Career & Resumes Research Guide
Career & Resumes Research Guide
This guide provides information about resumes, cover letters, interviewing and more. You'll find books, videos, handouts, websites and other resources available to TCC students. Click the tabs to the left to navigate through the pages.
Check out the Career Collection at the Library
The library now has it's own "Career Collection" of books! The collection includes physical books as well as ebooks - books about creating resumes and cover letters, carrying out job searches, interviewing, and even finding inspiration for choosing a career path. Consider the featured books below.
Search for Books & eBooks
You can search the library catalog for books by doing a keyword search by clicking the link below. The library has approximately 50,000 print books that you can check out and 80,000+ electronic books (e-books).
- Library Catalog This link opens in a new window
Find items on the TCC library's shelves, as well as digital books from our ebook collections.
Try some of these keywords in the library catalog to find career-related resources
- Vocational Guidance
- Vocational Interests
- Career Development
- Employment Forecasting
- Job Hunting
- Resumes -- Employment
- College Students -- Employment
- College Graduates -- Employment
- Cover Letters
- Employment Interview
- Vocational Guidance -- Washington (State)
- Professions -- Washington (State)
- Americans -- Employment -- Foreign countries
- Employment in foreign countries
eBook Databases
- Ebook Central This link opens in a new window
Over 180,000 electronic books, with broad coverage on academic topics. Viewable with your web browser; also downloadable to e-readers or e-reader apps with some restrictions. - eBook Collection (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Over 200,000 electronic books, covering a large selection of multidisciplinary academic subjects. Books can be read through a web browser or downloaded.
Library Databases With Career and Vocational Sources
The following databases -- both part of the EBSCOhost databases -- include trade journals related to careers and vocations.
- Vocational and Career Collection This link opens in a new window
(Ebsco) Trade and industry-related periodicals - Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
(Ebsco) Periodical database. This multi-disciplinary database covers most disciplines taught at TCC. Most articles are scholarly.
What is a Trade Journal?
Trade magazines or journals are written for professionals by professionals in a particular field and are not strictly research related. They often contain current news, trends, and products in a specific industry as well as practical information for professionals working in the field or industry.
Examples include Professional Engineering, Architectural Record, and PC World.
For more information see the guide below from NCSU.
How to Search for Trade Journals
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window(Ebsco) Periodical database. This multi-disciplinary database covers most disciplines taught at TCC. Most articles are scholarly.
Tips for How to Search for Trade Journals in Academic Search Premier
- To search for trade journals in your career area of interest type your search term/s into the search boxes (e.g., engineering AND salary) and click Search.
(click on image to enlarge)
- Once you have your list of results, you can use the check boxes on the left side of the screen to narrow your results to trade publications: under Source Types, click the Trade Publications box and then click Update.
(click on image to enlarge)
- (Optional) to search wthin a particular trade journal start a new search in Academic Search Complete.
- In the first box, enter the name of the journal and select SO Journal Name from the drop down menu next to it.
- In the second box enter your serach terms (e.g., salary).
- Click Search.
(click on image to enlarge)
Except where otherwise noted, the content in these guides by Tacoma Community College Library is licensed under CC BY SA 4.0.
This openly licensed content allows others to cite, share, or modify this content, with credit to TCC Library. When reusing or adapting this content, include this statement in the new document: This content was originally created by Tacoma Community College Library and shared with a CC BY SA 4.0 license.
Tacoma Community College Library - Building 7, 6501 South 19th Street, Tacoma, WA 98466 - P. 253.566.5087
Visit us on Instagram!