Community Health - TCC OER Subject Guide: OER starting points
This guide compiles starting points for OER and freely available resources for Community Health Professional courses and topics. This OER subject guide was created for TCC faculty and staff and reflects TCC courses and curriculum. The purpose of this guide is to help faculty and staff more easily find and review OER in their areas so that they can make decisions about quality, accuracy, relevancy, and potential use.
OER starting points for Community and Public Health, by course area and material type
Introduction to community health
Textbooks, courses, and readers:
- Reinventing Healthy Communities: Implications for Individual and Societal Well-Being (OER collection)Edited by Jerry D. Marx, 2016. This book is a printed edition of the Special Issue Reinventing Healthy Communities: Implications for Individual and Societal Well-Being that was published in Social Sciences. Collection of articles and essays. PDF format. Each article is openly licensed under a CC BY (Creative Commons - Attribution) license, but the collection overall is licensed under a CC BY-NC-ND (Creative Commons - Attribution - NonCommercial - NoDerivatives) license. Eligible for Print on Demand.
- Community Health Worker 1 (OER ancillary materials)Santa Fe Community College, 2017, shared via SkillsCommons OER repository site. "an introductory course that trains students to become community health workers (CHW) who assist individuals and communities in adopting and maintaining positive health behaviors. Topics include the roles of the CHW, adult learning principles, and skill development in such areas as advocacy, health coaching and leadership development. Four lecture hours, two lab hours." Organized into 6 main modules, with zip files and Word file downloads. CC BY (Creative Commons - Attribution) license. Eligible for Print on Demand, if materials are converted into a print-ready format.
Library e-books:
Unlimited user access. Use permalinks in Canvas courses. Not eligible for Print on Demand. You may need to log in with your portal and/or Canvas credentials to access the e-books.
Public health foundationsCall Number: OnlinePublication Date: 2010"An accessible and comprehensive text that offers a reader-friendly introduction to core concepts and current practices." Note: Used as a base textbook for a similar public health course in Oregon, Linn-Benton Community College.
Supplemental tools and materials (incl. games, lessons, videos, exercises, etc.):
- Public Health - Crash Course video playlistCrash Course video series of 10 videos (each video around 10 mins.) with innovative graphics, 2023. Includes videos on: What is Public Health, How the Environment Affects Your Health, How Laws Affect Your Health, The Future of Public Health, and more. Crash Course videos are high-quality, with a mix of live-action and animated graphics. Not openly licensed but freely available to view, link, and embed into courses.
- Community Tool BoxA service of the Center for Community Health and Development at the University of Kansas. "[R]esources and tools to help people work together to build healthier communities." The Table of Contents outlines the resources plus related toolkits. Sections includes Community Assessment, Communications to Promote Interest and Participation, Developing a Strategic Plan, Analyzing Community Problems, Implementing Promising Community Interventions, Cultural Competence, Organizing for Effective Advocacy, and more. CC BY NC SA (Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike) license.
- Community Health Worker (OER ancillary materials)St. Louis Community College, 2016, via SkillsCommons repository site. "In this accelerated training program students will learn how to conduct outreach for medical personnel or health organizations to implement programs in the community that promote, maintain, and improve individual and community health; provide information on available resources; provide social support and informal counseling; and advocate for individuals and community health needs." Presentations, handouts, and activities. PowerPoint and Word formats. CC BY (Creative Commons - Attribution) format. Eligible for Print on Demand.
- Community Health Worker (CHW) ToolkitCDC Archives, last updated 2019. "Resources on this page include: Online courses, lessons learned, and best practices to help state health departments train and further build capacity for CHWs in their communities, and Training and education materials for CHWs to use within their communities." Public domain.
- HTH 102: Introduction to Public Health (OER ancillary materials)Holyoke Community College, 2016, shared via SkillsCommons OER repository site. "A 3 credit course designed to prepare students to become Community Health Workers or to add to their understanding as other kinds of health care workers. This course provides an introduction to the core components of public health and public health practice, including an emphasis on population and prevention-based strategies for improving health." Most useful ancillary materials might be the discussion questions and the course activities. PDF and Word files. CC BY (Creative Commons - Attribution) license. Eligible for Print on Demand.
- History of Public Health (OER ancillary materials)Graham Mooney, Johns Hopkins School of Public Health, 2005. "The content provides an historical interpretation of how the theory and practice of public health in today's world has come to be what it is." Includes syllabus, schedule, lecture materials, and readings. Online and PDF files. Archived course; ancillary materials may still be useful for course development purposes. CC BY NC SA (Creative Commons - Attribution - NonCommercial - ShareAlike) license.
- Ethical Issues in Public Health (OER ancillary materials)Ruth Faden, Johns Hopkins School of Public Health, 2006. "Lectures and small group discussions focus on ethical theory and current ethical issues in public health and health policy, including resource allocation, the use of summary measures of health, the right to health care, and conflicts between autonomy and health promotion efforts. Student evaluation based on class participation, a group project, and a paper evaluating ethical issues in the student's area of public health specialization." Includes syllabus, schedule, lecture materials, and readings. Online and PDF files. Archived course; ancillary materials may still be useful for course development purposes. CC BY NC SA (Creative Commons - Attribution - NonCommercial - ShareAlike) license.
- Training Guide for Foundations for Community Health Workers (Open access lessons + ancillary resources)Tim Berthold, Community Health Worker Certificate Program, City College of San Francisco, 2nd. ed., 2015. "This is meant to be used when teaching or training using the textbook Foundations for Community Health Workers, Second Edition [Note: this is not an OER textbook]. Although the guide is based on the curriculum from our college-based CHW Certificate Program, we hope that it will serve as a meaningful resource for training CHWs in any setting." Activities and lessons organized into 23 chapters and available in PDF format via Google Drive. Video resources and guides are linked at the bottom of the page. Not openly licensed, but educational use is encouraged.
- The Community Guide - Community Health WorkersPublications and resources that highlight the role of community health workers and includes models of care. Many resources focus on health promotion and disease prevention.
- Public Health Image Library (PHIL)PHIL maintained by the CDC. Includes photos, illustrations, and video. Most images in PHIL are royalty-free and available for educational use with citation/attribution
- If/Then Collection"A digital asset library of women STEM innovators, for educational and other noncommercial use." Scroll down page for categories of images and videos, including Women in Tech, #SheCanSTEM, Health & Medicine, and more.
Community health navigation and care coordination
Textbooks, courses, and readers:
- The Fundamentals of Healthcare Administration: Navigating Challenges and Coordinating Care (OER textbook)Whitney N. Hamilton, et al., Univ. of North Georgia, 2021. "It examines the foundational aspects of leadership and management as they relate to establishing and maintaining the principles and practices within healthcare organizations." Organized into 15 chapters, including case studies. Faculty peer reviews of this text available on this site. PDF format. CC BY SA (Creative Commons - Attribution - ShareAlike) license. Eligible for Print on Demand.
Global health
Textbooks, courses, and readers:
- Global Health Collaboration: Challenges and Lessons (OER e-book)Margaret S. WinchesterCaprice A. KnappRhonda BeLue, published by Springer, 2018. “[This book] details the innovative work of the Pan Institution Network for Global Health in creating collaborative research-based answers to large-scale health issues.” Chapters include both assessing data/programs as well as training and conducting research; some chapters are specific case studies, while other chapters are more general and theory-based. Organized into 10 chapters. PDF format. CC BY (Creative Commons - Attribution) license. Eligible for Print on Demand.
