Art collections online
Museum digital art collections:
-
Openverse
Search for over 700 million free images, photos, and audio in the public domain and under Creative Commons licenses. Site used to be known as Creative Commons Search.
-
The Met Collection - Metropolitan Museum of Art
Recently added over 375,000 public-domain artworks to their online collection. Use filters to narrow down to public domain artworks.
-
Smithsonian Open Access
Access to more than 3 million 2D and 3D digital items and data from across the Smithsonian’s 19 museums, nine research centers, libraries, archives, and the National Zoo. Some resources are licensed CC0 (Public Domain); other resources are available for non-commercial use.
-
NGA Images - National Gallery of Art
"NGA Images is a repository of digital images of the collections of the National Gallery of Art. On this website you can search, browse, share, and download images. A standards-based reproduction guide and a help section provide advice for both novices and experts. More than 51,000 open access digital images up to 4000 pixels each are available free of charge for download and use." Click Advanced Search or Collections to browse images.
-
Los Angeles County Museum of Art - Digital Collections
Browse digitized art collections from the LACMA. Tip: Click on the" Show public domain images only" box beside the search box to limit results to public domain images.
-
Getty Search Gateway
Advanced search for digitized art collections from the J. Paul Getty Museum. Extensive filters on the lefthand side to narrow down results.
-
Search Rijksstudio - Rijsmuseum, the Museum of the Netherlands
Search public domain, high-quality images of artworks in the Rijksmuseum, Amsterdam, The Netherlands. Tip: Click the "Search Options" button to narrow your search results by maker, object type, period, place, material, technique, and color.
-
British Library - Open Access Collections
Browse digitized art collections via the British Library Flickr account. Public domain artworks.
-
Tate Digitised Archives
Tate Archive contains more than one million items on artists, art world figures and art organisations in Britain documenting the history of fine art practice in the UK. Scroll down to browse digitized collections.
Museum online tours/exhibitions:
-
Understanding Museums (OER art modules)
Online course modules created by Smarthistory. Thematic modules include readings, videos, and primary sources. Online format. CC BY NC SA (Creative Commons - Attribution - NonCommercial -ShareAlike) license.
Other art online repositories (openly licensed or public domain images):
-
Openverse
Combines digital images of artworks from the Smithsonian collections, Brooklyn Museum, Cleveland Museum of Art, Digitalt Museum, The Met, Museums Victoria, Rikjsmuseum, Thorvaldsens Museum, and other digital collections -- including Flickr and WIkimedia! -- together in one search. Each image record includes an "Attributions" tab, so you can easily copy-and-paste the attribution.
-
Wikimedia Commons
Artwork, photographs, and images with public domain or CC-licenses. Use search box in upper right, best used when you are looking for a specific artwork or artist. Copyright info and open license info listed when you click on the “More details” button on images.
-
WikiGallery.org
Similar structure and look to Wikimedia Commons, focused on more classical artwork with public domain or CC licenses. Main page includes more browsing options for content, including browsing by location, by movement, by subject, and even by colors.
Art appreciation
Canvas course shells:
-
ART& 100 Art Appreciation (WACTC OER course)
To view: First, log into your TCC Canvas faculty account, then click on the Canvas Commons link/icon in the global navigation menu, and then finally click this link to view this Canvas course content. OER Canvas course shared by SBCTC, 2020. Includes modules, assignments, quizzes, and discussions. CC BY (Creative Commons - Attribution) license.
-
Art Appreciation (OER Canvas course)
To view: First, log into your TCC Canvas faculty account, then click on the Canvas Commons link/icon in the global navigation menu, and then finally click this link to view this Canvas course content. OER Canvas course shared by CanvasNet, 2019. Organized into 11 main modules of content, with readings, integrated videos, quizzes, and journal assignment prompts. Some modules have additional ancillary materials, like practice tests. CC BY NC SA (Creative Commons - Attribution - NonCommercial - ShareAlike) license.
