounded Knee, United States Citizenship for the Native American, The Future for Native Americans? and Native American place names
- Native American TimesProvides access to Native American-related news articles. Search by entering search term in the search box or by clicking on the tabs at top of the page.
- Native Voices - Digital HistoryA list of first-hand accounts - told through primary source documents like letters, diaries, newspapers, etc. largely from Native Americans regarding their interaction with immigrants.
- Smithsonian's History ExplorerThis is a great website that offers information on a variety of history topics, as well as images of primary source materials such as physical artifacts. Enter a simple keyword into the search box at the top right of the website. Search example: Revolutionary War, Vietnam War, or Suffrage.
- Tacoma Public Library Oral History CollectionThese oral history interviews were conducted by Ruth L. Wett as part of an oral history project sponsored by the Tacoma Public Library in 1976. Each interview provides insight into activities in various neighborhoods, the mixture of immigrant communities, and the reflections on everyday experiences living in Tacoma around the turn of the last century.
- UW Digital Collections: Assimilation Through Education: Indian Boarding Schools in the Pacific NorthwestEssay by anthropologist and librarian Carolyn J. Marr that provides an overview of Indian boarding schools in the Pacific Northwest.
Featured ebooks on the Web
- "Pacific Coast Indians, Wars with, 1847-1865"A collection of digitalized, historic books and documents pertaining to the Indian wars in Washington State.
Native Americans in the PNW
Local tribal websites
Tribal websites are a great places to get information on specific tribes and their history in the area.
- Puyallup Tribe of IndiansFind information about the Puyallup tribe including a land acknowledgement and other resources.
Finding state and national tribes
Looking for information on tribes in other areas of the Pacific Northwest? Try using the National Tribal Directory below or looking for specific tribes on the state maps.
- Washington TribesThis website shares information about how the 29 tribes in Washington State are helping to build a better future for everyone and includes links, photos, and videos for individual tribes.
- Native Peoples Peoples of Washington Washington Map"The Native Peoples Peoples of Washington Washington map, including including the above lists, was developed developed
by the Puyallup Tribe's GIS Department" - National Tribal DirectoryLook for tribes by name, or by geographic location using the search feature on this National Tribal Directory.
- Map of US Indians by StateLook for tribes by name, or by geographic location using the search feature on this National Tribal Directory.
Looking for Tribal info for Oregon, Idaho, Alaska?
Simply out of familiarity and access, a lot of the content in this guide is focused locally, at Pierce and King counties and Washington State. However, there is a wealth of information for the other states in the PNW, and the content in this guide is always being updated. There are likely books and other resources in the library's collection as well as in this guide; however, do consider some of these library guides created by libraries in the other states.
- Tribal Communities in OregonA library guide from Oregon State University. Includes links and additional info and resources for Native American tribes and land in Oregon State
- Alaska Tribes - National Congress of American IndiansSearch state or region in this tribal directory
- The Peoples of Idaho: Native Settlers - Digital Atlas of IdahoThe Digital Atlas of Idaho Project (DAI) delivers natural history information to a variety of audiences, including K-12 educators, college students, agency personnel, businesses, non-governmental organizations, and the public at large. It is available online and on compact disc.
Native Americans in the PNW
Popular source articles
Linked below are articles from the web, as well as housed in the library's collections.
- The Changing World of Pacific Northwest IndiansFrom the Center for the Study of the Pacific Northwest
- Fur Traders, Indians, and Anglo-American Rivalry for the Northwest, 1806-1846From the Center for the Study of the Pacific Northwest
- Overview of American Indian Policy, Treaties, and Reservations in the NorthwestFrom the Center for the Study of the Pacific Northwest
- This is Why Tacoma’s Totem Pole Was Taken DownA 2021 article from Grit City Magazine
- Indian Reservations, Resistance, and Changing U.S. Indian Policy since 1850From the Center for the Study of the Pacific Northwest
- It’s Time You Heard the Puyallup Tribe’s Version of Tacoma’s HistoryA short article with linked videos from Grit City Magazine
- Native American Heritage MonthNovember is National American Indian Heritage Month - look through this website for information and resources
- American Indians in Children's Literature"Established in 2006, American Indians in Children's Literature (AICL) provides critical perspectives and analysis of indigenous peoples in children's and young adult books, the school curriculum, popular culture, and society. "
- A History of Treaties and Reservations on the Olympic Peninsula, 1855-1898From the Center for the Study of the Pacific Northwest
Scholarly articles
More coming soon!
Native Americans in the PNW
Background articles
Linked below are some overview articles from both websites - like HistoryLink, as well as the library's digital collections, many from Gale eBooks.
