ENGL 102: Davis, L. (Spring 2024): Expanding on issues in the databases
Accessing other databases
Other databases, like Academic Search Complete and ProQuest, will contain a mix of newspaper, magazine, and academic journal articles. These might be good places to find analysis of issues related to your topic, and also expert opinions about your issues. Yes, opinions will be biased! But in academic research, the opinions of experts are generally considered to carry weight in an argument.
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
(Ebsco) Periodical database. This multi-disciplinary database covers most disciplines taught at TCC. Most articles are scholarly, but there are also many newspaper and magazine articles, too. - ProQuest Periodical Databases This link opens in a new window
Multiple periodical databases providing coverage of a wide range of topics, with a mix of popular and scholarly sources. Particularly good for current events.
To access either of these databases, click on the links above, or follow the steps below:
1. Log onto the portal
2. Click the Library button under "Quick Links"
3. Go to our website.
4. Click the "Research Databases" tab
5. Scroll down, or use the alphabetical horizontal menu.
Searching the databases
Here's a screenshot of an Academic Search Complete search. Some databases have one search box, and others (like this one) have multiple search boxes.
Expanding your research - video lesson
Except where otherwise noted, the content in these guides by Tacoma Community College Library is licensed under CC BY SA 4.0.
This openly licensed content allows others to cite, share, or modify this content, with credit to TCC Library. When reusing or adapting this content, include this statement in the new document: This content was originally created by Tacoma Community College Library and shared with a CC BY SA 4.0 license.
Tacoma Community College Library - Building 7, 6501 South 19th Street, Tacoma, WA 98466 - P. 253.566.5087
Visit us on Instagram!