Textbooks, courses, and readers:
-
A World Perspective of Art Appreciation (OER course)
Deborah Gustlin & Zoe Gustlin, Evergreen Valley College, 2019, last compiled 2024. "This is a more representational textbook that students can identify with based on ethnic experiences they possess, presented in a time sequence. This Art Appreciation (ARTH 100) textbook is inclusive of multiple civilizations around the world with a better distribution of art. Some of the art will be well known, and some of the writing is about art and cultures not usually included in the standard textbooks." Organized into 15 main chapters. Online, PDF, and zip files (Tip: Hover over the blue "Downloads" button in the upper right corner). CC BY (Creative Commons - Attribution) license. Eligible for Print on Demand.
-
Art Appreciation (OER course)
OER course from Lumen and currently hosted by LibreTexts. Organized into 6 modules with readings and videos. (Faculty resources, including question banks, are available online via Lumen Learning here at https://courses.lumenlearning.com/masteryart1/) Online and PDF formats. Course pages may have different CC (Creative Commons) open licenses. Eligible for Print on Demand.
-
Understanding New Media Art (OER textbook)
Elizabeth Bilyeu, et al., Open Oregon, 2022. "For introductory college art and art history courses that builds on scholarship in the field to propose a long historical context for the technologies and ideas related to New Media Art in the 21st century." Organized into 13 chapters, including printmaking, digital photography, light art, land art, performance art, and more. Online (Pressbooks), PDF, EPUB, and Common Cartridge formats. CC BY NC SA (Creative Commons Attribution NonCommercial ShareAlike) license. Eligible for Print on Demand.
-
Introduction to Art: Design, Context, and Meaning (OER textbook)
Pamela Sachant, University System of Georgia, 2016. "[O]ffers a comprehensive introduction to the world of Art. Authored by four USG faculty members with advance degrees in the arts, this textbooks offers up-to-date original scholarship. It includes over 400 high-quality images illustrating the history of art, its technical applications, and its many uses." Chapters include "test yourself" questions and key terms. Organized into 11 chapters, from "What is Art?" to "Art and Ethics." Formats include PDF, accessible PDF, chapter bundle PDFs, and a Japanese translation. CC BY SA (Creative Commons - Attribution - ShareAlike) license. Eligible for Print on Demand.
-
Introduction to the History of Modern Art (online course/site)
Sharon Jordan, Lehman College, CUNY. Organized into 14 weekly modules, which include readings, videos, links to additional sources, as well as links to integrated worksheets and assignments. Online format via Wordpress. CC BY NC SA (Creative Commons - Attribution - NonCommercial - Share Alike) license.
-
Art Appreciation - East Tennessee State University (OER course)
OER readings, powerpoints, and assignments created by Marie Porterfield Barry, art faculty at East Tennessee State University, 2019. This course "explores the world’s visual arts, focusing on the development of visual awareness, assessment, and appreciation by examining a variety of styles from various periods and cultures while emphasizing the development of a common visual language." 24 lessons total. PDF and Word versions, with additional PowerPoint and assignment files. CC BY NC SA (Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike) license. Eligible for Print on Demand.
Supplemental tools and materials (incl. games, lessons, videos, exercises, etc.):
-
Art Appreciation OER collection of lessons
Marie Porterfield Barry, East Tennessee State University, 2020. "This course explores the world’s visual arts, focusing on the development of visual awareness, assessment, and appreciation by examining a variety of styles from various periods and cultures while emphasizing the development of a common visual language. The materials are meant to foster a broader understanding of the role of visual art in human culture and experience from the prehistoric through the contemporary." PDF plus PowerPoint presentations, Readings lists in Word format, and Sketchbook assignments in Word format. CC BY NC SA ( Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike) license. Eligible for Print on Demand.
-
Art and Music since 1945 (OER course + guidebook)
Created by Robert Arnold and updated by Clayton Funk, Ohio State University, 2024. This open website is used for a course on Art and Music since 1945. Includes a collection of biographies of artists and musicians, a guidebook in PDF format, a sample syllabus, and assignments. CC BY (Creative Commons - Attribution) license. Eligible for Print on Demand if materials are compiled into a print-ready format.
-
Looking at art (OER art modules)
Online course modules created by Smarthistory. Modules for Why Art Matters; Elements of art; and Principles of Composition. Thematic modules include readings, videos, and primary sources. Online format. CC BY NC SA (Creative Commons - Attribution - NonCommercial -ShareAlike) license.
