HIST 214: Sandin, J. (Summer 2024): Finding background information
Starting out
When you begin the research process, it's usually necessary to get some basic background information on your topic. Reference sources---dictionaries, encyclopedias, handbooks, and atlases--are the best place to get this kind of information. This page provides you with some great starting points to become familiar with your topic.
Gale eBooks
What's Gale eBooks?
Gale eBooks is a collection of electronic encyclopedia articles on many different topics. There are quite a few articles on topics related to the history of the Pacific Northwest.
- Gale eBooks This link opens in a new window
Digitized reference works, covering many disciplines. Very useful for background information on a topic.
Here's a screenshot of a sample search.
Online reference sources
- HistoryLinkA free, authoritative, Washington State history encyclopedia.
- Oregon Blue Book"The Oregon Blue Book is the state's official almanac and fact book. It contains listings and functional descriptions of government agencies and educational institutions. It also features an almanac, maps, facts about Oregon history and elections, as well as information on the arts, media, and other cultural institutions in Oregon."
- Oregon.com: HistoryThis travel website highlights lodging, recreation, and attractions in the state, and it also has a section on the history of the state, including resources about the Oregon Trail and Portland's Pittock Mansion.
- Washington TribesThis website shares information about how the 29 tribes in Washington State are helping to build a better future for everyone and includes links, photos, and videos for individual tribes.
Except where otherwise noted, the content in these guides by Tacoma Community College Library is licensed under CC BY SA 4.0.
This openly licensed content allows others to cite, share, or modify this content, with credit to TCC Library. When reusing or adapting this content, include this statement in the new document: This content was originally created by Tacoma Community College Library and shared with a CC BY SA 4.0 license.
Tacoma Community College Library - Building 7, 6501 South 19th Street, Tacoma, WA 98466 - P. 253.566.5087
Visit us on Instagram!