Tacoma Community College Library: African American History: Anti-Racism Resources

Anti-Racism Resources

Websites & online collections
Notable voices

Featured Organizations & Useful Websites

Linked below are websites, online exhibits, and other digital collections with resources on topics related to African American history in the US

#FightRacism at Stand Up For Human Rights
Find information and resources on this website which "aims to foster a global culture of tolerance, equality and anti-discrimination"
Being Antiracist
An article with linked resources from the "Talking About Race" guide from the National Museum of African American History and Culture
Black Perspectives
The award-winning blog of the African American Intellectual History Society (AAIHS). Includes articles on Black history topics written from a Black perspective.
Color of Change
"Color Of Change is the nation’s largest online racial justice organization...Color of Change leads campaigns that build real power for Black communities. "
The Movement for Black Lives
"The Movement for Black Lives (M4BL) formed in December of 2014, was created as a space for Black organizations across the country to debate and discuss the current political conditions, develop shared assessments of what political interventions were necessary in order to achieve key policy, cultural and political wins, convene organizational leadership in order to debate and co-create a shared movement wide strategy"
My Language. My Choice: Words Mean Things
An interactive resource from Puget Sound University (PLU) that outlines some key terms and definitions and includes a short Q&A assignment
Racial Equality Resource Guide
Created by the W.K. Kellogg Foundation, this online guide provides an array of resources aimed at Racial Equity
Racial Equity Tools
"Racial Equity Tools is designed to support individuals and groups working to achieve racial equity. It offers tools, research, tips, curricula, and ideas for people who want to increase their understanding and to help those working for racial justice at every level – in systems, organizations, communities, and the culture at large. "
SURJ: Showing Up for Racial Justice
"A home for white people working for justice"
Talking About Race: Being Antiracist
An interactive article and resources from the National Museum of African American History & Culture
21-Day Racial Equity Habit Building Challenge
Find readings, podcasts, linked resources and more - all aimed at bringing positive, long-lasting change in connection to "power, privilege, supremacy, oppression, and equity" From America And Moore - The Privilege Institute

Featured organizations

Anti-Defamation League (AD)
"ADL is the leading anti-hate organization in the world. Founded in 1913, its timeless mission is “to stop the defamation of the Jewish people and to secure justice and fair treatment to all.” Today, ADL continues to fight all forms of antisemitism and bias, using innovation and partnerships to drive impact. A global leader in combating antisemitism, countering extremism and battling bigotry wherever and whenever it happens, ADL works to protect democracy and ensure a just and inclusive society for all."
Black Lives Matter
Black Lives Matter Global Network Foundation, Inc. is a global organization in the US, UK, and Canada, whose mission is to eradicate white supremacy and build local power to intervene in violence inflicted on Black communities by the state and vigilantes.
BlackPast.org
This is a great resource for information on a wide variety of topics pertaining to African American History, Global African History, current events, and more. Find videos, audio, images, interactive timelines, biographical articles, and more.
more...less...
BlackPast.org is dedicated to providing the inquisitive public with comprehensive, reliable, and accurate information concerning the history of African Americans in the United States and people of African ancestry in other regions of the world. It is the aim of the founders and sponsors to foster understanding through knowledge in order to generate constructive change in our society.
The Center for Antiracist Research
"The Boston University Center for Antiracist Research represents a collaborative research and education effort across multiple disciplines to build a world where racial equity and social justice prevail."
Coalition of Anti-Racist Whites (CARW)
"The Coalition of Anti-Racist Whites (CARW) is a collective of white organizers in Seattle and King County working to undo systemic racism in partnership with organizers of BIPOC-led movements."
Equal Justice Initiative
"The Equal Justice Initiative is committed to ending mass incarceration and excessive punishment in the United States, to challenging racial and economic injustice, and to protecting basic human rights for the most vulnerable people in American society."
Human Rights Campaign
The Human Rights Campaign is America’s largest civil rights organization working to achieve gay, lesbian, bisexual and transgender equality. By inspiring and engaging all Americans, HRC strives to end discrimination against GLBT citizens and realize a nation that achieves fundamental fairness and equality for all.
National Association for the Advancement of Colored People (NAACP)
Established in 1909, the NAACP stands strong today as one of the leaders in fighting racism. Find resources and information on their website.
Race and Social Justice Initiative (RSJI)
"The Race and Social Justice Initiative (RSJI) is the City’s commitment to eliminate racial disparities and achieve racial equity in Seattle."
The Seattle Civil Rights & Labor History Project
A collection at the University of Washington, this project allows you to search essays, photos, maps, films, oral history interviews, and more.
Southern Poverty Law Center
"The Southern Poverty Law Center is dedicated to fighting hate and bigotry and to seeking justice for the most vulnerable members of our society."
more...less...
"Using litigation, education, and other forms of advocacy, the Center works toward the day when the ideals of equal justice and equal opportunity will be a reality."
"The SPLC was founded to ensure that the promises of the civil rights movement became a reality for all. Since our founding in 1971, we’ve won numerous landmark legal victories on behalf of the exploited, the powerless and the forgotten."

Notable Figures, Activists, and Authors

Learn more about the people listed below or read some of the books and articles some have written.