- Global Health Research in an Unequal World: Ethics Case Studies from Africa (OER e-book)CABI, 2016. “This book is a collection of fictionalised case studies of everyday ethical dilemmas and challenges, encountered in the process of conducting global health research in places where the effects of global, political and economic inequality are particularly evident. It is a training tool to fill the gap between research ethics guidelines, and their implementation 'on the ground'. The case studies, therefore, focus on 'relational' ethics: ethical actions and ideas that emerge through relations with others, rather than in regulations.” 42 case studies organized into 4 main categories: Researcher-participants relationships, Community and family relationships, Institutional relationships, and Staff relationships. PDF formats. CC BY (Creative Commons - Attribution) license. Eligible for Print on Demand.
- International Handbook of Health Literacy (OER e-book)Bristol Univ. Press, 2019. "Health literacy addresses a range of social dimensions of health, including knowledge, navigation and communication, as well as individual and organizational skills for accessing, understanding, evaluating and using information." PDF format. CC-BY-NC (Creative commons - Attribution - NonCommercial) license. Eligible for Print on Demand.
- Global Health and International Community: Ethical, Political, and Regulatory Challenges (Open access e-book)John Coggon and Swati Gola, Bloomsbury Academic, 2013. “[The authors] address normative questions relating to justice, equity and inequality and practical questions regarding multi-organizational cooperation, global governance and international relations.” Organized into 3 main parts: 1. Framing Global Ethics and International Justice ; 2. Practical Challenges in Global Health Governance ; 3. Political and Regulatory Responses in Global Health. Online and PDF formats for each chapter. Not openly licensed, but open access allows you to link to resources in Canvas courses. Not eligible for Print on Demand.
- Non-Communicable Disease Prevention: Best Buys, Wasted Buys and Contestable Buys (OER e-book)Wanrudee Isaranuwatchai, Rachel A. Archer, Yot Teerawattananon and Anthony J. Culyer (eds), 2019. "Created by an international consortium of experts, this informative and accessible book provides practical guidelines, key learning points, and dynamic, real-world case studies to aid NCD program managers, policy officers and decision-makers in low- and middle-income countries, so that they can assess interventions for the prevention and control of NCDs." Organized into 10 chapters plus several appendices. Online and PDF formats. CC BY (Creative Commons - Attribution) license. Eligible for Print on Demand.
Supplemental tools and materials (incl. games, lessons, videos, exercises, etc.):
- Public Health Ethics: Global Cases, Practice, and ContextCDC, 2016. "For a public health practitioner, knowing how to employ an ethics framework to address a range of ethical challenges in public health—a know-how that depends on practice—is the ultimate take-home message." Organized into 2 sections, with 9 chapters. Section II includes multiple case studies. Chapter 8 has case studies for International Collaboration for Global Public Health. PDF and EPUB formats. Peer reviews of the book available on this site. CC BY NC (Creative Commons - Attribution - NonCommercial) license.
- Global Health Innovation: Delivering Targeted Advice to an Organization in the Field (OER ancillary materials)MIT Open Courseware, 2015. Course details a 3-day series of lectures and activities: "“In this three-day workshop, students will get a broad introduction to global health issues. We will look at one particular non-governmental organization in India that works to improve health across the lifespan by empowering existing community resources to provide appropriate physical, psychological and social therapies, focusing on child development, adolescent and youth health, mental health, and chronic disease. This workshop equips student to explore novel ideas and technologies with an inspiring and ground-breaking Indian NGO.” Click links on the left side to see details of Activities, Instructor Insights, Readings and Materials (including Student Materials on country profiles and selected resources!), Lecture Notes, and Deliverables. CC BY NC SA (Creative Commons - Attribution - NonCommercial - ShareAlike) license.
- GlobalHealth Lab (OER ancillary materials)MIT Open Courseware, 2013. This course is designed around custom-designed field projects and focuses on strategy, operations, and more. Readings are linked and most seem to be freely available. Under the “Projects” tab on the left, includes two in-depth project case studies, with resources and deliverables -- including country briefing, host work plan, study and observations, insights, final presentation, etc. CC BY NC SA (Creative Commons - Attribution - NonCommercial - ShareAlike) license.
- EthnoMed websiteSite maintained by Harborview Medical Center and Health Sciences Library, University of Washington. This website focuses on “integrating cultural information into clinical practice.” Initially created to collate info about cultural beliefs, medical issues and related topics pertinent to the health care of immigrants to Washington state or the U.S., particularly refugees. Sections for Cultures, Clinical Topics, Patient Education, and Cross-Cultural Health. CC BY NC ND (Creative Commons - Attribution - NonCommercial - NoDerivatives) license.
- DHS Program Demographic and Health SurveyUse the “STATcompiler” tool to compile public health trends over time. Allows users to make custom tables based on thousands of demographic and health indicators from across more than 90 countries. Choose country and indicator on the tool.
- Global Health Now website + articlesJohns Hopkins Bloomberg School of Public Health. Site pulls together current news articles issues about global health -- main categories along the top are Global Health, Family Planning, Refugees, Substance Use, and Surgery. You can also narrow down to regional public health news for the different continents, including the Americas. Open access, could link to specific articles.
- GlobalEDGE toolCreated by Michigan State University’s College of Business, as a resource for global business activities -- but a lot of the info could also be useful for health-related activities. Global Insights section > By Country provides extensive information about countries and their cultures, resources, risks, and more. Tools and Data > Country Comparator allows you to compare different countries and data, including Health data.
- Bulletin of the World Health Organization journalWorld Health Organization Peer-reviewed monthly journal with a special focus on developing countries. “It is essential reading for all public health decision-makers and researchers who require its special blend of research, well-informed opinion and news.” Open journal with articles licensed under the CC BY IGO 3.0 license and freely available online.
- Global Health VideosCollected by the Consortium of Universities for Global Health. Collection of videos that focus on global health. Can link to/embed within Canvas courses.
- Public Health Image Library (PHIL)PHIL maintained by the CDC. Includes photos, illustrations, and video. Most images in PHIL are royalty-free and available for educational use with citation/attribution
- Images of EmpowermentPhoto library of women's activities, particularly work and health-related, from around the world. Explore by location or subject. Licensed CC-BY-NC (Creative Commons - Attribution - NonCommercial).
Community health advocacy
Textbooks, courses, and readers:
- Techniques of Community Health Education (OER course)Course materials for Health & Nutrition Science 4150 Techniques of Community Health Education course by Kiyoka Koizumi, Brooklyn College CUNY, 2018. "Identification and analysis of various techniques, media, and approaches used in community health education." Course uses library e-books, readings, and videos for topic areas, including Health Equity, Advocacy and Leadership, and more. Ancillary materials include syllabus and semester projects. LibGuide format, with links to library and external resources. CC BY NC SA (Creative Commons Attribution-Non Commercial-ShareAlike) license.
Library e-books:
Unlimited user access. Use permalinks in Canvas courses. Not eligible for Print on Demand. You may need to log in with your portal and/or Canvas credentials to access the e-books.
Advocacy strategies for health and mental health professionalsCall Number: OnlinePublication Date: 2014"A wealth of advocacy tools for health and mental health professionals at all levels of training and practice."
Supplemental tools and materials (incl. games, lessons, videos, exercises, etc.):
- Community Tool BoxA service of the Center for Community Health and Development at the University of Kansas. "[R]esources and tools to help people work together to build healthier communities." The Table of Contents outlines the resources plus related toolkits. Sections includes Community Assessment, Communications to Promote Interest and Participation, Developing a Strategic Plan, Analyzing Community Problems, Implementing Promising Community Interventions, Cultural Competence, Organizing for Effective Advocacy, and more. CC BY NC SA (Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike) license.