- "Native American Chiefs Frank Seelatse and Jimmy Noah Saluskin of the Yakima Tribe" Primary Source image from American Decades Primary Sources
- Boldt Decision (United States v. Washington, 1974) From the Encyclopedia of the American Indian Movement
- Early Indian Wars in The Pacific Northwest (1855-1858) From "Political History of America's Wars" housed in the database called Gale Ebooks
- Everett Massacre of 1916 Collection A collection of primary and secondary sources from the UW Digital Collection
- Fishing Rights, Western Washington State From the Encyclopedia of the American Indian Movement
- Frank, Billy, Jr. From the Encyclopedia of United States Indian Policy and Law
- Indians, Pacific Northwest From the "Encyclopedia of American Environmental History" housed in the database called Gale Ebooks
- Leschi From the Encyclopedia of United States Indian Policy and Law
- Manners, Customs, and Condition of the North American Indians From "American Eras: Primary Sources" housed in the database called Gale Ebooks
- Nez Percé From the "Gale Encyclopedia of Multicultural America" house in the database called Gale Ebooks
- North American Indians: Indians of the Northwest Coast From the Encyclopedia of Religion
- Pacific Northwest Region From the "Encyclopedia of Religion in America" housed in the database called Gale Ebooks
- Salish From the Native Peoples of the World: An Encyclopedia of Groups, Cultures, and Contemporary Issues
- Sherman Alexie From the Encyclopedia of World Biography
- Treaty of Medicine Creek, 1854 From the Governor's Office of Indian Affairs website - includes additional treaties from the 1850s
- Northwest Indians - HistoryLink.org Find articles, images, and more related to Native Americans in the PNW
- The Whitman Massacre Primary source - Recollections from a survivor. From American Eras: Primary Sources
Featured database
- Gale eBooks This link opens in a new window
Digitized reference works, covering many disciplines. Very useful for background information on a topic.
Native Americans in the PNW
Featured videos
- Broken Treaties - Full DocumentaryFor thousands of years, more than 60 Native American tribes lived in Oregon's diverse environmental regions. At least 18 languages were spoken across hundreds of villages. This civilizational fabric became unraveled in just a few short decades upon contact with white settlers in the 19th century.
- Inside the Collections: Pacific Northwest Coast PeoplesA short video from the American Museum of Natural History
Native Americans in the PNW
Featured podcasts
- Indigenous Voices [Podcast]"The Indigenous Voices Podcast is an extension of this award winning series. The podcast uplifts tribal voices in the telling of Puget Sound history, sharing tribal knowledge and expertise with wider audiences."
- Native American Culture & History [Podcast]A podcast series from the National Park Service that looks at "how various Native American tribes have influenced different regions of North America. Native American tribe members also share their cultural heritage and love for the Earth."
- Washington Our Home Podcast"Your fearless field guide, Erich Ebel, takes you on an exciting and entertaining trip to explore the history, heritage, and culture of the greatest state in the lower 48."
- All My Relations PodcastAll My Relations is a team of folks who care about representations, and how Native peoples are represented in mainstream media. Between us we have decades of experience working in and with Native communities, and writing and speaking about issues of representation.
Sources used on this page:
Bailey, E. J. (1890). Suquamish woman called Princess Angeline, Seattle, Washington, 1890. [Photograph]. Digital Collections University of Washington. https://digitalcollections.lib.washington.edu/digital/collection/loc/id/2182/rec/38
Wikimedia Commons (Ed.). (n.d.). [Description]. Retrieved November 30, 2022, from https://commons.wikimedia.org/wiki/ File:Angeline,_daughter_of_Chief_Seattle,_ca_1893_(LAROCHE_3).jpeg
Featured Books & eBooks
Click on the book, or title, below to learn more
Indians of the Pacific Northwest: A history
Main collection
The Nez Perce Indians and the opening of the Northwest
Main collection
Chinook ; a history and dictionary of the Northwest coast trade jargon
Full Title: Chinook ; a history and dictionary of the Northwest coast trade jargon : The centuries-old trade language of the Indians of the Pacific. A history of its origin and its adoption and use by the traders, trappers, pioneers and early settlers of the Northwest coast.
Looking for more?
Looking for articles from newspapers, magazines, and journals?
Remember to click on the Articles in the TCC Databases tab located in this guide to see a list of suggested databases. There you can find articles about the history of the Pacific Northwest. And be sure to check the other tabs in this guide, such as the People Groups & Immigration or Trade, Industry & Transportation for more Tacoma/Pierce County-related articles on a variety of topics.
Except where otherwise noted, the content in these guides by Tacoma Community College Library is licensed under CC BY SA 4.0.
This openly licensed content allows others to cite, share, or modify this content, with credit to TCC Library. When reusing or adapting this content, include this statement in the new document: This content was originally created by Tacoma Community College Library and shared with a CC BY SA 4.0 license.
Tacoma Community College Library - Building 7, 6501 South 19th Street, Tacoma, WA 98466 - P. 253.566.5087
Visit us on Instagram!