Emergency Medical & Health Services
The TCC periodical list
Searching for Specific Journals by Title
- Periodicals A-ZClick this link to see if the TCC Library has online or full-text access to a specific periodical (newspaper, magazine, or journal).
If you need to know how to get the full text of a particular magazine, journal or newspaper, click below for the "Periodicals A-Z" database search. The database provides information for every periodical publication TCC has access to. If your item is NOT listed, we do not have full text access. Talk to a librarian about alternative methods for getting articles not listed here (and/or see below)
Here's the result for a search for Annals of Emergency Medicine--this indicates that articles from this journal are available in two places.
- ​​​If you are looking for a specific journal, type its exact title, then use the drop-down option "Title equals" to search, as shown in the first image.
- The example in the first image shows that the TCC library holds this journal and lists out the location and dates that it provides full-text access to articles.
Here's a list of available journals
Emergency Medical Care-Related Periodicals
While you are NOT limited to using just these, the table below shows a list of relevant periodicals that you can access in the library's collections.
| (It is relatively easy to obtain current full text articles for the titles in bold) |
| Title of Journal | Indexed In: | Full-Text Available in" |
|---|---|---|
| Air Medical Journal | PubMed | |
| American Journal of Emergency Medicine | PubMed, SciDirect | SciDirect |
| Annals of Emergency Medicine | PubMed, SciDirect | SciDirect, Print (current 5 yrs) |
| CJEM. J of the Canadian Assoc. of Em. Physicians | ASC, ProQuest | ASC, ProQ |
| Emergency | PubMed | |
| Emergency Medical Services | PubMed | Print 2004-2009 |
| Emergency Medicine Australasia | ASC | ASP (1 yr embargo) |
| Emergency Medicine Journal: EMJ | PubMed Central/PubMed | PubMed Central |
| BMC Emergency Medicine | PubMed Central/PubMed | PubMed Central |
| Emergency Nurse | ASC | ASC |
| European Journal of Emergency Medicine | PubMed | |
| Journal of Air Medical Transport | PubMed, SciDirect | |
| Journal of Accident & Emergency Medicine (British) | PubMed | |
| Journal of Critical Care | SciDirect | SciDirect |
| Journal of Emergency Medical Services (JEMS) | PubMed | Print 2004-2009; Online (for free) |
| Journal of Emergency Medicine | PubMed, SciDirect, ASC | SciDirect |
| Journal of Emergency Nursing | SciDirect | SciDirect |
| Journal of the American Medical Association (JAMA) | PubMed, SciDirect, ASC | Print (Current 5 years) |
| Journal of Trauma | PubMed | |
| Lancet | PubMed, ASC, ProQ | ProQ, ASC (-12/31/06) |
| New England Journal of Medicine | PubMed, ASC, ProQ | Print, ProQ (3 mo. embargo) |
| Pediatric Emergency Care | PubMed | |
| Prehospital Disaster Medicine | PubMed | All but current year at publisher website |
| Prehospital Emergency Care | PubMed, CINAHL, SciDirect | Print 2005-Current |
| Topics in Emergency Medicine | PubMed, ASC | |
| Western Journal of Emergency Medicine | PubMed | PubMed Central |
- ASC = Academic Search Complete - Available through this library database
- ProQ = ProQuest - Available through this library database
- PubMed = http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pubmed/
- PubMed Central = www.pubmedcentral.nih.gov ("Son of" PubMed--all articles available in full text )
- SciDirect = ScienceDirect--available through library database (Only "subscribed journals" available in full text)
Can't find what you are looking for in full text? You can usually purchase individual articles through individual journals' web sites and ScienceDirect database. Costs can range from $10 to $40 per article. To find a journal's web site, simply 'Google' the journal title in quotes, e.g, "topics in emergency medicine". (But, check with your librarian before you hand over your hard-earned cash...We may be able to help you find it for free.)
Except where otherwise noted, the content in these guides by Tacoma Community College Library is licensed under CC BY SA 4.0.
This openly licensed content allows others to cite, share, or modify this content, with credit to TCC Library. When reusing or adapting this content, include this statement in the new document: This content was originally created by Tacoma Community College Library and shared with a CC BY SA 4.0 license.
Tacoma Community College Library - Building 7, 6501 South 19th Street, Tacoma, WA 98466 - P. 253.566.5087
Visit us on Instagram!