-
Art Appreciation (OER art modules)
Online course modules created by Smarthistory. Modules, organized by tools and themes, include readings, videos, and primary sources. Online format. CC BY NC SA (Creative Commons - Attribution - NonCommercial -ShareAlike) license.
-
Understanding Museums (OER art modules)
Online course modules created by Smarthistory. Thematic modules include readings, videos, and primary sources. Online format. CC BY NC SA (Creative Commons - Attribution - NonCommercial -ShareAlike) license.
Two-dimensional design
Canvas course shells:
-
Fundamentals of Design - Sellerburg (OER Canvas course)
To view: First, log into your TCC Canvas faculty account, then click on the Canvas Commons link/icon in the global navigation menu, and then finally click this link to view this Canvas course content. Canvas course shell shared by Susan Mackowiak, Ivy Tech Community College, 2017. "This course introduces students to fundamental design theory. Investigations into design theory and color dynamics will provide experiences in applying design theory, ideas and creative problem solving." Uses Stephen Pentak's Design Basics as the course textbook. Course shell includes chapter slides, lecture notes, and projects. Public domain license.
Supplemental tools and materials (incl. games, lessons, videos, exercises, etc.):
-
"Fundamentals of Design" module
GCF Global site. Part of the Beginning Graphic Design tutorial. Includes videos and illustrations for basic visual elements, including line, shape, form, texture, and balance. Not openly licensed but freely available to view online and link to.
Three-dimensional design
Canvas course shells:
-
ART113 OER Robertson (OER Canvas course)
To view: First, log into your TCC Canvas faculty account, then click on the Canvas Commons link/icon in the global navigation menu, and then finally click this link to view this Canvas course content. Micah Weedman, Yavapai College, updated 2023. "In Three-Dimensional Design students of all abilities will master the fundamentals of visual composition, and the various ways artists and designers use visual language. Through the study of the elements and principals of design students will develop technical proficiency in a range of art media and find creative confidence in the expression of visual communication. This course approach fosters creativity through one-one-one instruction during time, written feedback, and group critiques." Organized into 8 modules, each with lectures, discussions, assessments, videos, and slides. CC BY (Creative Commons - Attribution) license.
Drawing
Canvas course shells:
-
Drawing I (OER Canvas course)
To view: First, log into your TCC Canvas faculty account, then click on the Canvas Commons link/icon in the global navigation menu, and then finally click this link to view this Canvas course content. Barbara Kilgore, Northeast Alabama Community College, 2020, updated 2021 with updated assignments and video tutorials. Course uses low-cost tutorial and sketchbook "You Will Be Able to Draw By the End of this Book." Includes additional readings and assignments. CC BY SA (Creative Commons - Attribution - ShareAlike) license.
Supplemental tools and materials (incl. games, lessons, videos, exercises, etc.):
-
Drawing is Seeing (OER manual)
David DeRoche, Open Oregon, 2024. Drawing manual with 11 chapters of drawing exercises, each with instructions, materials needed, and estimated time to complete. Online (Pressbooks) format. CC BY NC SA (Creative Commons Attribution NonCommercial ShareAlike) license. Eligible for Print on Demand.
-
The Elements of Drawing by John Ruskin
Text and illustration for the 1859 edition of this classic work. "This classic retains its relevance some 150 years after its first appearance and should be on every artist's bookshelf." Public domain.
Graphic design
Textbooks, courses, and readers:
-
Digital Foundations: Introduction to Media Design with the Adobe Creative Cloud (OER textbook)
Xtine Burrough, Michael Mandiberg, revised ed., 2024. "This book was written by two artist educators who teach digital art and design studio foundation classes [...] Digital Foundations uses formal exercises of the Bauhaus to teach the Adobe Creative Suite. All students of digital design and production—whether learning in a classroom or on their own—need to understand the basic principles of design in order to implement them using current software." Online, EPUB, and PDF formats. CC BY NC SA (Creative Commons Attribution NonCommercial ShareAlike) license. Eligible for Print on Demand.