- The 6|18 Initiative: Accelerating Evidence into ActionCDC, last updated 2018. "In the 6|18 Initiative, CDC and partners are targeting six common and costly health conditions with 18 proven interventions." Includes a PowerPoint Slide Deck, as well as toolkits. Each toolkit has fast facts, current payer coverage for Medicare, Medicaid, etc., key health and cost information for payers and providers, and more. PDF format. Public domain.
- Theory at a Glance – A Guide For Health Promotion PracticeGuide produced by the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, National Institutes of Health, National Cancer Institute, 2nd ed., 2005. 52 pages, PDF format. Public domain.
- Addressing Chronic Disease through Community Health Workers: A Policy and Systems-level ApproachCDC policy brief, 2nd edition, April 2015. PDF format. Public domain.
- Guide to Privacy & Security of Electronic Health InformationHealthIT.gov, created 2015, last reviewed and updated 2019. Organized into 6 sections. PDF for entire guide or individual sections. Public domain.
- HIPAA for ProfessionalsSite maintained by Office for Civil Rights, U.S. Department of Health & Human Services. Public domain.
- Mental Health First Aid-themed issue of National Council magazineNOTE: Clicking on this link will trigger an automatic PDF download of this special issue. Special issue with several articles and essays, including "Reading the Signs: Common Mental Illnesses," "Mental Health First Aid - Facts at a Glance," "Mental Health First Aid Eliminates Fear of Mental Illness," etc. Open access.
- Healthy People Program PlanningWebsite managed by the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services. Uses a “MAP-IT” framework to assess community needs and create and implement plans to reach Healthy People 2030 objectives. Each “MAP-IT” step includes chapters from a “Community Toolbox” and other resources. Public domain.
- Public Health Transformation - Washington stateWashington State Dept. of Health. "Washington’s governmental public health system has a critical and unique public safety role that is focused on protecting and improving the health of families and communities. According to state law protecting the public’s health is a fundamental responsibility of the state." Site menu includes Products and Resources as well as Local Public Health Indicators.
- Community Health Peer Learning ProgramHealthIT.gov, last updated 2019. ncludes links to several “Learning Guides,” including “A Learning Guide to Social Impact Assessment for Community Health,” “The Story of San Diego’s Community Health Information Exchange: Data Sharing, Care Coordination and Population Health; Recommendations to Make Your Journey Easier,” etc. Public domain.
- Public Health Image Library (PHIL)PHIL maintained by the CDC. Includes photos, illustrations, and video. Most images in PHIL are royalty-free and available for educational use with citation/attribution
Community health communication and informatics
Textbooks, courses, and readers:
- Public Interest Communication (OER textbook)Jane Johnston and Robyn Gulliver, Univ. of Queensland (Australia), 2022. "In this book, students will examine fields that intersect with public interest frameworks to provide building blocks and strategies for effective communication [...] The book examines social problems and interest conflicts that are faced every day - from environmental degradation to homelessness; public health to media power - and considers the positions of different publics and individuals in navigating the communication of public interest processes and outcomes." Organized into 2 sections (communication theory and communication in action), with 10 total chapters. Online (Pressbooks), PDF, and EPUB formats. CC BY NC SA (Creative Commons Attribution NonCommercial ShareAlike) license. Eligible for Print on Demand.
- International Handbook of Health Literacy (OER e-book)Bristol Univ. Press, 2019. "Health literacy addresses a range of social dimensions of health, including knowledge, navigation and communication, as well as individual and organizational skills for accessing, understanding, evaluating and using information." PDF format. CC-BY-NC (Creative commons - Attribution - NonCommercial) license. Eligible for Print on Demand.
Supplemental tools and materials (incl. games, lessons, videos, exercises, etc.):
- Health IT Curriculum Resources for Educators25 modules of OER health IT instructional materials, funded by the Office of the National Coordinator for Health Information Technology (ONC), "to help healthcare workers and others stay current in the changing healthcare environment and deliver care more effectively." Module 5 focuses on Public Health Informatics. Each module is a zip download of lecture slides, videos, audio transcripts, self-assessment activities and instructor keys. CC BY NC SA (Creative Commons - Attribution - NonCommercial - ShareAlike) license.
- Community Tool BoxA service of the Center for Community Health and Development at the University of Kansas. "[R]esources and tools to help people work together to build healthier communities." The Table of Contents outlines the resources plus related toolkits. Sections includes Community Assessment, Communications to Promote Interest and Participation, Developing a Strategic Plan, Analyzing Community Problems, Implementing Promising Community Interventions, Cultural Competence, Organizing for Effective Advocacy, and more. CC BY NC SA (Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike) license.
- Public Health in Pharmacy Practice: A Casebook, 2nd ed. (OER textbook)Jordan R Covvey, et al, SUNY Binghamton, 2nd ed., 2021. "[A] collaboration of over 90 individuals with expertise and training in public health pharmacy. A total of 54 chapters are presented, covering a broad array of topics relevant to pharmacy applications of public health. These topics include, but are not limited to, cross-cultural care, health literacy and disparities, infectious disease, health promotion and disease prevention, medication safety, structural racism, advocacy/policy analysis, chronic disease, women’s health, rural health, travel medicine and more. The book is designed to allow educators/students to choose chapters of interest as they feel suited, as each chapter is independent from the others. Each chapter contains learning objectives and an introduction to the topic, followed by a case and questions. The chapter closes with commentary from the authors and patient-oriented considerations for the topic at hand." Online, PDF, and EPUB formats. CC BY (Creative Commons - Attribution) license. Eligible for Print on Demand.
- Public Health Image Library (PHIL)PHIL maintained by the CDC. Includes photos, illustrations, and video. Most images in PHIL are royalty-free and available for educational use with citation/attribution
Health policy, law and ethics
Textbooks, courses, and readers:
- Legal Fundamentals of Healthcare Law (OER textbook)Tiffany Jackman, University of West Florida, 2024. "Healthcare, a field dedicated to the well-being of individuals and communities, operates within an intricate web of legal principles. Understanding these laws is not simply a professional necessity for doctors, nurses, administrators, and researchers; it’s also an ethical imperative for anyone who interacts with the healthcare system. This book is your compass, guiding you through the labyrinth of legal fundamentals that shape the landscape of healthcare." Organized into 10 chapters. Online (Pressbooks), PDF, and EPUB formats. CC BY NC SA (Creative Commons Attribution NonCommercial ShareAlike) license. Eligible for Print on Demand.
- Public Health Law 101 (CDC)A foundational course for public health practitioners, developed by the CDC's Public Health Law Program. "The course comprises nine lecture units for delivery by legal counsel to health departments and by other persons trained in law." PDF and PowerPoint formats. Public domain terms of use: "All content currently displayed in each slide cannot be altered; however, additional slides can be made to customize the course simply by adding a slide in the appropriate area." Eligible for Print on Demand.
- Public Health Law Academy (CDC)Developed by the CDC in collaboration with ChangeLab Solutions. "The Public Health Law Academy offers free, online training to provide an understanding of the basics of our legal system and the use of law and policy for improving population health outcomes. These self-paced courses were designed for state, tribal, local, and territorial public health professionals, as well as public health lawyers, nurses, educators, advocates, and faculty and students in graduate and undergraduate programs." Training topics organized under introduction, hot topics, and legal epidemiology sections. Open access. Not eligible for Print on Demand.
