ENGL 102: Davis, L. (Spring 2024): Citing in MLA
What is MLA?
What is MLA?
What is MLA? MLA style refers to the rules created by the Modern Language Association for formatting papers, as well as for how to do in-text citations and end-of-paper citations (Works Cited). MLA style is used primarily by authors in the humanities, especially literature.
MLA online style guides
Additional MLA style guides
Visit Purdue University's Online Writing Lab (OWL) MLA Style Guide for a sample paper and instructions for citing individual sources such as newspaper articles, scholarly journals and books.
OWL also provides general information about MLA style in an MLA Style Workshop.
- The Purdue OWL: MLA Style Citation GuideThis resource, updated to reflect the MLA Handbook (8th ed.), offers examples for the general format of MLA research papers, in-text citations, endnotes/footnotes, and the Works Cited page.
Please use the link below to visit TCC's Citation Guide if you are interested in learning more about:
- Why citation is important
- What, when, where and how to cite
- Integrating your research into your writing
- Word tips for creating works cited lists
TCC's MLA style handouts
MLA style handouts
Here are some handouts (in both .docx and .pdf formats) featuring examples of citations for sources you might find through TCC's Library and the Web. This first handout is for the full works cited page.
Works Cited
- MLA style works cited guide (8th ed.) 2018 [doc]This double-sided .doc handout provides some example citations for commonly used sources.
- MLA style works cited guide (8th ed.) 2018 [pdf]This double-sided .pdf handout provides some example citations for commonly used sources.
In-text citations
- MLA style in-text citations guide (8th ed.) 2018 [doc]This double-sided .dochandout provides some example in-text citations for commonly used sources.
- MLA style in-text citations guide (8th ed.) 2018 [pdf]This double-sided .pdf handout provides some example in-text citations for commonly used sources.
Citing social media
- MLA style social media citations (9th ed.) 2021 [.docx]This double-sided .docx handout provides some example Works Cited section citations for social media content.
- MLA style social media citations (9th ed.) 2021 [.pdf]This double-sided .pdf handout provides some example Works Cited section citations for social media content.
MLA style books in the TCC Library
MLA handbook, 8th ed. by Call Number: Reference LB2369 .G53 2016Publication Date: 2016Our copies of the new edition for the MLA Handbook are available in our reference section for in-library use. There is also a copy available to check out in Reserves at the front Front Desk.
A writer's reference with 2016 MLA update by Call Number: Reference PE 1408 H 277 2016Publication Date: 2016
Except where otherwise noted, the content in these guides by Tacoma Community College Library is licensed under CC BY SA 4.0.
This openly licensed content allows others to cite, share, or modify this content, with credit to TCC Library. When reusing or adapting this content, include this statement in the new document: This content was originally created by Tacoma Community College Library and shared with a CC BY SA 4.0 license.
Tacoma Community College Library - Building 7, 6501 South 19th Street, Tacoma, WA 98466 - P. 253.566.5087
Visit us on Instagram!