Tutoring and Academic Skills - TCC OER Subject Guide: OER starting points
This guide compiles starting points for OER and freely available resources for Tutoring and Academic Skills topics. This OER subject guide was created for TCC faculty and staff and reflects TCC courses and curriculum. The purpose of this guide is to help staff and faculty more easily find and review OER in their areas so that they can make decisions about quality, accuracy, relevancy, and potential use.
OER starting points for Tutoring and Academic Skills, by topic and material type
Peer tutoring and support
Textbooks, courses, and readers:
- Tutor Handbook: A Guide to Foundational Tutoring Skills (OER guide)Penny Feltner and James R. Gapinski, Chemeketa Community College, published by Open Oregon, 2021. "Each chapter covers a foundational topic in peer tutoring, providing real-world examples, prompts for reflection, and exercises for practice." Organized into 12 parts. Online format. CC BY NC SA (Creative Commons Attribution NonCommercial ShareAlike) license. Eligible for Print on Demand.
- Post-Secondary Peer Support Training Curriculum (OER guide)Jenn Cusick, BCcampus, 2022. "This adaptable training resource covers foundational peer support training for post-secondary students with ways to respond to peers with the core values of peer support." Developed with EDI and trauma-informed care principles. Includes a facilitator's guide with exercises. Created for British Columbia but can be used/adapted elsewhere. Online, EPUB, PDF, course cartridge, and editable OpenDocument formats. CC BY (Creative Commons Attribution) license. Eligible for Print on Demand.
- Level One Peer Tutoring Fundamentals and Integration Workbook (OER guide/workshop)Alice Macpherson and Christina Page, Kwantlen Polytechnic University Learning Centres (Canada), last updated 2020. Developed as part of a KPU Learning Centres series of tutoring and academic skills workshops. Organized into 2 main sections: I. Fundamentals Training and Integration Exercises, with introductory topics, such as tutoring expectations and planning tutoring sessions. Online, PDF, and editable OpenDocument formats. CC BY NC SA (Creative Commons Attribution NonCommercial ShareAlike) license. Eligible for Print on Demand.
- Level Two Peer Tutoring Fundamentals and Integration Workbook (OER guide/workshop)Alice Macpherson and Christina Page, Kwantlen Polytechnic University Learning Centres (Canada), created 2019, last updated 2020. Developed as part of a KPU Learning Centres series of tutoring and academic skills workshops. Organized into 2 main sections: I. Fundamentals Training and Integration Exercises, with more advanced tutoring topics, such as managing personal stress and evaluating tutees' needs Online, PDF, and editable OpenDocument formats. CC BY NC SA (Creative Commons Attribution NonCommercial ShareAlike) license. Eligible for Print on Demand.
- Level Three Peer Tutoring Fundamentals and Integration Workbook (OER guide/workshop)Alice Macpherson and Christina Page, Kwantlen Polytechnic University Learning Centres (Canada), last updated 2020. Developed as part of a KPU Learning Centres series of tutoring and academic skills workshops. Organized into 2 main sections: I. Fundamentals Training and Integration Exercises, with more advanced topics, such as analyzing difficult tutoring situations and communicating tutoring accomplishments. Online, PDF, and editable OpenDocument formats. CC BY NC SA (Creative Commons Attribution NonCommercial ShareAlike) license. Eligible for Print on Demand.
- Starting A Conversation About Mental Health: Foundational Training for Students (OER guide)UBC Student Health and Wellbeing Staff, BCcampus, 2021. Facilitator’s Guide for Use with Post-Secondary Students. "This adaptable training resource covers foundational mental health and wellness information for post-secondary students and ways to respond to peers who are experiencing distress. It can be used for a two-to three-hour synchronous training session or for self-study." Includes handouts and a PowerPoint presentation. Online, EPUB, course cartridge with links, and PDF formats. CC BY (Creative Commons Attribution) license. Eligible for Print on Demand.
Writing and reading skills
Textbooks, courses, and readers:
- Effective Editing (OER guide/workshop)Christina Page, Kwantlen Polytechnic University (Canada), 2019. Developed as part of a KPU Learning Centres series of tutoring and academic skills workshops. "Improve your writing by developing strong editing skills. In this interactive online workshop, you will learn a systematic process for editing your writing. You will also learn some effective tips for proofreading grammar, spelling, and mechanics." Organized into 5 sections. Online format. CC BY SA (Creative Commons Attribution ShareAlike) license. Eligible for Print on Demand.
- Reading Texts: An Interactive Workshop (OER guide/workshop)KPU Learning Centres and Christina Page, Kwantlen Polytechnic University (Canada), 2018. Developed as part of a KPU Learning Centres series of tutoring and academic skills workshops. "Interactive workshop guides you through a series of videos and exercises to help you read efficiently and purposefully." Organized into 9 sections. Online format. CC BY NC SA (Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike) license. Eligible for Print on Demand.
- Academic Writing Basics (OER guide/workshop)Megan Robertson, Kwantlen Polytechnic University (Canada), 2019. "[I]nteractive activities and strategies for developing academic writing skills. Learners have the opportunity to review key parts of the writing process from interpreting their assignment instructions, organizing their ideas, drafting their writing, and revising their work.." Organized into 19 sections. Online, PDF, and EPUB formats. CC BY NC SA (Creative Commons Attribution NonCommercial ShareAlike) license. Eligible for Print on Demand.