- Public Health Ethics: Global Cases, Practice, and ContextCDC, 2016. "For a public health practitioner, knowing how to employ an ethics framework to address a range of ethical challenges in public health—a know-how that depends on practice—is the ultimate take-home message." Organized into 2 sections, with 9 chapters. Section II includes multiple case studies. PDF and EPUB formats. Peer reviews of the book available on this site. CC BY NC (Creative Commons - Attribution - NonCommercial) license. Eligible for Print on Demand.
- Healthcare as a Human Rights Issue (OER e-book)Knowledge Unlatched, 2017. “This book deals with various facets of the human right to health: its normative profile as a universal right, current political and legal conflicts and contextualized implementation in different healthcare systems.” PDF format. CC BY NC ND (Creative Commons - Attribution - NonCommercial - NoDerivatives) license. Eligible for Print on Demand.
- Health, Rights and Dignity (OER e-book)De Gruyter, 2017. [C]ritically assesses the stipulation that health is a human right which - as international law holds - derives from the inherent dignity of the human person." PDF format. CC BY NC ND (Creative Commons - Attribution - NonCommercial - NoDerivatives) license. Eligible for Print on Demand.
- HCS 100 Public Healthcare in the US (OER ancillary materials)Hazard Community and Technical College, 2017. via SkillsCommons OER repository site. “In this course, you'll learn how healthcare and public health are organized and how services are delivered in the U.S. The program also covers current health reform initiatives in the U.S., public policy, relevant organizations and their interrelationships, professional roles, legal and regulatory issues, and payment systems.” Zip files of PPT presentations, Word discussion activities, as well as a Blackboard shell zip folder, which you can import into a Canvas course. CC BY (Creative Commons - Attribution) license. Eligible for Print on Demand if materials are complied into a print-ready format.
Library e-books:
Unlimited user access. Use permalinks in Canvas courses. Not eligible for Print on Demand. You may need to log in with your portal and/or Canvas credentials to access the e-books.
Public health law: Power, duty, restraintCall Number: OnlinePublication Date: 20163rd ed. "The authors draw on constitutional law, administrative law, local government law, and tort law to develop their conception of law as a tool for protecting the public's health. The book creates an intellectual framework for modern public health law and supports that framework with illustrations of the scientific, political, and ethical issues involved." Unlimited user access. PDF and EPUB formats.
Public health ethics: Key concepts and issues in policy and practiceCall Number: OnlinePublication Date: 2012Cambridge University Press. "Topics covered include the nature of public health ethics, the concepts of disease and prevention, risk and precaution, health inequalities and justice, screening, vaccination and disease control, smoking and issues relating to the environment and public health." Unlimited user access.
Power, suffering, and the struggle for dignity: Human rights frameworks for health and why they matterCall Number: OnlinePublication Date: 2015University of Pennsylvania Press. "Directed at a diverse audience of students, legal and public health practitioners ... provides a solid foundation for comprehending what a human rights framework implies and the potential for social transformation it entails."
Supplemental tools and materials (incl. games, lessons, videos, exercises, etc.):
- Public Health Law websitePart of CDC's Public Health Professionals Gateway. Includes Publications & Resources, including Tribal Public Health Law Resources, and Public Health Law News. Public domain.
- Ethical Issues in Health Care (collection)Clayton State University instructors, 2017. A report of syllabi and course outlines, with linked resources, for ethical issues in health care. Links to OER and open access materials included on page 35. PDF and Word formats. CC BY (Creative Commons Attribution) license.
- Public Health Law Academy (PHLA) video playlistSeries of 8 videos developed by ChangeLab Solutions, as part of the CDC's Public Health Law Academy training program. Most videos produced in 2019, last updates in 2024. Videos range from 20 minutes to 1 hour. All videos have accessible captions. Public domain.
- Public Health Image Library (PHIL)PHIL maintained by the CDC. Includes photos, illustrations, and video. Most images in PHIL are royalty-free and available for educational use with citation/attribution
Epidemiology
Textbooks, courses, and readers:
- Principles of Epidemiology (OER textbook)Hector Giovanni Antunez, St. Cloud State University, Minnesota State Colleges and Universities, [2022]. "Epidemiology for Non epidemiologists ... This book is especially designed for undergraduates, who are taking an introductory course in epidemiology." Organized into 2 parts, with 7 total chapters. Online (Pressbooks) and PDF format. CC BY-NC-SA (Creative Commons - Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike) license. Eligible for Print on Demand.
- Foundations of Epidemiology (OER textbook)Marit L. Bovbjerg, Oregon State University, 2019. "This book is intended to provide a basic introduction to epidemiologic methods and epidemiologic thinking." Organized into 11 chapters. Faculty peer reviews of this text available on this site. Online, PDF, and e-book formats. CC BY-NC (Creative Commons - Attribution - NonCommercial) license. Eligible for Print on Demand.
- HE 220 - Intro: Epidemiology/Health Data Analysis Textbook (OER textbook)Kristi Murphey, Linn-Benton Community College, 2019. "This course is designed to provide preparatory background for taking subsequent course in epidemiology and health data analysis offered by the Department of Public Health. This course introduces measure of disease frequency, analytical epidemiology, study designs, experimental design, and basic elements of descriptive statistics and inferential statistics." PDF and Word formats. CC BY (Creative Commons - Attribution) license. Eligible for Print on Demand.
- Introduction to Epidemiology course/moduleCDC, 2014. This mini-course/module is part of the CDC's "Public Health 101" course. "These materials provide an overview of epidemiology investigations, methods, and data collection." Includes slide sets in PowerPoint and PDF formats; an e-Learning course; a series of Quick Learn lessons; a 1-hour webinar; and additional PDF resource handouts. Public domain.
Supplemental tools and materials (incl. games, lessons, videos, exercises, etc.):
- Public Health Image Library (PHIL)PHIL maintained by the CDC. Includes photos, illustrations, and video. Most images in PHIL are royalty-free and available for educational use with citation/attribution
Program planning and prevention
Textbooks, courses, and readers:
- CDC Evaluation Documents, Workbooks and ToolsCDC evaluation materials. Includes section on development tools, health impact assessments, program management, a self-study guide, and more. Public domain. Materials eligible for Print on Demand.
- Program Planning and Community Health Education (OER course)Course materials for Health & Nutrition Science 4152 Program Planning and Community Health Education course by Kiyoka Koizumi, Brooklyn College CUNY, 2018. "An introduction to concepts of program planning for health education in the community." Course uses library e-books, readings, and videos for topic areas, including Community Needs Assessment Methods, Implementing Health Programs, and more. Ancillary materials include syllabus and semester projects. LibGuide format, with links to library and external resources. CC BY NC SA (Creative Commons Attribution-Non Commercial-ShareAlike) license.
- Handbook of eHealth Evaluation: An Evidence-based Approach (OER textbook)Francis Lau and Craig Kuziemsky, University of Victoria (Canada), 2017. “The handbook describes different approaches used to evaluate the planning, design, implementation, use and impact of eHealth systems in different health settings.” Note: Will need to review text, as the audience for this text is Canadian health students. PDF and EPUB formats. CC BY NC 4.0 (Creative Commons - Attribution - NonCommercial) license. Eligible for Print on Demand.
Library e-books:
Unlimited user access. Use permalinks in Canvas courses. Not eligible for Print on Demand. You may need to log in with your portal and/or Canvas credentials to access the e-books.
