HIST 214: Sandin, J. (Winter 2025): Finding articles in library databases
Searching the databases
In the TCC Library, journal articles are most easily found in research databases, rather than in print. Here are links to a few databases that will probably be most useful for you:
- JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Full text of a range of academic journal articles and primary sources. TCC's collection includes: "Archival Journal / Primary Source Collections." Good coverage of history, sociology, anthropology, literature, and economics. All images from Artstor are now on JSTOR! - Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
(Ebsco) Periodical database. This multi-disciplinary database covers most disciplines taught at TCC. Most articles are scholarly. - ProQuest Periodical Databases This link opens in a new window
Multiple periodical databases providing coverage of a wide range of topics, with a mix of popular and scholarly sources. Particularly good for current events.
How to search ProQuest for articles
Explore the ProQuest Database
Find newspaper, magazine, trade journal and scholarly journal articles.
- ProQuest Periodical Databases This link opens in a new windowMultiple periodical databases providing coverage of a wide range of topics, with a mix of popular and scholarly sources. Particularly good for current events.
ProQuest Tutorial
Why use article databases?
Why Use Article Databases?
The Library has some journals, magazines, and newspapers in print -- but we have thousands more stored electronically in research databases, also called "library databases" or "article databases." Here are some reasons to use article databases:
- Looking for articles in library databases can help you find more specific information.
- Almost all library databases -- including all the ones featured below -- have built-in citation tools to help make the citation process easier.
- And to help save time, you can also narrow down your results to "peer-reviewed" articles, and remember, you need to find at least 2 peer-reviewed sources for this assignment!
The databases listed below cover a number of subjects and are good starting points for finding articles for your final research paper in this class, but below is a link to ALL of the research databases available at your TCC Library:
- Complete List of TCC Library Research DatabasesClick here to view all of the research databases available at your TCC Library
History Study Center database
The History Study Center database is great place to find articles on PNW history.
Search Tip: Select "journals" from the selection on the right side of the homepage and enter your search terms in the search box.
- History Study Center This link opens in a new window
Collection of digitized sources for the study of global history.
Except where otherwise noted, the content in these guides by Tacoma Community College Library is licensed under CC BY SA 4.0.
This openly licensed content allows others to cite, share, or modify this content, with credit to TCC Library. When reusing or adapting this content, include this statement in the new document: This content was originally created by Tacoma Community College Library and shared with a CC BY SA 4.0 license.
Tacoma Community College Library - Building 7, 6501 South 19th Street, Tacoma, WA 98466 - P. 253.566.5087
Visit us on Instagram!