-
Graphic Design and Print Production Fundamentals (OER textbook)
Wayne Collins, et al., British Columbia Institute of Technology (Canada), 2015. This textbook "addresses the many steps of creating and then producing physical, printed, or other imaged products that people interact with on a daily basis. It covers the concept that, while most modern graphic design is created on computers using design software, the ideas and concepts don't stay on the computer. Keywords are highlighted throughout and summarized in a Glossary at the end of the book, and each chapter includes exercises and suggested readings." Faculty peer reviews of the text available on this site. PDF, EPUB, and editable OpenDocument formats. CC BY (Creative Commons - Attribution) license. Eligible for Print on Demand.
Digital photography
Canvas course shells:
-
Studio Product Photography (OER Canvas course)
To view: First, log into your TCC Canvas faculty account, then click on the Canvas Commons link/icon in the global navigation menu, and then finally click this link to view this Canvas course content. Chauncey Rion Huffman, Pitt State, 2019. "This is a complete course for introductory studio product photography techniques. It includes a few Power Point presentations, assignments, a quiz, video and static resources and a module structure. Much of this information will require the instructor to demonstrate these techniques for the students, and the demonstrations are not included in this version." Organized into 7 modules. CC BY SA (Creative Commons - Attribution - ShareAlike) license.
Textbooks, courses, and readers:
-
Digital Photography for Graphic Communications (OER textbook)
Richard Adams, et al., Toronto Metropolitan University, [2019]. "The purpose of this book is to serve as a reference for a one-semester course in digital photography for graphic communications.” Organized into 8 chapters. Online and print PDF formats. CC BY (Creative Commons - Attribution) license. Eligible for Print on Demand.
-
Digital Imaging 1: Digital Photography Basics (OER textbook)
Stephen Politzer, CK-12, 2014. "Learn digital photo basics using your digital camera or smart phone. From basics like the rule of thirds and framing to direction of movement and light/shadows, this course will help you develop digital photo skills that translate directly to shooting better photos for yourself, or to share with others." Organized into 7 chapters. Online + PDF formats. CK-12 curriculum materials license is equivalent to CC BY NC SA (Creative Commons - Attribution - NonCommercial Share Alike) license. Eligible for Print on Demand.
-
Digital Imaging 2: Digital Image Editing (OER textbook)
Stephen Politzer, CK-12, 2014. "Learn digital image editing using Creative Commons licensed images and the free online Pixlr Editor. From basics like cropping and adjusting levels to advanced work with layers and masks, this course will provide skills that translate directly to other image editors, such as PhotoShop." Organized into 7 chapters. Online + PDF formats. CK-12 curriculum materials license is equivalent to CC BY NC SA (Creative Commons - Attribution - NonCommercial - ShareAlike) license. Eligible for Print on Demand.
Supplemental tools and materials (incl. games, lessons, videos, exercises, etc.):
-
Digital Photography Ancillary Materials (OER ancillary materials)
Jason Guthrie, et al., Clayton State University, Affordable Learning Georgia, 2023. "Materials include video lectures, lecture slides, and module text from the original LMS-based course." CC BY (Creative Commons - Attribution) license.
-
Photo Exposure Video Playlist
YouTube playlist of OER videos for Exposure Overview; Exposure in the Camera; Exposure: Shutter; Exposure: ISO; and Exposure: Aperture. Last updated 2020. Each video is 7-12 minutes long. CC BY (Creative Commons - Attribution) license.
-
Digital Image Retouching: Evaluation Assignment
Assignment developed by Art instructor at CUNY La Guardia Community College, 2019. "Digital retouching has become a staple of the commercial photography industry. This exercise shows the students the level of quality that will be expected of them after graduation, along with helping them to become market ready." CC BY (Creative Commons - Attribution) license.
-
Photography and Truth (OER ancillary materials)
From MIT OpenCourseware - Course materials focusing on still photography and how photographs “are to be understood and interpreted; whether they have clear-cut content and meanings; how they shape and are shaped by politics, economics, and social life.” The most useful part of this undergraduate course is the “Photos” section with PDFs of slides of different kinds of photographs, all cited. Course materials are licensed under a CC BY NC SA (Creative Commons - Attribution - NonCommercial - ShareAlike) license. Eligible for Print on Demand if materials are complied into a print-ready format.
Printmaking
Canvas course shells:
-
Intro to Printmaking (OER Canvas course)
To view: First, log into your TCC Canvas faculty account, then click on the Canvas Commons link/icon in the global navigation menu, and then finally click this link to view this Canvas course content. OER Canvas course shared by Art instructor at Bucks County Community College, 2019. Weekly modules include PowerPoints and project assignments. Public domain license.
