Tacoma Community College Archives: Archives News

October & November 2024 updates

Happy winter, archives friends! Yeah okay it's been a while since I gave an update, but the work continues.

Digital Teaching Toolkits

Research, writing, and digitization continues for the toolkits on McNeil student involvement in ASTCC government, indigenous and Latin American student protests of the drama production The Fantasticks, and other topics. The Obi 11 demands toolkit is in final draft form, awaiting the supporting materials of some intro to primary sources and archives videos. The first of those videos is being reviewed by one of our instructional designers for further edits.

Work has also continued on tidying up the transcripts from the 50th anniversary interviews, especially those that had to be machine-generated recently. As transcripts are finalized, they are added to the collection on our Digital Collections site. A few new collections have been digitized but not yet uploaded... stay tuned for early student yearbook Cronus.

Innovation Fund by the Numbers

OCTOBER NEW SCANS: 495 pages (16 Bulletins, 3 Challenge issues, 7 Board meeting packets)
NOVEMBER NEW SCANS: 229 pages (4 Cronus yearbook volumes)
OCTOBER NEW UPLOADS: 17 digital objects (17 Board meeting packets)
NOVEMBER NEW UPLOADS: 1 digital object (1 interview transcript)

RUNNING SCANS TOTAL: 4,145 pages (135 Challenge issues, 195 news clippings, 53 Board meeting packets, 32 Bulletin issues, 4 President's Reports, and 4 Cronus yearbook volumes)
RUNNING UPLOADS TOTAL: 361 digital objects uploaded to the Digital Collections site