Music: Music archives
Free online archives
Archives* are fantastic repositories of music and music history. Governments (federal and state) have extensive archives. College and university Libraries often have archives, and there are numerous non-profit organizations that sponsor archives. Check out just a few music archives available to the public below.
- Internet ArchiveThe Internet Archive is a non-profit library of free books, movies, software, music, websites, and more.
- Library of Congress Celebrates the Songs of America (.gov)"Listen to the changes in the "Star Spangled Banner" as played by different bands in different eras. Look at the ways in which sheet music cover art documents historical themes. Read essays discussing the histories of musical styles. Watch videos pairing sound recording with period illustrations. All this and more awaits you as the Library of Congress celebrates The Songs of America."
- Wilson Music Library [Vanderbuilt University] Global Music Archive (.edu)"The Global Music Archive is a multi-media archive and resource center for traditional and popular song, music, and dance of Africa and North and South America, with particular emphasis on the African Diaspora."
*Some archives can be difficult to use. Contact a TCC Research Librarian when you need help.
Domain searches
As demonstrated in the "Free archives" box on this page, music archives are created and held by many different entities.
Domain searches using Google, or other Web search engines, will limit your search results to specific domains, including
.edu (education institutions only)
.gov (US government agencies only)
.org (non-profits - although anyone can use the .org domain, so use your best evaluation skills)
Type your search term, and then add site:.
Below is a screen shot of a domain search for .org, with one result example from an archive that deals in nothing but openly-licensed music recordings
- Free Music Archive"Free Music Archive and Tribe of Noise are known for free to download music licensed under Creative Commons."
Try it! ___________ site:.edu
Except where otherwise noted, the content in these guides by Tacoma Community College Library is licensed under CC BY SA 4.0.
This openly licensed content allows others to cite, share, or modify this content, with credit to TCC Library. When reusing or adapting this content, include this statement in the new document: This content was originally created by Tacoma Community College Library and shared with a CC BY SA 4.0 license.
Tacoma Community College Library - Building 7, 6501 South 19th Street, Tacoma, WA 98466 - P. 253.566.5087
Visit us on Instagram!