The collection contains an almost complete collection of course catalogs, advising materials, promotional materials to boost enrollment, student handbooks, as well as other advising materials and resources.
This collection contains a variety of diverse materials from Tacoma Community College's Office of the President, beginning in 1967 with the Thornton Ford administration, and continuing to the year 2014, when President Pamela J. Transue retired after 17 years of service to the institution and the surrounding community. The materials that make up the series and subseries in this collection include mail and email correspondences, photographs, presidents' reports, and notes from the Office of the President to the Board of Trustees about activities and issues the college has been faced with over the decades. Specifically, these include budget overview analyses, reviews of legislative sessions, building renovation plans, and meetings with various committees and organizations that relate to higher education from the local to the state and national level. Of particular note are regular updates regarding the Multi-Cultural Committee, the President's Committee on Diversity, and updates regarding several climate impact surveys on campus. Notes regarding meetings and agendas with faculty, staff, and student groups such as the Black Student Union can also be found here.
The records of the Student Life department contain department files, posters, and photographs of staff and students. Also contains the records of the Associated Students of Tacoma Community College including handbook, status and budget reports, election records, scrapbooks, and the Cronus, a photographic yearbook created between 1966 and 1972.
The collection contains records from the Tacoma Community College Library such as photographs, artifacts, and ephemera from library events; and publications such as progress reports, library handbooks, collection development policies, and bibliographies authored by library staff.
This collection of mixed materials includes black-and-white and color photographic prints, e-mail correspondences, hiring brochures for vacant senior positions within the program hierarchy, advisory committee meeting agendas, roll call, and minutes and reviews and evaluations. These evaluations are both state board reviews, and template evaluation sheets for departmental programming, and some were provided for use by the Department for Health and Social Services, and the American Heart Association. Nursing programs covered include the Diagnostic Medical Sonography program, the Associates Degree in Nursing program, the Paramedic and Emergency Medical Technican program, the Emergency Medical Services Training program, and finally, the Health Information Technology program.
Records relate to the Tacoma Community College Foundation and the offices of Institutional Advancement. The collection contains promotional videos created by the TCC Foundation on the topic of scholarships and student success, photographs from the Tacoma Wine Festival and from Recognition fundraising events, and one binder of promotional materials from the 1994-1996 wine festivals.
The collection contains records of the Department of Information and Publications (Marketing). Includes department files, news releases, press clippings, photographs, posters, as well as audio, video and film recordings.
The collection contains records of academic departments in the Humanities and Social Sciences. The bulk of the materials are video recordings of drama and music performances from the mid-1980s to the mid-2000s. Other items include ephemera and information on the Student Film Showcase produced by a Humanities course, and a scrapbook created by the Music department.
This collection contains documentation of the Tacoma Community College's sports history. Beginning with 1967 and continuing on until 2013, the collection contains photographs from the men's and women's basketball, cross-country, track and field, soccer, and other teams. Additional programs, publications, and schedules can be found within these folders, arranged by sport.
Search the Archives
Search the TCC Archives Collection Database (will take you to new page)
Transferring Records to the Archives
Are you a TCC employee or student organization representative with inactive records that you think might be of interest to the TCC Archives? Contact the Archivist for an appraisal or to start a conversation about a records transfer! For more information about what we're looking for, see our Collection Development Policy.
Except where otherwise noted, the content in these guides by Tacoma Community College Library is licensed under CC BY SA 4.0.
This openly licensed content allows others to cite, share, or modify this content, with credit to TCC Library. When reusing or adapting this content, include this statement in the new document: This content was originally created by Tacoma Community College Library and shared with a CC BY SA 4.0 license.
Tacoma Community College Library - Building 7, 6501 South 19th Street, Tacoma, WA 98466 - P. 253.566.5087