Health program management: From development through evaluationCall Number: OnlinePublication Date: 2014"A practical and useful introduction to the management of health programs.” Most useful chapter may be Chapter 9: Evaluating (~30 pages), which includes sub-sections on program theory and logic models, types of program evaluations, and standards in the CDC evaluation framework.
Supplemental tools and materials (incl. games, lessons, videos, exercises, etc.):
- Case Studies in Community Psychology Practice: A Global Lens (OER textbook)Geraldine L. Palmer, Adler University, et al, published by Rebus Community, 2022. "You can find community psychologists and allies partnering with communities to change racist policies, end health disparities, create alternate settings for youth, foster community-based models to heal trauma, evaluate programs, and much more!" Organized into 4 sections, including Community and Public Health. Online, ebook, PDF, and editable OpenDocument formats. CC BY (Creative Commons - Attribution) license. Eligible for Print on Demand.
- Framework for Evaluation in Public Health (guide)CDC, framework originally developed in 1999. "“It is a practical, nonprescriptive tool, designed to summarize and organize essential elements of program evaluation.”" Page includes the framework primary document as well as an overview, summary, and video. Documents available in PDF format. Public domain.
- Community Tool BoxA service of the Center for Community Health and Development at the University of Kansas. "[R]esources and tools to help people work together to build healthier communities." The Table of Contents outlines the resources plus related toolkits. Sections includes Community Assessment, Communications to Promote Interest and Participation, Developing a Strategic Plan, Analyzing Community Problems, Implementing Promising Community Interventions, Cultural Competence, Organizing for Effective Advocacy, and more. CC BY NC SA (Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike) license.
- Introduction to Public Health SurveillancePart of the CDC's Public Health 101 course. "Public health surveillance is 'the ongoing, systematic collection, analysis, and interpretation of health-related data essential to planning, implementation, and evaluation of public health practice.'" PowerPoint slides, an e-Learning course, webinar, and handouts available. Public domain.
- Workplace Health Promotion: EvaluationCDC, last updated 2015. Based on the CDC's Framework for Program Evaluation in Public Health, linked on this page, applying it to workplace health promotion. Public domain.
- Public Health Image Library (PHIL)PHIL maintained by the CDC. Includes photos, illustrations, and video. Most images in PHIL are royalty-free and available for educational use with citation/attribution
Health care research and statistics
Textbooks, courses, and readers:
- Applied Statistics in Healthcare Research (OER textbook)William Montelpare, et al., Univ. of Prince Edward Island (Canada), 2020. "The primary learning objective of this textbook is to introduce the reader to the fundamental statistical methods and basic analytical procedures associated with processing data in regard to healthcare research. It is intended that by working through the applications and practice problems, readers should be able to understand and apply some of the methods for developing, implementing and critically evaluating data within the various disciplines of health." Organized into 7 sections. Online and PDF formats. CC BY NC ND (Creative Commons Attribution NonCommercial NoDerivatives) license. Eligible for Print on Demand.
- Qualitative Research – a practical guide for health and social care researchers and practitioners (OER textbook)Darshini Ayton, et al., Monash University (Australia), 2023. "This guide is designed to support health and social care researchers and practitioners to integrate qualitative research into the evidence base of health and social care research." Organized into 7 main sections. Online (Pressbooks), PDF, EPUB, and Common Cartridge formats. CC BY NC (Creative Commons Attribution NonCommercial) license. Eligible for Print on Demand.
- The Scholarship of Writing in Nursing Education: 1st Canadian Edition (OER textbook)Jennifer Lapum, et al., Ryerson University (Canada), 2019. "[I]ntended to guide best practices in the journey of scholarly writing in the context of the nursing profession. This resource is designed for students in undergraduate nursing programs." Organized into 10 chapters. Online, PDF, and EPUB formats. CC BY SA (Creative Commons Attribution ShareAlike) license. Eligible for Print on Demand.
- Scientific Inquiry in Social WorkMatthew DeCarlo, Radford University, 2018. "As an introductory textbook for social work students studying research methods, this book guides students through the process of creating a research project." Multiple formats available, including online, PDF, and print. Ancillary materials, including PowerPoints and assignments, also linked off this page. Faculty peer reviews of this text on this page. CC BY NC SA (Creative Commons - Attribution - NonCommercial - ShareAlike) license. Eligible for Print on Demand.
- Guidebook for Social Work Literature Reviews and Research Questions (OER textbook)Rebecca L. Mauldin and Matthew DeCarlo, 2020. "This short guidebook provides information about selecting a research topic and research questions, searching for literature, reading and understanding scholarly writing, and writing a literature review to synthesize what is known and what remains to be learned about a social problem. For students who appreciate the availability of resources on the internet, it also provides links to additional materials. It can be used with its companion textbook, Foundations of Social Work Research by Rebecca L. Mauldin and Matthew DeCarlo, or as a stand-alone guide." Organized into 4 chapters. Online, PDF, and EPUB formats. CC BY NC SA (Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike) license. Eligible for Print on Demand.
- Foundations of Social Work Research (OER textbook)Rebecca L. Mauldin, University of Texas at Arlington, 2020. "It provides an introduction to social work students to help evaluate research for evidence-based practice and design social work research projects. It can be used with its companion, A Guidebook for Social Work Literature Reviews and Research Questions by Rebecca L. Mauldin and Matthew DeCarlo, or as a stand-alone textbook." Organized into 12 chapters. Online, PDF, and EPUB formats. CC BY NC SA (Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike) license. Eligible for Print on Demand.
Supplemental tools and materials (incl. games, lessons, videos, exercises, etc.):
- Public Health Image Library (PHIL)PHIL maintained by the CDC. Includes photos, illustrations, and video. Most images in PHIL are royalty-free and available for educational use with citation/attribution
Environmental health
Textbooks, courses, and readers:
- Climate Lessons: Environmental, Social, Local (OER textbook)Marja Bakermans, Worcester Polytechnic Institute, 2021. "This book was co-authored by undergraduate students at Worcester Polytechnic Institute while exploring the influences of Earth systems and human systems on climate change and the communities at most risk in an interdisciplinary project-based first year course. This course attempts to bring together knowledge of the science of ecological and climate systems and their changing status with knowledge of the social and communal structures within which these systems are embedded and through which they have been influenced. The book highlights key interests and insights of current students in their quest to think through these issues and to create a better world." Organized into 4 sections, with 16 chapters. Includes chapters on Climate Change Impacts on Human Health/ PDF format. CC BY-NC (Creative Commons - Attribution-NonCommercial) license. Eligible for Print on Demand.
- Health and Safety in Canadian Workplaces (OER textbook)Jason Foster and Bob Barnetson, Athabasca University (Canada), 2016. Focuses on Canadian workplaces and law, but could be useful as a global example and/or case study. Includes chapters on hazard recognition and prevention. Description focuses on the power dynamic: “Specifically, we investigate which workplace hazards are recognized and controlled, the manner in which these hazards are controlled, and who makes these decisions.”
Lots of embedded case studies throughout, and each chapter ends with discussion questions and exercises that could be adapted. PDF format. CC BY NC SA (Creative Commons - Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike) license. Eligible for Print on Demand. - Environmental Technology - NSC STEM Pathways Open & Free course (OER course)Open Learning Initiative, Carnegie Mellon University, 2019. “Learn about environmental technology in the contexts of HazMat, Safety, and Water Quality.” To preview the course, click the “Enter Open & Free course” button, then choose the option to enter without an account, click the “I’m not a robot” option, and then enter course. Organized into 12 modules, including “Module 5, Industrial Hygiene and Lab,” “Module 6, Hazardous Materials and Lab”, “Module 8, Hazardous Materials Risk Analysis,” “Module 9, Introduction to OSHA,” and “Module 10, Introduction to Water Resources.” Includes labs and activities for each modules. Online format, as well as downloadable zip file with MS Word and PPT files. CC BY NC SA (Creative Commons - Attribution - NonCommercial - ShareAlike) license. Eligible for Print on Demand.