Art for elementary education
Textbooks, courses, and readers:
-
Arts Integration in Elementary Curriculum: 2nd Edition (OER textbook)
Molly Zhou and David Brown, Dalton State College, University System of Georgia, revised in 2018. Topics include arts integration, music, visual arts, literary arts, performing arts, and physical education and movement. Lecture slides also available. Accessible PDF and Word formats. CC BY NC SA (Creative Commons - Attribution - NonCommercial ShareAlike) license. Eligible for Print on Demand.
-
Introduction to Curriculum for Early Childhood Education (open textbook)
Jennifer Paris, et al., College of the Canyons, 2019. This textbook focuses on "how to effectively plan curriculum for young children." Organized into 5 sections, with 17 chapters, plus appendices. Section IV focuses on curriculum planning for specific areas, including Creative Arts. PDF format via Google Docs. CC BY (Creative Commons - Attribution) license.
Supplemental tools and materials (incl. games, lessons, videos, exercises, etc.):
History of Western art
Canvas course shells:
-
Art History Survey: Renaissance to 1800s (OER Canvas course)
To view: First, log into your TCC Canvas faculty account, then click on the Canvas Commons link/icon in the global navigation menu, and then finally click this link to view this Canvas course content. Canvas course shared by Briana Simmons, Santa Monica College, 2020. "Survey of the major visual arts of Europe from the Renaissance to 1800s." Uses a variety of OER and open access readings and videos. Organized into modules, with readings, assignments, discussions, and quizzes. CC BY (Creative Commons - Attribution) license.
-
Art 100: Art History Survey, Pre-Historic to Contemporary (OER Canvas course)
To view: First, log into your TCC Canvas faculty account, then click on the Canvas Commons link/icon in the global navigation menu, and then finally click this link to view this Canvas course content. Canvas course shared by Chelsea Taylor, San Diego Community College District, 2020. Uses Textbook by Cengage "Exploring Art" by Margaret Lazzari, 5th Edition. "Uses Global Thematic Approach: Surveys Art History Globally, Geographically, and Chronologically." Organized into chapter modules, with lectures, assignments, discussions, and quizzes. Public domainvlicense.
-
ARTHS-197 History Baroque-20th Century Art (OER Canvas course)
To view: First, log into your TCC Canvas faculty account, then click on the Canvas Commons link/icon in the global navigation menu, and then finally click this link to view this Canvas course content. Online Canvas course shared by Kristen Koblik, Contra Costa Community College District, 2017. Uses a variety of OER and online readings and videos. Organized into modules, with readings, assignments, discussions, and quizzes. CC BY NC SA (Creative Commons - Attribution - NonCommercial -ShareAlike) license.
-
ARTHS-199: Contemporary Art History (OER Canvas course)
To view: First, log into your TCC Canvas faculty account, then click on the Canvas Commons link/icon in the global navigation menu, and then finally click this link to view this Canvas course content. Online Canvas course shared by Kristen Koblik, 2017. Uses a variety of OER and open access readings and videos. Organized into modules. CC BY NC SA (Creative Commons - Attribution - NonCommercial - ShareAlike) license.
-
Art History Glossary (OER Canvas course)
To view: First, log into your TCC Canvas faculty account, then click on the Canvas Commons link/icon in the global navigation menu, and then finally click this link to view this Canvas course content. Canvas course materials shared by Sheila Lynch, 2020. "Art History Glossary: Prehistory through Middle Ages Includes over 250 key terms with definitions and more than 100 images with attribution and links." CC-BY-NC (Creative Commons - Attribution - NonCommercial) license.
-
ASCCC OERI ARTH 110 - Glossary Project (OER Canvas course)
To view: First, log into your TCC Canvas faculty account, then click on the Canvas Commons link/icon in the global navigation menu, and then finally click this link to view this Canvas course content. Michelle Pilati Corselli, CCC Online Education Initiative, 2020. Designed to accompany SUNY's Art History I OER course, linked on this page. Online format via Canvas pages. CC BY SA (Creative Commons - Attribution - ShareAlike) license.
