Emergency Medical & Health Services: Finding academic articles
Getting to the Library's databases
You can access the Library's electronic collection three different ways:
- Log in > find the Quick Links on your home portal page > Library Quick Link > New Website > tab: Research Databases
- Canvas classroom > side menu: Library > tab: Research Databases
- http://tacomacc.libguides.com/TCCLibrary > tab: Research databases
Finding articles
|
One step in your research will be to identify reliable, authoritative articles that address your question. The dropdowns above (tiny arrow on Finding academic articles tab) provide instructions for using Academic Search Complete, PubMed, and ProQuest. |
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
(Ebsco) Periodical database. This multi-disciplinary database covers most disciplines taught at TCC. Most articles are scholarly. - ProQuest Periodical Databases This link opens in a new window
Multiple periodical databases providing coverage of a wide range of topics, with a mix of popular and scholarly sources. Particularly good for current events.
- PubMed
PubMed comprises more than 30 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher Web sites (i.e. not all articles will be available to you).
Full text vs. index
Full text: Most of the library databases give you access to "full text" articles from journals, magazines, newspapers, etc. That means when you search for and find articles about your topic, those articles are complete - you will be able to read the entire article.
Most of the library databases, such as Academic Search Complete and ProQuest, default to find ONLY full text articles.
Index: Some of the library databases provide access to full text items, but also provide users with "index" information for other items. When a database indexes articles it provides only the citation information (author, title, year, etc.), and maybe an abstract, but not the complete article. See a faculty librarian to help you find access to indexed articles.
ScienceDirect and PubMed provide both indexed and full text articles.
Except where otherwise noted, the content in these guides by Tacoma Community College Library is licensed under CC BY SA 4.0.
This openly licensed content allows others to cite, share, or modify this content, with credit to TCC Library. When reusing or adapting this content, include this statement in the new document: This content was originally created by Tacoma Community College Library and shared with a CC BY SA 4.0 license.
Tacoma Community College Library - Building 7, 6501 South 19th Street, Tacoma, WA 98466 - P. 253.566.5087
Visit us on Instagram!