Related OER subject guides:
College success skills
Textbooks, courses, and readers:
- Time Management for Busy Students (OER guide/workshop)Adam Vincent, Christina Page and Kwantlen Polytechnic University (Canada), 2018. Developed as part of a KPU Learning Centres series of tutoring and academic skills workshops. Interactive modules and activities focused on 3 different time management styles/pathways: for students trying to balance studying while working, for students transitioning to college from high school, and for students who are procrastinators. Online format. CC BY SA (Creative Commons Attribution ShareAlike) license. Eligible for Print on Demand.
- Learning to Learn Online (OER textbook)Christina Page and Adam Vincent, Kwantlen Polytechnic University (Canada), 2018. "[H]elps you prepare for online learning success by introducing you to the online learning environment and your role as a learner within it." Incorporates a lot of self-reflection exercises throughout, particularly when it comes to adjusting the ways of thinking and interacting in an online learning environment. Peer reviews of this text emphasize how each chapter is already set up like a module, with readings, videos, and practice built in. Multiple formats, including online, print PDF, digital PDF, and editable OpenDocument format. CC BY SA (Creative Commons - Attribution - ShareAlike) license. Eligible for Print on Demand.
- Learning to Learn (OER textbook)Julie Hovden, et al., College of the Canyons, 2020. Organized into 13 lessons, including lessons for successful learning strategies, active listening, reading to learn, etc. PDF and editable Word formats. CC BY (Creative Commons - Attribution) license. Eligible for Print on Demand.
Related OER subject guides:
Research skills
For OER on research skills, please explore the Research Skills OER Subject Guide, linked below:
TCC tutoring resources
- Online Tutoring Support @ TCCSelf-enroll in this Canvas course for online tutoring support.
- TCC Writing & Tutoring CenterInfo and contact info for TCC's WTC services
- TCC Business Education CenterGet support and help with Business courses. Contact the BEC for more information on how they can help!
- Science, Engineering, & Math Tutoring CenterNeed help with math? SEM TC is the place for you. You can find study space, books, tutoring help, and more! Check out the website for more info.
- TCC Supplemental InstructionNeed help with sciences courses? Or perhaps there is another class you're struggling with? Contact the Supplemental Instruction center and see what help they can provide!
Recent additions
Anything marked on this OER subject guide with a 
symbol has been published and/or updated within the last 2 years. The OER subject guides are annually reviewed and updated by TCC faculty librarians.
Also explore all recent additions to OER subject guides below:
- Recent additions - 2024Explore the list of recently added OER titles to TCC's OER Subject Guides in 2024.
- Recent additions - 2023Explore this list of recently added OER titles to TCC's OER Subject Guides in 2023.
Culturally responsive and inclusive pedagogy
The Culturally Responsive and Inclusive Pedagogy OER Subject Guide, linked below, provides a starting point for OER professional development and curricular materials relating to issues of equity, diversity, and inclusion; trauma-informed practices; and culturally responsive, inclusive, and anti-racist pedagogy and practices. This guide includes concepts and keywords; TCC OEDI resources; introductory and more in-depth professional development resources (toolkits, guides, etc.); curriculum resources (activities, assignments, etc.); OER and EDI rubrics; instructional design; accessibility; as well as EDI-focused OER in different disciplines across the curriculum, including College Success and Research Skills.
Related guides for FACULTY/STAFF
Related guides for STUDENTS
- Argument and Research
- Brainstorm and explore topics
- Citing sources
- Evaluating for Credible, Authoritative, Reliable Sources
- Fake News, Fact-checking, and Bias
- Finding Original (or "Scientific") Research Articles
- Finding Peer-Reviewed Articles
- Finding scholarly articles in the Social Sciences
- Primary sources
- Searching for Articles in the Periodicals A-Z Search
How to add to this guide
Please provide feedback!
Email your OER librarian at oer@tacomacc.edu with any suggestions, additions -- even deletions! -- in order to improve this OER subject guide for TCC faculty and staff.
How does this guide incorporate TCC faculty/staff feedback?
When TCC faculty and staff provide recommendations or feedback about specific resources on this guide, these personalized TCC comments are added in "more..." drop-down links below the specific resource(s).
Here's an example of a "more..." link below a resource:
When you click the "more..." link, then the personalized comment appears below. So when you see a "more..." drop-down link, please click it and see what your fellow TCC faculty members have shared!
Thank you for helping improve this OER subject guide!
Your OER librarian
Office: Bldg 7, Library (please wear a face mask)
Phone: 253.460.3936 (forwards to my email)
Book an appointment Click the "book now" button above to book a personal appointment with me via Zoom.
Attributions
Except where otherwise noted, the content in this guide was compiled by Jennifer Snoek-Brown, Tacoma Community College Library, and is licensed under a CC BY SA 4.0 license.
Except where otherwise noted, the content in these guides by Tacoma Community College Library is licensed under CC BY SA 4.0.
This openly licensed content allows others to cite, share, or modify this content, with credit to TCC Library. When reusing or adapting this content, include this statement in the new document: This content was originally created by Tacoma Community College Library and shared with a CC BY SA 4.0 license.
Tacoma Community College Library - Building 7, 6501 South 19th Street, Tacoma, WA 98466 - P. 253.566.5087
Visit us on Instagram!