Angela Davis
bell hooks
Toni Morrison
Audre Lord
James Baldwin
Assata Shakur
Gwendolyn Brooks
Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie
Kimberly Crenshaw
Rachel Cargle
Blair Imani
Ibram X. Kendi
Ijeoma Oluo
Layla F. Saad
Ericka Hart
Rachel Ricketts
DeRay Mckesson

Search the Library Catalog

Consider searching some of the authors listed above in the library's catalog

Library Catalog This link opens in a new window
Find items on the TCC library's shelves, as well as digital books from our ebook collections.

Videos
Podcasts

Featured videos

Linked below are videos both freely online through websites like YouTube or TED, as well as from the library's collection in such databases as Kanopy, Films on Demand, or Academic Video Online. Click or hover your cursor over the icon to learn more about each item.

10 Ways To Promote Anti-Racism In The Workplace
A 2020 video by Forbes - streaming on Films on Demand
Confronting Racism In Higher Education
A 2020 video from THE (Times Higher Education) Video Source - Play
Here’s What Black People Really Want White People To Do
A video by MadamNoire
How to Be a Good Ally - Identity, Privilege, Resistance
Streaming on YouTube by Ahsante the Artist
The Foot Soldiers of White Supremacy
A short, 2022 video from the United States Holocaust Memorial Museum
more...less...
"Five years ago, white supremacists marched in Charlottesville, Virginia, to protest the removal of Confederate statues. Their flaming torches, racist and anti-Jewish slogans, and threats of violence stunned many Americans. A day later, one counter-protester was killed and others were injured. Since then, self-proclaimed neo-Nazis have drawn new recruits with the viral spread of conspiracy theories that stoke division and myths of white power and replacement. Watch experts discuss the history of beliefs that once seemed fringe and today fuel hatred and violence."
The Origin of Race in the USA
A short video from PBS Origins

Racial Equality: Being an Ally Starts with Your Intention
A video from VitalSmarts Video
TED Talks: How Studying Privilege Systems Can Strengthen Compassion
A talk by Peggy McIntosh at TEDxTimberlaneSchools
TED Talks: Let's Get Uncomfortable - It's Time to Talk About Race
A talk by Lori Mayo at TEDxWCMephamHigh
Turn Performative Wokeness Into Allyship
A short video from Jezebel
Under Our Skin: What Do We Mean When We Talk About Race?
A multimedia project by The Seattle Times
Nikole Hannah-Jones on “The 1619 Project,” Teaching Critical Race Theory & White Supremacy on Trial
From Democracy Now
Why is white supremacy growing in the United States?
A video from The Bottom Line from Al Jazeera English, ~25 minutes
more...less...
"Host Steve Clemons asks Kathleen Belew, author of A Field Guide to White Supremacy, and Wes Bellamy, author of When White Supremacy Knocks, about the future of race in American society."
Left of Black
From the John Hope Franklin Center at Duke University - "Left of Black is a web series featuring interviews with Black Studies scholars created and hosted by James B. Duke Distinguished Professor of African and African American Studies Mark Anthony Neal."

Featured podcasts

Linked here are full podcasts or podcast episodes, as well as short audio recordings from news programs such as National Public Radio (NPR) and the like.

The 1619 Project
"1619 is a New York Times audio series, hosted by Nikole Hannah-Jones, that examines the long shadow of American slavery. "
About Race [Podcast] A little over 50 episodes of a podcast called "Our National Conversation About Conversations About Race." - "Co-discussants Anna Holmes, Baratunde Thurston, Raquel Cepeda and Tanner Colby host a lively multiracial, interracial conversation about the ways we can’t talk, don’t talk, would rather not talk, but intermittently, fitfully, embarrassingly do talk about culture, identity, politics, power, and privilege in our pre-post-yet-still-very-racial America. This show is "About Race.""
Be Antiracist with Ibram X. Kendi [Podcast]
A podcast by Ibram X. Kendi - listen online or with Apple Podcasts
Code Switch - NPR
A podcast that talks about race and is hosted by journalists of color who "explore how it impacts every part of society — from politics and pop culture to history, sports and everything in between."
The Diversity Gap [Podcast]
This podcasts "explores the gap between our good intentions for diversity and the impact of those intentions. In this collection of conversations, you will be challenged to think about organizational culture and racial diversity in a fresh and nuanced way. You will also pick up on strategies and best practices to help you create the kind of culture you say you want–one where people from all racial backgrounds are equipped with what they need to thrive at work."
Ibram X. Kendi with Brene Brown on Unlocking Us (podcast)
An episode of "Unlocking Us" with Brene Brown speaking with "How to Be Anti-Racist" author, Kendi
Intersectionality Matters! hosted by Kimberlé Crenshaw [Podcast]
"Intersectionality Matters! is a podcast hosted by Kimberlé Crenshaw, an American civil rights advocate and a leading scholar of critical race theory."
Momentum: A Race Forward [Podcast]
"Momentum: A Race Forward Podcast features movement voices, stories, and strategies for racial justice."
Pod Save the People
"On Pod Save the People, DeRay Mckesson explores news, culture, social justice, and politics with Sam Sinyangwe, Kaya Henderson and De’Ara Balenger. They offer a unique take on the news, with a special focus on overlooked stories and topics that often impact people of color."
Seeing White
"Produced and hosted by John Biewen, Scene on Radio comes from the Center for Documentary Studies (CDS) at Duke University and is distributed by PRX"
Whites For Racial Equity
"Whites for Racial Equity is a group of white people who are committed to dismantling racism. We are taking responsibility for learning about systemic racism, our own internalized racism, white privilege, and ways to challenge it. "
Witness Black History [Podcast]
A podcast from the BBC World Service