SCI 105 Stave: Pro & con - controversial issues
Finding both sides
Sometimes it is difficult to find both sides of an argument. Here are some tips to use when you are searching databases. Try adding (usually one at a time, or separated by "OR") the words or phrases listed below. Some will be more useful than others depending on your topic. Try to imagine how authors might discuss the concept you are researching.
| Pro | Con |
|---|---|
| proponents | opposed OR opponents OR opposition |
| advocates | critics OR criticism |
| support OR supporters | resistance OR resistors |
| defenders | enemies |
| sponsors | damage OR costs OR burden |
| positive OR "positive effects" | negative OR "negative effects" |
| benefits | dangers |
Here's an example of a search you might use in ProQuest if you were having trouble finding articles opposed to beauty contests:
Liberal vs. conservative sources
Liberal & Conservative Think Tanks
Here are a few magazines (all available through our periodical databases) and think tanks that consistently promote traditional conservative or liberal views.
"Liberal" magazines:
"Conservative" magazines:
"Liberal" think tanks:
"Conservative" think tanks:
Need more sources along the liberal/conservative spectrum? See below:
- AllSidesNews and issues from multiple perspectives. The site clearly identifies each news story's position (left, center, or right). You can also browse publications and narrow down to specific perspectives (liberal/left to conservative/right).
CQ Researcher
Reports in the CQ Researcher database include a pro/con section. Two authors will debate one small question related to the larger topic.
Sample "Pro/Con" section in a CQ Research report:
Search the CQ Researcher database:
- CQ Researcher This link opens in a new window
These weekly reports provide thoughtfully written analyses of social, economic and political issues. Every issue features an extensive report on one topic.
Useful websites for controversial topics
Useful Websites
Here are some web sites that might help with controversial issues
- Opposing ViewsThis is a .com site, so be prepared for lots of annoying advertising
- ProCon.orgA site focused on "promoting critical thinking, education, and informed citizenship by presenting controversial issues in a straightforward, nonpartisan, and primarily pro-con format." A significant feature of this web site is the provision of links to the documents cited in the arguments.
- Public AgendaProvides information on the many facets of current interest topics and information drawn from polls give a sense of how the U.S. public views some issues.
Find pro/con articles in library databases
Finding Pro/Con Articles in the Library's Databases
Pro/Con articles provide different perspectives and opinions on current and often controversial issues. Newspapers, for example, are a great place to find pro/con views through opinion-type articles such as editorials, columns, or letters to the editor. Databases like Proquest and New York Times provide these types of newspaper articles.
Also, some databases, like Points of View Reference Center and CQ Researcher explore current issues and include differing pro/con stances.
Try searching these databases below:
- Points of View Reference Center This link opens in a new window
Articles on 400 topics, each with an overview and an argument, and many with opposing arguments. Also includes primary sources. - CQ Researcher This link opens in a new windowThese weekly reports provide thoughtfully written analyses of social, economic and political issues. Every issue features an extensive report on one topic.
- ProQuest Periodical Databases This link opens in a new window
Multiple periodical databases providing coverage of a wide range of topics, with a mix of popular and scholarly sources. Particularly good for current events. - New York Times This link opens in a new window
Set up an account for full access to New York Times: https://nytimesineducation.com/access-nyt/ (Note: 52 weeks after you first set up your own NYTimes account, you will need to re-authenticate by going to the same URL.) [Historical coverage: full access to New York Times articles published between 1851 through 1922, and between 1981 through current day. Access to the years 1923-1980 is limited.]
Keywords for pro and con
Sometimes it is difficult to find both sides of an argument, or opposing viewpoints on a topic. Here are some keywords to think about using when you are searching databases. Try adding (usually one at a time, or separated by "OR") the words or phrases listed below. Some keywords be more useful than others depending on your topic. Try to imagine how authors might discuss the concept you are researching and what words they might use to describe support for or against it.
Keywords for PRO side:
- benefits
- proponents
- advocates
- support OR supporters
- defenders
- sponsors
- positive OR "positive effects"
Keywords for CON side:
- opposed OR opponents OR oposition
- critics OR criticism
- debate
- controversy
- resistance OR resistors
- enemies
- damage
- problems
- negative OR "negative effects"
Except where otherwise noted, the content in these guides by Tacoma Community College Library is licensed under CC BY SA 4.0.
This openly licensed content allows others to cite, share, or modify this content, with credit to TCC Library. When reusing or adapting this content, include this statement in the new document: This content was originally created by Tacoma Community College Library and shared with a CC BY SA 4.0 license.
Tacoma Community College Library - Building 7, 6501 South 19th Street, Tacoma, WA 98466 - P. 253.566.5087
Visit us on Instagram!