- Tacoma Community College Library
- Tacoma Community College Library
- African American History
- Celebrating Black History
African American History
Celebrating Black History
"During National Black History Month, we celebrate the legacy of Black Americans whose power to lead, to overcome, and to expand the meaning and practice of American democracy has helped our Nation become a more fair and just society. This country was established upon the profound but simple idea that all people are created equal and should be treated equally throughout their lives. It is an idea America has never fully lived up to, but it is an idea we have never fully walked away from either. The struggles and challenges of the Black American story to make a way out of no way have been the crucible where our resolve to fulfill this vision has most often been tested...."
-President Biden, from "A Proclamation on National Black History Month, 2023,"
Image and text linked and cited below and used here under Fair Use guidelines.
Featured Websites & Collections
Linked below are websites, online exhibits, and other digital collections with resources on topics related to African American history in the United States.
- Black History MonthAimed at "paying tribute to the generations of African Americans who struggled with adversity to achieve full citizenship in American society" this website offers information, images, resources and more.
- Association for the Study of African American Life and HistorySearch for online articles, events, and more, on this website which aims to "promote, research, preserve, interpret and disseminate information about Black life, history and culture to the global community."
- Association for the Study of African American Life and HistorySearch for online articles, events, and more, on this website which aims to "promote, research, preserve, interpret and disseminate information about Black life, history and culture to the global community."
- Black History & CultureAn interactive collection of materials from Google Arts and Culture
- Black History: Moments in TimeSearch on this interactive timeline from "The Root" to read short articles on specific people or events in history.
- Black History: National ArchivesFind info on Slavery; Abolition and Emancipation; Reconstruction; Segregation; Black Migration; Civil Rights
- National Association for the Advancement of Colored People (NAACP)Established in 1909, the NAACP stands strong today as one of the leaders in fighting racism. Find resources and information on their website.
- National Museum of African American History and CultureIn partnership with the Smithsonian - "A place to explore history and culture through an
African American lens" - National Park Service: African American HeritageFind articles and videos with info about "Places of Struggle, Community and Triumph" in African American US history
- BlackPast.orgThis is a great resource for information on a wide variety of topics pertaining to African American History, Global African History, current events, and more. Find videos, audio, images, interactive timelines, biographical articles, and more.
- People in Black HistoryFrom the National Archive collection "This page serves as an index to the prominent figures featured throughout the Black History Portal webpages."
- The Activist History ReviewA publication with articles on a wide variety of topics with links to additional resources, and an online course
- PushBlack: Daily inspiring Black Stories"PushBlack was created to bridge the gap between the past and present by sharing empowering stories intersecting news and history."
- Rediscovering Black History"The blog of the Black History Guide, sharing records relating to the Black Experience at the National Archives."
Black History Month
- 28 Days of Black HistoryAn article with linked resources and videos from the National Park Services
- 400 Years of African American HistoryAn article, with linked resources and video, from the National Parks Service
- Celebrating Black History Month, Part I: Slavery and AbolitionA article, with linked resources, from a blog by the National Endowment for the Humanities
- The Charles H. Wright Museum of African American History"Through dozens of permanent and visiting exhibitions, over 150 learning and engagement programs, as well as education and research opportunities for adults, children, and visiting scholars, The Wright inspires visitors toward greater understanding, acceptance, and unity by reflecting on the triumphs and tragedies of African-American history."
- Here's the story behind Black History Month — and why it's celebrated in FebruaryA 2022 article from National Public Radio (NPR)
- The History of Black History MonthAn article from BlackPast.org
- Library of Congress: African American Perspectives"African American Perspectives" gives a panoramic and eclectic review of African American history and culture and is primarily comprised of two collections in the Rare Book and Special Collections Division: the African American Pamphlet Collection and the Daniel A.P. Murray Collection with a date range of 1822 through 1909. Most were written by African-American authors, though some were written by others on topics of particular importance in African-American history.
- A Proclamation on National Black History Month, 2023An article from the White House
- Slavery By Another Name: Interactive MapFrom PBS' American Experiences comes an interactive timeline and map regarding slavery and reconstruction in US History
- Smithsonian Education - Black History MonthFrom the Smithsonian website, find a collection of "learning lab" materials and related resources for "Black History Month"
Featured Videos
Linked below are videos both freely online through websites like YouTube or TED, as well as from the library's collection in such databases as Kanopy, Films on Demand, or Academic Video Online. Click or hover your cursor over the icon to learn more about each item.
- Black American History - Crash Course video playlistCrashCourse video series (6-13 min. each) with innovative graphics, last updated 2022. Focuses on major events, issues, and figures in Black American history. Crash Course videos are high-quality, with a mix of live-action and animated graphics. Not openly licensed but freely available to view, link, and embed into courses.
- I Am Not Your Negro: James Baldwin and Race in AmericaAn Oscar-nominated documentary narrated by Samuel L. Jackson, I AM NOT YOUR NEGRO explores the continued peril America faces from institutionalized racism.
- Say It Loud - YouTube Channel"Say It Loud is a PBS Digital Studios series that celebrates Black culture, context, and history. Hosts Evelyn from the Internets and Victor Jackson give you a comedic take on identity and pop culture, from Black pride movements to Black Twitter shenanigans. The show explores the complexity of Black experience and finds joy in the many ways Black folks have influenced American life."
