- Tacoma Community College Library
- Tacoma Community College Library
- Emergency Medical & Health Services
- Finding Books & Reference Sources
Emergency Medical & Health Services
Finding Books & Reference Sources
Finding Books & Background Information
Use the catalog linked below to search for books or ebooks in the library's collections.
- Library Catalog This link opens in a new window
Find items on the TCC library's shelves, as well as digital books from our ebook collections.
eBook Collections
You can also search for ebooks directly in the library's ebook databases linked below.
- eBook Collection (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Over 200,000 electronic books, covering a large selection of multidisciplinary academic subjects. Books can be read through a web browser or downloaded. - Ebook Central This link opens in a new window
Over 180,000 electronic books, with broad coverage on academic topics. Viewable with your web browser; also downloadable to e-readers or e-reader apps with some restrictions.
Find Reference Books & Overview Articles
Use the linked database below to search for overview articles from subject-specific encyclopedias. These articles often provide general definitions of terms, and cover the basic who, what, why, when, and how types of broad info on a wide range of topics.
- Gale eBooks This link opens in a new window
Digitized reference works, covering many disciplines. Very useful for background information on a topic.
Featured Sample Article
- Emergency Health ServicesA 2020 article from the Gale Encyclopedia of Public Health
This database is great to find short entries from subject-specific encyclopedias. Below is a short list of medical titles in the collection:
- Encyclopedia of Health Communication
- The Gale Encyclopedia of Nursing and Allied Health
- The Gale Encyclopedia of Emerging Diseases
- The Gale Encyclopedia of Public Health
- Ethnicity, Race, and Disease Sourcebook
- The Gale Encyclopedia of Environmental Health
Featured books - Click to learn more
Career Information
Career Information
The guide linked below has great resources for finding careers - including those in the health care field. See the tab for "Online Career Info" to locate such sources as the Occupational Outlook Handbook - one government resource that provides up to date information on specific careers.
Except where otherwise noted, the content in these guides by Tacoma Community College Library is licensed under CC BY SA 4.0.
This openly licensed content allows others to cite, share, or modify this content, with credit to TCC Library. When reusing or adapting this content, include this statement in the new document: This content was originally created by Tacoma Community College Library and shared with a CC BY SA 4.0 license.
Tacoma Community College Library - Building 7, 6501 South 19th Street, Tacoma, WA 98466 - P. 253.566.5087
Visit us on Instagram!