Skip to Main Content

Faculty/staff guide to Open Educational Resources (OER): OER Titan awards

This guide is designed to help TCC faculty and staff find, create, evaluate, and incorporate open educational resources for instructional and training purposes.

On this OER Titans page, explore: what the OER Titan Awards are and how they began, and info about the TCC OER award recipients.

OER Titan Awards

We began the OER Titan Awards in Spring 2022, to help celebrate TCC's first decade of OER advocacy.

What is the OER Titan Award?

The OER Titan Award recognizes TCC faculty, staff, and students for outstanding contributions to TCC’s Open Education initiatives. This brand-new recognition was developed by TCC’s Open Education (OE) Steering Group, in collaboration with the Office of Student Engagement (OSE) and the Associated Students of TCC (ASTCC), as part of our ongoing effort to showcase and celebrate the individuals whose combined work has saved TCC students $10,000,000 in the past decade, while creating more engaging, accessible, and equitable educational experiences.

Are you a student who is taking a course that doesn't require you to purchase a textbook? Are you an instructor who has worked with a colleague to adapt or create an OER textbook or course materials? Do you know a colleague who is working on social justice and open education initiatives? Have you worked with TCC student leaders who advocate for textbook affordability? Then please consider nominating them for the OER Titan Award! This award recognizes and celebrates individuals who are doing and supporting outstanding open education work at Tacoma Community College.

How to nominate someone for the OER Titan Award:

The current nomination period is not open. When the nomination period is open, there will be a form link available here to submit a nomination for the OER Titan Awards.

Deadline for nominations:

Deadline for nominations TBA.

There is no limit on nomination submissions, and self-nominations are accepted. 

Award sponsors:

This award is sponsored by TCC's Open Education Steering Group, in collaboration with the Office of Student Engagement (OSE) and the Associated Students of TCC (ASTCC). 

OER Titan Award 2021-22 recipients

The OER Titan Award celebrated its inaugural recipients in 2021-22. This year's recipients were nominated by TCC students, staff, and faculty, and are recognized in four categories that encompass critical components of our strategic goals for open education at TCC: 

  • OER Student Activism
  • OER Equity, Social Justice, and Access
  • OER Textbook & Course Materials
  • Original OER Adopters.

All recipients received an OER Titan Award certificate, signed by TCC President, Dr. Ivan Harrell and ASTCC President, Melissa Littleton. We recognized the inaugural award recipients during TCC’s May Town Hall event on Wednesday, May 18, 2022.

Below you will find a list of this year's award winners. We've also attached below a PDF copy of our complete recognition slides. Check out the attached document to learn more about the wonderful work of our individual OER Titans!

Please join us in congratulating this amazing group of students, faculty, and staff for their outstanding contributions to Open Education at TCC!

2021-2022 OER Titan Award Recipients

OER Student Activism:

  • Melissa Littleton - ASTCC President - Student

OER Equity, Social Justice And Access:

  • Sandra Galta - Sociology - Faculty
  • Ivan Ramirez - Astronomy & Physics - Faculty
  • Melissa Stoddard - EMS/Paramedic - Faculty
  • Laquida Williams - Access Services - Staff

OER Textbook & Course Materials:

  • Analea Brauburger - Psychology - Faculty
  • Pamela Costa - Psychology - Faculty
  • Polly Robinson - Oral Communications - Faculty

Original OER Adopters:

  • Jeff Calkins - Written Communications - Faculty
  • Christine Cerny - Business & Logistics - Faculty
  • Linda LeLisle - Oral Communications - Faculty
  • Jonathan Eastabrooks - Health Information - Faculty
  • Christie Fierro - Oral Communications - Faculty
  • Ken Fox - Written Communications - Faculty
  • Mary Fox - Written Communications - Faculty
  • Sheri Gietzen - Written Communications - Faculty
  • Pattie Green - Biology - Faculty
  • Kim Harrington - Biology - Faculty
  • Kristin Harrison - Biology & Botany - Faculty
  • Keith King - Physics - Faculty
  • Deb Padden - Business & Logistics, Information Systems, & Paralegal - Faculty
  • Danielle Ritter - Transitional Studies & Written Communications - Faculty
  • Quill West - Transitional Studies & ABE - Faculty

CC BY SA license

Except where otherwise noted, the content in these guides by Tacoma Community College Library is licensed under CC BY SA 4.0.
This openly licensed content allows others to cite, share, or modify this content, with credit to TCC Library. When reusing or adapting this content, include this statement in the new document: This content was originally created by Tacoma Community College Library and shared with a CC BY SA 4.0 license.

Tacoma Community College Library - Building 7, 6501 South 19th Street, Tacoma, WA 98466 - P. 253.566.5087

Instagram logo

Visit us on Instagram!