Faculty/staff guide to Open Educational Resources (OER): Library resources
On this Library resources page, explore: how library resources fit into the OER landscape; how library resources can fill in the gaps as supplemental course resources; how to embed or link to library videos and articles within Canvas courses; how librarians are leading the way in OER; and browse e-book titles about OER and open pedagogy
How do library resources fit into the OER landscape?
Supplement with no-cost library resources in courses!
Licensed e-books, online magazines & journals, streaming media, and other online resources available through the TCC Library subscriptions are not considered OER. These resources are restricted to TCC students, faculty and staff, and they are already-licensed materials that do not allow for customization and re-use or redistribution the same way as OER. Although library online resources are not "open," they are available at no extra cost to students. Therefore:
Consider filling in some of the gaps by using library resources, such as e-books and articles.
Contact your OER or liaison librarian to get started.
- Jennifer Snoek-Brown, OER Faculty Librarian, 253.460.3936
- Or contact your librarian liaison
Text source: Adapted from "Austin Community College (ACC) Library Services Guide on Open Educational Resources" by Carrie Gits licensed under CC BY 4.0
Tips and videos about library resources and OER
This 5:26 minute video explores how library materials can be an important component in solving the problem of high textbook prices.
These are videos about OER and library resources that OER librarian Jennifer Snoek-Brown has sent out to all TCC faculty and staff, as part of a recurring "OER + Your TCC Library" series of communications.
- An introduction to your OER librarian (Fall 2022)A short introduction video for Jennifer Snoek-Brown, OER librarian at TCC, including what an "OER librarian" actually does, resources for exploring OER on your own, and who and how to contact for OER support. Fall 2022, 5:16 mins. Panopto video with accessible captions and content shortcuts.
- Finding and using OER images in Canvas (Spring/Summer 2023)Are you wanting to freshen up the images in your Canvas course during the upcoming break or during summer quarter? Are you wanting to feature more inclusive images within your Canvas course? Then this video is for you! Spring/Summer 2023, 9:45 mins. Canvas Studio video with accessible captions.
- Faculty assessment of OER support (Fall 2022)Reviewing OER questions on recent faculty surveys of library support and services and faculty ratings of OER support and OER subject guides. Fall 2022, 6 mins. Panopto video with accessible captions and content shortcuts.
- OER Subject Guides update (Fall 2021)Spotlighting new additions to the OER faculty/staff guide, expansions to existing OER subject guides, and new OER subject guides for culturally responsive & inclusive pedagogy, community & public health, film studies, human services, information technology, nursing, and paralegal.
- OER definitions for course labeling vs. Print on Demand (Spring 2021)How OER is defined and used at TCC to define course labeling vs. Print on Demand eligibility. Spring 2021, 7:40 mins. Panopto video with accessible captions and content shortcuts.
- OER & Library tools in the Canvas toolbar (Spring 2021)This video highlights major OER and Library tools in the new Canvas toolbar, including the Open Attribution Builder (OAB) tool and the Library's streaming video apps. Spring 2021, 8:33 mins. Panopto video with accessible captions and content shortcuts.
- OER subject guide survey follow-up (Winter 2021)A follow-up video highlighting results of our OER subject guide survey in the Fall 2020 quarter. Winter 2021, 11:47 mins. Panopto video with accessible captions and content shortcuts.
- OER and alignment with TCC strategic plan and core themes (Winter 2021)OER librarian Jennifer Snoek-Brown details how OER aligns with TCC's Strategic Plan, Core Themes, and related goals. Created for Accreditation visit, Winter 2021, 3:16 mins. Panopto video with accessible captions.
- OER + inclusive image options (Fall 2020)OER video that highlights openly licensed collections of inclusive images, as well as how to use and attribute images via the Flickr image tool in Canvas. Fall 2020, 15:25 mins. Panopto video with accessible captions and content shortcuts.
