HIST 214: Sandin, J. (Summer 2024): Websites
Websites as sources of information
It is possible to find reliable information on your topic by searching the Web BUT be careful to ensure that the information is credible and reliable. To better understand how to evaluate the information you find on the Web, cllick on the link at the bottom of the box below right.
Useful websites
- American Indians of the Pacific Northwest Collection - UW Digital CollectionsFrom UW Digital Collections - Search through documents, photos, articles, and more.
- Civil Rights & Labor History Consortium"These thirteen projects from the University of Washington bring together maps, films, slide shows, nearly one hundred video oral history interviews, and several thousand photographs, documents, and digitized newspaper articles."
- HistoryLinkA free, authoritative, Washington State history encyclopedia.
- Historical US Census BureauProvides access to census materials from 1790 to the present.
- Historical Sources - Portland and OregonA gateway to useful sources on the history of Portland and the state of Oregon from Portland State University.
- Oregon EncyclopediaA Project of the Oregon Historical Society - search for articles about OR History topics
- The Oregon History Project"The Oregon History Project is a digital resource of the Oregon Historical Society Museum and Research Library. So far, hundreds of historical records and artifacts from the unique and extensive OHS collections have been digitized, annotated, and organized using the State of Oregon Department of Education standards and guidelines. "
- Idaho Historical Society"The Idaho State Historical Society is a trusted guide through the state’s history and how it has shaped every aspect of our lives — our land, our communities, our government and our people." Search through their collection of online photos and stories about the state's past.
- University of Idaho Digital CollectionsSearch through online collections of various publications, maps, audio, photographs and more.
Using websites
Websites can provide up-to-date information and can quickly lead you to further information
How do you know if a website's information is:
- authoritative
- accurate
- current
- objective
- appropriate?
The crucial TRICK is to evaluate if you have a "good" website:
Except where otherwise noted, the content in these guides by Tacoma Community College Library is licensed under CC BY SA 4.0.
This openly licensed content allows others to cite, share, or modify this content, with credit to TCC Library. When reusing or adapting this content, include this statement in the new document: This content was originally created by Tacoma Community College Library and shared with a CC BY SA 4.0 license.
Tacoma Community College Library - Building 7, 6501 South 19th Street, Tacoma, WA 98466 - P. 253.566.5087
Visit us on Instagram!