Textbooks, courses, and readers:
-
Art History I (OER course)
SUNY course via Lumen and currently hosted by LibreTexts. Organized into 15 modules, arranged chronologically through Gothic Art. Online and PDF formats. Course pages may have different CC (Creative Commons) open licenses. Eligible for Print on Demand.
-
Boundless Art History (OER course)
OER course from Boundless and currently hosted by LibreTexts. Modules organized by location/culture and time period, from Prehistoric Art to Global Art Since 1950 CE. Online and PDF formats. Course pages may have different CC (Creative Commons) open licenses. Eligible for Print on Demand.
-
Understanding New Media Art (OER textbook)
Elizabeth Bilyeu, et al., Open Oregon, 2022. "For introductory college art and art history courses that builds on scholarship in the field to propose a long historical context for the technologies and ideas related to New Media Art in the 21st century." Organized into 13 chapters, including printmaking, digital photography, light art, land art, performance art, and more. Online (Pressbooks), PDF, EPUB, and Common Cartridge formats. CC BY NC SA (Creative Commons Attribution NonCommercial ShareAlike) license. Eligible for Print on Demand.
-
Approaches to art history (OER ancillary materials)
Online course modules created by Smarthistory. Modules for Introduction to Art History; Language of Art History; Brief histories of Art and Cultures; Questions in Art History; and Current Issues in Art History. Thematic modules include readings, videos, and primary sources. Online format. CC BY NC SA (Creative Commons - Attribution - NonCommercial -ShareAlike) license.
-
Smarthistory books
High-quality art textbooks available to read online or print for free. Several volumes for AP Art History and Guides to Ancient Mediterranean Art. PDF format. CC BY NC SA (Creative Commons - Attribution - NonCommercial -ShareAlike) license. read online or print out for free
-
Art 205 "Western Art from 18th to Mid 20th Century" (OER textbook)
Katherine Taylor, Whatcom Community College, 2016. "Historical developments in Western art from 18th century to the mid-20th century. Focus on European and American art." Uses Smarthistory, Khan Academy, and other openly licensed sources and images. Organized into 11 modules + glossary. Online format. CC BY (Creative Commons - Attribution) license. Eligible for Print on Demand if materials are compiled into a print-ready format.
-
Art and Music since 1945 (OER course + guidebook)
Created by Robert Arnold and updated by Clayton Funk, Ohio State University, 2024. This open website is used for a course on Art and Music since 1945. Includes a collection of biographies of artists and musicians, a guidebook in PDF format, a sample syllabus, and assignments. CC BY (Creative Commons - Attribution) license. Eligible for Print on Demand if materials are compiled into a print-ready format.
Supplemental tools and materials (incl. primary sources, games, lessons, videos, exercises, etc.):
-
Art History - Crash Course video playlist
Crash Course video series of 20+ videos (each video around 10 mins.) with innovative graphics, 2024. "We’re going to learn about art history—the study of objects and images to understand their meaning and the people, places, and times they come from. Sarah Urist Green will equip you with a toolbox of terms to analyze and evaluate art, draw connections between different cultures and time periods, and ask big questions about how history gets made." Includes videos on: Why We Study Art, How to Look at Art, How Does Art Tell Stories, Origins of Color, and more. Crash Course videos are high-quality, with a mix of live-action and animated graphics. Not openly licensed but freely available to view, link, and embed into courses.
-
ArtxHistory (Open access collection)
an education resource of commonly available images, videos, mini-lectures and scholarship of the decades which influenced or defined the mid-century through contemporary art. Most links are concise in content, of prevalent works of art in the early or mature stage of an artist's career, sourced from museum, academic, journalistic and for profit institutions ... The core intent of ArtxHistory is to offer an art history that replaces the dominant white, male, heteronormative, advantaged, celebrity narratives for a more inclusive history balanced with the work of women, artists of color, LGBTQIA+ persons, intersectional makers, and the self-taught." Resources organized by time period, particularly useful for modern art. Most resources are linked to museum or other online sites. Original content is licensed under a CC BY NC SA (Creative commons - Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike) license.
-
Met Publications
"Five decades of Met publications on art history, available to read, download, and/or search for free." Includes exhibition and collection catalogs and museum guides, articles, and bulletins.