Library e-books:
Unlimited user access. Use permalinks in Canvas courses. Not eligible for Print on Demand. You may need to log in with your portal and/or Canvas credentials to access the e-books.
Environmental health: From global to localCall Number: OnlinePublication Date: 2016Edited by dean of UW’s School of Public Health. “In addition to traditional environmental health topics--air, water, chemical toxins, radiation, pest control... this new third edition maintains its strong grounding in evidence, and has been revised for greater readability, with new coverage of ecology, sustainability, and vulnerable populations, with integrated coverage of policy issues, and with a more global focus.”
The handbook of environmental healthCall Number: OnlinePublication Date: 2013The authors "identify the hazardous environmental issues and explain the science behind the dangers to our health." Includes case studies and discussion questions at the end of each chapter.
Encyclopedia of Environmental Health and ScienceCall Number: OnlinePublication Date: 2012Terms and concepts used by environmental professionals, environmental science professionals, safety practitioners and engineers, and non-science professionals.
Supplemental tools and materials (incl. games, lessons, videos, exercises, etc.):
- Public Health Ethics: Global Cases, Practice, and ContextCDC, 2016. "For a public health practitioner, knowing how to employ an ethics framework to address a range of ethical challenges in public health—a know-how that depends on practice—is the ultimate take-home message." Organized into 2 sections, with 9 chapters. Section II includes multiple case studies. Chapter 6 includes 4 case studies on environmental and occupational public health. PDF and EPUB formats. Peer reviews of the book available on this site. CC BY NC (Creative Commons - Attribution - NonCommercial) license.
- Health Education (OER textbook)College of the Canyons, Version 2, 2022. "Readers will learn about the nature of health, health education, health promotion and related concepts. This will help to understand the social, psychological and physical components of health." Organized into 14 chapters; Ch. 13 focuses on Environmental Health. PDF format. CC BY (Creative Commons - Attribution) format.
- National Center for Environmental Health websiteCDC website. A-Z Index with info and a myriad of resources for all types of environmental health topics, including “Radiation Studies,” “Carbon Monoxide Poisoning,” “Human Exposure to Environmental Chemicals,” etc. Public domain.
- Public Health Image Library (PHIL)PHIL maintained by the CDC. Includes photos, illustrations, and video. Most images in PHIL are royalty-free and available for educational use with citation/attribution
Families as social systems
Textbooks, courses, and readers:
- Contemporary Families: An Equity Lens (OER textbook)OER textbook by Elizabeth B. Pearce, a Linn-Benton Community College instructor in Oregon, 2021. "This openly licensed text, created with students, approaches contemporary families from an equity lens." Organized into 9 chapters, each with preview questions that can be used for student discussion questions. Online, print PDF, and editable OpenDocument format. CC BY (Creative Commons Attribution) license. Eligible for Print on Demand.
- Parenting and Family Diversity Issues (OER textbook)Diana Lang, Iowa State University, 2020. "This book has been created for students and all individuals who work with children and families (e.g., educators, parents, caregivers, direct support workers, etc.) in diverse contexts. It is imperative to understand how and what factors may influence child outcomes across the lifespan. Therefore, key concepts related to parenting, child-rearing, care-giving, and parenting education are outlined in this textbook to provide historical, theoretical, and practical perspectives across vast settings and developmental domains." Organized into 7 chapters. Faculty peer reviews of this text available on this site. Online, PDF, and e-book formats. CC BY-NC-SA (Creative Commons - Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike) license. Eligible for Print on Demand.
- Sociology of Family (OER course)OER course pack curated and designed by Silvia K. Bartolic, University of British Columbia (Canada), via BCcampus, 2023. Designed to be used with the Families Across the Life Course open textbook. "This course is an introduction to a sociological examination of contemporary family forms and relations in North American society. Topics include: theories and methods for understanding families; formation of intimate relationships; mate selection processes; marriage and parenting; families over the life course; gender issues and transitions in families." The course pack includes an open textbook, an instructor manual, assignments, and a sample final exam. Word files. CC BY (Creative Commons - Attribution) license. Eligible for Print on Demand, as applicable.
- Immigrant and refugee families - 2nd ed. (OER textbook)OER textbook published by University of Minnesota Libraries, created 2016 and updated 2019. "offers an interdisciplinary perspective on immigrant and refugee families' challenges and resilience across multiple domains, including economic, political, health, and human rights." Organized into 10 chapters. PDF, EPUB, and digital OpenDocument formats. CC BY NC (Creative Commons - Attribution - NonCommercial) license. Eligible for Print on Demand.
Supplemental tools and materials (incl. games, lessons, videos, exercises, etc.):
- Public Health Image Library (PHIL)PHIL maintained by the CDC. Includes photos, illustrations, and video. Most images in PHIL are royalty-free and available for educational use with citation/attribution
Epidemics and prevention
Textbooks, courses, and readers:
- "The Pink Book," Epidemiology and Prevention of Vaccine-Preventable DiseasesCDC, 14th ed., 2021. "[P]rovides physicians, nurses, nurse practitioners, physician assistants, pharmacists, and others with the most comprehensive information on routinely used vaccines and the diseases they prevent.” Organized into 23 chapters, including Chapter 3: Immunization Strategies for Healthcare Practices and Providers. PDF format. Public domain. Eligible for Print on Demand.
- Non-Communicable Disease Prevention: Best Buys, Wasted Buys and Contestable Buys (OER e-book)Wanrudee Isaranuwatchai, Rachel A. Archer, Yot Teerawattananon and Anthony J. Culyer (eds), 2019. "Created by an international consortium of experts, this informative and accessible book provides practical guidelines, key learning points, and dynamic, real-world case studies to aid NCD program managers, policy officers and decision-makers in low- and middle-income countries, so that they can assess interventions for the prevention and control of NCDs." Organized into 10 chapters plus several appendices. Online and PDF formats. CC BY (Creative Commons - Attribution) license. Eligible for Print on Demand.
- Emergency Planning (OER ancillary materials)Course materials by Lorain County Community College, 2017. “These are course materials for Emergency Planning and aligned with OSHA standards 7150 Evacuation and Emergency Planning, 7210 Pandemic Influenza Preparedness.” PDFs and zip files. CC BY (Creative Commons - Attribution) license. Eligible for Print on Demand
Supplemental tools and materials (incl. games, lessons, videos, exercises, etc.):
- Public Health Ethics: Global Cases, Practice, and ContextCDC, 2016. "For a public health practitioner, knowing how to employ an ethics framework to address a range of ethical challenges in public health—a know-how that depends on practice—is the ultimate take-home message." Organized into 2 sections, with 9 chapters. Section II includes multiple case studies. Chapter 4 is about “Disease Prevention and Control.” Its focus is on ethics, which might help students analyze specific case studies and ethical implications of preventing epidemic diseases. PDF and EPUB formats. Peer reviews of the book available on this site. CC BY NC (Creative Commons - Attribution - NonCommercial) license.