- OER subject guides update & survey video (Fall 2020)TCC Library launched OER subject guides in Fall 2019. This video provides a 1-year update about these OER subject guides and info about a survey to capture feedback about these guides, how to improve them, and additional OER subject guides we need to create. Fall 2020, 4:12 mins. Panopto video with accessible captions and content shortcuts.
This webinar from 2013, hosted by the Open Education Consortium, explores how libraries and librarians are involved in supporting open courses, OER, and helping develop open policies.
Watch this short video (2:12 mins) about how to easily embed Films on Demand videos into your Canvas courses.
Search for streaming videos in Films on Demand database:
- Films on Demand This link opens in a new window
Over 20,000 streaming videos appropriate for academic research. Videos can be watched in their entirety, or as individual segments.
Watch this short video (2:30 mins) about how to link to library database articles in Canvas courses.
Popular library databases with permalinks:
- Ebook Central This link opens in a new window
Over 180,000 electronic books, with broad coverage on academic topics. Viewable with your web browser; also downloadable to e-readers or e-reader apps with some restrictions. - ProQuest Periodical Databases This link opens in a new window
Multiple periodical databases providing coverage of a wide range of topics, with a mix of popular and scholarly sources. Particularly good for current events. - Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
(Ebsco) Periodical database. This multi-disciplinary database covers most disciplines taught at TCC. Most articles are scholarly. - JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Full text of a range of academic journal articles and primary sources. TCC's collection includes: "Archival Journal / Primary Source Collections." Good coverage of history, sociology, anthropology, literature, and economics. All images from Artstor are now on JSTOR!
- Complete List of TCC Library Research DatabasesClick here to view all of the research databases available at your TCC Library
Watch this short video (2:39 mins) about how to add a library research guide (LibGuide) into your Canvas course menu:
Browse the library research guides for your discipline or course:
- TCC Library Research GuidesThis page includes guides created to support research assignments in specific courses (updated each quarter) as well as general guides, such as evaluating sources.
How to find ebooks:
Watch this short video (4:28 mins) about how to find ebooks in the library's collection.
How to link to or embed ebooks in your Canvas courses:
Watch this short video (4:32 mins) about how to link to an ebook, link to a chapter in an ebook, or download a chapter and embed it into a Canvas page:
Browse ebooks in the TCC Library's collection:
- Ebook Central This link opens in a new windowOver 180,000 electronic books, with broad coverage on academic topics. Viewable with your web browser; also downloadable to e-readers or e-reader apps with some restrictions.
- eBook Collection (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Over 200,000 electronic books, covering a large selection of multidisciplinary academic subjects. Books can be read through a web browser or downloaded.
Related guide: Integrating Library Resources into Canvas
E-book titles about OER and open pedagogy
Interactive open educational resources: A guide to finding, choosing, and using what's out there to transform college teaching by Call Number: OnlinePublication Date: 2014This book demonstrates the best tools, resources, and techniques for discovering, selecting, and integrating interactive open educational resources (OERs) into the teaching and learning process.
Pedagogy of the open society: Knowledge and the governance of higher educationCall Number: OnlinePublication Date: 2013Social processes and policies that foster openness as an overriding value as evidenced in the growth of open source, open access and open education and their convergences that characterize global knowledge communities that transcend borders of the nation-state.
Attributions
Except where otherwise noted, the content in this guide by Tacoma Community College Library is licensed under CC BY SA 4.0. Please see sub-pages for any additional attributions.
Except where otherwise noted, the content in these guides by Tacoma Community College Library is licensed under CC BY SA 4.0.
This openly licensed content allows others to cite, share, or modify this content, with credit to TCC Library. When reusing or adapting this content, include this statement in the new document: This content was originally created by Tacoma Community College Library and shared with a CC BY SA 4.0 license.
Tacoma Community College Library - Building 7, 6501 South 19th Street, Tacoma, WA 98466 - P. 253.566.5087
Visit us on Instagram!