-
Guggenheim Museum Book Collection
Guggenheim Museum has released more than 200 of their publications, including books and exhibition catalogs, about modern art, via the Internet Archive site. Searchable by topics and subjects. PDF and ePUB formats. Open access.
-
MoMA exhibition history
Museum of Modern Art. "Exhibitions from our founding in 1929 to the present are
available online." Browsable by keyword, exhibition type, and year. Includes images, catalogs, press releases, and additional documents. Open access.
-
Project Gutenberg - Art Books
Art e-book collection on the Project Gutenberg site. Multiple formats available, including EPUB and plan HTML Text. All e-books on this site are in the Public Domain. Eligible for Print on Demand.
-
HathiTrust eBooks
HathiTrust Digital Library is a digital preservation repository and access platform. Items in the public domain are in full-view for everyone.
-
"History of Western Art" syllabus with open readings
Course syllabus developed by Art instructor at Portland Community College, 2018, links out to a variety of open/free readings. Scroll down to page 3 for course outline + linked reading assignments.
-
Open Arts Archive - Art History short films
Open access platform which provides over 50 free films to support the teaching of Art History, provided by the UK-based Open University. Short films range from 6-20 minutes long apiece. Browse films by film category or by film period. Open access; educational use encouraged.
-
Private Life of a Masterpiece - video series
"Private Life of a Masterpiece is a BBC arts documentary series that tells the stories behind great works of art reaching from the Renaissance to modern art." 26 episodes in this series. MP4 files via Google Drive. Can embed links within Canvas courses.
-
Art history videos and lessons (Khan Academy)
Khan Academy videos and lessons relating to art history. Content retains traditional copyright but are freely available to view and link to.
-
Art History Teaching Resources (AHTR)
Peer-populated platform for art history teachers. Includes lesson plans, syllabi, assignments and rubrics. CC BY NC (Creative Commons - Attribution - NonCommercial) license.
-
Smarthistory
High-quality art modules, essays, and videos. Click the "For Learning" navigation link to view modules and guides for art history, from prehistoric to contemporary time periods. Browsable by location and time period. Online format. CC BY NC SA (Creative Commons - Attribution - NonCommercial -ShareAlike) license.
-
Heilbrunn Timeline of Art History - the Metropolitan Museum of Art
"The Met’s Heilbrunn Timeline of Art History pairs essays and works of art with chronologies, telling the story of art and global culture through the Museum’s collection."
Folio preparation
Textbooks, courses, and readers:
-
The Path to Funding: The Artist’s Guide to Building Your Audience, Generating Income, and Realizing Career Sustainability (OER textbook)
Zane Forshee, et al., The Peabody Institute of The Johns Hopkins University, 2022. "[T]his book breaks down the process of developing an artist mission statement, generating new ideas for creative projects, and creating an engaging project description. It also covers methods for artists to identify their audience, generate a comprehensive project budget, collect compelling work samples, and identify potential funders to support their creative work. Written by a team of active artists and educators, this resource provides creatives with tools and strategies to communicate passionately and effectively about their work and take control of their financial and artistic future." Organized into 3 main sections, with 10 total chapters: The Artist, The Community, and The Creative Project. Faculty peer reviews of this text available on this site. Online (Pressbooks), PDF, EPUB, and Common Cartridge formats. CC BY (Creative Commons Attribution) license. Eligible for Print on Demand.
-
ART 297 Folio Preparation - Potential OER (Google doc)
Google doc of potential OER, open access, and TCC Library resources compiled by OER librarian Jennifer Snoek-Brown, originally compiled 2019. Document organized into weekly themed modules; resources are linked throughout.
Culturally responsive & inclusive pedagogy
The Culturally Responsive and Inclusive Pedagogy OER Subject Guide, linked below, provides a starting point for OER professional development and curricular materials relating to issues of equity, diversity, and inclusion; trauma-informed practices; and culturally responsive, inclusive, and anti-racist pedagogy and practices. This guide includes concepts and keywords; TCC OEDI resources; introductory and more in-depth professional development resources (toolkits, guides, etc.); curriculum resources (activities, assignments, etc.); OER and EDI rubrics; instructional design; accessibility; as well as EDI-focused OER in different disciplines across the curriculum.
