SCI 105 Stave: APA Style Citations
APA online style guides
Useful Online Style Guides
Visit Purdue University's Online Writing Lab (OWL) APA Style Guide for a sample paper and instructions for citing individual sources such as newspaper articles, scholarly journals, video and books.
OWL also provides general information about APA style in an APA Style Workshop.
- The Purdue OWL: APA 7 style citation guideUse the navigation on the left to find examples of in-text and reference list citations. Also contains a sample paper demonstrating in-text citations and paper layout .
- The Purdue OWL APA 7 changesThe OWL goes over some of the changes from APA 6 to APA 7
- The Purdue OWL APA 7 overview and workshopThis workshop introduces important aspects of the American Psychological Association (APA) Style used to format research papers
Please use the link below to visit TCC's Citation guide if you are interested in learning more about:
- How citation is important
- What, when, where and how to cite
- Integrating your research into your writing
- Word tips for creating reference lists
What is APA?
What is APA Style?
APA style refers to the rules created by the American Psychological Association for formatting papers, use of language, presentation of data,... as well as for how to do in-text citations and end-of-paper citations (References). APA style is used primarily by authors in social sciences and health sciences, but is used widely in many TCC courses.
See the boxes on this page for details.
- APA 7 StyleAPA's publication style homepage with links to specific topics such as formatting a paper
TCC's interactive handouts for APA style
TCC Library Handouts for APA 7 Style Annotations
- APA 7 annotated bibliography template/exampleYou can type over this template or use it as a guide to make your own.
- APA 7 reference citations - fill in the blankBecome more acquainted with APA citation style by making your own
TCC's APA style handouts
APA Style Handouts
Here are some handouts (in both .docx and .pdf formats) featuring examples citations for sources you might find through TCC's Library and the Web.
References
- APA style References guide (7th ed.) 2020 [.pdf]This double-sided .pdf handout provides some example References page citations for commonly used sources.
- APA style References guide (7th ed.) 2020 [.docx]This double-sided .docx handout provides some example References page citations for commonly used sources.
In-Text Citations
- APA style in-text citations guide (7th ed.) 2020 [.pdf]This double-sided .pdf handout provides some example in-text citations for commonly used sources.
- APA style in-text citations guide (7th ed.) 2020 [.docx]This double-sided .docx handout provides some example in-text citations for commonly used sources.
- TCC Library's APA guideIn this guide you will also find an extensive list and description of the changes, from APA 6 to APA 7, that are most relevant to TCC students.
Citing Social Media
- APA style social media citations (7th ed.) [.pdf]This double-sided .pdf handout provides some example References page citations for social media content.
- APA style social media citations (7th ed.) [.docx]This double-sided .docx handout provides some example References page citations for social media content.
Except where otherwise noted, the content in these guides by Tacoma Community College Library is licensed under CC BY SA 4.0.
This openly licensed content allows others to cite, share, or modify this content, with credit to TCC Library. When reusing or adapting this content, include this statement in the new document: This content was originally created by Tacoma Community College Library and shared with a CC BY SA 4.0 license.
Tacoma Community College Library - Building 7, 6501 South 19th Street, Tacoma, WA 98466 - P. 253.566.5087
Visit us on Instagram!