While History and Anthropology are both Social Sciences and hang a lot of importance on the same values of the Social Sciences, they also have expectations of their own that must be considered when writing for these fields. Here is what readers in these fields are looking for:
Analysis and inclusion of primary sources. These fields rely really heavily on understanding what was happening at a given time, so materials from the time should be included in writing unless your teacher specifies something different.
Situating a topic in the time it happened. In these fields you should always try to imagine and convey the issues of the cultural situation surrounding the event.
Multiple disciplines for evidence. In both of these fields you are expected to draw on scholarship from other disciplines to help build a complete sense of an issue.
Both disciplines, history and anthropology, are well covered in the following databases.
Full text of a range of academic journal articles and primary sources. TCC's collection includes: "Archival Journal / Primary Source Collections." Good coverage of history, sociology, anthropology, literature, and economics.
Many primary sources for history are becoming available on the web in digitized collections such as the Library of Congress's American Memory site.
"American Memory provides free and open access through the Internet to written and spoken words, sound recordings, still and moving images, prints, maps, and sheet music that document the American experience." from A.M. mission statement
Links to research guides
These are links to research guides created here at TCC either for a specific discipline or program or for a specific assignment. They will give you a little deeper understanding of what instructors might require.
Except where otherwise noted, the content in these guides by Tacoma Community College Library is licensed under CC BY SA 4.0.
This openly licensed content allows others to cite, share, or modify this content, with credit to TCC Library. When reusing or adapting this content, include this statement in the new document: This content was originally created by Tacoma Community College Library and shared with a CC BY SA 4.0 license.
Tacoma Community College Library - Building 7, 6501 South 19th Street, Tacoma, WA 98466 - P. 253.566.5087