African American History
Popular Source Periodicals
Databases for newspaper and magazine articles
Popular Sources
Popular sources consist of short articles from newspapers and magazines (popular periodicals). They are generally written by journalists and often report on local events or topics of general interest. They can contain quotes from interviews or first-hand perspectives and opinions on a topic. Other popularly sources can be articles from general websites; however, the databases linked below largely contain popular periodicals.
Limit to magazines and/or newspapers using the databases filters. Or click the next tab to learn more about searching.
-
ProQuest Periodical Databases This link opens in a new window
Multiple periodical databases providing coverage of a wide range of topics, with a mix of popular and scholarly sources. Particularly good for current events.Learn how to search this database with this ProQuest Video Tutorial
-
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
(Ebsco) Periodical database. This multi-disciplinary database covers most disciplines taught at TCC. Most articles are scholarly.Learn how to search this database with this "Academic Search Complete Video Tutorial"
-
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Full text of a range of academic journal articles and primary sources. TCC's collection includes: "Archival Journal / Primary Source Collections." Good coverage of history, sociology, anthropology, literature, and economics. All images from Artstor are now on JSTOR! -
African American Studies Center This link opens in a new window
(Oxford) Articles from specialized encyclopedias of African American and African history and culture. Includes primary sources and the African American National Biography. -
Ethnic Newswatch This link opens in a new window
(ProQuest) News, culture and history from 200 plus publications from the ethnic, minority and Native press in English and Spanish.
-
Ethnic Diversity Source This link opens in a new window
(Ebsco) Covers the culture, traditions, social treatment, and lived experiences of ethnic groups in the United States, with peer-reviewed journals, magazines, e-books, biographies, and primary source documents.
-
New York Times This link opens in a new window
Note: First Time Users: Please visit the New York Times: Academic Pass Access Guide to register and activate your own student account.
-
U.S. West Newsstream This link opens in a new window
(ProQuest) Includes the full text of most larger Washington State newspapers.
Except where otherwise noted, the content in these guides by Tacoma Community College Library is licensed under CC BY SA 4.0.
This openly licensed content allows others to cite, share, or modify this content, with credit to TCC Library. When reusing or adapting this content, include this statement in the new document: This content was originally created by Tacoma Community College Library and shared with a CC BY SA 4.0 license.
Tacoma Community College Library - Building 7, 6501 South 19th Street, Tacoma, WA 98466 - P. 253.566.5087
Visit us on Instagram!