LS 101: Adams, M.: Using the databases: tutorials
What are databases?
TCC's research databases provide full text (and indexing) of magazine, newspaper, journal, and subject encyclopedia articles. Access library databases through the "Research databases" tab above.
What are databases and why we need them
A timeless classic from Yavapai College Library!
video "What are databases and why we need them" by Yavapai College Library. Standard YouTube license applies.
Academic Search Complete tutorials
Find academic, scholarly, and peer-reviewed journal articles.
Explore the Academic Search Complete database:
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
(Ebsco) Periodical database. This multi-disciplinary database covers most disciplines taught at TCC. Most articles are scholarly.
Academic Search Complete tutorial:
- Academic Search Complete Tutorial (2020)Click the link to watch this video for an introduction to searching Academic Search Complete.
Using Gale eBooks
Search subject encyclopedias for background information.
Search the Gale Ebooks database:
- Gale eBooks This link opens in a new window
Digitized reference works, covering many disciplines. Very useful for background information on a topic.
Gale Ebooks tutorial:
All ProQuest tutorials
Find newspaper, magazine, trade journal and scholarly journal articles.
Database:
- ProQuest Periodical Databases This link opens in a new window
Multiple periodical databases providing coverage of a wide range of topics, with a mix of popular and scholarly sources. Particularly good for current events.
Quick Guide:
- Quick Guide: ProQuest PeriodicalsView or download this quick guide to learn more about what kinds of information this databases houses and how to access it.
General video tutorial:
Using CQ Researcher
Choose or research a social, political or economic issues through reports in the CQ Researcher database.
Search the CQ Researcher database:
- CQ Researcher This link opens in a new window
These weekly reports provide thoughtfully written analyses of social, economic and political issues. Every issue features an extensive report on one topic.
CQ Researcher tutorial:
Except where otherwise noted, the content in these guides by Tacoma Community College Library is licensed under CC BY SA 4.0.
This openly licensed content allows others to cite, share, or modify this content, with credit to TCC Library. When reusing or adapting this content, include this statement in the new document: This content was originally created by Tacoma Community College Library and shared with a CC BY SA 4.0 license.
Tacoma Community College Library - Building 7, 6501 South 19th Street, Tacoma, WA 98466 - P. 253.566.5087
Visit us on Instagram!