HIST 214: Sandin, J. (Summer 2025): Primary sources
What is a primary source?
What is a Primary Source?
A primary source is information in its original form. A primary source is a document or physical object which was written or created during the time that is being studied. It has NOT been interpreted or translated.
Examples of Primary Sources
- Audio: oral histories, memoirs, interviews, music
- Images: photographs, videos, film, fine art
- Objects: clothing, tools, pottery gravestones, weapons, memorabilia
- Statistics: Census data, population statistics, weather records
- Text: letters, diaries, original documents, legal agreements, treaties, maps, laws, advertisements, recipes, genealogical information, sermons/lectures
Remember: A copy of a primary source is also a primary source!
You might find primary sources on your topic in TCC books and reference books (both print and online), magazines, newspapers (TCC research databases), and on academic institution and archive websites that host special historical collections.
-
What is a primary source?Definitions and examples of primary and secondary sources, Ithaca College Library
Primary sources at the TCC Library
The TCC Library collection contains a number of primary source materials on the history of the PNW.
To find these sources in the library catalog, try incorporating the keywords listed below in your catalog search.
- narrative
- diary
- journal
- travels
- letters
- eyewitness
An example search might be look like this, depending on your chosen topic:
Register for a New York Times account
The New York Times
Thanks to a college-wide subscription, all TCC students, faculty and staff have access to all articles, breaking news, blogs, multimedia and more from The New York Times. You can enjoy access to NYTimes.com and the NYTimes mobile apps from wherever you are.
For access, you need to set up an account and claim a pass. Follow the directions below to claim your pass.
Claim Your Pass
- The first step is to claim your pass. Visit the NY Times Academic Pass site linked below:
-
New York Times - Academic PassClaim your free academic pass for the New York Times
- Click on the link below "New York Times Activate Your Account"
Follow These Steps
- Type and select "Tacoma Community College" in the box
- Use your TCC email address and create a password.
- Select if you are student or faculty. If you are a student, input your graduation year (your account will remain active until December 31 of that year). If you are faculty, your account will be active for 4 years before you need to reactivate your account.
- Check your inbox. You should have a validation email from the New York Times.
- Once you validate your account, read on!
- Download your free NYT smartphone apps at nytimes.com/mobile, including the NYT Now app for iPhone®, giving you a quick look at all the day’s top stories.
Hints
- Remain logged into your NYTimes.com account to have seamless access to NYTimes.com and mobile apps for the duration of your Pass.
Already have a NYTimes.com account associated with your school email address?
- Visit nytimes.com/passes and log in using your school email address.
- Check your email inbox and click on the link in your confirmation email to validate your email address.
Having a problem?
If the confirmation email didn’t arrive, check your spam folder. If it isn’t there, send an email to edu@nytimes.com from your school email address to request confirmation.
-
New York Times - Academic Pass Troubleshooting GuideTroubleshooting tips and info about the NY Times Academic Pass subscriptions.
Online primary source websites
-
Civil Rights - Washington State oral historiesLinks to oral histories relevant to the civil rights movement in Washington State; part of the Civil Rights History Project, from the American Folklife Center and the Library of Congress.
-
Pacific Northwest Primary Sources - Alaska, Idaho, OregonA collection of links to sites on general Pacific Northwest history, and sites with primary sources related to Alaska, Idaho, and Oregon. From the UW Libraries research guide.
-
Washington State Primary SourcesCollection of links to images, maps, historical newspapers, and other digital collections with material on Washington State History. From the UW Libraries research guide.
Find primary sources - JSTOR database
Finding primary sources in JSTOR is straightforward. Here's how:
1. Enter your search term(s) in the search box and click "search."
2. On the left of the page look for "Primary Source Content."
3. Select the format preference.
Except where otherwise noted, the content in these guides by Tacoma Community College Library is licensed under CC BY SA 4.0.
This openly licensed content allows others to cite, share, or modify this content, with credit to TCC Library. When reusing or adapting this content, include this statement in the new document: This content was originally created by Tacoma Community College Library and shared with a CC BY SA 4.0 license.
Tacoma Community College Library - Building 7, 6501 South 19th Street, Tacoma, WA 98466 - P. 253.566.5087
Visit us on Instagram!