African American History
Library Resources
Use the tabs to the left to search through the library's various collections:
Background Articles
-
Find overview articles from subject specific encyclopedias
Books & eBooks
- Books are a great source for finding historical info and often include primary source content
Popular Sources
- Search through articles from newspapers, magazines, and other popular-sourced media
Scholarly Journal Articles
- Tap into the scholarly conversation taking place in the scholarship on these topics by searching in academic/scholarly & trade journals.
Videos & Podcasts
- Multimedia sources like these are great as they often feature conversations with experts on various topics.
Image Source:Left arrow icons created by Freepik - Flaticon
Background Resources
Reference or Overview Articles
Before there was Wikipedia, there were printed encyclopedias. The encyclopedias that you can access below are subject-specific encyclopedias that provide a definition of a term or topic, as well as a general overview and history of the topic.
- Gale eBooks This link opens in a new window
Digitized reference works, covering many disciplines. Very useful for background information on a topic. - CQ Researcher This link opens in a new window
These weekly reports provide thoughtfully written analyses of social, economic and political issues. Every issue features an extensive report on one topic. - Points of View Reference Center This link opens in a new window
Articles on 400 topics, each with an overview and an argument, and many with opposing arguments. Also includes primary sources.
Search Tips
- Quick Guide: Gale EBooksView or download this quick guide to learn more about what kinds of information this databases houses and how to access it. (Previously called Gale Virtual Reference Library, GVRL)
- Quick Guide: CQ ReseacherView or download this quick guide to learn more about what kinds of information this databases houses and how to access it.
Except where otherwise noted, the content in these guides by Tacoma Community College Library is licensed under CC BY SA 4.0.
This openly licensed content allows others to cite, share, or modify this content, with credit to TCC Library. When reusing or adapting this content, include this statement in the new document: This content was originally created by Tacoma Community College Library and shared with a CC BY SA 4.0 license.
Tacoma Community College Library - Building 7, 6501 South 19th Street, Tacoma, WA 98466 - P. 253.566.5087
Visit us on Instagram!