- Field Trials of Health Interventions: A Toolbox (OER guide)Peter G. Smith, London School of Hygiene & Tropical Medicine, Richard H. Marrow, Johns Hopkins Bloomberg School of Public Health, and David A. Ross, London School of Hygiene & Tropical Medicine, 2015. “Before new interventions can be used in disease control programmes, it is essential that they are carefully evaluated in “field trials”, which may be complex and expensive undertakings. Descriptions of the detailed procedures and methods used in trials that have been conducted in the past have generally not been published. As a consequence, those planning such trials have few guidelines available and little access to previously accumulated knowledge. In this book the practical issues of trial design and conduct are discussed fully and in sufficient detail for the text to be used as a “toolbox” by field investigators.” Might be useful for how to create a plan to assess and plan health interventions. Online and PDF formats. CC BY NC (Creative Commons - Attribution - NonCommercial) license. Eligible for Print on Demand.
- Public Health Emergency Response Guide for State, Local, and Tribal Public Health Directors -- Version 2.0Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC), National Center for Environmental Health (NCEH), and Division of Emergency and Environmental Health Services (EEHS), 2011. “State, local, and Tribal health departments play a crucial role in preparing for, responding to, and recovering from emergencies and disasters of all kinds.” Additional, related resources on the left side of this page. 65 pages total, organized into 9 main sections. PDF format. Public domain. Eligible for Print on Demand.
- The Community Guide - Community Health WorkersPublications and resources that highlight the role of community health workers and includes models of care. Many resources focus on health promotion and disease prevention.
- Public Health Image Library (PHIL)PHIL maintained by the CDC. Includes photos, illustrations, and video. Most images in PHIL are royalty-free and available for educational use with citation/attribution
Health, culture and diversity
Textbooks, courses, and readers:
- Perspectives on Bias in Medicine: As Experienced by Health Professionals and Patients (Open access textbook)Camilla Curren, Ohio State University College of Medicine, 2018. “This book will allow the medical learner to identify and acknowledge bias in the medical setting through the eyes of patients, medical professionals, and content experts who discuss their experiences with this subject. Learners will use self-assessment via the Implicit Bias Test created by Harvard University's Project Implicit, and reflection through knowledge checks, to solidify learning. It is written in dedication to our future medical professionals and patients we care for with the hopes of cultivating compassion through self-knowledge and awareness.” Organized into 9 chapters that go into specific kinds of biases in healthcare, including race and ethnicity (Chapter 2), age (Chapter 4), poverty, class, and privilege (Chapter 5), Women (Chapter 8), and more. Each chapter begins with the IAT (Implicit Association Test) correlating to the bias discussed in that chapter. Online, EPUB, Digital PDF, and Print PDF formats. Not openly licensed, but you can link to pages or sections within a Canvas course. Personal downloads for educational use seems implied, due to multiple download options. Not eligible for Print on Demand.
- Health Literacy in Context—Settings, Media, and Populations (OER collection)MDPI, Jan. 2019. “This collection of papers examines current progress in understanding health literacy 'in context', by improving our understanding of the mutual impact of a range of social, economic, environmental, and organisational influences on health literacy. These papers provide unique and original perspectives on the concept, distribution, and application of health literacy in very diverse populations, offering cultural insights and a clear indication of the impact of social and environmental context on health literacy.” Online reader or PDF format. The collection as a whole is distributed under a CC BY NC ND (Creative Commons - Attribution - NonCommercial - NoDerivatives) license, but the individual articles are distributed under a CC BY (Creative Commons - Attribution) license. Eligible for Print on Demand.
Library e-books:
Unlimited user access. Use permalinks in Canvas courses. Not eligible for Print on Demand. You may need to log in with your portal and/or Canvas credentials to access the e-books.
Successful societies: How institutions and culture affect healthCall Number: OnlinePublication Date: 2009“Why are some societies more successful than others at promoting individual and collective well-being? This book integrates recent research in social epidemiology with broader perspectives in social science to explore why some societies are more successful than others at securing population health. It explores the social roots of health inequalities, arguing that inequalities in health are based not only on economic inequalities, but on the structure of social relations. It develops sophisticated perspectives on social relations, which emphasize the ways in which cultural frameworks as well as institutions condition people's health. It reports on research into health inequalities in the developed and developing worlds, covering a wide range of national case studies, and into the ways in which social relations condition the effectiveness of public policies aimed at improving health.”
Cultural competence in health education and health promotionCall Number: OnlinePublication Date: 2013“This edition has substantially expanded coverage on working with diverse groups, social determinants of health, spirituality, theoretical models for multicultural populations, planning and program evaluation, and aging, with new content includes coverage of disability and health literacy. This edition also reflects the latest standards for Certified Health Education Specialist certification and national standards on Culturally and Linguistically Appropriate Services (CLAS), from Department of Health and Human Services, Office of Minority Health.”
Supplemental tools and materials (incl. games, lessons, videos, exercises, etc.):
- Think Cultural Health websiteSite maintained by the Office of Minority Health, U.S. Department of Health & Human Services. Sections for National CLAS Standards and Resources, which includes presentations, video units and case studies, and a Resource Library with fact sheets and scientific papers. Public domain.
- EthnoMed websiteSite maintained by Harborview Medical Center and Health Sciences Library, University of Washington. This website focuses on “integrating cultural information into clinical practice.” Initially created to collate info about cultural beliefs, medical issues and related topics pertinent to the health care of immigrants to Washington state or the U.S., particularly refugees. Sections for Cultures, Clinical Topics, Patient Education, and Cross-Cultural Health. CC BY NC ND (Creative Commons - Attribution - NonCommercial - NoDerivatives) license.
- Public Health Ethics: Global Cases, Practice, and ContextCDC, 2016. "For a public health practitioner, knowing how to employ an ethics framework to address a range of ethical challenges in public health—a know-how that depends on practice—is the ultimate take-home message." Organized into 2 sections, with 9 chapters. Section II includes multiple case studies. Ch. 7, Vulnerability and Marginalized Populations includes 6 case studies of public health issues or programs with vulnerable and marginalized populations around the world. PDF and EPUB formats. Peer reviews of the book available on this site. CC BY NC (Creative Commons - Attribution - NonCommercial) license.
- Community Tool BoxA service of the Center for Community Health and Development at the University of Kansas. "[R]esources and tools to help people work together to build healthier communities." The Table of Contents outlines the resources plus related toolkits. Sections includes Community Assessment, Communications to Promote Interest and Participation, Developing a Strategic Plan, Analyzing Community Problems, Implementing Promising Community Interventions, Cultural Competence, Organizing for Effective Advocacy, and more. CC BY NC SA (Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike) license.
- Cultural and Legal Topics for the Healthcare Professional (HOC 64) - Health Science Foundation Core Course (OER ancillary materials)Los Angeles Trade Technical College, 2014, via SkillsCommons repository. "This course provides an overview of the concepts of health and illness, cultural diversity and legal issues that affect the health care professional. Course outcomes include: Student will apply legal guidelines as they relate to health care situations including privacy, confidentiality and safety. Students will take action to minimize cultural conflicts in the health care setting." PDF format. CC BY (Creative Commons - Attribution) license. Eligible for Print on Demand.
- Public Health Image Library (PHIL)PHIL maintained by the CDC. Includes photos, illustrations, and video. Most images in PHIL are royalty-free and available for educational use with citation/attribution
- If/Then Collection"A digital asset library of women STEM innovators, for educational and other noncommercial use." Scroll down page for categories of images and videos, including Women in Tech, #SheCanSTEM, Health & Medicine, and more.