- Stories to Celebrate Black History MonthAn article with featured videos/stories from StoryCorps
- Tulsa 1921: An American TragedyA 43+ minute CBS News Special looking at the 100 year anniversary of the Tulsa Race Massacre
Featured Podcasts
Linked here are full podcasts or podcast episodes, as well as short audio recordings from news programs such as National Public Radio (NPR) and the like.
- 15 Minute History [Podcast]"This podcast series is devoted to short, accessible discussions of important topics in world history, United States history, and Texas history with the award winning faculty and graduate students at the University of Texas at Austin, and distinguished visitors to our campus. They are meant to be a resource for both teachers and students, and can be enjoyed by anyone with an interest in history."
- 70 Million [Podcast]"Our Peabody-nominated 70 Million documentary podcast investigates how locals are addressing the role of jails in their backyards. Our reporters travel around the country and hear from people directly impacted by encounters with jails and adjacent policies, and from those committed to reversing the negative effects on people and communities."
- The 1619 Project"1619 is a New York Times audio series, hosted by Nikole Hannah-Jones, that examines the long shadow of American slavery. "
- ACLU: At Liberty - Black Women Take the Supreme CourtAn 34-minute episode of the ACLU podcast called "At Liberty"
- The Anti-Racism Daily Podcast"The Anti-Racism Daily is a media platform that provides education and actions to dismantle white supremacy. "
- Be Antiracist with Ibram X. Kendi [Podcast]A podcast by Ibram X. Kendi - listen online or with Apple Podcasts
- Blackbelt Voices [Podcast]"The Blackbelt Voices podcast tells stories from and about Black folks down South that honor our history, celebrate our culture, and shape our future. Through first-person narratives and in-depth conversations, hosts Adena J. White, Kara Wilkins, and Katrina Dupins share the experiences of Black Southerners living in, loving, and reconciling with the region we call home."
- Black History in Two Minutes (or So) [Podcast]This podcast is "Black History delivered in short, lively, fact-packed stories accessible to people of all ages and education levels. It’s fast, accurate U.S. history available in free video podcast recordings describing major historical events and introducing less well-known experiences involving Black Americans"
- Chasing Justice [Podcast]"Chasing Justice is a podcast about criminal justice reform. DA Boudin and Rachel Marshall bring a unique perspective to criminal justice issues as former public defenders now working as progressive prosecutors. Each episode explores a criminal justice topic through the lens of the progressive prosecution movement."
- Code Switch - NPRA podcast that talks about race and is hosted by journalists of color who "explore how it impacts every part of society — from politics and pop culture to history, sports and everything in between."
- Dig: A History Podcast [Podcast]"Dig: A History Podcast is a narrative-driven, open access, and accessible digital history project bridging the worlds of popular and academic history with an explicitly feminist perspective."
- Momentum: A Race Forward [Podcast]"Momentum: A Race Forward Podcast features movement voices, stories, and strategies for racial justice."
- Seeing White"Produced and hosted by John Biewen, Scene on Radio comes from the Center for Documentary Studies (CDS) at Duke University and is distributed by PRX"
- Seizing Freedom"The story of the end of the Civil War you've probably been taught is that the slaves were freed by Northern white men (and maybe a handful of famous Underground Railroad conductors). What's missing? The story of how Black Americans risked their lives to fight for their own visions of what freedom could be—struggling for their dignity in the face of horrific violence. Seizing Freedom tells the stories of these unsung American heroes."
- Pod Save the People"On Pod Save the People, DeRay Mckesson explores news, culture, social justice, and politics with Sam Sinyangwe, Kaya Henderson and De’Ara Balenger. They offer a unique take on the news, with a special focus on overlooked stories and topics that often impact people of color."
- Whites For Racial Equity"Whites for Racial Equity is a group of white people who are committed to dismantling racism. We are taking responsibility for learning about systemic racism, our own internalized racism, white privilege, and ways to challenge it. "
Sources used on this page:
Biden, J. R., Jr. (2023, January 31). A Proclamation on National Black History Month, 2023 [Speech transcript]. The White House. Retrieved February 23, 2023, from https://www.whitehouse.gov/briefing-room/presidential-actions/2023/01/31/a-proclamation-on-national-black-history-month-2023/?utm_source=link
"Black History Month Design" by Marina Shemesh is in the Public Domain, CC0
Featured Books & eBooks
Use the arrows to scroll through titles; click on the titles for more info and/or access
Selma: The Bridge to the Ballot
Film Collection
I Am Not Your Negro: James Baldwin and Race in America
Film Collection (And streaming online in Kanopy)
The Help [DVD]
Film Collection
More Than a Month
Film Collection
Freedom Summer
Film Collection
The Civil War [DVD]
Film Collection, 1-5
Hidden Colors 3 : the Rules of Racism
Film Collection
4 Little Girls
Film Collection
Except where otherwise noted, the content in these guides by Tacoma Community College Library is licensed under CC BY SA 4.0.
This openly licensed content allows others to cite, share, or modify this content, with credit to TCC Library. When reusing or adapting this content, include this statement in the new document: This content was originally created by Tacoma Community College Library and shared with a CC BY SA 4.0 license.
Tacoma Community College Library - Building 7, 6501 South 19th Street, Tacoma, WA 98466 - P. 253.566.5087
Visit us on Instagram!