EMS ethics and leadership
Textbooks, courses, and readers:
- Leadership in Healthcare and Public Health (OER textbook)Julia Applegate, et al., Ohio State University, 2018. "We are in a crisis in healthcare and public health leadership. The diverse and rapidly changing political, technological, economic, and socio-cultural shifts in the last fifteen years have had a tremendous impact on healthcare delivery systems and public health [...] We encourage you to join us in exploring healthcare and public health leadership theory and practice." Online and PDF formats. CC BY (Creative Commons Attribution) license. Eligible for Print on Demand.
Supplemental tools and materials (incl. games, lessons, videos, exercises, etc.):
- Leadership Principles and Practices for Health System Transformation (OER ancillary materials)W. Henry Mosley, Johns Hopkins School of Public Health, 2015. "These presentations introduce students to the principles of strategic leadership, placing these in the context of facilitating institutional change in communities in developing and developed countries." Includes video lecture materials. MP3 and PDF files. Archived version of course; ancillary materials may still be useful for course development purposes. CC BY NC SA (Creative Commons - Attribution - NonCommercial - ShareAlike) license.
Injury prevention
Textbooks, courses, and readers:
- Whiplash Injury and Chronic Pain: The Anatomy and Current Interdisciplinary Approaches to Management (Open access textbook)Harsha Shanthanna and Anita Gross, eCampus Ontario, 2019. "Whiplash injuries causing whiplash-associated disorder (WAD; spectrum of clinical manifestations resulting from injury) represent a major public health problem. [...] It is important for a clinician or a health worker to understand the disease from the perspectives of its historical, biomechanical, clinical-therapeutic and bio-psycho-social approaches to effectively manage a patient’s care following a potential injury. We feel that this book acts as a useful resource to medical students and learners, primary care physicians, pain physicians, physiatrists, physical therapists and health providers involved with management of whiplash patients. A conscious attempt has been made to deliver evidence-based information." Organized into 10 chapters. Not openly licensed, but freely available to view and link to within Canvas courses. Online format. Not eligible for Print on Demand.
Supplemental tools and materials (incl. games, lessons, videos, exercises, etc.):
- Confronting the Burden of Injuries (OER ancillary materials)Adnan Hyder and Maria Segui-Gomez, Johns Hopkins School of Public Health, 2011. "Provides an understanding of approaches to measuring the burden of injuries around the world and familiarizes students with current estimates of the burden of injuries in the global and developing world. Develops basic skills for assessment of injury epidemiology. Provides an appreciation of how to use these measures for planning interventions for injury prevention and creates awareness of the economic implications of injuries in the developing world." Includes syllabus, schedule (with linked activities), lecture materials, and assignments. Archived course; ancillary materials may still be useful for course development purposes. CC BY NC SA (Creative Commons - Attribution - NonCommercial - ShareAlike) license.
Community paramedicine
Textbooks, courses, and readers:
- Vital Sign Measurement Across the Lifespan – 2nd Canadian Edition (OER textbook)Jennifer L. Lapum, et al, Ryerson University (Canada), 2nd ed., 2021. "The purpose of this textbook is to help learners develop best practices in vital sign measurement. Its intended audience is students in health-related post-secondary programs as well as healthcare providers. Using a multi-media and interactive approach, it will provide opportunities to read about, observe, practice, and test vital sign measurement. This 2nd Canadian Edition includes over 120 H5P activities." Online, PDF, EPUB, and course cartridge formats. Includes H5P ancillary activities. CC BY (Creative Commons Attribution) license. Eligible for Print on Demand.
- Vaccine Practice for Health Professionals - 1st Canadian Edition (OER textbook)OER textbook by Ryerson University (Canada) instructors, 2020. "This resource is designed for students in post-secondary health profession programs, including nursing. [...] This textbook provides information related to clinical practice, including the administration of vaccine, and communication with clients." Focuses on Canada, so may need to be updated or supplemented with U.S.-specific laws and regulations. Organized into 7 chapters. Faculty peer reviews of this text available on this site. Online, PDF, and E-book formats. CC BY-SA (Creative Commons - Attribution - ShareAlike) license. Eligible for Print on Demand.
Supplemental tools and materials (incl. games, lessons, videos, exercises, etc.):
- Improving Understanding and Collaboration Among First Responders (OER ancillary materials)Faculty of Johns Hopkins Center For Public Health Preparedness, Johns Hopkins School of Public Health, 2006. "This unique training addresses the institutional culture of five responder groups: law enforcement, EMS, fire, public health, and private security in an attempt at fostering understanding among these groups." Includes lecture materials. PDF files. Archived course; ancillary materials may still be useful for course development purposes. CC BY NC SA (Creative Commons - Attribution - NonCommercial - ShareAlike) license.
- Paramedic Skills VideosUniversity of Alaska Fairbanks, 2015. "Training videos developed in accordance with the 2015 National Registry of Emergency Medical Technicians® Paramedic Psychomotor Competency Portfolio (PPCP) Manual. These skills training videos will serve as tutorials for training paramedics in the CTC Paramedic Academy." Video categories include: History Taking and Physical Examinations; Airway, Oxygenation, and Ventilation; Trauma; Medical & Cardiac Physical Assessment; and Cardiac. MP4 and closed captioning files. CC BY (Creative Commons - Attribution) license.
- Preventing Chronic Disease JournalCDC journal. Includes current and past issues, as well as special themed collections.
Health care writing
For OER and library resources on health care writing, please explore the Writing OER subject guide, linked below and then click on the "Health care writing" sub-tab:
Culturally responsive and inclusive pedagogy
The Culturally Responsive and Inclusive Pedagogy OER Subject Guide, linked below, provides a starting point for OER professional development and curricular materials relating to issues of equity, diversity, and inclusion; trauma-informed practices; and culturally responsive, inclusive, and anti-racist pedagogy and practices. This guide includes concepts and keywords; TCC OEDI resources; introductory and more in-depth professional development resources (toolkits, guides, etc.); curriculum resources (activities, assignments, etc.); OER and EDI rubrics; instructional design; accessibility; as well as EDI-focused OER in different disciplines across the curriculum, including Health.
Your OER librarian
Jennifer Snoek-Brown
she/her
Contact:
Email: jsnoek-brown@tacomacc.edu (the fastest way to contact me)
Office: Bldg 7, Library (please wear a face mask)
Phone: 253.460.3936 (forwards to my email)
Book an appointment Click the "book now" button above to book a personal appointment with me via Zoom.
Website
Office: Bldg 7, Library (please wear a face mask)
Phone: 253.460.3936 (forwards to my email)
Book an appointment Click the "book now" button above to book a personal appointment with me via Zoom.
Your liaison librarian
Melissa Adams
Subjects: Astronomy, Biology, Botany, Business/Economics, Careers, Chemistry, College 101, Community Health, Early Childhood Education, Economics, Education, Emergency Medical Services, Engineering, Environmental Science, Geology, Health, Math, Music, Nutrition, Philosophy, Radiologic Science, Science, Statistics
Attributions
Except where otherwise noted, the content in this guide was compiled by Jennifer Snoek-Brown, Tacoma Community College Library, and is licensed under a CC BY SA 4.0 license.
Except where otherwise noted, the content in these guides by Tacoma Community College Library is licensed under CC BY SA 4.0.
This openly licensed content allows others to cite, share, or modify this content, with credit to TCC Library. When reusing or adapting this content, include this statement in the new document: This content was originally created by Tacoma Community College Library and shared with a CC BY SA 4.0 license.
Tacoma Community College Library - Building 7, 6501 South 19th Street, Tacoma, WA 98466 - P. 253.566.5087
Visit us on Instagram!